DETAILED ACTION
The instant application having Application No. 19/309,875 is presented for examination by the examiner.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d). The certified copy has been received.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 21, 27, and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by USP Application Publication 2023/0030315 to Khare et al., hereinafter Khare.
As per claim 21, Khare teaches an apparatus, comprising:
at least one processor; and at least one memory coupled to the at least one processor with a computer program stored thereon, wherein the computer program, when executed by the at least one processor (0006), enables the apparatus to:
receive a service request message from a first network function network element, wherein the service request message is configured to request the apparatus to provide a service for the first network function network element (0073, NFc->NFp), the service request message comprises a first token and second service domain information [token and credential that has the domain information; Fig. 2, 0055 and 0058], the second service domain information indicates a service area of the service requested by the first network function network element [domain sought to access; 0055 and 0056], the first token comprises first service domain information [indication of domain from which access is allowed; 0077], and the first service domain information indicates a service area range in which the first network function network element is capable of obtaining the service from the apparatus [the range is interpreted as the complete domain to which access is allowed; 0077]; and
determine, based on the first token, whether to provide the service for the first network function network element (0074 and 0075).
As per claims 27 and 33, Khare teaches an apparatus, comprising:
at least one processor; and
at least one memory coupled to the at least one processor with a computer program stored thereon, wherein the computer program, when executed by the at least one processor, enables the apparatus (0006) to:
obtain a first token (0071-0072), wherein the first token comprises first service domain information, and the first service domain information indicates a service area range in which the apparatus is capable of obtaining a service from a second network function network element (0005 and 0077);
send a service request message to the second network function network element (0073), wherein the service request message is configured to request the second network function network element to provide the service for the apparatus, the service request message comprises the first token and second service domain information [0056 and 0073; token and credential], and the second service domain information indicates a service area of the service requested by the apparatus; and
receive the service from the second network function network element (0075).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 22, 28, 29, 30, 31, and 34-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khare in view of WO 2022/174433 to Wu et al., hereinafter Wu. As this PCT is in a foreign language the Office Action will cite from the US application (USP Application Publication 2023/0396602) on which priority to WO 2022/174433 strictly for the convenience of citing English text.
As per claim 22, Khare teaches perform verification on the first token (0074); and in response to the verification on the first token succeeding, determine to provide the service for the first network function network element (0075), wherein performing verification on the first token comprises:
performing verification on integrity protection of the first token (0074). Khare is silent in explicitly teaching in response to the verification on the integrity protection of the first token succeeding, determining whether the service area indicated by the second service domain information belongs to the service area range indicated by the first service domain information, and in response to the service area indicated by the second service domain information belonging to the service area range indicated by the first service domain information, determining that the verification on the first token succeeds. On the other hand, Wu teaches determining whether the service area indicated by the second service domain information belongs to the service area range indicated by the first service domain information (0296-0298), and in response to the service area indicated by the second service domain information belonging to the service area range indicated by the first service domain information, determining that the verification on the first token succeeds (0300). Wu confirms where NF service producer network element belongs. It is assumed that there is an intersection between the service domain to which the NF service producer network element belongs and the service domain indicated by the first service domain information, that is, at least one of service domains to which the NF service producer network element belongs is the same as the service domain indicated by the first service domain information. In this case, it may be determined that the NF service consumer network element has permission to access the service provided by the NF service producer network element. This check ensure a requester is not requesting access to a service area that the token does not grant. Khare’s system would have been strengthened by performing the check between the authorized access domain in the token and the domain requested to ensure the scope of access remains in line with the token’s authorization. The claim is obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art can combine methods known before the effective filing date which produce predictable results.
As per claim 28, the combined system of Khare and Wu teaches the service area indicated by the second service domain information is comprised in the service area range indicated by the first service domain information [Wu: 0296-0300].
As per claim 34 it is rejected for the same reasons as claim 22.
As per claim 29, the combined system of Khare and Wu teaches send a token request message to an authorization function network element (0071), wherein the token request message comprises an identifier of the service [Wu:0256-0258], an identifier of the apparatus (0071), and an identifier of the second network function network element [Wu:identifies the NFp; 0258] or a network element type of the second network function network element; and receive the first token from the authorization function network element (0072).
As per claim 35, it is rejected for the same reasons as claim 29.
As per claims 30 and 36, Khare teaches the token request message further comprises at least one of fourth service domain information or a client credentials assertion (CCA) (0046, 0057, and 0071);
the fourth service domain information indicates the service area of the service requested by the apparatus;
the CCA comprises an identifier of a third network function network element and third service domain information (0055 and 0057); and
the third service domain information indicates a service area of the service requested by the third network function network element (0055 and 0058).
As per claim 31, Khare teaches the service request message further comprises a CCA (0046);
the CCA comprises an identifier of a third network function network element and third service domain information (0055 and 0057); and
the third service domain information indicates a service area of the service requested by the third network function network element (0055 and 0057).
Claims 26, 32, and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khare in view of USP Application Publication 2022/0286464 to Zhao.
As per claims 26, 32, and 40, Khare is silent in explicitly teaching the service comprises any one of: a data collection service or a model obtaining service;
in response to the service being the data collection service, the first service domain information indicates an area range in which the first network function network element is capable of obtaining data from the apparatus; and
in response to the service being the model obtaining service, the first service domain information indicates an area range in which the first network function network element is capable of obtaining a model from the apparatus. Zhao teaches a data collection service [requests collection of user subscription data; 0122] and in response to the service being the data collection service, the first service domain information indicates an area range in which the first network function network element is capable of obtaining data from the apparatus (0105 and 0119). Like in Khare, the token of Zhao contains the allowed domain and in particular Zhao specifies a range of domains that are allowed. This is a tight granular type of access control to place additional restrictions on which domain is allowed. Zhao can give access to a subset of domain within a larger domain. The claim is obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art can combine methods known before the effective filing date which produce predictable results.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure is listed on the enclosed PTO-892 form.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MICHAEL R. VAUGHAN whose telephone number is (571)270-7316. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday - Friday, 9:30am - 5:30pm, EST. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Lynn Feild can be reached on (571) 272-2092. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/MICHAEL R VAUGHAN/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2431