DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This office action is in response to the amendment filed on 10/15/2026.
Claims 6-10 have been canceled.
Claim 1 has been amended.
Claims 1-5 are pending and have been examined.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. KR10-2024-0118157, filed on 8/30/2024.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1: Claims 1-5 are directed to a method. Thus, on their face they fall within the four statutory categories of patentable subject matter.
Step 2A prong 1:
Each claims additional elements will be addressed individually. The following limitations, when considered individually and as an ordered combination, are merely descriptive of abstract concepts:
Claim 1:
determining a consumer related to promotional product information from a seller;
providing the promotional product information to the determined consumer; and
providing response information to the consumer in response to a request for additional information when receiving the request,
wherein the provided promotional product information is automatically generated for each consumer based on a sales price and expected consumption volume, for products predicted to be purchased above a certain level by learning the seller’s sales history information form the seller, and
wherein the provided promotional product information is configured to be displayed along with voice output to the consumer
The following dependent claim limitations, when considered individually and as an ordered combination, are merely further descriptive of abstract concepts:
Claim 2:
wherein the determining of the consumer comprises determining the consumer based on purchase history information of products related to the promotional product.
Claim 3:
wherein the providing of the promotional product information includes providing the promotional product information in the consumer's language of choice, and, if the consumer speaks multiple languages, providing the promotional product information translated into the multiple languages through voice.
Claim 4:
wherein, prior to providing the promotional product information, an authentication process is performed with the determined consumer.
Claim 5:
wherein the promotional product information comprises meat product information, including meat type, market price, and purchase limit information.
The claims provide a manner of determining a promotion product and consumer associated with the promotional product. The promotional product information is provided to the consumer and when the consumer requests additional information providing a response. The promotional product information is generated for each consumer based on a sales price and an expected consumption volume, for products predicted to be purchased above a certain threshold by learning a sellers sales history. The promotional information is provided to the user by way of display and voice. Thus, when considered individually and as an ordered combination, the claims embody certain methods of organizing human activity. Specifically, such activity is in the form of commercial interactions (in the form of advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors).
Additionally, but for the inclusion of generic computing devices the limitations of the claims could be performed mentally or with pen and paper. A human analog would be able to determine a promotional product, determine a consumer related with the promotional product information, provide the information to the consumer as a display and by voice, generate for each consumer based on a sales price and an expected consumption volume, for products predicted to be purchased above a certain threshold by learning a sellers sales history, and respond to a request for more information. Thus, the claims also fall under the mental process category of abstract ideas.
Step 2A prong 2: This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. The claims recite the following additional elements: server (claim 1); seller server (claim 1); consumer device (claim 1)
The server, seller server, and consumer device, are recited at a high level of generality and merely “apply it” (the abstract idea) using generic computing components (spec [32], [33], [77]). The devices are merely used to process data (determining, generate) and send and receive data (providing). Nothing in the claims improves technology or a technical field (See MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Accordingly, when considered both individually and as an ordered combination, the additional elements do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Step 2B: The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Similarly, as above with regard to practical application, the additional elements when considered both individually and as an ordered combination, do not provide an inventive concept as they merely provide generic computing components used as a tool to implement the abstract idea.
As a result, the claims are not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Balasubramanian et al (US 2014/0067395) in view of Mehrotra et al (US 2023/0316317)
As per claim 1:
Balasubramanian teaches:
A method for providing commercial product information on a server, the method comprising ([0022] Those skilled in the relevant art will recognize that portions of the invention may reside on a server computer, while corresponding portions reside on a client computer. See also [0023], [0024]):
at the server, determining a consumer related to promotional product information from seller server; ([0018] In some implementations, the conversational advertising system changes a direction of a conversation partway through the conversation based, at least in part, on responses received from the audience. For example, the conversation advertising system may determine that an audience has already purchased a first product that the conversation advertising system was originally trying to persuade the audience to buy, and the conversation advertising system may steer the conversation toward discussing accessories for that product. [0042] The conversational advertising system may also gather other data associated with the audience, such as data related to purchases made by an audience member, a search query submitted by an audience member, an Internet browsing history of an audience member, social networking profiles of audience members, email messages sent and received by audience members, and the like.)
