CTNF 19/309,837 CTNF 77702 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1-6, and 8-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Tashiro et al. (US 2012/0078103 A1) . With respect to claim 1, Tashiro discloses an ultrasound diagnosis apparatus comprising processing circuitry configured to (see Figure 1 showing ultrasound diagnostic apparatus #10 having a processing circuitry #48 in main body #14): acquire a first echo signal based on a first ultrasound beam and a second echo signal based on a second ultrasound beam, the second ultrasound beam covering an area at least partially overlapping, and differing in an elevation direction from, an area covered by the first ultrasound beam (see paragraph 0122 disclosing the time sequential frame image been generated, considered as “n” echo signals where n≥2 according to paragraph 0280 in the same region considered as overlapping signals where the signals are at different heights/elevation due to motion etc. according to paragraphs 0018; see also Figure 23 showing region #240 within region #242 according to paragraph 0334); calculate a differential signal representing a difference between the first echo signal and the second echo signal; and display a differential image based on the differential signal (see paragraph 0186). With respect to claim 2, Tashiro discloses the processing circuitry is configured to execute a threshold process on the differential signal to extract a signal value which is equal to or greater than a threshold value, and display the differential image based on the extracted signal value (see paragraphs 0142, 0180 and 0222). With respect to claim 3, Tashiro discloses the processing circuitry is further configured to detect whether or not a detection target is depicted in the differential image (see paragraphs 0131 0170, and 0334-0336). With respect to claim 4, Tashiro discloses the processing circuitry is configured to determine, if the detection target is depicted in the differential image, that at least a portion of the detection target is located outside of a plane of a desired cross-sectional image (see paragraphs 0176, and 0334-0336). With respect to claim 5, Tashiro discloses to execute a speckle suppression process on the first echo signal and the second echo signal; and generate the differential signal based on the first echo signal and the second echo signal on which the speckle suppression process has been executed (see paragraphs 0185-0188 and 0191-0192). With respect to claim 6, Tashiro discloses wherein the first ultrasound beam and the second ultrasound beam are ultrasound beams differing in frequency (see paragraph 0292, 0335-0336). With respect to claim 8, Tashiro discloses the first ultrasound beam and the second ultrasound beam are formed to cover different areas by controlling a delay time of a signal in the elevation direction (see paragraphs 0106 and 0124). With respect to claim 9, Tashiro discloses the processing circuitry is configured to: acquire a third echo signal based on a third ultrasound beam having a beam shape encompassing the areas of the first ultrasound beam and the second ultrasound beam; calculate a first differential signal representing a difference between the first echo signal and the second echo signal and a second differential signal representing a difference between the third echo signal and the first echo signal or the second echo signal (see paragraph 0122 disclosing the time sequential frame image been generated, considered as “n” echo signals where n≥2 according to paragraph 0280 in the same region); and detect, using the first differential signal and the second differential signal (see paragraph 0186), a shift amount indicating a degree by which at least a portion of a detection target is shifted outside of a plane of a desired cross-sectional image (see paragraphs 0197 and 0207-2010). With respect to claim 10, Tashiro discloses the processing circuitry is configured to: acquire a third echo signal based on a third ultrasound beam, the third ultrasound beam covering an area at least partially overlapping the area of the first ultrasound beam and oriented oppositely to the area of the second ultrasound beam with reference to the area of the first ultrasound beam in the elevation direction (see paragraph 0122 disclosing the time sequential frame image been generated, considered as “n” echo signals where n≥2 according to paragraph 0280); calculate a first differential signal representing a difference between the first echo signal and the second echo signal and a second differential signal representing a difference between the third echo signal and the first echo signal or the second echo signal, and detect, using the first differential signal and the second differential signal (see paragraph 0186), a shift direction representing a direction in which at least a portion of a detection target is shifted in the elevation direction (see paragraphs 0197-0198 and 0207-2010). With respect to claim 11, Tashiro discloses the processing circuitry is configured to superimpose the differential image on an ultrasound image based on the first echo signal, in a display color different from the ultrasound image, and display a superimposed image (see paragraphs 0008, 0131-0132 and 0176). With respect to claim 12, Tashiro discloses an ultrasound diagnosis method, comprising: acquiring a first echo signal based on a first ultrasound beam and a second echo signal based on a second ultrasound beam, the second ultrasound beam covering an area at least partially overlapping, and differing in an elevation direction from (see paragraph 0122 disclosing the time sequential frame image been generated, considered as “n” echo signals where n≥2 according to paragraph 0280 in the same region considered as overlapping signals where the signals are at different heights/elevation due to motion etc. according to paragraphs 0018; see also Figure 23 showing region #240 within region #242 according to paragraph 0334), an area covered by the first ultrasound beam; calculating a differential signal representing a difference between the first echo signal and the second echo signal; and displaying a differential image based on the differential signal (see paragraph 0186). With respect to claim 13, Tashiro discloses a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing a program that causes processing circuitry to: acquire a first echo signal based on a first ultrasound beam and a second echo signal based on a second ultrasound beam, the second ultrasound beam covering an area at least partially overlapping, and differing in an elevation direction from (see paragraph 0122 disclosing the time sequential frame image been generated, considered as “n” echo signals where n≥2 according to paragraph 0280 in the same region considered as overlapping signals where the signals are at different heights/elevation due to motion etc. according to paragraphs 0018; see also Figure 23 showing region #240 within region #242 according to paragraph 0334), an area covered by the first ultrasound beam; calculate a differential signal representing a difference between the first echo signal and the second echo signal; and display a differential image based on the differential signal (see paragraph 0186) . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim 7 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to DIXOMARA VARGAS whose telephone number is (571)272-2252. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday 8am-5pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Raymond Keith can be reached at 571-270-1790. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /DIXOMARA VARGAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3798 Application/Control Number: 19/309,837 Page 2 Art Unit: 3798 Application/Control Number: 19/309,837 Page 3 Art Unit: 3798 Application/Control Number: 19/309,837 Page 4 Art Unit: 3798 Application/Control Number: 19/309,837 Page 5 Art Unit: 3798 Application/Control Number: 19/309,837 Page 6 Art Unit: 3798