Priority
Benefit of earlier filing date of 02/25/2022 of provisional application No. 63/314,226 is acknowledged as required by 35 U.S.C. 119.
Applicant has not complied with one or more conditions for receiving the benefit of an earlier filing date as follows: Figs. 10-13 related to tabletop shifting assembly mechanism does not have support in provisional application No. 63/314,226 and therefore does not benefit from the earlier filing date.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 14 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, line 7 and claim 14, line 8 “the height” should read --a height--.
Claim 14, “wherein the table tilt assembly is configured to wherein the table tilt assembly comprises” should read --wherein --.Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 12 recites the limitation “the pivot further comprises a second pivot pin, and wherein the pivot pin defines the pivot axis”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is not clear if applicant intended to claim --the first pivot pin and the second pivot pin define the pivot axis--.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 14 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kritzer (US 20220402735 A1) in view of Eisenhauer (US 5839966 A).
Regarding claim 1, Kritzer teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. below) a lift table (mobile scissor lift 1), comprising: (a) a base member (base frame 16); (b) a tabletop assembly (lift platform assembly 180), wherein the tabletop assembly comprises a table base (lift deck 184) and an adjustable top (tilting or tilt table 182), wherein the adjustable top is configured to pivot about a pivot axis relative to the table base such that the adjustable top is configured to define a plurality of angles relative to the table base (par. 0057: “a limited angular range in a fore and aft or side to side direction or a combination thereof”; Figs. 10-13); (c) a lift assembly configured to adjust the height of the tabletop assembly relative to the base member between a lowered configuration (not shown) and a raised configuration (shown in Fig. 1); and (d) a table tilt assembly (side tilt adjustment assembly or side tilt assembly 204) configured to drive the pivoting of the adjustable top relative to the table base among the plurality of angles (par. 0059; Figs. 10-13), In device of Kritzer table tilt assembly is not a jack screw mechanism as claimed. Kritzer in Par. 0059 teaches “It is foreseen that other configurations of tilt mechanisms could be employed to adjustably tilt the tilt table 182 relative to the lift deck 184”.
Eisenhauer teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. below) a tabletop assembly comprises a table base and an adjustable top, wherein the adjustable top is configured to pivot about a pivot axis relative to the table base such that the adjustable top is configured to define a plurality of angles relative to the table base; and (d) a table tilt assembly (table tilt assembly comprises nuts 52, a leveling screw 60 and counterbore 70 in which enlarged portion of the jack screw 60 is housed inside) configured to drive the pivoting of the adjustable top relative to the table base between the plurality of angles (par. 12-15), wherein the table tilt assembly comprises: (i) a threaded nut (nut 52) fixed against rotation relative to the table base (par. 12: “prongs 58 are embedded into the top plate 12 and thus prevent the nut 52 from rotating within the top plate”, and (ii) a jack screw (par. 13: leveling screw 60) threadably coupled with the threaded nut, wherein the jack screw comprises a tool engaging head (par. 14: “screwdriver receiving slot 68”) configured to be engaged by a torque input tool (par. 14-15: “By inserting a screwdriver into the slot 68”) in order to adjust the tilt of the tabletop (entire par. 15: “further advancement of the shaft 64 will result in a raising of the corresponding edge of the slate sheet”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace tilt adjustment mechanism of Kritzer with screw tilting adjustment mechanism of Eisenhauer. Doing so would allow any desired angle adjustment with a basic hand tool by using a simpler lifting mechanism.
Regarding claim 2, Eisenhauer teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) the tool engaging head defines a recessed opening (par. 14: “screwdriver receiving slot 68”).
Regarding claim 3, Eisenhauer teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) the adjustable top comprises an underside, wherein the table tilt assembly (as stated in rejection of clam 1 above table tilt assembly comprises nuts 52, a leveling screw 60 and counterbore 70 in which enlarged portion of the jack screw 60 is housed inside) further comprises a receptacle (counterbore 70) associated with the underside of the adjustable top, and wherein a portion of the jack screw is housed within the receptacle (enlarged portion of the jack screw 60 is housed inside counterbore 70).
