DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to application 19/308,661 filed 8/25/2025.
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over RAN et al., Pub No KR 20200033245 (hereafter RAN) in view of Liping ZHU, Pub No US 2016/0286244 (hereafter ZHU).
Regarding Claim 1, RAN discloses a display apparatus comprising:
a display [paras.0029, 0031-0032, 0102: Discloses a display apparatus 100 including a display unit 130 and a graphic processing unit 140, wherein the graphic processing unit 140 configures screens and the display unit 130 displays the generated screens; para.0112: Discloses that the display unit 130 outputs video data processed by processing unit 170. RAN therefore teaches the claimed display.];
memory storing one or more instructions [paras.0102, 0114-0117: Discloses storage unit 150 for storing programs, data and content required for operation of display device 100. Also disclosed is a controller 120 that includes RAM 121, ROM 122, and CPU 123. ROM 122 stores a set of instructions, and CPU 123 copies and executes programs stored in storage unit 150; paras.0119-0120: Discloses software stored in the display device, including the OS and various processing modules. RAN thus teaches memory storing one or more instructions.]; and
at least one processor configured to execute the one or more instructions [paras.0031, 0036, 0115-0117, 0124: Discloses controller 120 including CPU 123 and describes CPU 123 accessing storage unit 150, copying programs to RAM 121, and executing the programs to perform various operations; para.0124: Discloses controller 120 executing the UI framework to display various screens. RAN thus teaches at least one processor configured to execute stored instructions.] to:
control the display to display a home screen [paras.0031-0034: Discloses controller 120/graphic processing unit 140 configuring various screens for display by the display unit 130. And expressly identifies a “main screen” for selecting various menus, a preferred-function screen frequently used by the user, and other content-oriented screens; para.0068: Discloses content-selection/user-preferred-content screens containing a plurality of display objects; para.0086: Discloses “main screen” as one of the screen types; para.0124: Discloses that the controller 120 executes the UI framework and displays various screens. Thus, RAN teaches controlling the display to display a home/main screen providing selectable content and functions.],
based on a search for a first keyword, obtain a search result for the first keyword, the search result comprising one or more image content items corresponding to the first keyword [paras.0042, 0050, 0058, 0082-0083, 0131, 0136, 0141-0144: Discloses searching for content based on a user-provided identification word/text and providing a corresponding search result; para.0042: Discloses a search result screen containing multiple items including the keywork “BBB”; para.0050: Discloses a search result screen containing content having titles including the identification word “DDD”; para.0058: Discloses searching for related images corresponding to a detected object; para.0082: Discloses that the search results may include a thumbnail image of various contents including a keyword from the user’s voice signal; paras.0141-143: Discloses the server performing the search, transmitting the search result to the display device, and the content-providing server providing content or a thumbnail image according to the request. Thus, RAN teaches obtaining, based on a search for a keyword, search results comprising one or more image/thumbnail content items corresponding to that keyword.].
RAN does not explicitly disclose the following:
control the display to display a home screen, comprising one or more content lists arranged in a row, add, to the one or more content lists arranged in the row, a first content list comprising the one or more image content items corresponding to the first keyword, and control the display to display the home screen comprising the first content list (emphasis on what is not taught by the combination). However, in analogous art, ZHU discloses the following:
control the display to display a home screen, comprising one or more content lists arranged in a row [paras.0072-0075: Discloses displaying a plurality of search result cards arranged in a preset direction on a search result page, wherein different search result cards display target search results related to different search intentions; and para.0075: Discloses that “a row of search result cards are horizontally arranged on the search result page.” ZHU teaches this limitation because the horizontally arranged row of search result cards constitutes a content list arranged in a row, with each search result card presenting content corresponding to a respective search intention.],
add, to the one or more content lists arranged in the row, a first content list comprising the one or more image content items corresponding to the first keyword [para.0057: Discloses generating target multimedia content corresponding to key information/search intentions, wherein the target multimedia content may comprise text, image, audio, and video; and para.0058: Discloses] displaying the target multimedia content as part of the search results; and paras.0062-0065: Discloses multimedia content preview information for displaying core information of the target multimedia content; and paras.0068-0069: Discloses selecting search results corresponding to key information and including the selected information in the target multimedia content; and paras.0072-0075: Discloses arranging the resulting search-result cards, including a row of horizontally arranged search-result cards, on the displayed search-result page. ZHU teaches this limitation because the disclosed key information corresponds to the user’s search term/search intention, the target multimedia content associated with that key information expressly includes image content, and the resulting search results containing such multimedia content are selected and organized into horizontally arranged search-result cards, thereby providing a content list comprising image content corresponding to the searched key information.], and
control the display to display the home screen comprising the first content list [paras.0058, 0070-0075: Discloses displaying the target search results corresponding to the respective search intentions in regions of the search result page (para.0070), wherein search result cards are used to display the target search results (paras.0072-0073), and a row of the search result cards is horizontally arranged and displayed on the search result page (para.0075). ZHU teaches this limitation because the target search results are displayed as search-result cards in regions of the displayed search result page, including a horizontally arranged row of such cards, thereby displaying the page comprising the content list.].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify RAN with these features, as taught by ZHU, in order to organize search-responsive multimedia content associated with respective search intentions/key information into content cards arranged in a row on the displayed page, thereby providing a more flexible presentation of relevant multimedia content and allowing a user to efficiently view and consume search results corresponding to the user’s search intention, yielding the predictable result of displaying keyword-responsive image/multimedia content in an organized content list arranged in a row on the home screen [ZHU, paras.0057-0058, 0070-0075, 0102-0105].
