DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 11 objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 11 is not ending with a period. Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 1,7 and 9-12 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11 of U.S. Patent No. 12431016. Claims 1, 7 and 9-12 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 and 17-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11842636. Claims 1-14 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8, 11-14 and 16-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11170642. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of the same inventive entity or name at least one joint inventor in common and the instant application have a similar invention concept with above patents. The instant application 19309873 are disclosing a system including a VCU (vehicle control unit) to determine whether a mass transit vehicle is behind a schedule and send a request to a priority detector at as intersection to assist the mass transit vehicle arrival on schedule and the VCU disable request when it is inactive. The patents above disclose a similar invention concept. There is only one minor difference between the instant application and the above-mentioned patents: the above patents discussed a comparison between the actual time and schedule arrival time for determining whether the VCU need to activate request a priority or not. The instant application does not disclose the comparison process, but the instant application discloses the VCU activate request a priority or not based on travel time expected at each pacing zone. Therefore, it’s obviously to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize the above US Patents to reject the instant application with the non-statutory double patenting. Please see the claims mapping in the Non-Statutory Double Patenting Tables below:
Non-statutory Double Patenting Table 1:
Instant Application No. 19309873
US Patenting No. 12431016
1. A system for assisting in maintaining a vehicle on a fixed schedule, the system comprising; a vehicle having its own schedule with a specified scheduled arrival time at a specified destination along a route which route includes an intersection including a signal light controller, said intersection being prior to said specified destination;
1. A method for assisting in maintaining a vehicle on a fixed schedule, the method comprising; providing a vehicle having a schedule and a route and carrying a Vehicle Control Unit (VCU) which lacks the capability of calculating and determining whether or not the vehicle is on schedule; obtaining a scheduled arrival time for said vehicle to arrive at a specified stop on said route from General Transit Feed Specification (GTFS) information;
a pacing zone along said route prior to said intersection with an associated expected traversal time; a priority detector unit communicatively attached to said signal light controller;
and a schedule adherence routine comparing an actual time said vehicle arrives at said specified stop to said scheduled arrival time at said specified stop
and a vehicle control unit (VCU) in said vehicle, said VCU configured to request priority for said vehicle through said intersection from said priority detector when said VCU is active and to not communicate with said priority detector when said VCU is inactive; wherein, if an amount of time measured for said vehicle while within said pacing zone exceeds said expected traversal time, said VCU is made active; and wherein, if an amount of time measured for said vehicle to traverse said pacing zone is below said expected traversal time, said VCU is made inactive.
wherein: if said comparison determines said actual time is after said scheduled arrival time by at least a schedule deviation threshold, said schedule adherence routine activates said VCU which requests priority for said vehicle until said vehicle arrives at a next stop; and if said comparison determines said actual time is not after said scheduled arrival time by at least a schedule deviation threshold, said schedule adherence routine inactivates said VCU which does not request priority for said vehicle until said vehicle arrives at a next stop;
9. The system of claim 1, further comprising an authorization disable zone which inactivates said VCU when said vehicle enters said authorization disable zone regardless of if said VCU is active or inactive when said vehicle enters said authorization disable zone.
activating said VCU when said vehicle enters an authorization enable zone regardless of if said VCU is active or inactive when said vehicle enters said authorization enable zone; inactivating said VCU when said vehicle enters an authorization disable zone regardless of if said VCU is active or inactive when said vehicle enters said authorization disable zone.
10. The system of claim 9, wherein said authorization disable zone is not on said route.
2. The method of claim 1 wherein in said authorization disable zone is not on said route.
11. The system of claim 9, wherein said authorization disable zone is on said route
3. The method of claim 1 wherein said authorization disable zone is on said route.
7. The system of claim 1, wherein said vehicle is a mass transit vehicle.
4. The method of claim 1 wherein said vehicle is a mass transit vehicle.
1. A system for assisting in maintaining a vehicle on a fixed schedule, the system comprising; a vehicle having its own schedule with a specified scheduled arrival time at a specified destination along a route which route includes an intersection including a signal light controller, said intersection being prior to said specified destination;
5. A method for assisting in maintaining a vehicle on a fixed schedule, the method comprising; providing a vehicle having a schedule and a route and carrying a Vehicle Control Unit (VCU) which lacks the capability of calculating and determining whether or not the vehicle is on schedule; obtaining a scheduled arrival time for said vehicle to arrive at a specified stop on said route from General Transit Feed Specification (GTFS) information;
a pacing zone along said route prior to said intersection with an associated expected traversal time; a priority detector unit communicatively attached to said signal light controller;
a schedule adherence routine comparing an actual time said vehicle arrives at said specified stop to said scheduled arrival time at said specified stop;
and a vehicle control unit (VCU) in said vehicle, said VCU configured to request priority for said vehicle through said intersection from said priority detector when said VCU is active and to not communicate with said priority detector when said VCU is inactive; wherein, if an amount of time measured for said vehicle while within said pacing zone exceeds said expected traversal time, said VCU is made active; and wherein, if an amount of time measured for said vehicle to traverse said pacing zone is below said expected traversal time, said VCU is made inactive.
wherein: if said comparison determines said actual time is after said scheduled arrival time by at least a schedule deviation threshold, said schedule adherence routine activates said VCU; and if said comparison determines said actual time is not after said scheduled arrival time by at least a schedule deviation threshold, said schedule adherence routine inactivates said VCU; waiting for said vehicle to arrive at said next specified stop; and comparing an actual time said vehicle arrives at said next specified stop to a scheduled arrival time at said next specified stop, said comparison determining if said VCU remains active or is inactive after said next specified stop; wherein: if said comparison determines said actual time is after said scheduled arrival time by at least a schedule deviation threshold, said VCU is made active; and if said comparison determines said actual time is not after said scheduled arrival time by at least a schedule deviation threshold, said VCU is not altered from if it is currently active or inactive;
12. The system of claim 1, further comprising an authorization enable zone which activates said VCU when said vehicle enters said authorization enable zone regardless of if said VCU is active or inactive when said vehicle enters said authorization enable zone.
activating said VCU when said vehicle enters an authorization enable zone regardless of if said VCU is active or inactive when said vehicle enters said authorization enable zone.
9. The system of claim 1, further comprising an authorization disable zone which inactivates said VCU when said vehicle enters said authorization disable zone regardless of if said VCU is active or inactive when said vehicle enters said authorization disable zone.
6. The method of claim 5 further comprising: inactivating said VCU when said vehicle enters an authorization disable zone regardless of if said VCU is active or inactive when said vehicle enters said authorization disable zone.