at the server, providing the promotional product information to the determined consumer's device; and ([0014] Conversational advertisements may include audio only, video and audio, audio and computer-generated graphics, and other combinations of media that include audio. Conversational advertisements interact with an audience using natural language dialog. [0015] The conversational advertising system may commence a conversational advertisement by positing a question to an audience or by otherwise providing an indication to the audience that the audience may respond verbally to an advertisement. For example, the conversational advertising system may synthesize speech that is played to the audience or identify and play pre-recorded audio segments, instructing the audience to respond by stating the audience's preference with regard to a matter. The conversational advertising system may also generate a graphic or play a video that indicates to the audience that it can speak to the advertisement to provide input. The conversational advertising system may modify the graphic or play particular videos based on an audience's input and/or the progress of the conversation.)
at the server, providing response information to the consumer's device in response to a request for additional information when receiving the request, (Fig. 4A, [0047] At block 330, the conversational advertising system processes the audience's response. In some implementations, the conversational advertising system converts audio data representing an audience's response to a text string, and compares the text string (and associated synonyms of words from the text string) to a list of expected keywords (and synonyms thereof). For example, the script 400 identifies three keywords 410a-c that it expects to receive from an audience in response to the first question 405. The script 400 also includes a [not recognized] keyword placeholder 410d for when the conversational advertising system does not recognize any expected keyword in the response from the audience. In some implementations, processing an audience's response includes applying text analytics and/or natural language processing or other text analysis strategies to the response. [0048] At a block 335, the conversational advertising system identifies an appropriate response to the audience's response. The conversational advertising system may identify an appropriate response by following the script associated with the conversational advertisement. For example, the script 400 includes first responses 415a-d that are associated with the first keywords 410a-d, respectively. If an audience's response included the first keyword 410a, "Yes," which is associated with the first response 415a, the conversational advertising system identifies the first response 415a as the appropriate response to the audience's response. In some implementations, an appropriate response is chosen based at least in part on information pertaining to the audience. For example, the response 415b may be associated with the first keyword 410b, "Sporting goods," and any response not equivalent to "Home furnishings" if the audience is determined to be fewer than 23 years old. [0049] At a block 340, the conversational advertising system delivers to the audience the response to the audience's response. The conversational advertising system may deliver audio data that includes synthesized speech representing the response to the audience's response. For example, returning again to FIG. 4A, the conversational advertising system may synthesize speech representing the first response 415a, and it may deliver audio data of the synthesized speech to be played to the audience. In some implementations, the conversational advertising system modifies a response before delivering it to the audience. For example, information may be added to a response that is identified based on information about the audience. In FIG. 4A, response 416 includes a bracketed phrase stating "Don't forget to sign up for the local 3-on-3 tournament happening this summer." This phrase is added to the response after the conversational advertising system identifies the hometown of the audience.);
wherein the provided promotional product information is configured to be displayed along with voice output on the consumer's device. (Fig. 4A; [0014] Conversational advertisements may include audio only, video and audio, audio and computer-generated graphics, and other combinations of media that include audio. Conversational advertisements interact with an audience using natural language dialog. [0015] The conversational advertising system may commence a conversational advertisement by positing a question to an audience or by otherwise providing an indication to the audience that the audience may respond verbally to an advertisement. For example, the conversational advertising system may synthesize speech that is played to the audience or identify and play pre-recorded audio segments, instructing the audience to respond by stating the audience's preference with regard to a matter. The conversational advertising system may also generate a graphic or play a video that indicates to the audience that it can speak to the advertisement to provide input. The conversational advertising system may modify the graphic or play particular videos based on an audience's input and/or the progress of the conversation. [0045] The script includes a first question 405 that is automatically asked to the audience upon commencement of the conversational advertisement. In some implementations, when the conversational advertising system delivers the selected conversational advertisement at block 320, the conversational advertising system delivers audio data representing synthesized speech of a first line of a script. [0049] [0049] At a block 340, the conversational advertising system delivers to the audience the response to the audience's response. The conversational advertising system may deliver audio data that includes synthesized speech representing the response to the audience's response. For example, returning again to FIG. 4A, the conversational advertising system may synthesize speech representing the first response 415a, and it may deliver audio data of the synthesized speech to be played to the audience.)
