DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities:
The preposition ‘on’ has been inadvertently omitted from the claim following ‘based’. The claim should be amended to read as follows: ‘[...] optimizing energy usage based on a plurality of [....]’.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
With respect to claim 6, the claim as written is indefinite. Claim 6 recites: “generating a prediction that a given component is to be maintained at a given time based on the logged activities performed by the given component.”. It is unclear what “a given component” and “a given time” refer to. According to paragraph [0041] of the present specification, it is disclosed that “The control unit may generate a prediction that a given component is to be maintained based on the logged activities.”. Therefor the recited limitation has been interpreted without term “a given time”. Also, regarding “a given component”, it is unclear what component applicant exactly mean by reciting a given component. According to the present specification, paragraph [0035], it is disclosed that “Predictive maintenance module 470 logs activities by components within the temperature-controlled truck 100 that are associated with performing an intervention (e.g., coils, pumps, valves, evaporators, etc.).”. Therefore, a given component has been interpreted as any component of the conditioner/refrigerating system.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 9 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang et al., CN112660014A, hereinafter “Tang”, in view of Park, US20210207884A1, hereinafter “Park”.
Regarding claims 1, 9, and 17, Tang teaches a method comprising:
obtaining, by a control unit mounted within a vehicle having a plurality of individually temperature-controlled regions, a set of signals ([n0001], “a multi-temperature zone energy-saving refrigerated truck with variable temperature zones and a temperature control method.”, [n0022], [n0024], __at least according to [n0022] system receives a set of signals and the temperature control system works based on the prediction output from the signals__)
the control unit spanning at least a portion of each region of the plurality of individually temperature-controlled regions ([n0042], __monitoring temperature data of each temperature zone, reads on spanning at least a portion of each region__)
the control unit configured to control a temperature of each of the plurality of individually temperature-controlled regions (at least [n0001], [n0009], [n0013], [n0018]-[n0024], [n0055]);
Tang’s disclosure predicts the optimal temperature based on the received signals and the temperature control system adjust the refrigerator fan (i.e. performs an intervention on at least one hardware component withing the vehicle as recited in the claim), however, the adjustment in Tang is not responsive to the determination that the rate of change of temperature will take a temperature of the region out of the target range, using machine learning method and Tang doesn’t disclose or teach:
A non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising memory with instructions encoded thereon and one or more processors that, when executing the instructions, are caused to perform operations, the instructions comprising instructions to (recited in claim 9), and A system comprising: memory with instructions encoded thereon; and one or more processors that, when executing the instructions, are caused to perform operations comprising (recited in claim 17):
inputting, by the control unit, the set of signals into a machine learning model;
receiving, by the control unit, as output from the machine learning model, for a given region of the plurality of individually temperature-controlled regions, a rate of change of temperature,
determining, by the control unit, whether the rate of change of temperature will take a temperature of the given region out of a target range; and
responsive to determining that the rate of change of temperature will take a temperature of the given region out of the target range, performing, by the control unit, an intervention on at least one hardware component within the vehicle.
However, Park teaches:
A non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising memory with instructions encoded thereon and one or more processors that, when executing the instructions, are caused to perform operations, the instructions comprising instructions to (recited in claim 9), and A system comprising: memory with instructions encoded thereon; and one or more processors that, when executing the instructions, are caused to perform operations comprising (recited in claim 17) (e.g. Abstract, [0045], [0018])
inputting, by the control unit, the set of signals into a machine learning model ([0056]-[0057]);
receiving, by the control unit, as output from the machine learning model, for a based on determining a temperature change rate of the refrigerator storage (and accordingly determining if an item placed in the refrigerator storage is an overload item).
determining, by the control unit, whether the rate of change of temperature will take a temperature of the given region out of a target range (at least [0063], [0089], [0107], “confirming that the calculated temperature change rate is greater than a predetermined rate.”, [0129]); and
responsive to determining that the rate of change of temperature will take a temperature of the given region out of the target range, performing, by the control unit, an intervention on at least one hardware component within the vehicle (at least [0090], “determine that the item is an overload item based on confirming that the temperature change rate calculated within two minutes is greater than the predetermined rate.” [0091], “the compressor 340 may adjust the freezing capacity provided by the compressor in accordance with the overload degree of “medium,” to thereby lower the temperature of the storage space.”).