Regarding claim 14, Kritzer teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) a lift table, comprising: (a) a base member (base frame 16); (b) a tabletop assembly (lift platform assembly 180), wherein the tabletop assembly comprises a table base (lift deck 184) and an adjustable top (tilting or tilt table 182), wherein the adjustable top is configured to pivot about a pivot axis relative to the table base such that the adjustable top is configured to define a plurality of angles relative to the table base (par. 0057: “a limited angular range in a fore and aft or side to side direction or a combination thereof”; Figs. 10-13), and wherein the adjustable top is configured to receive and support a fuel unit (par. 4-6: battery pack or battery of an electric vehicle) while defining each angle of the plurality of angles relative to the table base; (c) a lift assembly configured to adjust the height of the tabletop assembly relative to the base member between a lowered configuration (not shown) and a raised configuration (shown in Fig. 1); and to (d) a table tilt assembly (side tilt adjustment assembly or side tilt assembly 204) configured to drive the pivoting of the adjustable top relative the table base about the pivot axis among the plurality of angles (par. 0059; Figs. 10-13), (par. 4-6: battery pack or battery of an electric vehicle).In device of Kritzer table tilt assembly is not jack screw mechanism. Kritzer in Par. 0059 teaches “It is foreseen that other configurations of tilt mechanisms could be employed to adjustably tilt the tilt table 182 relative to the lift deck 184”.
Eisenhauer teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) a tabletop assembly comprises a table base and an adjustable top, wherein the adjustable top is configured to pivot about a pivot axis relative to the table base such that the adjustable top is configured to define a plurality of angles relative to the table base; and (d) a table tilt assembly (table tilt assembly comprises nuts 52, a leveling screw 60 and counterbore 70 in which enlarged portion of the jack screw 60 is housed inside) configured to drive the pivoting of the adjustable top relative to the table base between the plurality of angles (par. 12-15), wherein the table tilt assembly comprises: (i) first and second threaded nuts (nuts 52; Fig. 2 shows 22 jack screws and nuts) fixed against rotation relative to the table base (par. 12: “prongs 58 are embedded into the top plate 12 and thus prevent the nut 52 from rotating within the top plate”, and (ii) first and second jack screws (par. 13: leveling screw 60) threadably coupled with the threaded nut; wherein the table tilt assembly is configured to retain the adjustable top in each of the plurality of angles.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace tilt adjustment mechanism of Kritzer with screw tilting adjustment mechanism of Eisenhauer. Doing so would allow any desired angle adjustment with a basic hand tool by using a simpler lifting mechanism.
Regarding claim 20, Kritzer teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) the lift assembly comprises a scissor lift.
Claims 1-3, 14 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou (CN 108373130 A) in view of Eisenhauer.
Regarding claim 1, Zhou teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. below) a lift table, comprising: (a) a base member (1); (b) a tabletop assembly, wherein the tabletop assembly comprises a table base and an adjustable top, wherein the adjustable top is configured to pivot about a pivot axis relative to the table base such that the adjustable top is configured to define a plurality of angles relative to the table base: (c) a lift assembly configured to adjust the height of the tabletop assembly relative to the base member between a lowered configuration and a raised configuration; and (d) a table tilt assembly (assembly connecting the table base 2 and adjustable top 6) configured to drive the pivoting of the adjustable top relative to the table base about the pivot axis among the plurality of angles, In device of Zhou table tilt assembly is hydraulic jack and not jack screw mechanism.