10. The system of claim 9, wherein said authorization disable zone is not on said route.
7. The method of claim 6 wherein in said authorization disable zone is not on said route.
11. The system of claim 9, wherein said authorization disable zone is on said route
8. The method of claim 6 wherein said authorization disable zone is on said route.
7. The system of claim 1, wherein said vehicle is a mass transit vehicle.
9. The method of claim 5 wherein said vehicle is a mass transit vehicle.
1. A system for assisting in maintaining a vehicle on a fixed schedule, the system comprising; a vehicle having its own schedule with a specified scheduled arrival time at a specified destination along a route which route includes an intersection including a signal light controller, said intersection being prior to said specified destination;
10. A method for assisting in maintaining a vehicle on a fixed schedule, the method comprising; providing a vehicle having a schedule and a route and carrying a Vehicle Control Unit (VCU) which lacks the capability of calculating and determining whether or not the vehicle is on schedule; obtaining a scheduled arrival time for said vehicle to arrive at a specified stop on said route from General Transit Feed Specification (GTFS) information;
a pacing zone along said route prior to said intersection with an associated expected traversal time; a priority detector unit communicatively attached to said signal light controller;
a schedule adherence routine comparing an actual time said vehicle arrives at said specified stop to said scheduled arrival time at said specified stop;
and a vehicle control unit (VCU) in said vehicle, said VCU configured to request priority for said vehicle through said intersection from said priority detector when said VCU is active and to not communicate with said priority detector when said VCU is inactive; wherein, if an amount of time measured for said vehicle while within said pacing zone exceeds said expected traversal time, said VCU is made active; and wherein, if an amount of time measured for said vehicle to traverse said pacing zone is below said expected traversal time, said VCU is made inactive.
wherein: if said comparison determines said actual time is before said scheduled arrival time by at least a schedule deviation threshold, said schedule adherence routine inactivates said VCU; and if said comparison determines said actual time is not before said scheduled arrival time by at least a schedule deviation threshold, said schedule adherence routine activates said VCU; waiting for said vehicle to arrive at said next specified stop; and comparing an actual time said vehicle arrives at said next specified stop to a scheduled arrival time at said next specified stop, said comparison determining if said VCU remains active or is inactive after said next specified stop; wherein: if said comparison determines said actual time is before said scheduled arrival time by at least a schedule deviation threshold, said VCU is made inactive; and if said comparison determines said actual time is not before said scheduled arrival time by at least a schedule deviation threshold, said VCU is not altered from if it is currently active or inactive;
12. The system of claim 1, further comprising an authorization enable zone which activates said VCU when said vehicle enters said authorization enable zone regardless of if said VCU is active or inactive when said vehicle enters said authorization enable zone.
activating said VCU when said vehicle enters an authorization enable zone regardless of if said VCU is active or inactive when said vehicle enters said authorization enable zone.
9. The system of claim 1, further comprising an authorization disable zone which inactivates said VCU when said vehicle enters said authorization disable zone regardless of if said VCU is active or inactive when said vehicle enters said authorization disable zone.
11. The method of claim 10 further comprising: inactivating said VCU when said vehicle enters an authorization disable zone regardless of if said VCU is active or inactive when said vehicle enters said authorization disable zone.
Non-Statutory Double Patenting Table 2:
Instant Application No. 19309873
US Patenting No. 11842636
1. A system for assisting in maintaining a vehicle on a fixed schedule, the system comprising; a vehicle having its own schedule with a specified scheduled arrival time at a specified destination along a route which route includes an intersection including a signal light controller, said intersection being prior to said specified destination;
1. A method for assisting in maintaining a vehicle on a fixed schedule, the method comprising: providing a vehicle having a schedule and a route; determining a scheduled arrival time for said vehicle to arrive at a specified stop on said route from General Transit Feed Specification (GTFS) information;
a pacing zone along said route prior to said intersection with an associated expected traversal time; a priority detector unit communicatively attached to said signal light controller;
and comparing an actual time said vehicle arrives at said specified stop to said scheduled arrival time at said specified stop,
and a vehicle control unit (VCU) in said vehicle, said VCU configured to request priority for said vehicle through said intersection from said priority detector when said VCU is active and to not communicate with said priority detector when said VCU is inactive; wherein, if an amount of time measured for said vehicle while within said pacing zone exceeds said expected traversal time, said VCU is made active; and wherein, if an amount of time measured for said vehicle to traverse said pacing zone is below said expected traversal time, said VCU is made inactive.
said comparison determining if a Vehicle Control Unit (VCU) is active and requests priority for said vehicle from a next priority detector unit on said route, or is inactive and does not request priority for said vehicle from said next priority detector unit on said route; wherein, if said comparison determines said actual time is before said scheduled arrival time by at least a schedule deviation threshold, said VCU is made active.
9. The system of claim 1, further comprising an authorization disable zone which inactivates said VCU when said vehicle enters said authorization disable zone regardless of if said VCU is active or inactive when said vehicle enters said authorization disable zone.
2. The method of claim 1 further comprising: inactivating said VCU when said vehicle enters an authorization disable zone regardless of if said VCU is active or inactive when said vehicle enters said authorization disable zone.
10. The system of claim 9, wherein said authorization disable zone is not on said route.
3. The method of claim 2 wherein said authorization disable zone is not on said route.
11. The system of claim 9, wherein said authorization disable zone is on said route
4. The method of claim 2 wherein said authorization disable zone is on said route.
7. The system of claim 1, wherein said vehicle is a mass transit vehicle.
5. The method of claim 1 wherein said vehicle is a mass transit vehicle.
1. A system for…… a vehicle control unit (VCU) in said vehicle, said VCU configured to request priority for said vehicle through said intersection from said priority detector when said VCU is active and to not communicate with said priority detector when said VCU is inactive; wherein, if an amount of time measured for said vehicle while within said pacing zone exceeds said expected traversal time, said VCU is made active; and wherein, if an amount of time measured for said vehicle to traverse said pacing zone is below said expected traversal time, said VCU is made inactive.
6. The method of claim 1 wherein: if said comparison determines said actual time is not before said scheduled arrival time by at least a schedule deviation threshold, said VCU is not made active.
1. A system for….. a vehicle control unit (VCU) in said vehicle, said VCU configured to request priority for said vehicle through said intersection from said priority detector when said VCU is active and to not communicate with said priority detector when said VCU is inactive; wherein, if an amount of time measured for said vehicle while within said pacing zone exceeds said expected traversal time, said VCU is made active; and wherein, if an amount of time measured for said vehicle to traverse said pacing zone is below said expected traversal time, said VCU is made inactive.
