DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 12, 13, and 15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 10 of U.S. Patent No. 12,396,771. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the difference between the invention of claims 1, 12, 13, and 15 of the current application and the invention of claims 1 and 10 of the patent lies in the fact that the invention of claims 1 and 10 of the patent includes more elements and is thus more specific. Thus the invention of claims 1 and 10 of the patent is in effect a "species" of the "generic" invention of claims 1, 12, 13, and 15 of the current application. It has been held that the generic invention is “anticipated” by the species. See In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Since claims 1, 12, 13, and 15 are anticipated by claims 1 and 10, claims 1, 12, 13, and 15 are not patentably distinct from claims 1 and 10.
Claims 1-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,969,193. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the difference between the invention of claims 1-19 of the current application and the invention of claims 1-20 of the patent lies in the fact that the invention of claims 1-20 of the patent includes more elements and is thus more specific. Thus the invention of claims 1-20 of the patent is in effect a "species" of the "generic" invention of claims 1-19 of the current application. It has been held that the generic invention is “anticipated” by the species. See In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Since claims 1-19 are anticipated by claims 1-20, claims 1-19 are not patentably distinct from claims 1-20.
Claims 1, 7-9, and 15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 16 of U.S. Patent No. 11,426,219. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the difference between the invention of claims 1, 7-9, and 15 of the current application and the invention of claims 1 and 16 of the patent lies in the fact that the invention of claims 1 and 16 of the patent includes more elements and is thus more specific. Thus the invention of claims 1 and 16 of the patent is in effect a "species" of the "generic" invention of claims 1, 7-9, and 15 of the current application. It has been held that the generic invention is “anticipated” by the species. See In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Since claims 1, 7-9, and 15 are anticipated by claims 1 and 16, claims 1, 7-9, and 15 are not patentably distinct from claims 1 and 16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4-11, and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Prandi (U.S. Patent 8,556,946) in view of Neufeld (U.S. Publication 2010/0256687).
Regarding claims 1, 2, 4-11, and 14-17:
Prandi discloses a method comprising:
(claim 1) performing an osteotomy on a first bone to separate the first bone into a first bone portion (O1) an da second bone portion (O2; column 2 line 6 discloses performing osteotomies on adjacent bone portion prior to determining the position of a device to be implant at the site)
(claim 1) placing a first portion (the left half of the device including a tab 1a) of an intra-osseous support structure (1) in the first bone portion (element 1a is placed within a recess formed in the bone portion; column 2 lines 10-11)
(claim 15) forming an opening in the first bone portion (a recess is formed in the bone to receive tab 1a) and placing the first portion in the opening of the first bone portion
(claim 1) connecting a second potion of the intra-osseous support structure to the second bone portion using at least one fastener (for example see Figure 3)
(claim 2) wherein the at least one fastener includes a screw passed through an outer surface of the second bone portion
(claim 4) wherein the second portion of the intra-osseous support structure includes a threaded aperture (column 2 lines 22-24)
(claim 4) wherein the screw is inserted into the threaded aperture
(claim 5) wherein the at least one fastener is passed through a thickness of the second bone portion that is less than the thickness of the second bone portion (for example see Figure 3; i.e. the screw does not come out the opposite side of the bone portion when inserted into the bone portion)
(claim 14) wherein placing the first portion in the first bone portion and connecting the second portion to the second bone portion fixes the bone portion to fuse the bone portions (for example see claim 14 of the reference)
(claim 16) inserting a second bone fastener into a second aperture of the second portion to connect the second portion of the intra-osseous support structure to the second bone portion (column 2 lines 19-21)
(claim 7) inserting a fastener (2) into a first aperture of the first portion of the intra-osseous support structure (for example see Figure 3)
(claim 8) wherein the fastener is inserted through an outer surface of the first bone portion
(claim 9) wherein the fastener engages the intra-osseous support structure in the first bone portion (for example see Figure 3)
(claim 10) wherein the fastener is passed through a thickness of the first bone portion that is less than the thickness of the second bone portion (for example see Figure 3; i.e. the screw does not come out the opposite side of the bone portion when inserted into the bone portion)
(claim 11) inserting a second fastener into a second aperture of the first portion of the intra-osseous support structure (for example see Figure 3; a fastener 3 is passed through the left half of the device and a screw 2 is passed through the tab 1a of the device)
Prandi fails to disclose the method wherein the bone is a first metatarsal, the method further comprising the step of adjusting the alignment of the bone portions, and the thickness of the fastener passes through the second bone portion is within 0.5 to 0.66 the thickness of the second bone portion.
Regarding the bone being a metatarsal, Neufeld teaches a method of using a device to fuse adjacent bone portions including the step of performing an osteotomy on a first metatarsal bone to separate the bone into a first metatarsal bone portion and a second metatarsal bone portion in order to correct a deformity in the first metatarsal of the foot (paragraph 2). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to perform the method of Prandi wherein the bone is a first metatarsal separated into a first metatarsal bone portion and a second metatarsal bone portion in view of Neufeld in order to correct a deformity in the first metatarsal of the foot.