Balasubramanian does not expressly teach wherein the provided promotional product information is automatically generated by the server for each consumer based on a sales price and an expected consumption volume, for products predicted to be purchased above a certain level by learning the seller’s sales history information from the seller server.
Mehrotra teaches:
wherein the provided promotional product information is automatically generated by the server for each consumer based on a sales price and an expected consumption volume, for products predicted to be purchased above a certain level by learning the seller’s sales history information from the seller server, and ([0025] For example, the forecasting model may predict customer demand for an item sold at a particular store during a particular period of time. The store may be one of a plurality of stores operated by a retailer, for example. The period of time can be a month, a season, a holiday, a holiday season, or any other period of time. [0028] In some examples, the item is advertised with the new price. For example, the item may be advertised with the new price on a website for the retailer, on television, or in communications, such as short message service (SMS) communications, texts, or emails. [0043] The predicted demand may include an amount (e.g., number) of the item predicted to be sold over a period of time, such as over the period of time received in the request. [0044] The historical transaction data may identify the items sold, and the prices of the sold items. The historical transaction data may also identify store inventory levels of the items when the transactions were executed. [0067] Price determination computing device 102 may further store first store inventory data 380 in database 116. First store inventory data 380 identifies current and previous inventory levels of items at first store 109. For example, first store inventory data 380 may identify a previous price of an item, an amount of an item in inventory when a previous price of the item took effect, and a period of time of when the previous price of the time was in effect. First store inventory data 380 may also identify a current price of an item, a current inventory level for the item, an inventory level of the item when the current price went into effect, and a point in time (e.g., a date) of when the current price when into effect. At step 506, a current inventory of the item at the store is determined. For example, the current inventory of the item at the store may be identified in the received request. In some examples, price determination computing device 102 may obtain first store inventory data 380 to determine the current inventory of the item at the store. [0086] Proceeding to step 508, a demand forecast for the item at the store is determined. The demand forecast identifies a predicted demand for the item at the store. The demand forecast is determined based on the experimental item sales data and the current inventory. For example, price determination computing device 102 may execute forecasting model 392 to determine the demand forecast for the item at the store. At step 510, historical inventory, price, and sales data is determined for the item. For example, price determination computing device 102 may obtain first store historical item price data 384 and/or first store transaction data 320 from database 116, and parse out inventory, price, and sales data for the item. [0087] At step 512, a clearance price for the item at the store is determined. The clearance price is determined based on the demand forecast generated at step 508, the current inventory of the item at the store, and the historical inventory, price, and sales data for the item. For example, price determination computing device 102 may execute item price optimization model 394 to determine a recommended clearance price for the item at the store. [0090] At step 610, a first clearance price and a corresponding confidence value for the item at the first store is generated. The first clearance price and the corresponding confidence value may be generated based on the time period, the generated demand forecast, the current inventory of the item at the first store, and the historical price reduction data.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the provided promotional product information is automatically generated by the server for each consumer based on a sales price and an expected consumption volume, for products predicted to be purchased above a certain level by learning the seller’s sales history information from the seller server as taught by Mehrotra with the conversational advertising of Balasubramanian in order to realize additional revenues from selling an item and to clear inventory of items ([0003]).