7. The method of claim 1, wherein: if said comparison determines said actual time is after said scheduled arrival time by at least a schedule deviation threshold, said VCU is made active; and if said comparison determines said actual time is not after said scheduled arrival time by at least a schedule deviation threshold or before said scheduled arrival time by at least a schedule deviation threshold, said VCU is not made active.
12. The system of claim 1, further comprising an authorization enable zone which activates said VCU when said vehicle enters said authorization enable zone regardless of if said VCU is active or inactive when said vehicle enters said authorization enable zone.
8. The method of claim 1 further comprising: activating said VCU when said vehicle enters an authorization enable zone regardless of if said VCU is active or inactive, when said vehicle enters said authorization enable zone.
9. The system of claim 1, further comprising an authorization disable zone which inactivates said VCU when said vehicle enters said authorization disable zone regardless of if said VCU is active or inactive when said vehicle enters said authorization disable zone.
9. The method of claim 8 further comprising: inactivating said VCU when said vehicle enters an authorization disable zone regardless of if said VCU is active or inactive when said vehicle enters said authorization disable zone.
10. The system of claim 9, wherein said authorization disable zone is not on said route.
10. The method of claim 9 wherein in said authorization disable zone is not on said route.
11. The system of claim 9, wherein said authorization disable zone is on said route
11. The method of claim 9 wherein said authorization disable zone is on said route.
1. A system for assisting in maintaining a vehicle on a fixed schedule, the system comprising; a vehicle having its own schedule with a specified scheduled arrival time at a specified destination along a route which route includes an intersection including a signal light controller, said intersection being prior to said specified destination;
12. A method for assisting in maintaining a vehicle on a fixed schedule, the method comprising: providing a vehicle having a schedule and a route; determining a scheduled arrival time for said vehicle to arrive at a specified stop on said route from General Transit Feed Specification (GTFS) information;
a pacing zone along said route prior to said intersection with an associated expected traversal time; a priority detector unit communicatively attached to said signal light controller;
comparing an actual time said vehicle arrives at said specified stop to said scheduled arrival time at said specified stop,
and a vehicle control unit (VCU) in said vehicle, said VCU configured to request priority for said vehicle through said intersection from said priority detector when said VCU is active and to not communicate with said priority detector when said VCU is inactive; wherein, if an amount of time measured for said vehicle while within said pacing zone exceeds said expected traversal time, said VCU is made active; and wherein, if an amount of time measured for said vehicle to traverse said pacing zone is below said expected traversal time, said VCU is made inactive.
said comparison determining if a Vehicle Control Unit (VCU) is active and requests priority for said vehicle from a next priority detector unit on said route, or is inactive and does not request priority for said vehicle from said next priority detector unit on said route, said next priority detector being between said specified stop and a next specified stop; waiting for said vehicle to arrive at said next specified stop; and comparing an actual time said vehicle arrives at said next specified stop to a scheduled arrival time at said next specified stop, said comparison determining if said VCU remains active or is inactive after said next specified stop; wherein, if either said comparison determines said actual time is before said scheduled arrival time by at least a schedule deviation threshold, said VCU is made active.
9. The system of claim 1, further comprising an authorization disable zone which inactivates said VCU when said vehicle enters said authorization disable zone regardless of if said VCU is active or inactive when said vehicle enters said authorization disable zone.
13. The method of claim 12 further comprising: inactivating said VCU when said vehicle enters an authorization disable zone regardless of if said VCU is active or inactive when said vehicle enters said authorization disable zone.
10. The system of claim 9, wherein said authorization disable zone is not on said route.
14. The method of claim 13 wherein in said authorization disable zone is not on said route.
11. The system of claim 9, wherein said authorization disable zone is on said route
15. The method of claim 13 wherein said authorization disable zone is on said route.
12. The system of claim 1, further comprising an authorization enable zone which activates said VCU when said vehicle enters said authorization enable zone regardless of if said VCU is active or inactive when said vehicle enters said authorization enable zone.
17. The method of claim 12 further comprising: activating said VCU when said vehicle enters an authorization enable zone regardless of if said VCU is active or inactive when said vehicle enters said authorization enable zone.
9. The system of claim 1, further comprising an authorization disable zone which inactivates said VCU when said vehicle enters said authorization disable zone regardless of if said VCU is active or inactive when said vehicle enters said authorization disable zone.
18. The method of claim 17 further comprising: inactivating said VCU when said vehicle enters an authorization disable zone regardless of if said VCU is active or inactive when said vehicle enters said authorization disable zone.
1. A system for….. a vehicle control unit (VCU) in said vehicle, said VCU configured to request priority for said vehicle through said intersection from said priority detector when said VCU is active and to not communicate with said priority detector when said VCU is inactive; wherein, if an amount of time measured for said vehicle while within said pacing zone exceeds said expected traversal time, said VCU is made active; and wherein, if an amount of time measured for said vehicle to traverse said pacing zone is below said expected traversal time, said VCU is made inactive.
19. The method of claim 12 wherein: if said comparison determines said actual time is not before said scheduled arrival time by at least a schedule deviation threshold, said VCU is not made active.
1. A system for….. a vehicle control unit (VCU) in said vehicle, said VCU configured to request priority for said vehicle through said intersection from said priority detector when said VCU is active and to not communicate with said priority detector when said VCU is inactive; wherein, if an amount of time measured for said vehicle while within said pacing zone exceeds said expected traversal time, said VCU is made active; and wherein, if an amount of time measured for said vehicle to traverse said pacing zone is below said expected traversal time, said VCU is made inactive.
20. The method of claim 12, wherein: if said comparison determines said actual time is after said scheduled arrival time by at least a schedule deviation threshold, said VCU is made active; and if said comparison determines said actual time is not after said scheduled arrival time by at least a schedule deviation threshold or before said scheduled arrival time by at least a schedule deviation threshold, said VCU is not made active.