The claimed invention would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention based on a combination of Tang and Park. Tang discloses a refrigerated truck with individually controlled variable temperature zones based on optimal temperature settings. Park discloses a machine learning model that regulates/adjusts the temperature of the refrigerated storage space by calculating the rate of temperature change (to determine overloading). It would have been obvious to a PHOSITA to combine these teachings, applying the rate of temperature change monitoring from Park to the multi-zone system of Tang. This combination is motivated, with a reasonable expectation of success, to improve existing refrigerated transport vehicles/truck comprising of different individually temperature-controlled regions by monitoring rate of temperature change within storage in order to determine an intervention to control/maintain the temperature within a target range.
Claims 2, 10 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang in view of Park, further in view of Bett et al., US 20250060122 A1, hereinafter “Bett”.
Regarding claims 2, 6, 10, 14 and 18, modified Tang doesn’t teach wherein the intervention is determined by: inputting one or more of the set of signals into a second machine learning model; and receiving, as output from the second machine learning model, a determination of the intervention.
However, Bett teaches wherein the intervention is determined by: inputting one or more of the set of signals into a second machine learning model; and receiving, as output from the second machine learning model, a determination of the intervention (Bett, [0006], [0021], [0026], “The LDAC control computing device may then apply the trained machine learning or artificial intelligence process to sensor data and/or building load data to assure that the preferred temperature and/or humidity level is reached during the temporal intervals.”, [0030], “apply a second trained machine learning process or artificial intelligence process to the current sensor readings and current control settings to determine the temperature table and/or the humidity table (e.g., table values).”, [0036], “LDAC control computing device 102 may apply the established trained machine learning or artificial intelligence processes to the generated features to generate output data characterizing a predicted operational value of the LDAC system 100 during a future temporal interval. As described herein, each predicted operational value may be, for example, a temperature or a humidity level predicted for the future temporal interval. Based on the generated output data, the LDAC control computing device 102 may transmit a signal to the LDAC controller 105 to adjust one or more of the control settings.”, [0040], “Based on the output data generated by the established machine learning process or artificial intelligence process, as well the temperature and/or humidity tables, the LDAC control computing device 102 may determine when, and by what amount, to adjust a control setting to achieve the preferred operational value during the future temporal interval.”, [0041]-[0042], [0058]-[0059]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention modify the temperature control method used in the refrigerated truck with variable temperature zones as taught by Tang _that adjusts temperature of each zone individually based on the determination of an optimal temperature with respect to received signals_, with using a machine learning-based model taught by Park, for controlling the driving of the compressor in order to adjust the temperature of the storage space, based on the determination result (item being overload), and further, with using machine learning model to determine and adjust operational value of a control setting. This modification aims to improve the performance of existing refrigerated transport trucks with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claims 6 and 14, modified Tang doesn’t teach further comprising: logging activities by components within the vehicle associated with performing the intervention; and generating a prediction that a given component is to be maintained at a given time based on the logged activities performed by the given component
However, Bett teaches logging activities by components within the vehicle associated with performing the intervention; and generating a prediction that a given component is to be maintained at a given time based on the logged activities performed by the given component (__Note: to be maintained has been interpreted as maintenance being required__, See Bett, [0042], “the LDAC control computing device 102 provides a warning indication based on the output data characterizing the predicted operational value of the LDAC system 100.” “warning can indicate a predictive-maintenance event (e.g., maintenance required to the conditioner system 110 and/or regenerator system 112),”)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention modify the temperature control method used in the refrigerated truck with variable temperature zones as taught by Tang _that adjusts temperature of each zone individually based on the determination of an optimal temperature with respect to received signals_, with using a machine learning-based model taught by Park, for controlling the driving of the compressor in order to adjust the temperature of the storage space, based on the determination result (item being overload), and further, with predicting if a component in refrigerator system requires maintenance as taught by Bett, with a reasonable expectation of success, with motivation of improving the liability and performance of the refrigerator truck.
Claims 3, 7, 11, 15 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang in view of Park, further in view of Wright US 20220224278 A1, hereinafter “Wright”.
