CTFR 19/309,195 CTFR 94179 FINAL REJECTION Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Terwilliger (US 2023/0258130) in view of Carousso (US 1,703,612) . Regarding Claim 1: Terwilliger discloses a gas turbine engine (20; Fig. 1) comprising: a core air passage (see annotated figure ‘130) for air (see annotated figure ‘130) to flow therethrough in an airflow direction (see annotated figure ‘130), the air including oxygen (air includes oxygen); a combustor (502; Fig. 5) located in the core air passage and fluidly coupled to a hydrogen fuel source (508; Fig. 5) to receive hydrogen fuel ([0059]) and to combust the hydrogen fuel producing combustion gases (see annotated figure ‘130) including water vapor (water extracted to 524); a steam line (see annotated figure ‘130) fluidly coupled to the core air passage at a position (see annotated figure ‘130) downstream of the combustor relative to the airflow direction to receive a portion of the combustion gases (see annotated figure ‘130); an external surface (external surfaces of wings, lips, nacelle of the aircraft, “Abstract”) of an aircraft (“aircraft”, Abstract), the external surface having air flow over the external surface as the aircraft operates (airflow over wings, lips, nacelle ); and a conduit fluidly coupled to the steam line (see annotated figure ‘130) to receive the combustion gases and to have the combustion gases flow therethrough, the conduit being thermally coupled to an exhaust-air surface (see annotated figure ‘130 wherei a surface between exhaust gases and external air 522 exists) to heat the exhaust-air surface (heat exchange is present on the exhaust-air surface) as the combustion gases flow through the conduit, wherein the combustion gases heating the exhaust-air surface (see annotated figure ‘130) receiving external air (522; Fig. 5) and results in a condensed byproduct (water in 524; Fig. 5), and wherein the conduit is fluidly coupled to a heat exchanger (524; Fig. 5) and directs the condensed byproduct to the heat exchanger (524; Fig. 5). Terwilliger is silent regarding the exhaust-air surface being the external surface. However, Carousso teaches an aircraft (aircraft Fig. 1) having a steam line (line 15; Fig. 1 carries exhaust gases with water vapor) fluidly coupled to a core air passage (air passage of engine 11; Fig. 1) at a position (see position of line 15 coming out from 11; Fig. 1) downstream of a combustor chamber (combustion chamber of 11; Fig. 1) to receive a portion of the combustion gases (exhaust gas in 15); and a conduit (conduit passing through 12 and 13; Fig. 1) fluidly coupled to the steam line (see Fig. 1) to receive the combustion gases and to have the combustion gases flow therethrough (see Fig. 1), conduit being thermally coupled to a exhaust-air surface (surface of wings 12 and 13; Fig. 1) to heat the exhaust-air surface as the combustion gases flow through the conduit (see Fig. 1), wherein the exhaust-air surface is an external surface (surface of wings 12 and 13; Fig. 1). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Terwilliger, to have the exhaust-air surface being the external surface, as taught by Carousso. Such a modification would enable to provide an anti-icing system to the aircraft, as recognized by Carousso (see Col. 1 L. 15-28). PNG media_image1.png 1104 816 media_image1.png Greyscale Regarding Claim 2: Terwilliger in view of Carousso teaches all the limitations of Claim 1, as stated above, and Carousso further teaches an airfoil (12, 13; Fig. 1) having a leading edge (Col. 1 L. 15-28), the external surface being the leading edge of the airfoil . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Terwilliger (US 2023/0258130) in view of Carousso (US 1,703,612), and further in view of Digeos (US 2022/0212809) Regarding Claim 3: Terwilliger in view of Carousso teaches all the limitations of claim 1, as stated above, and is silent regarding a nacelle defining an inlet, the nacelle including a lip having an outer surface, the outer surface of the lip being the external surface. However, Digeos teaches a nacelle (“nacelle” [0050]) defining an inlet (102; Fig. 1), the nacelle including a lip (102a; Fig. 1) having an outer surface (122; Fig. 2), the outer surface of the lip being the external surface to be heated for anti-icing ([0012]). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Terwilliger in view of Carousso, to have regarding a nacelle defining an inlet, the nacelle including a lip having an outer surface, the outer surface of the lip being the external surface, as taught by Digeos. Such a modification would enable to reduce ice accumulation on the nacelle, as recognized by Digeos ([0012]). Regarding Claim 4: Terwilliger in view of Carousso and Digeos teaches all the limitations of Claim 3, as stated above, and Digeos further teaches the lip includes a cavity (120; Fig. 2), the cavity being the conduit (see Fig. 2). Regarding claim 5: Terwilliger in view of Carousso and Digeos teaches all the limitations of Claim 3, as stated above, and Carousso further teaches the conduit is a coil (see Fig. 2) thermally coupled to the outer surface . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Terwilliger (US 2023/0258130) in view of Carousso (US 1,703,612), and further in view of Prather (US 2016/0097323) Regarding Claim 6: Terwilliger in view of Carousso teaches all the limitations of Claim 1, as stated above, but is silent regarding a splitter separating an inlet from a bypass airflow passage, the splitter including a lip having an outer surface, the outer surface of the lip being the external surface. However, Prather teaches a splitter (38; Fig. 1) separating an inlet (inlet through 24; Fig. 1) from a bypass airflow passage (106; Fig. 1), the splitter including a lip (44; Fig. 2) having an outer surface (42; Fig. 2), the outer surface of the lip being the external surface (see Fig. 2). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Terwilliger in view of Carousso, to have a splitter separating an inlet from a bypass airflow passage, the splitter including a lip having an outer surface, the outer surface of the lip being the external surface, as taught by Prather. Such a modification would enable to reduce ice accumulation on the splitter, as recognized by Prather ([0017]). Regarding Claim 7: Terwilliger in view of Carousso and Prather teaches all the limitations of Claim 6, as stated above, and Prather further teaches the lip includes a cavity (56; Fig. 2), the cavity being the conduit (Fig. 2). Regarding claim 8: Terwilliger in view of Carousso and Prather teaches all the limitations of Claim 6, as stated above, and Carousso further teaches the conduit is a coil (see Fig. 2) thermally coupled to the outer surface . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 9-10; and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Terwilliger (US 2023/0258130) in view of Johnson (US 4,569,195) . Regarding Claim 9: Terwilliger discloses a gas turbine engine (20; Fig. 1) comprising: a core air passage (see annotated figure ‘130) for air flow (see annotated figure ‘130) to therethrough in an airflow direction (see annotated figure ‘130); a combustor (502; Fig. 5) located in the core air passage and fluidly coupled to a hydrogen fuel source (508; Fig. 5) to receive hydrogen fuel ([0059]) and to combust the hydrogen fuel producing combustion gases including water vapor ( water extracted to 524); a steam line (see annotated figure ‘130) fluidly coupled to the core air passage at a position downstream of the combustor relative to the airflow direction to receive a portion (see annotated figure ‘130) of the combustion gases; a water vapor condenser (see annotated figure ‘130) fluidly connected to the steam line to receive the combustion gases, the water vapor condenser including a heat sink (522 or 508; Fig. 5) to extract heat from the combustion gases and to condense the water vapor of the combustion gases (see 524; Fig. 5); and at least one nozzle (see annotated figure ‘130) fluidly coupled to the water vapor condenser to receive condensed water (see arrow from 524 to9 502; Fig. 5), the at least one nozzle being positioned to inject the condensed water into the core air passage (see Fig. 5 wherein water in injected into 502). Terwilliger is silent regarding the condensed water being injected into the core air passage upstream of the combustor. However, Johnson teaches a gas turbine engine (engine; Fig. 3) wherein water (42; Fig. 7) is injected into a core air passage (passage from 28 to 38; Fig. 3) upstream (57; Fig. 3) of a combustor (36; Fig. 3). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Terwilliger, to have the condensed water being injected into the core air passage upstream of the combustor, as taught by Johnson. Such a modification would enable to provide cooling, as recognized by Johnson (see Col. 6 L. 58-62). Regarding Claim 10: Terwilliger in view of Johnson teaches all the limitations of Claim 9, as stated above, and Terwilliger further discloses wherein the at least one nozzle is positioned to inject the condensed water into the combustor (see Fig. 5). Regarding Claim 16: Terwilliger in view of Johnson teaches all the limitations of Claim 9, as stated above, and Terwilliger further discloses a fuel system (system from 508 to 502; Fig. 5) comprising: a fuel tank (508; Fig. 5), the fuel tank being the hydrogen fuel source containing the hydrogen fuel in a liquid state ([0059]); a fuel delivery assembly (assembly connecting 508 to 502; Fig. 5) fluidly connecting the fuel tank with the combustor to provide the hydrogen fuel to the combustor; and a vaporizer (see annotated ‘130 ;Fig. 5) in fluid communication with the fuel delivery assembly, the vaporizer being thermally connected to a heat source (522, exhaust gases; Fig. 5) to heat the hydrogen fuel flowing through the vaporizer, wherein the water vapor condenser is in fluid communication with the fuel delivery assembly (see 520; Fig. 5), and the