Non-Statutory Double Patenting Table 3:
Instant Application No. 19309873
US Patenting No. 11170642
1. A system for assisting in maintaining a vehicle on a fixed schedule, the system comprising; a vehicle having its own schedule with a specified scheduled arrival time at a specified destination along a route which route includes an intersection including a signal light controller, said intersection being prior to said specified destination;
1. A system for assisting in maintaining a vehicle on a fixed schedule, the system comprising; a vehicle having its own schedule with a specified scheduled arrival time at each of a plurality of specified destinations along a route;
a pacing zone along said route prior to said intersection with an associated expected traversal time; a priority detector unit communicatively attached to said signal light controller;
a plurality of priority detector units, wherein each priority detector unit is communicatively attached to a signal light controller along said route;
and a vehicle control unit (VCU) in said vehicle, said VCU configured to request priority for said vehicle through said intersection from said priority detector when said VCU is active and to not communicate with said priority detector when said VCU is inactive; wherein, if an amount of time measured for said vehicle while within said pacing zone exceeds said expected traversal time, said VCU is made active; and wherein, if an amount of time measured for said vehicle to traverse said pacing zone is below said expected traversal time, said VCU is made inactive.
a vehicle control unit (VCU) in said vehicle, said VCU configured to interface with said plurality of priority detectors, said VCU; and an authorization disable zone; wherein, an amount of time measured for said vehicle to traverse a portion of said route determines if said VCU is active and requests priority for said vehicle from a next priority detector unit on said route, or is inactive and does not request priority for said vehicle from said next priority detector unit on said route;
9. The system of claim 1, further comprising an authorization disable zone which inactivates said VCU when said vehicle enters said authorization disable zone regardless of if said VCU is active or inactive when said vehicle enters said authorization disable zone.
and wherein said authorization disable zone inactivates said VCU due to said vehicle entering said authorization disable zone regardless of if said VCU is active or inactive when said vehicle enters said authorization disable zone.
2. The system of claim 1, wherein said pacing zone corresponds to a corridor timing zone.
2. The system of claim 1 wherein said portion of said route corresponds to a corridor timing zone.
3. The system of claim 2, wherein said corridor timing zone is positioned along said route prior to a zone where said priority detector can receive transmissions from said VCU.
3. The system of claim 2 wherein said corridor timing zone is positioned along said route prior to a zone for activating said next priority detector.
4. The system of claim 2, wherein said corridor timing zone is positioned along said route at least partially overlapping a zone where said priority detector can receive transmission s from said VCU.
4. The system of claim 2 wherein said corridor timing zone is positioned along said route at least partially overlapping a zone for activating said next priority detector.
5. The system of claim 1, wherein said portion of said route corresponds to a portion between two waypoints.
5. The system of claim 1 wherein said portion of said route corresponds to a portion between two waypoints.
6. The system of claim 5, wherein said waypoints correspond to different intersections on said route.
6. The system of claim 5 wherein said waypoints correspond to scheduling stopping points for said vehicle.
7. The system of claim 1, wherein said vehicle is a mass transit vehicle.
7. The system of claim 1 wherein said vehicle is a mass transit vehicle.
8. The system of claim 7, wherein said mass transit vehicle comprises a bus.
8. The system of claim 7 wherein said mass transit vehicle comprises a bus.
9. The system of claim 1, further comprising an authorization disable zone which inactivates said VCU when said vehicle enters said authorization disable zone regardless of if said VCU is active or inactive when said vehicle enters said authorization disable zone.
14. A system for assisting in maintaining a vehicle on a fixed schedule…….wherein said authorization disable zone inactivates said VCU due to said vehicle entering said authorization disable zone regardless of if said VCU is active or inactive when said vehicle enters said authorization disable zone.
10. The system of claim 9, wherein said authorization disable zone is not on said route.
19. The system of claim 14 wherein in said authorization disable zone is not on said route.
11. The system of claim 9, wherein said authorization disable zone is on said route
20. The system of claim 14 wherein said authorization disable zone is on said route.
12. The system of claim 1, further comprising an authorization enable zone which activates said VCU when said vehicle enters said authorization enable zone regardless of if said VCU is active or inactive when said vehicle enters said authorization enable zone.
11. The system of claim 1 further comprising an authorization enable zone which activates said VCU when said vehicle enters said authorization enable zone regardless of if said VCU is active or inactive when said vehicle enters said authorization enable zone.
13. The system of claim 12, wherein said authorization enable zone is not on said route.
12. The system of claim 11 wherein said authorization enable zone is not on said route.
14. The system of claim 12, wherein said authorization enable zone is on said route.
13. The system of claim 11 wherein said authorization enable zone is on said route.
1. A system for assisting in maintaining a vehicle on a fixed schedule, the system comprising; a vehicle having its own schedule with a specified scheduled arrival time at a specified destination along a route which route includes an intersection including a signal light controller, said intersection being prior to said specified destination;
14. A system for assisting in maintaining a vehicle on a fixed schedule, the system comprising; a vehicle having its own schedule with a specified scheduled arrival time at each of a plurality of specified destinations along a route;
a pacing zone along said route prior to said intersection with an associated expected traversal time; a priority detector unit communicatively attached to said signal light controller;
a plurality of priority detector units, wherein each priority detector unit is communicatively attached to a signal light controller along said route;
and a vehicle control unit (VCU) in said vehicle, said VCU configured to request priority for said vehicle through said intersection from said priority detector when said VCU is active and to not communicate with said priority detector when said VCU is inactive; wherein, if an amount of time measured for said vehicle while within said pacing zone exceeds said expected traversal time, said VCU is made active; and wherein, if an amount of time measured for said vehicle to traverse said pacing zone is below said expected traversal time, said VCU is made inactive.
a vehicle control unit (VCU) in said vehicle, said VCU configured to interface with said plurality of priority detectors, said VCU; and an authorization disable zone; wherein, a target time for said vehicle to arrive at a point on said route is compared to an actual time said vehicles arrives at said point and said comparison determines if said VCU is active and requests priority for said vehicle from a next priority detector unit on said route, or is inactive and does not request priority for said vehicle from said next priority detector unit on said route;
9. The system of claim 1, further comprising an authorization disable zone which inactivates said VCU when said vehicle enters said authorization disable zone regardless of if said VCU is active or inactive when said vehicle enters said authorization disable zone.
and wherein said authorization disable zone inactivates said VCU due to said vehicle entering said authorization disable zone regardless of if said VCU is active or inactive when said vehicle enters said authorization disable zone.
6. The system of claim 5, wherein said waypoints correspond to different intersections on said route.
16. The system of claim 14 wherein said target time and said point on said route comprises a scheduled stop of said vehicle.
7. The system of claim 1, wherein said vehicle is a mass transit vehicle.
17. The system of claim 14 wherein said vehicle is a mass transit vehicle.
12. The system of claim 1, further comprising an authorization enable zone which activates said VCU when said vehicle enters said authorization enable zone regardless of if said VCU is active or inactive when said vehicle enters said authorization enable zone.
18. The system of claim 14 further comprising an authorization enable zone which activates said VCU when said vehicle enters said authorization enable zone regardless of if said VCU is active or inactive when said vehicle enters said authorization enable zone.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cross US 20120326891 in view of Baller US 20160328969.