Eisenhauer teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) a tabletop assembly comprises a table base and an adjustable top, wherein the adjustable top is configured to pivot about a pivot axis relative to the table base such that the adjustable top is configured to define a plurality of angles relative to the table base; and (d) a table tilt assembly (table tilt assembly comprises nuts 52, a leveling screw 60 and counterbore 70 in which enlarged portion of the jack screw 60 is housed inside) configured to drive the pivoting of the adjustable top relative to the table base between the plurality of angles (par. 12-15), wherein the table tilt assembly comprises: (i) a threaded nut (nut 52) fixed against rotation relative to the table base (par. 12: “prongs 58 are embedded into the top plate 12 and thus prevent the nut 52 from rotating within the top plate”, and (ii) a jack screw (par. 13: leveling screw 60) threadably coupled with the threaded nut, wherein the jack screw comprises a tool engaging head (par. 14: “screwdriver receiving slot 68”) configured to be engaged by a torque input tool (par. 14-15: “By inserting a screwdriver into the slot 68”) in order to adjust the tilt of the tabletop (entire par. 15: “further advancement of the shaft 64 will result in a raising of the corresponding edge of the slate sheet”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace tilt adjustment mechanism of Zhou with screw tilting adjustment mechanism of Eisenhauer. Doing so would allow any desired angle adjustment with a basic hand tool by using a simpler lifting mechanism.
Regarding claim 2, Eisenhauer teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) the tool engaging head defines a recessed opening (par. 14: “screwdriver receiving slot 68”).
Regarding claim 3, Eisenhauer teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) the adjustable top comprises an underside, wherein the table tilt assembly (as stated in rejection of clam 1 above table tilt assembly comprises nuts 52, a leveling screw 60 and counterbore 70 in which enlarged portion of the jack screw 60 is housed inside) further comprises a receptacle (counterbore 70) associated with the underside of the adjustable top, and wherein a portion of the jack screw is housed within the receptacle (enlarged portion of the jack screw 60 is housed inside counterbore 70).
Regarding claim 14, Zhou teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) a lift table, comprising: (a) a base member (1); (b) a tabletop assembly, wherein the tabletop assembly comprises a table base and an adjustable top, wherein the adjustable top is configured to pivot about a pivot axis relative to the table base such that the adjustable top is configured to define a plurality of angles relative to the table base; (c) a lift assembly configured to adjust the height of the tabletop assembly relative to the base member between a lowered configuration and a raised configuration; and (d) a table tilt assembly (assembly connecting the table base 2 and adjustable top 6) configured to drive the pivoting of the adjustable top relative to the table base about the pivot axis among the plurality of angles, Lift table of Zhou is used in “car maintenance industry” and therefore is capable of intended use of lifting and tilting a fuel unit.In device of Zhou, table tilt assembly is hydraulic jack and not jack screw mechanism.
Eisenhauer teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) a tabletop assembly comprises a table base and an adjustable top, wherein the adjustable top is configured to pivot about a pivot axis relative to the table base such that the adjustable top is configured to define a plurality of angles relative to the table base; and (d) a table tilt assembly (table tilt assembly comprises nuts 52, a leveling screw 60 and counterbore 70 in which enlarged portion of the jack screw 60 is housed inside) configured to drive the pivoting of the adjustable top relative to the table base between the plurality of angles (par. 12-15), wherein the table tilt assembly comprises: (i) a threaded nut (nut 52) fixed against rotation relative to the table base (par. 12: “prongs 58 are embedded into the top plate 12 and thus prevent the nut 52 from rotating within the top plate”, and (ii) a jack screw (par. 13: leveling screw 60) threadably coupled with the threaded nut, wherein the jack screw comprises a tool engaging head (par. 14: “screwdriver receiving slot 68”) configured to be engaged by a torque input tool (par. 14-15: “By inserting a screwdriver into the slot 68”) in order to adjust the tilt of the tabletop (entire par. 15: “further advancement of the shaft 64 will result in a raising of the corresponding edge of the slate sheet”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace tilt adjustment mechanism of Zhou with screw tilting adjustment mechanism of Eisenhauer. Doing so would allow any desired angle adjustment with a basic hand tool by using a simpler lifting mechanism.
Regarding claim 19, Zhou teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) the adjustable top is pivotally coupled to the table base via a pair of pins (each passing through brackets 207).
Claims 1-4, 6-9, 10-11, 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lei (CN 209098099 U) in view of Eisenhauer.