Balasubramanian in view of Mehrotra teaches the limitations of claim 1. As per claim 2:
Balasubramanian teaches:
wherein the determining of the consumer comprises determining the consumer based on purchase history information of products related to the promotional product. ([0018] In some implementations, the conversational advertising system changes a direction of a conversation partway through the conversation based, at least in part, on responses received from the audience. For example, the conversation advertising system may determine that an audience has already purchased a first product that the conversation advertising system was originally trying to persuade the audience to buy, and the conversation advertising system may steer the conversation toward discussing accessories for that product. [0042] The conversational advertising system may also gather other data associated with the audience, such as data related to purchases made by an audience member, a search query submitted by an audience member, an Internet browsing history of an audience member, social networking profiles of audience members, email messages sent and received by audience members, and the like.)
Balasubramanian in view of Mehrotra teaches the limitations of claim 1. As per claim 4:
Balasubramanian teaches:
wherein, prior to providing the promotional product information, an authentication process is performed with the determined consumer. ([0030] The conversation module 210 selects an advertisement to provide to the audience from a repository of advertisements in advertisement data storage area 285. In some implementations, the conversation module identifies an advertisement that is likely to be relevant to the audience. It may base this selection on information associated with the audience that it receives from the audience recognition module 250 or speech recognition module 230. [0033] In some implementations, the conversation module personalizes a response or action based on information about the audience. For example, it may modify a response so that it includes a name of an audience member or a city that the audience member lives, which it may determined based on audience input or data from the audience recognition module. [0038] The audience recognition module 240 identifies information associated with an audience. The information associated with the audience may be used by the conversation module 210 for targeting conversational advertisements to the audience. The audience recognition module 240 may identify this information in the new audience data that is received by the conversation advertising system. The new audience data may include identifying information associated with the audience, such as an IP address, a username, an account number, environmental information (e.g., a location of the audience, noise information pertaining to the audience's environment, computer usage information), and so forth. The audience recognition module 240 may search for stored audience data that is associated with the new audience data. The audience data storage area 275 may contain the stored audience data. Stored audience data may include, for example, interests or data related to advertisements that the audience previously viewed, such as the audience's response to previously presented conversational advertisements. The conversational advertising system 200 is configured to identify advertisements and responses that are likely to be relevant to the audience based on the information known about the audience. When new audience data is received, the audience recognition module 240 stores the new audience data in audience data storage area 275. The audience data storage area 275 may also store other data relevant to advertising, such as demographic data, survey responses, Internet cookies and ad logs that track individual audience member's interactions with online content, etc.)
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Balasubramanian et al (US 2014/0067395) in view of Mehrotra et al (US 2023/0316317) in view of Bangalore (US 2017/0147561).
Balasubramanian in view of Mehrotra teaches the limitations of claim 1. As per claim 3:
Balasubramanian in view of Mehrotra does not expressly teach wherein the providing of the promotional product information includes providing the promotional product information in the consumer's language of choice, and, if the consumer speaks multiple languages, providing the promotional product information translated into the multiple languages through voice.
Bangalore teaches:
wherein the providing of the promotional product information includes providing the promotional product information in the consumer's language of choice, ([0002] The present invention relates to automatic language translation of advertisements or commercial messages from a source language to a target language, and in particular to methods, systems, and machine-readable media for use in a messaging system for determining a target language in which a user is comfortable communicating and presenting a commercial message in the target language to the user. [0007] The machine-readable medium may include instructions for determining a target language in which the user is comfortable communicating based on at least one communication received by the user or at least one communication provided by the user via a communication system, and instructions for presenting a commercial message in the target language to the user.)
