DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, and 7-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Miyake (US 2009/0292220 A1, Nov. 26, 2009) (hereinafter “Miyake”).
Regarding claim 1: Miyake discloses a medical image capturing support apparatus comprising: a processor ([0057]); and a memory in which a program to be executed by the processor is stored ([0057]), wherein the processor is configured to acquire a plurality of time-series captured images generated by capturing a subject ([0058], [0062]); acquire examination site information representing an examination site that is a target of medical image capturing ([0058] - "imaging target region"); detect, from the plurality of time-series captured images, a body movement region of the subject in the captured images in which a movement of the subject having periodicity and magnitude corresponding to a respiratory movement of the subject occurs ([0058]-[0060]), specify a position of the body movement region in the captured images with reference to the examination site information ([0059]); and identify a body position of the subject according to the position of the body movement region in the captured images ([0064]).
Regarding claim 2: Miyake discloses the medical image capturing support apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to detect at least one of a chest or an abdomen of the subject in the captured images based on the body movement region ([0058], [0068]-[0069]).
Regarding claim 7: Miyake discloses the medical image capturing support apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to identify whether the subject is moved head-first or foot-first to the position at which the subject is to be captured as the body position of the subject ([0081], [0093]).
Regarding claim 8: Miyake discloses an operation method of a medical image capturing support apparatus, the operation method comprising causing a computer functioning as the medical image capturing support apparatus to execute: acquiring a plurality of time-series captured images generated by capturing a subject ([0058], [0062]); acquiring examination site information representing an examination site that is a target of medical image capturing ([0058] - "imaging target region"); detecting, from the plurality of time-series captured images, a body movement region of the subject in the captured images in which a movement of the subject having periodicity and magnitude corresponding to a respiratory movement of the subject occurs ([0058]-[0060]); specifying a position of the body movement region in the captured images with reference to the examination site information ([0059]); and identifying a body position of the subject according to the position of the body movement region in the captured images ([0064]).
Regarding claim 9: Miyake discloses a non-transitory, computer-readable tangible recording medium which records thereon a program for causing a computer functioning as a medical image capturing support apparatus to realize: a function of acquiring a plurality of time-series captured images generated by capturing a subject ([0058], [0062]); a function of acquiring examination site information representing an examination site that is a target of medical image capturing ([0058] - "imaging target region"); a function of detecting, from the plurality of time-series captured images, a body movement region of the subject in the captured images in which a movement of the subject having periodicity and magnitude corresponding to a respiratory movement of the subject occurs ([0058]-[0060]); a function of specifying a position of the body movement region in the captured images with reference to the examination site information ([0059]); and a function of identifying a body position of the subject according to the position of the body movement region in the captured images ([0064]).
Regarding claim 10: Miyake discloses A medical image capturing apparatus comprising: an imaging unit configured to image a subject and generate imaging data of the subject; an image reconstruction unit configured to generate reconstruction based on the imaging data; and the medical image capturing support apparatus according to claim 1 (fig. 1, [0066], [0173]; the CT scan apparatus 3 is considered to be an implicit disclosure of the image reconstruction that would be necessary to produce CT image data).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyake in view of Kaneko et al. (US 2022/0202375 A1, Jun. 30, 2022) (hereinafter “Kaneko”).
Regarding claim 3: Miyake discloses the apparatus of claim 1 but does not disclose wherein the processor is configured to detect the body movement region by applying optical flow calculation processing of calculating an optical flow in the plurality of time-series captured images.
Kaneko, in the analogous art of respiration detection, discloses capturing a plurality of time-series images and detecting a body movement region by applying optical flow calculation processing of calculating an optical flow in the plurality of time-series captured images ([0034], [0037]-[0041]). Kaneko further discloses that the calculation process using optical flow is used to obtain the most accurate region of interest for detecting respiratory motion ([0041]).
It would have been prima facie obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Miyake by configuring the processor to detect the body movement region by applying optical flow calculation processing of calculating an optical flow in the plurality of time-series captured images as taught by Kaneko in order to obtain a more accurate result as further taught by Kaneko.
Regarding claim 4: Miyake discloses the apparatus of claim 1, but does not disclose wherein the processor is configured to acquire a plurality of time-series first captured images obtained by capturing the subject using a first camera disposed on one side of an imaging space, detect a first body movement region as the body movement region from the plurality of time-series first captured images, acquire a plurality of time-series second captured images obtained by capturing the subject using a second camera disposed on the other side of the imaging space, detect a second body movement region as the body movement region from the plurality of time-series second captured images, and identify the body position of the subject according to a comparison result between the first body movement region and the second body movement region.
Kaneko, in the analogous art of respiration detection, discloses a processor configured to acquire a plurality of time-series first captured images obtained by capturing the subject using a first camera disposed on one side of an imaging space ([0056]-[0057]), detect a first body movement region as the body movement region from the plurality of time-series first captured images ([0058] - comparing regions in the right and left images), acquire a plurality of time-series second captured images obtained by capturing the subject using a second camera disposed on the other side of the imaging space ([0056]-[0057]), detect a second body movement region as the body movement region from the plurality of time-series second captured images ([0058] - comparing regions in the right and left images), and identify the best ROI for measuring the body movement according to a comparison result between the first body movement region and the second body movement region ([0054]). Kaneko further discloses that this dual-camera technique provides improved accuracy in the detection of respiratory motion ([0060]).
It would have been prima facie obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to find the best body movement region using the dual-camera technique of Kaneko to identify the body movement region of Miyake in view of the further teachings of Kaneko that this technique provides a more accurate result.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 6 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Objection to claims 4-6 is withdrawn in light of the amendments to the claims.
Rejection of claims 1-10 under 35 U.S.C. §112(b) is withdrawn in light of the amendments to the claims.
Applicant’s arguments, filed 09/16/2026, have been fully considered but are moot in view of the updated grounds of rejection necessitated by amendment.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Dai et al. (US 2021/0153767 A1, May 27, 2021) – discloses determining a patient’s positioning direction (head first, feet first) for magnetic resonance imaging using a camera disposed outside of the imaging bore.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CAROLYN A PEHLKE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799