DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-10 are pending in the instant application. Claims 3-8 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to non-elected subject matter. The withdrawn subject matter is patentably distinct from the elected subject matter as it differs in structure and element and would require separate search considerations. In addition, a reference which anticipates one group would not render obvious the other. Claims 1, 2, 9, and 10 are rejected.
Information Disclosure Statements
The information disclosure statements filed on January 22, 2026 have been considered and signed copies of form 1449 are enclosed herewith.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I, claims 1, 2, 9, and 10, in the response filed on January 22, 2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.03(a)). The restriction requirement is still deemed proper and is hereby made final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 9, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Parsons et al. U.S. Patent No. 11,299,491 (cited on IDS filed on January 22, 2026).
The applied reference has a common joint inventor (i.e., Parsons) with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2).
The 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) critical reference date of the U.S. patent is entitled to the benefit of the filing date of the provisional application (No. 62/768,802) under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) since the provisional application properly supports the subject matter relied upon to make the rejection in compliance with 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph. See MPEP 2136.03 III.
This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C.102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B); or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement. See generally MPEP § 717.02.
U.S. Patent No. 11,299,491 discloses a process of preparing a compound of Formula (4a) or
(see column 56).
The reference discloses using 2 equivalents of (+)-DBTA instead of 3 molar equivalents as in the process of the instant claims.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention through routine experimentation to try different molar equivalents of (+)-DBTA and to arrive at the process of the claims with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation would have been to find the optimal reaction conditions for the process. Thus, a prima facie case of obviousness has been established.
Further, the courts have stated that a change in process conditions of an old process does not impart patentability in the absence of unexpected results. In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (1980). In re Aller et al. (CCPA 1955) 220 F2d 454.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 2, 9, and 10 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 16 and 27 of U.S. Patent No. 12,473,281. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other for the reasons given below.
U.S. Patent No. 12,473,281 claims admixing the compound of Formula (4) with (+)-DBTA and 2-methyltetrahydrofuran to provide a composition of Formula (4a). Also, it is disclosed in the reference that (+)-2,3-dibenzolyl-D-tartaric acid (2.0 eq) is added to 1.0 eq. of Compound 4 and 7:5 2-MeTHF/heptane (12 vol) is used (see columns 47-49).
The reference discloses using 2 equivalents of (+)-DBTA instead of 3 molar equivalents as in the process of the instant claims.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention through routine experimentation to try different molar equivalents of (+)-DBTA and to arrive at the process of the claims with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation would have been to find the optimal reaction conditions for the process. Thus, a prima facie case of obviousness has been established.
Further, the courts have stated that a change in process conditions of an old process does not impart patentability in the absence of unexpected results. In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (1980). In re Aller et al. (CCPA 1955) 220 F2d 454.
Claims 1, 2, 9, and 10 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,299,491. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other for the reasons given below.
U.S. Patent No. 11,299,491 claims the compound of Formula (4a) that is prepared in the instant claims. Also, it is disclosed in the reference that (+)-2,3-dibenzolyl-D-tartaric acid (2.0 eq) is added to 1.0 eq. of Compound 4 and 7:5 2-MeTHF/heptane (12 vol) is used (see columns 56-57).
The reference discloses using 2 equivalents of (+)-DBTA instead of 3 molar equivalents as in the process of the instant claims.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention through routine experimentation to try different molar equivalents of (+)-DBTA and to arrive at the process of the claims with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation would have been to find the optimal reaction conditions for the process. Thus, a prima facie case of obviousness has been established.
Further, the courts have stated that a change in process conditions of an old process does not impart patentability in the absence of unexpected results. In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (1980). In re Aller et al. (CCPA 1955) 220 F2d 454.
Claims 1, 2, 9, and 10 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of U.S. Patent No. 12,391,691. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other for the reasons given below.
U.S. Patent No. 12,391,691 claims a process for preparing a composition of Formula (4a) comprising reacting a compound of Formula (4) with a compound of Formula (B1) or (+)-DBTA in the presence of 2-methyltetrahydrofuran to form the composition of Formula (4a). It is further claimed that heptane is added to the solution to provide a suspension of the composition of Formula (4a) (see claim 5). Also, it is disclosed in the reference that (+)-2,3-dibenzolyl-D-tartaric acid (2.0 eq) is added to 1.0 eq. of Compound 4 and 7:5 2-MeTHF/heptane (12 vol) is used (see columns 55-56).
The reference discloses using 2 equivalents of (+)-DBTA instead of 3 molar equivalents as in the process of the instant claims.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention through routine experimentation to try different molar equivalents of (+)-DBTA and to arrive at the process of the claims with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation would have been to find the optimal reaction conditions for the process. Thus, a prima facie case of obviousness has been established.
Further, the courts have stated that a change in process conditions of an old process does not impart patentability in the absence of unexpected results. In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (1980). In re Aller et al. (CCPA 1955) 220 F2d 454.
Claims 1, 2, 9, and 10 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 4, 7, 9, and 10 of U.S. Patent No. 12,391,689. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other for the reasons given below.
U.S. Patent No. 12,391,689 claims a composition comprising a compound of Formula (4) and a compound of Formula B. It is further claimed that the composition further comprises 2-methyltetrahydrofuran. Also, it is disclosed in the reference that (+)-2,3-dibenzolyl-D-tartaric acid (2.0 eq) is added to 1.0 eq. of Compound 4 and 7:5 2-MeTHF/heptane (12 vol) is used (see columns 54-55).
The reference discloses using 2 equivalents of (+)-DBTA instead of 3 molar equivalents as in the process of the instant claims.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention through routine experimentation to try different molar equivalents of (+)-DBTA and to arrive at the process of the claims with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation would have been to find the optimal reaction conditions for the process. Thus, a prima facie case of obviousness has been established.
Further, the courts have stated that a change in process conditions of an old process does not impart patentability in the absence of unexpected results. In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (1980). In re Aller et al. (CCPA 1955) 220 F2d 454.
Conclusion
/KRISTIN A VAJDA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1622