Regarding claim 1, Cross teaches A system for assisting in maintaining a vehicle on a fixed schedule, the system comprising; a vehicle having its own schedule with a specified scheduled arrival time at a specified destination along a route which route includes an intersection including a signal light controller, said intersection being prior to said specified destination; (Cross US 20120326891 abstract; paragraphs [0011]-[0020]; [0033]-[0038]; [0044]-[0046]; [0051]-[0053]; [0056]-[0069]; [0072]-[0077]; [0081]-[0089]; figures 1-11)
In a broad sense, the ETA traffic control system combines satellite position navigation systems and dead reckoning technology with secure radio communications to accurately report a vehicle's real-time location and estimated arrival times at a series of signal lights within a traffic grid or at a distant signal light (e.g., one which is not the immediate next light that will be encountered), while enabling signal controllers to accommodate priority requests from these vehicles, allowing for these vehicles to maintain a fixed schedule with minimal interruption to other grid traffic. The ETA system disclosed herein also allows for the display of maps of vehicle and intersection activity on centrally-located monitors or in a vehicle in real-time and for the creation of detailed logs and reports of traffic flow patterns and activity in real-time for monitoring personnel. Thus, the system utilizes the Global Positioning System (GPS), or similar technology, and secure radio communication to enable transit vehicles to report location and activity data to traffic controllers and/or central locations in real time. Further, the system enables dispatchers or other monitoring personnel at a centralized or secondary remote location to see the time/distance between equipped vehicles in the traffic grid. The system also allows for the generation and sending of automatic or manual alerts to notify vehicle operators of changes in route status (Cross par. 34). A second component of the traffic control system described herein is a plurality of priority detector units (103). The priority detector units (103) of the disclosed traffic control system generally function to modify and control the associated signal light based upon the velocity, location, coordinates, ETA and priority signals of VCU-equipped vehicles in the traffic grid. Generally, the priority detector units (103) receive ETA notifications from VCU-equipped vehicles in the grid and precondition their timing signals to the signal controller (105) based upon a VCU-equipped vehicle's arrival at the intersection. Receipt of advanced signals from VCU-equipped vehicles in the grid helps the controller gradually modify the timings of the signal light to reduce the impact on the intersection while also enabling the intersection to maintain coordination with other intersections along the corridor (Cross par. 44).
a pacing zone along said route prior to said intersection with an associated expected traversal time;
In the hybrid fixed geographic/time point detection method, both a mass transit vehicle's calculated ETA and the mass transit vehicle's current location within the approach zone to a particular intersection is used to determine when advanced communications and priority requests are sent. FIG. 11 offers a depiction of this hybrid method. As demonstrated in FIG. 11, in this method the approach zone leading up to a selected intersection (or pre-defined location within the traffic grid) is divided into a series of one or more fixed geographic zones. For example, in the approach zone depicted in FIG. 11, the approach zone is divided into four (4) zones (501); i.e., zones Z1-Z4. At the end of each of the designated approach zones is a check out-zone (500). Similar to the time-point detection method, in this method the VCU (101) located within the priority vehicle calculates the vehicle's time-distance from a selected intersection (or pre-defined location within the traffic grid). However, in this embodiment a vehicle within the first zone (501), in the embodiment depicted in FIG. 11 the Z4 90-second zone, would send a 90-second ETA to the appropriate priority detector unit (103) (or central server (102) in the centralized embodiment) only if the VCU (101) calculates a 90-second ETA while the vehicle is within the Z4 zone (501). If the vehicle does not achieve a 90-second ETA within Z4, it will transmit its actual calculated ETA call when it reaches the check-out zone (500) at the end of the zone (501). The same process would follow for each successive zone (but each successive zone would be assigned a different ETA time value, such as 60 seconds, 35 seconds or 15 seconds as depicted in FIG. 11). Stated differently, a VCU (101) equipped vehicle will transmit its calculated ETA to the appropriate priority detector unit (103) (or central server (102) in the centralized embodiment) in each respective zone (501) if the assigned ETA value for that zone (501) is achieved within that zone (501) and, regardless of whether the assigned ETA value for that zone is achieved within that zone, when the VCU (101) equipped vehicle reaches the check-out zone (500) within the zone (501). Thus, in this method, ETA signals are sent when a fixed geographic zone is reached (i.e., when a VCU (102) equipped vehicle reaches a check-out zone (500)) and when a certain ETA time point is reached within a certain zone (501) in the approach path. Notably, it should be understood that the orientation and number of zones (501) and the ETA time values proscribed to the zones (501) represented in FIG. 11 are not determinative. The assigned ETA times and the orientation and number of the zones (501) is only exemplary and it should be understood that any times and zone orientation can be specified by a user of the system described herein (Cross par. 57).
According to the cited passages and figures, examiner interprets each intersection or each zone as a pacing zone like show in figure 11 and the expected time for each zone is about 90 second.
a priority detector unit communicatively attached to said signal light controller;
The priority detector units (103) will generally be located at or near particular traffic light signals and signal controllers (105) in the area controlled by the disclosed system. In one embodiment, each priority detector unit (103) will be co-located within a particular signal light controller (105) cabinet. However, this location is not determinative. It is contemplated that the priority detector unit (103) may be located at any proximity near a particular signal light that allows the priority detector unit (103) to receive applicable signals from the remote traffic control center (102), secondary control centers (106), other priority detector units (103) and/or the VCUs (101) and allows the priority detector (103) to send calls to the signal controller (105) to modify the phases of the respective signal light that it monitors (Cross par. 45).