Regarding claim 1, Lei teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) a lift table, comprising: (a) a base member; (b) a tabletop assembly, wherein the tabletop assembly comprises a table base (2) and an adjustable top (8), wherein the adjustable top is configured to pivot about a pivot axis relative to the table base (compare Figs. 1, 2) such that the adjustable top is configured to define a plurality of angles relative to the table base; (c) a lift assembly configured to adjust the height of the tabletop assembly relative to the base member between a lowered configuration (not shown) and a raised configuration (Figs. 1, 2); and (d) a table tilt assembly configured to drive the pivoting of the adjustable top relative to the table base about the pivot axis among the plurality of angles, In device of Lei table tilt assembly is cylinder and piston jack and not jack screw mechanism.
Eisenhauer teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) a tabletop assembly comprises a table base and an adjustable top, wherein the adjustable top is configured to pivot about a pivot axis relative to the table base such that the adjustable top is configured to define a plurality of angles relative to the table base; and (d) a table tilt assembly (table tilt assembly comprises nuts 52, a leveling screw 60 and counterbore 70 in which enlarged portion of the jack screw 60 is housed inside) configured to drive the pivoting of the adjustable top relative to the table base between the plurality of angles (par. 12-15), wherein the table tilt assembly comprises: (i) a threaded nut (nut 52) fixed against rotation relative to the table base (par. 12: “prongs 58 are embedded into the top plate 12 and thus prevent the nut 52 from rotating within the top plate”, and (ii) a jack screw (par. 13: leveling screw 60) threadably coupled with the threaded nut, wherein the jack screw comprises a tool engaging head (par. 14: “screwdriver receiving slot 68”) configured to be engaged by a torque input tool (par. 14-15: “By inserting a screwdriver into the slot 68”) in order to adjust the tilt of the tabletop (entire par. 15: “further advancement of the shaft 64 will result in a raising of the corresponding edge of the slate sheet”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace tilt adjustment mechanism of Lei with screw tilting adjustment mechanism of Eisenhauer. Doing so would allow any desired angle adjustment with a basic hand tool by using a simpler lifting mechanism.
Regarding claim 2, Eisenhauer teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) the tool engaging head defines a recessed opening (par. 14: “screwdriver receiving slot 68”).
Regarding claim 3, Eisenhauer teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) the adjustable top comprises an underside, wherein the table tilt assembly (as stated in rejection of clam 1 above table tilt assembly comprises nuts 52, a leveling screw 60 and counterbore 70 in which enlarged portion of the jack screw 60 is housed inside) further comprises a receptacle (counterbore 70) associated with the underside of the adjustable top, and wherein a portion of the jack screw is housed within the receptacle (enlarged portion of the jack screw 60 is housed inside counterbore 70).
Regarding claim 4, Lei teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) a pivot pin extending through a portion of both the table base and the adjustable top, wherein the pivot pin defines the pivot axis.
Regarding claim 6, Lei teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) the pivot pin is located at a first end of the tabletop assembly, wherein the table tilt assembly is located at a second end of the tabletop assembly, and wherein the second end is located opposite to the first end.
Regarding claim 7, Eisenhauer teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) the table tilt assembly further comprises a second jack screw having a second engagement feature configured to be engaged by the torque input tool in order to adjust the tilt of the tabletop (Fig. 2 shows 22 jack screws).
Regarding claim 8, Eisenhauer teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) the table tilt assembly further comprises a second threaded nut fixed to the table base, wherein the second jack screw is engaged with the second threaded nut (Fig. 2 shows 22 threaded nuts).
Regarding claim 10, Lei teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) a lift table, comprising: (a) a base member; (b) a tabletop assembly extending between a first end and a second end, wherein the tabletop assembly comprises: (i) a table base (2), (ii) an adjustable top (8), and (iii) a pivot located at the first end of the tabletop assembly, wherein the pivot pivotally couples the adjustable top to the table base about a pivot axis (pivot axis is perpendicular to the page), wherein the adjustable top is configured to pivot about the pivot axis relative to the table base such that the adjustable top is configured to define a plurality of angles relative to the table base; (c) a lift assembly configured to adjust the height of the tabletop assembly relative to the base member between a lowered configuration (not shown) and a raised configuration (Figs. 1, 2); and (d) a table tilt assembly (13) located at the second end of the tabletop assembly, wherein the table tilt assembly is configured to drive the pivoting of the adjustable top about the pivot axis relative to the table base between the plurality of angles, In device of Lei table tilt assembly is cylinder and piston jack and not jack screw mechanism.