hydrogen fuel being the heat sink (see 520; Fig. 5). Regarding Claim 17: Terwilliger in view of Johnson teaches all the limitations of Claim 16, as stated above, and Terwilliger further discloses wherein the water vapor condenser is positioned upstream of the vaporizer (see annotated figure ‘130). Regarding Claim 18: Terwilliger in view of Johnson teaches all the limitations of Claim 9, as stated above, and Terwilliger further discloses a turbine (504; Fig. 5) located in the core air passage downstream of the combustor, the steam line fluidly coupled to the core air passage at a position (see annotated figure ‘130) downstream of the turbine. Regarding Claim 19: Terwilliger in view of Johnson teaches all the limitations of Claim 18, as stated above, and Terwilliger further discloses a core air heat exchanger (504; Fig. 5) located in the core air passage downstream of the turbine, the steam line fluidly coupled to the core air passage at a position (see annotated figure ‘130) downstream of the core air heat exchanger. Regarding Claim 20: Terwilliger in view of Johnson teaches all the limitations of Claim 19, as stated above, and Terwilliger further discloses a fuel system (system from 508 to 502; Fig. 5) including: a fuel tank (508; Fig. 5), the fuel tank being the hydrogen fuel source containing the hydrogen fuel in a liquid state ([0059]); a fuel delivery assembly (assembly connected 508 to 502; Fig. 5) fluidly connecting the fuel tank with the combustor to provide the hydrogen fuel to the combustor; and a vaporizer (see annotated figure ‘130) in fluid communication with the fuel delivery assembly, the vaporizer being thermally connected to the core air heat exchanger (see how 524 and 520 are thermally connected via the exhaust gases; Fig. 5) to heat the hydrogen fuel flowing through the vaporizer (the hydrogen is heated by the exhaust gases; see annotated figure ‘130) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 11; and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Terwilliger (US 2023/0258130) in view of Johnson (US 4,569,195) and further in view of Payling (US 6,467,252) . Regarding Claim 11: Terwilliger in view of Johnson teaches all the limitations of Claim 9, as stated above, and Terwilliger further discloses a compressor (44, 52; Fig. 1) located in the core air passage upstream of the combustor (see Fig. 1), but is silent regarding the at least one nozzle being positioned to inject the condensed water upstream of the compressor. Payling teaches a gas turbine engine (gas turbine of Fig. 3) having a compressor (12, 14; Fig. 3) located in a core air passage (passage from 12,14, 16, 18, 20, 22; Fig. 3) upstream of a combustor (16; Fig. 3), having at least one nozzle (nozzle of 24; Fig. 3) being positioned to inject water (water in 24; Fig. 3) upstream of the compressor (see Fig. 3). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Terwilliger, to have the at least one nozzle being positioned to inject the condensed water upstream of the compressor, as taught by Payling. Such a modification would enable to provide substantially uniform radial and circumferential temperature reductions at the outlet of the high-pressure compressor, as recognized by Payling (see Abstract). Regarding claim 14: Terwilliger in view of Johnson teaches all the limitations of Claim 9, as stated above, and Terwilliger further discloses the core air passage includes an inlet (see annotated figure ‘130) but is silent regarding the at least one nozzle being positioned to inject the condensed water into the inlet. Payling teaches a gas turbine engine (gas turbine of Fig. 3) having a compressor (12, 14; Fig. 3) located in a core air passage (passage from 12,14, 16, 18, 20, 22; Fig. 3) upstream of a combustor (16; Fig. 3), the core air passage includes an inlet (inlet of 12; Fig. 3), having at least one nozzle (nozzle of 24; Fig. 3) being positioned to inject water (water in 24; Fig. 3) into the inlet (see Fig. 3). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Terwilliger, to have the at least one nozzle being positioned to inject the condensed water into the inlet, as taught by Payling. Such a modification would enable to provide substantially uniform radial and circumferential temperature reductions at the outlet of the high-pressure compressor, as recognized by Payling (see Abstract). Regarding Claim 15: Terwilliger in view of Johnson and Payling teaches all the limitations of Claim 14, and Payling further teaches a plurality of the at least one nozzle (see Fig. 10), wherein the inlet is annular having a circumferential direction (see Fig. 10), the plurality of the at least one nozzle being arrayed in the circumferential direction of the inlet (see Fig. 10) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 9 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Terwilliger814 (US 2023/0323814) and in view of Wikipedia (https://web.archive.org/web/20210419014741/https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Supercritical_carbon_dioxide) and