Regarding Claim 2, the combined teachings of RAN and ZHU disclose the display apparatus of claim 1, and further discloses wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the one or more instructions to:
reproduce a first image content item among the one or more image content items corresponding to the first keyword [RAN – paras.0039-0043: Discloses displaying thumbnail/image items representing content, including search-result items corresponding to a keyword. Upon selection of one of the displayed items, controller 120 plays the content corresponding to the selected item and outs it through display unit 130. Thus, teaching reproducing a first image content item among image content items corresponding to the first keyword.], and
based on the reproduction of the first image content item being terminated or based on a preset user input being received, control the display to display the home screen comprising the first content list [ZHU – paras.0088-0095: Discloses a preset control associated with displayed search results, wherein upon detecting a trigger operation/user input on the preset control, the electronic device changes the displayed search-result presentation, including jumping to a special topic page, creating a floating-layer page, or expanding a region of the search-result page; and paras.0094-0095: Discloses that, upon activation of the preset control, a display region is expanded to display additional search results corresponding to the search intention/key information. Thus, ZHU teaches controlling the display, based on a preset user input being received, to display the content list including the search-responsive image/multimedia content.]. This claim is rejected on the same grounds as claim 1.
Regarding Claim 3, the combined teachings of RAN and ZHU disclose the display apparatus of claim 2, and further discloses wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the one or more instructions to:
execute an application corresponding to the first image content item [RAN – paras.0040-0043, 0125-0126: Discloses selecting content represented by a displayed thumbnail/search-result item and reproducing the corresponding content. And further discloses an APP manager 152-5 that, upon detecting an application execution event, calls and executes an application corresponding to the event, with applications stored in storage unit 150. Thus, teaches executing an application corresponding to a selected image content item.],
reproduce the first image content item based on executing the application [RAN – paras.0040-0041, 0125: Discloses selecting and reproducing content corresponding to a displayed image/thumbnail, and an APP manager that, upon detecting an application execution event, calls and executes an application corresponding to the event. Thus, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, RAN teaches reproducing the first image content item based on execution of that corresponding application.], and
in a state in which the application is being executed, identify whether the reproduction of the first image content item is terminated or whether the preset user input is received [ZHU – paras.0088-0095: Discloses monitoring/detecting a trigger operation on a preset control while search-result content is being displayed, wherein, when the trigger operation on the preset control is detected, the electronic device performs a corresponding display operation, such as jumping to a special topic page, creating a floating layer page, or expanding a display region to display additional search results. Thus, ZHU teaches identifying whether a preset user input is received while the displayed content is being presented.]. This claim is rejected on the same grounds as claim 2.
Regarding Claim 4, the combined teachings of RAN and ZHU disclose the display apparatus of claim 2, and further discloses wherein the preset user input comprises at least one of an input requesting termination of the first image content item, an input requesting to return to a previous screen, or an input requesting the home screen [ZHU - paras.0094-0095: Discloses expanding a display region in response to a trigger operation on a preset control; and para.0095: Discloses display controls including a “RETURN” control that triggers displaying respective search results that slide out of the display region and controls that return the original target search results. Thus, ZHU teaches a preset user input comprising an input requesting to return to a previous screen/display state.]. This claim is rejected on the same grounds as claim 2.