and a vehicle control unit (VCU) in said vehicle, said VCU configured to request priority for said vehicle through said intersection from said priority detector when said VCU is active and to not communicate with said priority detector when said VCU is inactive;
In a fixed geographic detection method, the ETA traffic control system utilizes a satellite positioning navigation system, such as GPS, to create virtual "loops" that are set up at specific defined points along a vehicle's route. A series of these virtual loops or advanced detection zones leading to a particular ETA intersection are depicted in FIG. 1. As vehicles equipped with a VCU (101) enter and pass through these zones (labeled A4-A1 in FIG. 1), they place ETA calls to the appropriate priority detector units (103) (or central server (102) in the centralized embodiment). For example, in the embodiment depicted in FIG. 1, the VCU (101) would place ETA calls to the priority detector unit (103) associated with the ETA intersection when the vehicle entered each of the fixed detection zones preceding the ETA intersection; i.e., advanced detection zones A4, A3, A2 and A1. Thus, in one embodiment, the VCU-equipped vehicle would transmit a signal of its ETA (or simply its coordinates) to a given intersection to the priority detector unit (103) associated with that intersection upon reaching detection zones A4, A3, A2, and A1. The priority detector unit (103) will then send an output signal to the signal controller (105) for the ETA intersection as necessary to modify the light to keep the VCU-equipped vehicle on schedule. In embodiments in which the system is centralized, the VCU-equipped vehicle will send a signal of its ETA (or simply its coordinates) upon hitting the detection zones A4, A3, A2, and A1 to the priority detector unit (103) for the intersection and/or the remote traffic control center (102). Notably, in this method, the detection zone locations and configurations can be edited on the fly by administration of the system--i.e., the location of A4, A3, A2, and A1 can be modified by a user interfacing with the system at either a VCU (101) or a central (102) or secondary control center (106). Basically, in this method, the location of the vehicle is fixed at transmission, and the transmission records to the expected time to arrival are based on speed and related factors of the vehicle (Cross par. 56).
According to the cited passages and figures, examiner interprets the VCU transmits the priority request when it’s active and VCU is not transmit the request when it is inactive.
wherein, if an amount of time measured for said vehicle while within said pacing zone exceeds said expected traversal time, said VCU is made active;
Another signal option for the disclosed system in certain embodiments is a system of conditional transit signal priority. These conditional transit signal priority signals are generally based on the amount of time a VCU-equipped vehicle is behind schedule. To achieve conditional TSP, the system is generally configured to request signal priority only when activated through a connection to the onboard schedule-adherence system. For example, when a VCU-equipped vehicle lags behind schedule by a set amount of time, the schedule--adherence system enables the components of the system to request signal priority for upcoming intersection. If the VCU-equipped vehicle is on schedule, signal priority is not requested, allowing the buses to better maintain headway. Generally, in a conditional priority system, certain user-established pre-conditions must be met before the priority detector unit (103) will send a signal priority request to the signal controller (105). These conditions can be set and modified by the user and controller of the system. Examples of some of the pre-conditions which can be set by a user include, but are not limited to, not sending a signal priority request if: another VCU-equipped vehicle has not requested priority within a specified time frame (for example, eight minutes); the VCU-equipped vehicle doors are closed (i.e., the bus is not at a stop with open doors); or an exit request has not been made for the next stop (Cross par. 73).
Cross does not explicitly teaches wherein, if an amount of time measured for said vehicle to traverse said pacing zone is below said expected traversal time, said VCU is made inactive.
Baller teaches wherein, if an amount of time measured for said vehicle to traverse said pacing zone is below said expected traversal time, said VCU is made inactive. (Baller US 20160328969 abstract; paragraphs [0011]-[0015]; [0027]-[0041]; [0048]-[0054]; [0057]-[0059]; figures 1-8)
If the transit vehicle is behind the trip schedule, decision block 112 directs the process to block 114. At block 114, the computer processor outputs a signal indicating that the transit vehicle is behind schedule. The output signal may trigger actions such as enabling the sending of TSP requests by the priority request device in response to an enable signal from the computer processor. If the transit vehicle is ahead of the trip schedule, decision block 112 directs the process to block 116. At block 116, the computer processor outputs a signal indicating that the transit vehicle is ahead of schedule. The output signal may trigger actions such as disabling the sending of TSP requests by the priority request device in response to a disable signal from the computer processor. The output signal may trigger other actions such as displaying scheduling information to a driver, and/or communicating scheduling information to a central dispatcher, riders, or to other devices on other transit vehicles (Baller par. 36).
Therefore, it would have been obviously to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to disable the priority signal request from the computer processor when the transit vehicle a head of schedule taught by Baller into the modified system of Cross reference in order to give another transit vehicle behind the schedule to send the priority signal request to traffic light.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Cross and Baller disclose The system of claim 1, wherein said pacing zone corresponds to a corridor timing zone.
In the hybrid fixed geographic/time point detection method, both a mass transit vehicle's calculated ETA and the mass transit vehicle's current location within the approach zone to a particular intersection is used to determine when advanced communications and priority requests are sent. FIG. 11 offers a depiction of this hybrid method. As demonstrated in FIG. 11, in this method the approach zone leading up to a selected intersection (or pre-defined location within the traffic grid) is divided into a series of one or more fixed geographic zones. For example, in the approach zone depicted in FIG. 11, the approach zone is divided into four (4) zones (501); i.e., zones Z1-Z4. At the end of each of the designated approach zones is a check out-zone (500). Similar to the time-point detection method, in this method the VCU (101) located within the priority vehicle calculates the vehicle's time-distance from a selected intersection (or pre-defined location within the traffic grid). However, in this embodiment a vehicle within the first zone (501), in the embodiment depicted in FIG. 11 the Z4 90-second zone, would send a 90-second ETA to the appropriate priority detector unit (103) (or central server (102) in the centralized embodiment) only if the VCU (101) calculates a 90-second ETA while the vehicle is within the Z4 zone (501). If the vehicle does not achieve a 90-second ETA within Z4, it will transmit its actual calculated ETA call when it reaches the check-out zone (500) at the end of the zone (501). The same process would follow for each successive zone (but each successive zone would be assigned a different ETA time value, such as 60 seconds, 35 seconds or 15 seconds as depicted in FIG. 11). Stated differently, a VCU (101) equipped vehicle will transmit its calculated ETA to the appropriate priority detector unit (103) (or central server (102) in the centralized embodiment) in each respective zone (501) if the assigned ETA value for that zone (501) is achieved within that zone (501) and, regardless of whether the assigned ETA value for that zone is achieved within that zone, when the VCU (101) equipped vehicle reaches the check-out zone (500) within the zone (501). Thus, in this method, ETA signals are sent when a fixed geographic zone is reached (i.e., when a VCU (102) equipped vehicle reaches a check-out zone (500)) and when a certain ETA time point is reached within a certain zone (501) in the approach path. Notably, it should be understood that the orientation and number of zones (501) and the ETA time values proscribed to the zones (501) represented in FIG. 11 are not determinative. The assigned ETA times and the orientation and number of the zones (501) is only exemplary and it should be understood that any times and zone orientation can be specified by a user of the system described herein (Cross par. 58).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Cross and Baller disclose The system of claim 2, wherein said corridor timing zone is positioned along said route prior to a zone where said priority detector can receive transmissions from said VCU.
