DETAILED ACTION
The previous office action is withdrawn.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-6 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, line 3, “a plurality of connection cable” should be changed to - - the plurality of connection cable--.
Claim 1, line 4, “a large cable” should be changed to -- the large cable--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5-6, 15, 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Markwardt (U. S. Patent 4,444,447) in view of Dola (U. S. Patent 3,985,416) and further in view of Francois (U. S. Patent 6,086,406).
Regarding claims 1, 15, Markwardt discloses a system for connecting a connection cable 41 (at upper, see figure 4) to a larger cable 41 (at lower, see figure 4), the system comprising: the connection cable 41; the larger cable 41 comprising electrical insulation, the larger cable 41 having a larger diameter than each of the connection cable 41; and a connector assembly configured to electrically connect the connection cable 41 with the larger cable 41, the connector assembly comprising: a plurality of electrical connections 21 configured to electrically connect to the plurality of connection cables 41; a connection end comprising one or more piercing elements 21 configured to penetrate the electrical insulation of the larger cable 41 when the connector assembly is coupled to the larger cable 41, the one or more piercing elements 21 electrically connected with the plurality of electrical connections 21; and automatically seal 39 the electrical connection at the one or more piercing elements 21. Markwaldt discloses the claimed invention except for plurality of connection cables and mechanical coupling mechanism. Dola discloses a plurality of connection cables at 40, see figure 6. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective to the claimed invention to modify Markwardt to provide such features as taught by Dola so as to provide for increase number of connection circuit. Further Francois discloses a mechanism coupling at figure 1. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Markwardt and Dola to provide such features as taught by Francois so as to move cable into contacts.
Regarding claim 5, Markwardt discloses the one or more piercing elements 21 comprise sharp peaks (see figure 6) capable of penetrating the electrical insulation of the larger cable 41.
Regarding claim 6, Markwardt discloses the connection end is configured such that, upon penetration of the electrical insulation of the larger cable 41 by the one or more piercing elements 21 of the connection end, a seal 39 is automatically formed between the connection end and the larger cable 41.
Regarding claim 17, Markwardt discloses the connection end is configured such that, upon penetration of the insulation of the larger cable 41 by the one or more piercing elements 21 of the connection end, a seal 39 is automatically formed between the connection end and the larger cable 41.
Regarding claim 18, Markwardt and Dola disclose the claimed invention except for the plurality of electrical connections are configured to be attached to the plurality of connection cables by mechanical fastening. Francois discloses a mechanical fastening at 14. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Markwardt and Dola to provide such features as taught by Francois so as to move the cable to the contacts.
Regarding claim 19, Markwardt discloses the one or more piercing elements 21 comprise peaks (see figure 6) formed of an electrically conductive material.
Regarding claim 20, Markwardt discloses further comprising a busbar 14 formed of an electrically conductive material, the busbar 14 including the plurality of electrical connections and the one or more piercing elements 21 in a single piece.
Claims 7, 10, 11, 12, 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Markwardt (U. S. Patent 4,444,447) in view of Francois (U. S. Patent 6,086,406).
Regarding claim 7, Markwardt discloses method for connecting one connection cable 41 (at upper see figure 4) to a larger cable 41 (at lower see figure 4). Markwardt discloses the claimed invention except for the method comprising: providing a connector assembly comprising: a mechanical coupling mechanism; one or more electrical connections electrically connected to one or more connection cables; and a connection end comprising one or more piercing elements, the one or more piercing elements electrically connected to the one or more electrical connections; and securing the connector assembly to the larger cable by adjusting the mechanical coupling mechanism, the adjusting of the mechanical coupling mechanism causing the one or more piercing elements of the connection end to penetrate insulation of the larger cable and electrically connect to the larger cable. Francois discloses a mechanism coupling, see figure 1. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Markwardt to provide such features as taught by Francois so as to move the cable to the contacts.
Regarding claim 10, Markwardt discloses the one or more piercing elements 21 comprise sharp peaks (see figure 6) configured to penetrate the insulation of the larger cable 41.
Regarding claim 11, Markwardt discloses the one connection cable 41 comprise between two and eight cables 41, the cables 41 each having a smaller diameter (see the cable on upper at figure 4) than the larger cable (see the cable on lower at figure 4).
Regarding claim 12, Markwardt discloses securing the connector assembly to the larger cable 41 mechanically seals 39 the electrical connection between the connection end and the larger cable 41.
Regarding claim 14, Markwardt discloses the one or more electrical connections 21 of the connector assembly and the one or more piercing elements 21 of the connection end are part of a central busbar 14, the central busbar 14 made of an electrically conductive material.
Claims 2-4, 8-9, 13, 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
None of the references discloses the mechanical coupling comprises: a clamshell structure including a main body assembly and a bottom shell, the main body assembly and the bottom shell configured to surround a portion of the larger cable; and a strap configured to surround the main body assembly and the bottom shell; wherein adjusting the mechanical coupling mechanism comprises tightening the strap about the clamshell structure, the mechanical coupling mechanism comprises any of: a pivoted torque arm and nut, a cradle and nut combination, a snap-in locking strap, clamshell and strap combination, or a combination thereof, the mechanical coupling mechanism comprises:
a main body assembly having latches couplable to grooves of a bottom shell; and
a strap configured to surround the connector assembly and be tightened to secure the bottom shell to the main body assembly, the bottom shell and the main body assembly enclosing the larger cable when coupled together, the mechanical coupling mechanism comprises one or more of: a pivoted torque arm and nut, a cradle and nut combination, a snap-in locking strap, or a clamshell and strap combination, the mechanical coupling mechanism comprises: a bottom shell configured to partially surround the larger cable; latches on the main body assembly couplable to grooves on the bottom shell; and a strap configured to surround the main body assembly and the bottom shell to secure the bottom shell to the main body assembly, the bottom shell and the main body assembly enclosing the larger cable when coupled together.
/PHUONG K DINH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831