Regarding Claim 5, the combined teachings of RAN and ZHU disclose the display apparatus of claim 1, and RAN further discloses wherein the home screen comprises a search menu corresponding to a search function [paras.0034, 0039, 0042: Discloses a main screen for selecting various menus and a content-selection screen displaying content items, and further discloses a search-result screen for searching content identified by a keyword. Thus, RAN teaches a home/main screen providing access to a search function.], and wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the one or more instructions to:
display a search screen based on a user input selecting the search menu [paras.0042-0043: Discloses that when the user designates content not present on the current screen, controller 120 performs a search, including through an external server, and displays search-result screen 310 containing a plurality of search-result items corresponding to the keyword. Thus, teaches displaying a search screen in response to a user search input and displaying on that screen search results corresponding to the searched keyword.], and
based on the search for the first keyword, control the display to display, on the search screen, the search result for the first keyword [paras.0042-0043: Discloses performing a search for content corresponding to the keyword (e.g., “BBB”) and displaying search-result screen 310 containing search-result items 311-1 to 311-12 that include the keyword BBB. Thus, teaches controlling the display, based on the search for the first keyword, to display on the search screen the search results corresponding to the first keyword.].
Regarding Claim 6, the combined teachings of RAN and ZHU disclose the display apparatus of claim 5, and further discloses wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the one or more instructions to control the display to overlay the search screen on the home screen [ZHU - paras.0092-0095: Discloses, in response to a trigger operation on a preset control, creating a floating layer page on the search result page and displaying a category of search results corresponding to the search intention on the floating layer page. ZHU further discloses expanding a region corresponding to the preset control while maintaining/displaying the search-result content in connection with the underlying search-result page. Thus, ZHU teaches displaying a search screen as an overlaid/floating layer on an existing displayed screen, thereby teaching the claimed overlay of the search screen on the home screen under the combined teachings of RAN and ZHU.]. This claim is rejected on the same grounds as claim 5.
Regarding Claim 7, the combined teachings of RAN and ZHU disclose the display apparatus of claim 1, and further discloses wherein the home screen comprises a target area, and
wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the one or more instructions to control the display to display targeted content in the target area [ZHU - paras.0070-0075: Discloses displaying target search results corresponding to respective search intentions in respective regions of the displayed search-result page, wherein search-result cards displaying the target search results are arranged within the respective regions; and paras.0057-0058: Discloses target multimedia content corresponding to key information/search intentions and displaying the target multimedia content as part of the search results. Thus, ZHU teaches displaying targeted content corresponding to a particular search intention/key information within a designated target region/area of the displayed screen.]. This claim is rejected on the same grounds as claim 1.
Regarding Claim 8, the combined teachings of RAN and ZHU disclose the display apparatus of claim 1, and further discloses wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the one or more instructions to:
obtain a second search result for a second keyword, the second search result comprising one or more image content items corresponding to the second keyword [RAN – paras.0042-0043: Discloses receiving a user-designated keyword (e.g., “BBB”), performing a search for content corresponding to the keyword, and displaying search-result screen 310 comprising a plurality of search-result items 311-1 to 311-12 corresponding to the keyword. In view of the first keyword and corresponding first search result recited in claim 1, the subsequently/user-designated keyword BBB and its corresponding search result read on the claimed second keyword and second search result, respectively. Thus, teaching obtaining a second search result for a second keyword comprising one or more image content items corresponding to the second keyword.],
add, to the one or more content lists arranged in the row, a second content list comprising the one or more image content items corresponding to the second keyword [ZHU - paras.0057-0058: Discloses generating target multimedia content corresponding to key information/search intentions, wherein the target multimedia content may comprise text, image, audio, and video, and displaying the target multimedia content as part of the search results; and paras.0068-0069: Discloses selecting search results corresponding to key information and including the selected information in the target multimedia content; and paras.0072-0075: Discloses arranging the resulting search-result cards, including a row of horizontally arranged search-result cards, on the displayed search-result page. In view of ZHU’s teaching applied to the second keyword and corresponding second search result disclosed by RAN above, ZHU teaches adding, to the one or more content lists arranged in the row, a second content list comprising the one or more image content items corresponding to the second keyword.], and
control the display to display the home screen comprising the second content list [RAN – paras.0031-0034, 0068, 0086, 0124: Discloses controlling the display to display the home/main screen, as discussed above with respect to claim 1; and ZHU - paras.0058, 0070-0075: Discloses displaying target search results in regions of the displayed page, wherein search-result cards are used to display the target search results and a row of the search-result cards is horizontally arranged and displayed. Thus, the combined teachings of RAN and ZHU teach controlling the display to display the home screen comprising the second content list.]. This claim is rejected on the same grounds as claim 1.