Regarding claims 3, 11 and 19, modified Tang doesn’t teach wherein the control unit comprises an integrated battery within the control unit that powers temperature-control operations comprising one or more of refrigeration and heating.
However, Wright discloses a solar power system for providing power to a refrigerated truck trailer, and teaches wherein the control unit comprises an integrated battery within the control unit that powers temperature-control operations comprising one or more of refrigeration and heating (at least abstract and [0018]-[0019], [0041]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the refrigerated truck as taught by Tang, with using an integrated battery within the control unit as taught by Wright, with a reasonable expectation of success, with the motivation of using a constantly rechargeable energy source and optimizing energy power.
Regarding claims 7 and 15, modified Tang doesn’t disclose, wherein the vehicle is an electric truck.
However, Wright teaches wherein the vehicle is an electric truck (at least abstract).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include an electric truck taught by Wright in the refrigerator truck taught by Tang, with the reasonable expectation of success, with motivation of improving energy efficiency.
Claims 4, 12 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang in view of Park, further in view of Wright, and further in view of Janik, US 20170302218 A1, hereinafter “Wright”.
Regarding claims 4, 12 and 20, modified Tang in view of Wright doesn’t teach The method of claim 3, wherein performing the intervention comprises optimizing energy usage based a plurality of energy sources comprising the integrated battery and one or more solar panels operably coupled to the control unit.
However, Janik, teaches wherein performing the intervention comprises optimizing energy usage based a plurality of energy sources comprising the integrated battery and one or more solar panels operably coupled to the control unit (abstract, [0004], claim 1).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the refrigerated truck as taught by Tang, with optimizing energy usage based a plurality of energy sources (i.e. battery and solar panels), as taught by Janik, with a reasonable expectation of success, with the motivation of optimizing power usage by the refrigerator system.
Claims 5 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang in view of Park, further in view of Shah, US 8365542 B2, hereinafter “Shah”.
Regarding claims 5 and 13, modified Tang doesn’t teach wherein performing the intervention comprises: refrigerating the region to a first set point above freezing; determining that sufficient heat has been removed from the region; and refrigerating the region to a second set point below freezing.
However, the recited limitations read on a two-stage refrigeration process that is a well-known method in the art. Particularly according to the specification of the present application, paragraph [0032] and [0035], this two-stage approach avoids causing moisture to freeze to the coil and frost buildup.
Accordingly, Shah teaches the following claimed feature:
refrigerating the region to a first set point above freezing (Abstract, “The first cooling system having single coil cools the air to a temperature just above zero deg. C., say four deg. C. so that the second stage gets a steady supply of cold air.”, Col 2 L4-16, Col 2 L36-39, “a control circuit for controlling the flow of refrigerant through the coils of the second cooling system to prevent ice formation in said coils”);
and refrigerating the region to a second set point below freezing (Abstract, “one coil of the second stage is active arid chills the air going through it to say minus 14 Deg. C.”, Col 2 L4-16).
And, Butler teaches allowing heat to be removed from the carcass that is going through a two-stage freezing process.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the temperature control method used in the refrigerated truck with variable temperature zones as taught by Tang in view of Park, with an intervention being a two-stage refrigerating process as taught by Shah and Butler, with a reasonable expectation of success, with the motivation of preventing frost formation in the freezing storage.
Claims 8 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang in view of Park, further in view of Hoff, US10203674 B1, hereinafter “Hoff”.
Regarding claims 8 and 16, modified Tang doesn’t teach wherein the set of signals are obtained from sensors that comprise a thermal camera that feeds back information on whether a given region is exposed to air outside of the given region.
However, Hoff teaches wherein the set of signals are obtained from sensors that comprise a thermal camera that feeds back information on whether a given region is exposed to air outside of the given region (Hoff, Col 2 L 18, “detecting air leakage using a thermal camera,”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a thermal camera for detecting if a given region is exposed to air outside the given region, as taught by Hoff, with the reasonable expectation of success, with motivation of improving the refrigerator performance by detecting any air leakage.
Conclusion
/H.H./Examiner, Art Unit 3669
/Erin M Piateski/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3669