Eisenhauer teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) a tabletop assembly comprises a table base and an adjustable top, wherein the adjustable top is configured to pivot about a pivot axis relative to the table base such that the adjustable top is configured to define a plurality of angles relative to the table base; and (d) a table tilt assembly (table tilt assembly comprises nuts 52, a leveling screw 60 and counterbore 70 in which enlarged portion of the jack screw 60 is housed inside) configured to drive the pivoting of the adjustable top relative to the table base between the plurality of angles (par. 12-15), wherein the table tilt assembly comprises: (i) a threaded nut (nut 52) fixed against rotation relative to the table base (par. 12: “prongs 58 are embedded into the top plate 12 and thus prevent the nut 52 from rotating within the top plate”, and (ii) a jack screw (par. 13: leveling screw 60) threadably coupled with the threaded nut, wherein the jack screw comprises a tool engaging head (par. 14: “screwdriver receiving slot 68”) configured to be engaged by a torque input tool (par. 14-15: “By inserting a screwdriver into the slot 68”) in order to adjust the tilt of the tabletop (entire par. 15: “further advancement of the shaft 64 will result in a raising of the corresponding edge of the slate sheet”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace tilt adjustment mechanism of Lei with screw tilting adjustment mechanism of Eisenhauer. Doing so would allow any desired angle adjustment with a basic hand tool by using a simpler lifting mechanism.
Regarding claim 11, Lei teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) the pivot comprises a first pivot pin.
Regarding claim 13, Lei teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) the table base comprises a yoke (supporting plate), wherein the first pivot pin extends through the yoke of the table base.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LEI in view of Eisenhauer as applied to claims 10-11, and further in view of Zhou.
Regarding claim 12, device of Lei has only one pivot axis.
Zhou teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) a lift table, comprising: (a) a base member (1); (b) a tabletop assembly, wherein the tabletop assembly comprises a table base and an adjustable top, wherein the adjustable top is configured to pivot about a pivot axis relative to the table base such that the adjustable top is configured to define a plurality of angles relative to the table base: (c) a lift assembly configured to adjust the height of the tabletop assembly relative to the base member between a lowered configuration and a raised configuration; and (d) a table tilt assembly (assembly connecting the table base 2 and adjustable top 6) configured to drive the pivoting of the adjustable top relative to the table base about the pivot axis among the plurality of angles; the pivot comprises first ands second pivot pins (each passing through brackets 207).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace single pivot of Lei with two separate pivots of Zhou; because these two pivot systems were art-recognized equivalents and one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to substitute two pivots for one pivot; also there is an absence of criticality to the number of these pins and there is also an absence of unexpected results.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 15 and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 16 and 18 are allowable due to dependency on allowable claims 15 and 17.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Verini (US 3373879 A) teaches a lift table, comprising: (a) a base member; (b) a tabletop assembly, wherein the tabletop assembly comprises a table base and an adjustable top, wherein the adjustable top is configured to pivot about a pivot axis relative to the table base such that the adjustable top is configured to define a plurality of angles relative to the table base: (c) a lift assembly (screw jack mechanisms 11, 12, 13, 14) configured to adjust the height of the tabletop assembly relative to the base member between a lowered configuration and a raised configuration; and (d) a table tilt assembly configured to drive the pivoting of the adjustable top relative to the table base about the pivot axis among the plurality of angles, wherein the table tilt assembly comprises: (i) a threaded nut (inside 33, 34) fixed against rotation relative to the table base, and (ii) a jack screw threadably coupled with the threaded nut.
MAHDI H. NEJAD
Examiner
Art Unit 3723
/MAHDI H NEJAD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723