In the time-point detection method, a calculated ETA is used to determine when advance communications and priority requests are sent. In this method, the VCU (101) located within the priority vehicle calculates the vehicle's time-distance from a selected intersection (or other pre-defined location in the grid) and transmits that amount (or simply its coordinates) to the appropriate priority detector unit (103) (or central server (102) in the centralized embodiment) along with its position. In one embodiment, the transmission from the VCU (101) to the priority detector unit (103) (or the remote traffic control server (102) in the centralized embodiment) occurs once per second, however any time/signal allocation is contemplated. FIG. 2 provides a depiction of the time-point detection method. As demonstrated in FIG. 2, the VCU-equipped vehicle will send its ETA (or simply its coordinates) to the ETA intersection priority detector (103) (or the remote traffic control center (102) in the centralized embodiment) every second. The priority detector unit (103) will then send an updating output of the vehicle's ETA to the signal controller (105) at pre-defined intervals (such as every 90, 60, 35 and 15 seconds from the vehicle's ETA) (Cross par. 57).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Cross and Baller disclose The system of claim 2, wherein said corridor timing zone is positioned along said route at least partially overlapping a zone where said priority detector can receive transmission s from said VCU.
In a fixed geographic detection method, the ETA traffic control system utilizes a satellite positioning navigation system, such as GPS, to create virtual "loops" that are set up at specific defined points along a vehicle's route. A series of these virtual loops or advanced detection zones leading to a particular ETA intersection are depicted in FIG. 1. As vehicles equipped with a VCU (101) enter and pass through these zones (labeled A4-A1 in FIG. 1), they place ETA calls to the appropriate priority detector units (103) (or central server (102) in the centralized embodiment). For example, in the embodiment depicted in FIG. 1, the VCU (101) would place ETA calls to the priority detector unit (103) associated with the ETA intersection when the vehicle entered each of the fixed detection zones preceding the ETA intersection; i.e., advanced detection zones A4, A3, A2 and A1. Thus, in one embodiment, the VCU-equipped vehicle would transmit a signal of its ETA (or simply its coordinates) to a given intersection to the priority detector unit (103) associated with that intersection upon reaching detection zones A4, A3, A2, and A1. The priority detector unit (103) will then send an output signal to the signal controller (105) for the ETA intersection as necessary to modify the light to keep the VCU-equipped vehicle on schedule. In embodiments in which the system is centralized, the VCU-equipped vehicle will send a signal of its ETA (or simply its coordinates) upon hitting the detection zones A4, A3, A2, and A1 to the priority detector unit (103) for the intersection and/or the remote traffic control center (102). Notably, in this method, the detection zone locations and configurations can be edited on the fly by administration of the system--i.e., the location of A4, A3, A2, and A1 can be modified by a user interfacing with the system at either a VCU (101) or a central (102) or secondary control center (106). Basically, in this method, the location of the vehicle is fixed at transmission, and the transmission records to the expected time to arrival are based on speed and related factors of the vehicle (par. 56). In this hypothetical, the remote traffic control center (102) determines that the ETA for vehicle A is three minutes ahead of schedule and the ETA for vehicle B is two minutes behind schedule. From the information regarding the maps of the routes in the grid, the system is able to determine that the routes of vehicle A and vehicle B overlap for two traffic lights. Further, from the information regarding the traffic light signals in the system, the remote traffic control center (102) is able to determine that the default phase change timing for each of the traffic lights in the grid. From this information, the remote traffic control center (102) is able to determine in what manner the phases of the traffic lights in the grid need to be modified in order to get both vehicle A and vehicle B vehicle back onto schedule (Cross par. 83). Further, in this hypothetical, the system determines that if it alters the phases of lights Z, Y and X to allow for vehicle B to travel through these intersections without incurring a red light, vehicle B will get back onto schedule. The system also determines that if it lets vehicle A turn left at traffic light X and holds vehicle A at traffic light Y with a red light (until vehicle B travels by) vehicle A will no longer be ahead of schedule (but will still be on schedule) while vehicle B can still go through light X on green as vehicle A has cleared the intersection before it needs to change. Thus, this pattern is implemented by the system as the best methodology to maintain schedules (Cross par. 84).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Cross and Baller disclose The system of claim 1, wherein said portion of said route corresponds to a portion between two waypoints.
The following offers an example of how the disclosed system would be utilized in the embodiment which utilizes a remote traffic control center and the impact it would have on the overall traffic patterns of the grid it controls. As depicted in FIG. 9, in this hypothetical example, there are two mass transit vehicles: vehicle A and vehicle B. Both vehicle A and vehicle B have specific scheduled routes. Both vehicle A and vehicle B have to travel through 3 traffic light intersections before they reach their next scheduled stop. In this hypothetical example, the coordinate information for vehicle A and vehicle B is received at the remote traffic control center (102) from each vehicle's respective VCU (101). Then, the remote traffic control center (102), based upon the received coordinates, information regarding the schedule of the mass transit system, and information regarding each of the traffic light signals in the system, determines the ETA for each of the mass transit vehicles at the next stop on their respective schedules (Cross par. 82).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Cross and Baller disclose The system of claim 5, wherein said waypoints correspond to different intersections on said route.
The following offers an example of how the disclosed system would be utilized in the embodiment which utilizes a remote traffic control center and the impact it would have on the overall traffic patterns of the grid it controls. As depicted in FIG. 9, in this hypothetical example, there are two mass transit vehicles: vehicle A and vehicle B. Both vehicle A and vehicle B have specific scheduled routes. Both vehicle A and vehicle B have to travel through 3 traffic light intersections before they reach their next scheduled stop. In this hypothetical example, the coordinate information for vehicle A and vehicle B is received at the remote traffic control center (102) from each vehicle's respective VCU (101). Then, the remote traffic control center (102), based upon the received coordinates, information regarding the schedule of the mass transit system, and information regarding each of the traffic light signals in the system, determines the ETA for each of the mass transit vehicles at the next stop on their respective schedules (Cross par. 82).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Cross and Baller disclose The system of claim 1, wherein said vehicle is a mass transit vehicle.
The following offers an example of how the disclosed system would be utilized in the embodiment which utilizes a remote traffic control center and the impact it would have on the overall traffic patterns of the grid it controls. As depicted in FIG. 9, in this hypothetical example, there are two mass transit vehicles: vehicle A and vehicle B. Both vehicle A and vehicle B have specific scheduled routes. Both vehicle A and vehicle B have to travel through 3 traffic light intersections before they reach their next scheduled stop. In this hypothetical example, the coordinate information for vehicle A and vehicle B is received at the remote traffic control center (102) from each vehicle's respective VCU (101). Then, the remote traffic control center (102), based upon the received coordinates, information regarding the schedule of the mass transit system, and information regarding each of the traffic light signals in the system, determines the ETA for each of the mass transit vehicles at the next stop on their respective schedules (Cross par. 82).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Cross and Baller disclose The system of claim 7, wherein said mass transit vehicle comprises a bus.