further in view of Johnson (US 4,569,195) . Regarding Claim 9 and 12: Terwilliger814 discloses a gas turbine engine (400; Fig.4) comprising: a core air passage (see annotated figure ‘814) for air flow (see annotated figure ‘814) to therethrough in an airflow direction (see annotated figure ‘814); a combustor (406; Fig. 4) located in the core air passage and fluidly coupled to a hydrogen fuel source (410; Fig. 4) to receive hydrogen fuel and to combust the hydrogen fuel producing combustion gases (see annotated figure ‘814) including water vapor (water extracted and stored in 422; Fig.4); a steam line (line from 420 to 406; Fig. 4) fluidly coupled to the core air passage at a position (see annotated figure ‘814) downstream of the combustor relative to the airflow direction to receive a portion of the combustion gases (see annotated figure ‘814);a water vapor condenser (430; Fig.4) fluidly connected to the steam line to receive the combustion gases (see Fig. 4), the water vapor condenser including a heat sink (436; Fig. 4) to extract heat from the combustion gases and to condense the water vapor of the combustion gases (see Fig. 4); and at least one nozzle (see annotated figure ‘814) fluidly coupled to the water vapor condenser to receive condensed water, the at least one nozzle being positioned to inject the condensed water into the core air passage (see annotated figure ‘814), wherein the heat source is a refrigerant ([0061]), but is silent the refrigerant being a supercritical carbon dioxide. However, Wikipedia teaches that supercritical carbon dioxide can be used as a refrigerant. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Terwilliger814, to have the refrigerant being supercritical carbon dioxide, as taught by Wikipedia. Such a modification would enable to provide low carbon solution, as recognized by Wikipedia (see Section “other”). Terwilliger814 is silent regarding the condensed water being injected into the core air passage upstream of the combustor. However, Johnson teaches a gas turbine engine (10; Fig. 2A) wherein water (“steam”, Abstract) is injected into a core air passage (passage from compressor 103, combustor 105, to turbine 107; Fig. 2A) upstream of a combustor (105; Fig. 2A, and Abstract wherein water is injected at the inlet of the compressor). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Terwilliger814, to have the condensed water being injected into the core air passage upstream of the combustor, as taught by Johnson. Such a modification would enable to provide cooling, as recognized by Johnson (see Col. 6 L. 58-62) . PNG media_image2.png 662 816 media_image2.png Greyscale Allowable subject matter Regarding Claim 13: Claim 13 would be allowable if rewritten in independent form. 13-03-01 AIA The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Prior art fails to teach “ an ice protection system , the at least one nozzle being a part of the ice protection system; and a controller configured to activate the ice protection system to discharge the condensed water from the at least one nozzle .” (for Claim 13) . Response to Arguments Applicant’s arguments filed on 05/07/2026 have been considered but are moot because they not applied to the current prior art interpretation and/or prior art used. Pertinent Prior Art 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please see notice of references cited . Conclusion 07-40 AIA Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL . See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any extension fee pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the date of this final action. Contact Information Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to RODOLPHE ANDRE CHABREYRIE whose telephone number is (571)272-3482. The examiner can normally be reached on 8:30-18:30. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Steven Crabb can be reached on (571) 270-5095 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /RODOLPHE ANDRE CHABREYRIE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761 Application/Control Number: 19/309,195 Page 2 Art Unit: 3761 Application/Control Number: 19/309,195 Page 3 Art Unit: 3761 Application/Control Number: 19/309,195 Page 4 Art Unit: 3761 Application/Control Number: 19/309,195 Page 5 Art Unit: 3761 Application/Control Number: 19/309,195 Page 6 Art Unit: 3761 Application/Control Number: 19/309,195 Page 7 Art Unit: 3761 Application/Control Number: 19/309,195 Page 8 Art Unit: 3761 Application/Control Number: 19/309,195 Page 9 Art Unit: 3761 Application/Control Number: 19/309,195 Page 10 Art Unit: 3761 Application/Control Number: 19/309,195 Page 11 Art Unit: 3761 Application/Control Number: 19/309,195 Page 12 Art Unit: 3761 Application/Control Number: 19/309,195 Page 13 Art Unit: 3761 Application/Control Number: 19/309,195 Page 14 Art Unit: 3761 Application/Control Number: 19/309,195 Page 15 Art Unit: 3761 Application/Control Number: 19/309,195 Page 16 Art Unit: 3761