DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Galvin et al. (US 20200099896 A1, hereafter “Galvin”) in view of Chen et al. (US 20170302719 A1, hereafter “Chen”).
Regarding claim 1. Galvin discloses an imaging control apparatus comprising:
one or more memories storing instructions (0212; Figure 26); and
one or more processors (0212; Figure 26; “[0212] Network video recorder 2602 includes a processor, memory, a set of Ethernet ports and an Ethernet switch connected to the set of Ethernet ports. ...”) executing the instructions to:
acquire a streaming status of image data generated by an image pickup apparatus (0174; Figure 21; wherein the selection of a camera corresponds to one type of streaming status according to the application itself, “[0174] Within the camera control area the IP client GUI provides at least the following set of controls: mechanical control, digital control, digital zoom box, and set of PTZ controls. In FIG. 21, step 531, the camera controls are enabled by selecting a camera by clicking an icon in the camera tree view or by selecting a video panel in the video view area.”), and
detect an object from the image data (0112; Figure 10); and
control the imaging direction of the image pickup apparatus according to a detected position of the object and the determined sensitivity (0177; Figure 21; “[0177] … the set of PTZ control interacts with a selected PTZ-enabled camera. The PTZ-enabled camera is selected by clicking on a live video panel in the video view area. The set of PTZ controls allows for controlling zoom 540, controlling pan 542, controlling tilt 544, controlling iris 545 and controlling focus 546. At step 548, PTZ speed of movement is set during preset PTZ tours. Furthermore, the set of PTZ controls include the use of preset camera positions, tours and settings. At step 550, preset positions are set and stored using the PTZ controls. When a preset position is selected, the PTZ-enabled camera automatically moves to the corresponding preset position. ...”).
Galvin failed to disclose one or more processors executing the instructions to:
determine, according to the streaming status, sensitivity relating to a control speed in an imaging direction relative to a change in a position of the object.
Chen in the same field of endeavor, however, shows one or more processors executing the instructions to:
determine, according to the streaming status, sensitivity relating to a control speed in an imaging direction relative to a change in a position of the object (0070; Figure 1; “[0070] … the zoom controller may determine the zoom region motion based on a global motion, a difference between a current frame zoom region anchor point and a previous frame zoom region anchor point, a previous frame global motion, and a difference between a previous frame zoom region anchor point and an earlier frame zoom region anchor point. The zoom controller may utilize global motion information … to determine the zoom region motion in accordance with zoom region motion speed and/or zoom region acceleration. … the zoom region motion may not drive mechanical pan, tilt, and/or zoom (e.g., motors, actuators, etc., for pan, tilt, and/or zoom).”).
It would have been obvious to the person of having ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the determination of sensitivity relating to a control speed in an imaging direction relative to a change in a position of the object as shown by Chen in the imaging control apparatus of Galvin in order to improve the efficiency and effectiveness of the imaging control apparatus as well as in order to yield predictive result.
Regarding claim 2. Galvin discloses the imaging control apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the one or more processors further execute the instructions to change a zoom value of the image pickup apparatus according to the streaming status (0112; Figure 10; “[0112] ... The default configuration for an IP camera device includes time stamp synchronization to network video recorder 1, choice of compression algorithm (e.g. H.264), image quality, image size, frame rate, PTZ parameters, ...”).
Regarding claim 3. Galvin discloses the imaging control apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the streaming status includes a streaming state in which the image data is being streamed and a standby state in which streaming of the image data stands by (0174; Figure 21; ‘531’), and
wherein the one or more processors further execute the instructions to set a zoom value for the standby state on a wide-angle side of the zoom value for the streaming state (0177; Figure 21; ‘540’).
Regarding claim 4. Galvin discloses the imaging control apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the streaming status includes a streaming state in which the image data is being streamed and a standby state in which streaming of the image data stands by (0174; Figure 21; ‘531’),
wherein the one or more memories store a zoom value for the streaming state in a case where the streaming state changes to the standby state (0177; Figure 21), and
wherein the one or more processors further execute the instructions to change the zoom value to a stored zoom value in a case where the standby state changes to the streaming state (0177; Figure 21; ‘540’).
Regarding claim 5. Galvin discloses the imaging control apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the streaming status includes a streaming state in which the image data is being streamed, a standby state in which streaming of the image data stands by, and a preview state that can become the streaming state before the standby state (0174; Figure 21; ‘531’), and
wherein the one or more processors further execute the instructions to set a zoom value to a wider-angle side than the preview state in the standby state (0177; Figure 21; ‘540’).
Regarding claim 6. Galvin discloses the imaging control apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the streaming status includes a streaming state in which the image data is being streamed and a standby state in which streaming of the image data stands by (0174; Figure 21; ‘531’), and
wherein the one or more processors further execute the instructions to make a zooming speed in the streaming state slower than that in the standby state (0177; Figure 21; “[0177] ... The set of PTZ controls allows for controlling zoom 540, controlling pan 542, controlling tilt 544, controlling iris 545 and controlling focus 546. At step 548, PTZ speed of movement is set during preset PTZ tours. ...”).
Regarding claims 7-9. Claims 7-9 have similar limitations as to those treated in the rejection to claim 6 above, and met by the references discussed above. Therefore, claims 7-9 have been rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used in the rejection to claim 6 above.
Regarding claim 10. Method claim 10 is drawn to the method of using the corresponding apparatus claimed in claim 1. Therefore method claim 10 corresponds to apparatus claim 1 is rejected for same reasons of obviousness as used above.
Regarding claim 11. Non-transitory computer-readable storage medium claim 11 is drawn to the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of using the corresponding to the method of using the same as claimed in claim 10. Therefore, non-transitory computer-readable storage medium claim 11 correspond to the method claim 10, and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used above.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-11 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6, 8-9, 11-12, are 14-15 of U.S. Patent No. US 12,425,733 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because while the pending claims and the allowed claims slightly differ in language, the scope is similar and is an obvious variant of language used (Please see the tabular claim comparison shown below).
19310047 (Instant Application)
US 12,425,733 B2
1.
1. + 8. + 9.
2.
2.
3.
3.
4.
4.
5.
5.
6.
6.
7.
6. + 8.
8.
11.
9.
12.
10.
14.
11.
15.
Conclusion
/ASMAMAW G TARKO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2482