This disclosure is intended to teach by way of example and not by way of limitation. As a preliminary matter, it should be noted that while the description of various embodiments of the disclosed system will discuss the movement of mass transit vehicles (such as, but not limited to, buses, light rail trains, and street cars) through signal lights, this in no way limits the application of the disclosed traffic control system to use in mass transit systems. Any vehicle which could benefit from the ETA traffic control system described herein is contemplated. For example, it is contemplated that the system could be applied to and utilized by taxis, first responders, emergency vehicles, snow plows and waste management vehicles (Cross par. 33).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Cross and Baller disclose The system of claim 1, wherein said pacing zone includes another specified destination with another specified scheduled arrival time for said vehicle.
The following offers an example of how the disclosed system would be utilized in the embodiment which utilizes a remote traffic control center and the impact it would have on the overall traffic patterns of the grid it controls. As depicted in FIG. 9, in this hypothetical example, there are two mass transit vehicles: vehicle A and vehicle B. Both vehicle A and vehicle B have specific scheduled routes. Both vehicle A and vehicle B have to travel through 3 traffic light intersections before they reach their next scheduled stop. In this hypothetical example, the coordinate information for vehicle A and vehicle B is received at the remote traffic control center (102) from each vehicle's respective VCU (101). Then, the remote traffic control center (102), based upon the received coordinates, information regarding the schedule of the mass transit system, and information regarding each of the traffic light signals in the system, determines the ETA for each of the mass transit vehicles at the next stop on their respective schedules (Cross par. 82).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Cross and Baller disclose The system of claim 1, wherein said pacing zone includes an intersection without a signal light controller associated therewith.
As show in figure 9 of Cross reference, where the vehicle B scheduled stop that have no traffic light therefore, no signal light controller needed.
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Cross and Baller disclose The system of claim 1, wherein said pacing zone is between two intersections.
In the hybrid fixed geographic/time point detection method, both a mass transit vehicle's calculated ETA and the mass transit vehicle's current location within the approach zone to a particular intersection is used to determine when advanced communications and priority requests are sent. FIG. 11 offers a depiction of this hybrid method. As demonstrated in FIG. 11, in this method the approach zone leading up to a selected intersection (or pre-defined location within the traffic grid) is divided into a series of one or more fixed geographic zones. For example, in the approach zone depicted in FIG. 11, the approach zone is divided into four (4) zones (501); i.e., zones Z1-Z4. At the end of each of the designated approach zones is a check out-zone (500). Similar to the time-point detection method, in this method the VCU (101) located within the priority vehicle calculates the vehicle's time-distance from a selected intersection (or pre-defined location within the traffic grid). However, in this embodiment a vehicle within the first zone (501), in the embodiment depicted in FIG. 11 the Z4 90-second zone, would send a 90-second ETA to the appropriate priority detector unit (103) (or central server (102) in the centralized embodiment) only if the VCU (101) calculates a 90-second ETA while the vehicle is within the Z4 zone (501). If the vehicle does not achieve a 90-second ETA within Z4, it will transmit its actual calculated ETA call when it reaches the check-out zone (500) at the end of the zone (501). The same process would follow for each successive zone (but each successive zone would be assigned a different ETA time value, such as 60 seconds, 35 seconds or 15 seconds as depicted in FIG. 11) (Cross par. 58).
According to the cited passages and figures, examiner interprets a pacing zone is between the won intersection like illustrate in figure 11.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-14 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. These claims would allowable once applicant file a terminal disclaimer to resolve the non-statutory double patenting rejection above.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding claim 9, Cross US 20120326891, Baller US 20160328969, Cross et al. US 20140104081, Cross US 20130048795, Liu et al. US 20100079306, Schwartz US 20070008173, Zhang et al. US 20040147291, Jones US 20030146854, Stallard et al. US 20020116118 and Katragadda et al. US 7469827 are the closest art. They are teaching every limitation of claim 9 except for a limitation cited “The system of claim 1, further comprising an authorization disable zone which inactivates said VCU when said vehicle enters said authorization disable zone regardless of if said VCU is active or inactive when said vehicle enters said authorization disable zone.”.
After update search, there are none of the prior arts of record singularly or combination, teaches or fairly suggest the features present in the claim 1 “The system of claim 1, further comprising an authorization disable zone which inactivates said VCU when said vehicle enters said authorization disable zone regardless of if said VCU is active or inactive when said vehicle enters said authorization disable zone.”.
Prior arts of record fail to disclose “The system of claim 1, further comprising an authorization disable zone which inactivates said VCU when said vehicle enters said authorization disable zone regardless of if said VCU is active or inactive when said vehicle enters said authorization disable zone.”. However, upon consideration of the claim invention, there is no reasoning to combine the applied references to arrive in the context of the claim invention.
Claims 10-11 depend on and further limit of independent claim 9, therefore claims 10-11 are considered allowable for the same reason.
Regarding claim 12, Cross US 20120326891, Baller US 20160328969, Cross et al. US 20140104081, Cross US 20130048795, Liu et al. US 20100079306, Schwartz US 20070008173, Zhang et al. US 20040147291, Jones US 20030146854, Stallard et al. US 20020116118 and Katragadda et al. US 7469827 are the closest art. They are teaching every limitation of claim 12 except for a limitation cited “The system of claim 1, further comprising an authorization enable zone which activates said VCU when said vehicle enters said authorization enable zone regardless of if said VCU is active or inactive when said vehicle enters said authorization enable zone.”.
After update search, there are none of the prior arts of record singularly or combination, teaches or fairly suggest the features present in the claim 12 “The system of claim 1, further comprising an authorization enable zone which activates said VCU when said vehicle enters said authorization enable zone regardless of if said VCU is active or inactive when said vehicle enters said authorization enable zone.”.
Prior arts of record fail to disclose “The system of claim 1, further comprising an authorization enable zone which activates said VCU when said vehicle enters said authorization enable zone regardless of if said VCU is active or inactive when said vehicle enters said authorization enable zone.”. However, upon consideration of the claim invention, there is no reasoning to combine the applied references to arrive in the context of the claim invention.
Claims 13-14 depend on and further limit of independent claim 12, therefore claims 13-14 are considered allowable for the same reason.
Conclusion
/THANG D TRAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2686
/BRIAN A ZIMMERMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2686