Regarding Claim 9, the combined teachings of RAN and ZHU disclose the display apparatus of claim 8, and further discloses wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the one or more instructions to:
control the display to display, on the home screen, a keyword list comprising the first keyword and the second keyword [ZHU - paras.0068-0075: Discloses a plurality of different search intentions associated with a search term/key information and displaying target search results corresponding to the respective search intentions in respective regions of the display page. And further discloses search-result cards corresponding to the different search intentions arranged on the page. Thus, in combination with RAN’s disclosure of the home screen and user-designated keywords/search terms, the displayed plurality of search intentions/key information corresponding to respective search results teaches a keyword list comprising the first and second keywords.],
based on a user input selecting the first keyword, control the display to display only the first content list, among the first content list and the second content list [ZHU - paras.0092-0095: Discloses detecting a trigger operation on a preset control corresponding to a search intention and, responsive thereto, displaying a category of search results corresponding to the selected search intention. Thus, ZHU teaches, responsive to a user’s selection of a particular search intention/keyword, selectively displaying the content/search results corresponding to that selected search intention from among content associated with different search intentions.], and
based on a user input selecting the second keyword, control the display to display only the second content list, among the first content list and the second content list [ZHU - paras.0092-0095: Discloses that a trigger operation on a preset control corresponding to respective search intention causes display of the category of search results corresponding to that selected search intention. Accordingly, selection of the second search intention/keyword results in selectively displaying the corresponding second content/search-results list from among the content associated with different search intentions.]. This claim is rejected on the same grounds as claim 8.
Regarding Claim 10, the combined teachings of RAN and ZHU disclose the display apparatus of claim 9, and further discloses wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the one or more instructions to:
reproduce a second image content item, based on a user input selecting the second image content item among the one or more image content items comprised in the first content list or the second content list [RAN – paras.0039-0043: Discloses displaying a plurality of thumbnail/image items representing respective content, including search-result items corresponding to a user-designated keyword, and, upon user selection of one of the displayed items, controller 120 reproduces/plays the content corresponding to the selected item and outputs the content through display unit 130. Thus, RAN teaches, in the context of the first and second content lists resulting from the combined teachings of RAN and ZHU, reproducing a second image content item based on a user input selecting that image content item from among the image content items of the first and second content list.]. This claim is rejected on the same grounds as claim 9.
Regarding Claim 11, the combined teachings of RAN and ZHU disclose the display apparatus of claim 1, and further discloses wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the one or more instructions to:
control the display to display, on the home screen, a content provider list comprising a plurality of content providers [RAN – paras.0033-0034, 0039-0041, 0048: Discloses a content selection screen for selecting various content, including content available from various content sources/providers, and displaying a plurality of thumbnail images representing content in a preset layout; and ZHU – paras.0071-0075: Discloses displaying selectable categories/search-result content in a preset display arrangement. RAN and ZHU thus teach displaying a content provider list comprising a plurality of content providers.], and
based on an input selecting a content provider among the plurality of content providers, control the display to display, in the first content list, only image content items corresponding to the selected content provider, among the one or more image content items corresponding to the first keyword [RAN – paras.0042-0043, 0050, 0082-0083: Discloses, responsive to user input identifying content/a keyword, searching for corresponding content and displaying search results including thumbnail images of content corresponding to the keyword; and ZHU – paras.0071-0075: Discloses user selection among displayed search-result categories/cards and displaying content corresponding to the selected category. RAN and ZHU thus, teach, upon selection of a content provider, displaying only the image content items corresponding to the selected content provider from among the image content items corresponding to the searched keyword.]. This claim is rejected on the same grounds as claim 1.
Regarding Claim 12, the combined teachings of RAN and ZHU disclose the display apparatus of claim 1, and further discloses wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the one or more instructions to:
based on a user input, set at least one of:
whether to display, on the home screen, a content list comprising one or more image content items corresponding to a searched keyword,
a display format of the content list [ZHU – paras.0071-0075: Discloses displaying a plurality of search-result cards/content in a preset display arrangement, including vertically arranged columns or a horizontally arranged row, and permitting users to switch between displayed search-result cards by sliding along the respective display direction. Zhu teaches this limitation because the preset display arrangement defines a display format of the content list, and the user’s sliding input controls the display of the search-result cards according to the respective display direction.], or
a number of content items in the content list. This claim is rejected on the same grounds as claim 1.