Examiner’s Comment: The limitation of “if the consumer speaks multiple languages, providing the promotional product information translated into the multiple languages through voice” has little to no patentable weight because it is optional language in a method claim. The limitation is conditional and thus does not have to occur. (See MPEP 2111.04 | “Claim scope is not limited by claim language that suggests or makes optional but does not require steps to be performed, or by claim language that does not limit a claim to a particular structure.”) The examiner has applied art to the limitation to promote compact prosecution, however, the examiner recommends restructuring the claim to require the step to occur.
and, if the consumer speaks multiple languages, providing the promotional product information translated into the multiple languages through voice. ([0028] Language selector 308 may analyze words in user communication folders, such as inbox 302 an sent box 304, to determine a language of messages in the user communication folders and to select a language in which the user is comfortable conversing, such as, English, French, Spanish, or another language. [0031] Message presenter 316 may present one or more commercial messages to the user. Message presenter may include a speech generator to generate speech in a language in which the user is comfortable conversing. Other implementations of message presenter 316 may generate text in the language in which the user is comfortable conversing. [0036] For example, in one implementation, if no one language (for which translation capabilities exist) has a calculated percentage of communications that is greater than the threshold, then language selector 308 may set the target language to be any one of the languages (for which translation capabilities exist) used in communications in communication folders having a higher or equal percentage of communications than communications of other languages. [0040] Next, translator 314 of server 106 may determine whether any of the one or more commercial messages are in the target language (act 722). Ones of the commercial messages that are not in the target language may be translated by translator 314 to the target language (act 724). Message presenter 316 may then prepare the one or more commercial messages for presentation to the user (act 726). For some users of processing device 102 and for users connected to the system through a device such as telephone 104, message presenter 316 may prepare the one or more commercial messages for verbal presentation. That is, message presenter 316 may perform speech generation in the target language to present the one or more commercial messages to the user.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the providing of the promotional product information includes providing the promotional product information in the consumer's language of choice, and, if the consumer speaks multiple languages, providing the promotional product information translated into the multiple languages through voice as taught by Bangalore with the conversational advertising of Balasubramanian in view of Mehrotra in order to present advertisements or commercial messages to the user in a language in which the user is most comfortable ([0003]).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Balasubramanian et al (US 2014/0067395) in view of Mehrotra et al (US 2023/0316317) in view of https://www.njwoodsandwater.com/forums/topic/54860-shoprite-rib-roast-sale/ (see attached PDF) - hereafter “Rib Roast”
Balasubramanian in view of Mehrotra teaches the limitations of claim 1. As per claim 5:
Balasubramanian in view of Mehrotra does not expressly teach wherein the promotional product information comprises meat product information, including meat type, market price, and purchase limit information.
Rib Roast teaches:
wherein the promotional product information comprises meat product information, including meat type, market price, and purchase limit information.
Advertising information includes quantity limit, price, and type of meat.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the promotional product information comprises meat product information, including meat type, market price, and purchase limit information as taught by Rib Roast with the conversational advertisements of Balasubramanian in view of Mehrotra in order to entice customers to purchase meat products.
Response to Arguments
The examiner has considered and finds persuasive applicant’s arguments regarding previous objections. As a result, such objections have been withdrawn.
The examiner has considered and finds persuasive applicant’s arguments regarding previous rejections under 35 USC 112. As a result, such rejections have been withdrawn.
The examiner has considered but does not find persuasive applicant’s arguments regarding rejections under 35 USC 101. The high level recitation of using a server to complete the steps does not go beyond the “apply it” level of implementation. The claims recite little more than “do it” with a server. Nothing in the claims improve computer technology ort a technical field. As discussed above, the claims fall short under 101 as the high level of a server to “apply it” (the abstract idea) does not provide a practical application. The examiner has not indicated that any of the additional elements were insignificant extra solution activity and thus analysis of whether they are well-understood, routine, or conventional is moot. As a result, such rejections have been maintained.
Applicant’s arguments regarding prior art rejections under 35 USC 102 and 103 are moot in light of new grounds of rejection which have been necessitated by amendment.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
CHRISTOPHER STROUD
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3621
/CHRISTOPHER STROUD/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3621