Regarding the method further comprising the step of adjusting the alignment of the first metatarsal bone portion relative to the second metatarsal bone portion, Neufeld teaches a method of using a device on a first metatarsal bone portion and a second metatarsal bone portion further comprising the step of adjusting the alignment of the first metatarsal bone portion relative to the second metatarsal bone portion in order to correct a deformity in the first metatarsal of the foot (paragraph 40). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to perform the method of Prandi as modified by Neufeld further comprising the step of adjusting the alignment between the first metatarsal bone portion and the second metatarsal bone portion in view of Neufeld in order to correct a deformity in the first metatarsal of the foot.
Regarding the thickness the fastener passes through the second metatarsal bone portion being within 0.5 to 0.66 the thickness of the second metatarsal bone portion, the invention of Prandi as modified by Neufeld as further modified by Neufeld discloses the method as discussed above wherein the fastener is passed through less than the entire thickness of the second metatarsal bone portion meeting the general conditions of the claims. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to perform the method of Prandi as modified by Neufeld as further modified by Neufeld wherein the second fastener passes through 0.5 to 0.66 the thickness of the second metatarsal bone portion, since it has been held that wherein the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routing skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claims 18-20:
Prandi discloses a method comprising:
(claim 18) performing an osteotomy on a bone to separate the bone into a first bone portion (O1) and a second bone portion (O2; column 2 line 6 discloses performing osteotomies on adjacent bone portion prior to determining the position of a device to be implant at the site)
(claim 18) fixing the first bone portion relative to the second bone portion for fusion (for example see claim 14 of the reference)
(claim 18) using a structure (1) including
(claim 18) a first portion (the left half of the device) configured to be positioned intra-osseously (tab 1a is configured to be placed within the bone portion)
(claim 18) a second portion having
(claim 18) at least one aperture configured to receive a screw (for example see Figure 3)
(claim 18) wherein fixating the first bone portion to the second bone portion includes
(claim 18) inserting the first portion of the structure within the first bone portion (tab 1a is inserted into recess in the bone portion)
(claim 19) wherein the first portion of the structure is inserted within cancellous bone of the first bone portion
(claim 18) screwing at least one screw (3) into the at least one aperture of the second portion of the structure into the second bone portion
Prandi fails to disclose the method wherein the bone is a first metatarsal and the method further comprising the step of adjusting the alignment of the bone portions.
Regarding the bone being a metatarsal, Neufeld teaches a method of using a device to fuse adjacent bone portions including the step of performing an osteotomy on a first metatarsal bone to separate the bone into a first metatarsal bone portion and a second metatarsal bone portion in order to correct a deformity in the first metatarsal of the foot (paragraph 2). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to perform the method of Prandi wherein the bone is a first metatarsal separated into a first metatarsal bone portion and a second metatarsal bone portion in view of Neufeld in order to correct a deformity in the first metatarsal of the foot.
Regarding the method further comprising the step of adjusting the alignment of the first metatarsal bone portion relative to the second metatarsal bone portion, Neufeld teaches a method of using a device on a first metatarsal bone portion and a second metatarsal bone portion further comprising the step of adjusting the alignment of the first metatarsal bone portion relative to the second metatarsal bone portion in order to correct a deformity in the first metatarsal of the foot (paragraph 40). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to perform the method of Prandi as modified by Neufeld further comprising the step of adjusting the alignment between the first metatarsal bone portion and the second metatarsal bone portion in view of Neufeld in order to correct a deformity in the first metatarsal of the foot.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Prandi (U.S. Patent 8,556,946) in view of Neufeld (U.S. Publication 2010/0256687) further in view of Lewis (U.S. Patent 9,060,822).
The invention of Prandi as modified by Neufeld discloses the invention as claimed except for the method further comprising the step of forming a hole in the second metatarsal portion from the outer surface into the bone and inserting the screw into the second metatarsal portion through the hole, i.e. creating a pilot hole in the second metatarsal. Lewis teaches a method of implanting a device on a bone further comprising the step of drilling a pilot hole into the bone and passing a bone screw into the bone through the pilot hole in order to ease insertion of the bone screw into the bone. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to perform the method of Prandi as modified by Neufeld further comprising the step of forming the hole in the second metatarsal portion from the outer surface into the bone and inserting the screw into the second metatarsal portion through the hole in view of Lewis in order to ease insertion of the bone screw into the bone.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12 and 13 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable over the prior art if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. However, the claims are rejected under nonstatutory double patenting as discussed above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 for cited references the examiner felt were relevant to the application.
/NICHOLAS W WOODALL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3775