Regarding Claim 13, Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over RAN in view of ZHU for the same reasons set forth above with respect to Claim 1. Claim 13 merely recites in method form corresponding limitations of Claim 1, wherein the claimed method performs substantially the same operations/functions recited in Claim 1, including displaying a home screen including one or more content lists arranged in a row; based on a search for a first keyword, obtaining a search result for the first keyword, the search result including one or more image content items corresponding to the first keyword; adding, to the one or more content lists arranged in the row, a first content list including the one or more image content items corresponding the first keyword; and displaying the home screen including the first content list. Accordingly, the combined teachings of RAN and ZHU render Claim 13 obvious for the reasons discussed above with respect to Claim 1.
Regarding Claim 14, Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over RAN in view of ZHU for the same reasons set forth above with respect to Claim 2. Claim 14 recites, in method form, limitations corresponding to those of Claim 2, Accordingly, the combined teachings of RAN and ZHU render Claim 14 obvious for the reasons discussed above with respect to Claim 2.
Regarding Claim 15, Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over RAN in view of ZHU for the same reasons set forth above with respect to Claim 3. Claim 15 recites, in method form, limitations corresponding to those of Claim 3, Accordingly, the combined teachings of RAN and ZHU render Claim 15 obvious for the reasons discussed above with respect to Claim 3.
Regarding Claim 16, Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over RAN in view of ZHU for the same reasons set forth above with respect to Claim 4. Claim 16 recites, in method form, limitations corresponding to those of Claim 4, Accordingly, the combined teachings of RAN and ZHU render Claim 16 obvious for the reasons discussed above with respect to Claim 4.
Regarding Claim 17, Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over RAN in view of ZHU for the same reasons set forth above with respect to Claim 7. Claim 17 recites, in method form, limitations corresponding to those of Claim 7, Accordingly, the combined teachings of RAN and ZHU render Claim 17 obvious for the reasons discussed above with respect to Claim 7.
Regarding Claim 18, Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over RAN in view of ZHU for the same reasons set forth above with respect to Claim 8. Claim 18 recites, in method form, limitations corresponding to those of Claim 8, Accordingly, the combined teachings of RAN and ZHU render Claim 18 obvious for the reasons discussed above with respect to Claim 8.
Regarding Claim 19, Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over RAN in view of ZHU for the same reasons set forth above with respect to Claim 9. Claim 19 recites, in method form, limitations corresponding to those of Claim 9, Accordingly, the combined teachings of RAN and ZHU render Claim 19 obvious for the reasons discussed above with respect to Claim 9.
Regarding Claim 20, Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over RAN in view of ZHU for the same reasons set forth above with respect to Claim 1. Claim 20 merely recites a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium form limitations corresponding to those of Claim 1, wherein the claimed program, when executed by one or more processors, causes the one or more or more processors to perform substantially the same operations/functions recited in Claim 1, including displaying a home screen including one or more content lists arranged in a row; based on a search for a first keyword, obtaining a search result for the first keyword, the search result including one or more image content items corresponding to the first keyword; adding, to the one or more content lists arranged in the row, a first content list including the one or more image content items corresponding the first keyword; and displaying the home screen including the first content list. Accordingly, the combined teachings of RAN and ZHU render Claim 20 obvious for the reasons discussed above with respect to Claim 1.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
KASTERSTEIN et al., (US 2014/0331167) – Discloses displaying a personalized dynamic home screen on a device that determines a plurality of estimated user intents based on a query input, one or more environmental variables, or one or more personal variables. A user intent represents the type of content, the content, and/or actions that may be of an interest to the user for a current time period. Respective of the plurality of estimated user intents, the system selects one or more resources of information responsive thereto and displays them on the home screen of the device [para.0023]. And further discloses search a server 120 configured to select resources from a plurality of resources 130-1 through 130-n that are the most appropriate to fulfill the user's intent. In this case, resources that would be appropriate for a definitive user intent which is " art" related respective of the query "Brooklyn Museum" may be information regarding the Brooklyn Museum. The resources 130 may include, but are not limited to, a plurality of web search engines, servers of content providers, vertical comparison engines, servers of content publishers, and so on [para.0030].
/ADIL OCAK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2426