Priority
Benefit of earlier filing date of 02/25/2022 of provisional application No. 63/314,226 is acknowledged as required by 35 U.S.C. 119.
Applicant has not complied with one or more conditions for receiving the benefit of an earlier filing date as follows: Figs. 10-13 related to tabletop shifting assembly mechanism does not have support in provisional application No. 63/314,226 and therefore does not benefit from the earlier filing date.
Claim Objections
Claim 14 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 14, line 8 “the height” should read --a height--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kritzer (US 20220402735 A1) in view of Eisenhauer (US 5839966 A) and Carr (US 20190376539 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kritzer teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. below) a lift table (mobile scissor lift 1), comprising: (a) a base member (base frame 16); (b) a tabletop assembly (lift platform assembly 180), wherein the tabletop assembly comprises a table base (lift deck 184) and an adjustable top (tilting or tilt table 182), wherein the adjustable top is configured to pivot about a pivot axis relative to the table base such that the adjustable top is configured to define a plurality of angles relative to the table base (par. 0057: “a limited angular range in a fore and aft or side to side direction or a combination thereof”; Figs. 10-13); (c) a lift assembly configured to adjust the height of the tabletop assembly relative to the base member between a lowered configuration (not shown) and a raised configuration (shown in Fig. 1); and (d) a table tilt assembly (side tilt adjustment assembly or side tilt assembly 204) configured to drive the pivoting of the adjustable top relative to the table base among the plurality of angles (par. 0059; Figs. 10-13), In device of Kritzer table tilt assembly is not a jack screw mechanism as claimed. Kritzer in Par. 0059 teaches “It is foreseen that other configurations of tilt mechanisms could be employed to adjustably tilt the tilt table 182 relative to the lift deck 184”.
Eisenhauer teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. below) a tabletop assembly comprises a table base and an adjustable top, wherein the adjustable top is configured to pivot about a pivot axis relative to the table base such that the adjustable top is configured to define a plurality of angles relative to the table base; and (d) a table tilt assembly (table tilt assembly comprises nuts 52, a leveling screw 60 and counterbore 70 in which enlarged portion of the jack screw 60 is housed inside) configured to drive the pivoting of the adjustable top relative to the table base between the plurality of angles (par. 12-15), wherein the table tilt assembly comprises: (i) a threaded nut (nut 52) fixed against rotation relative to the table base (par. 12: “prongs 58 are embedded into the top plate 12 and thus prevent the nut 52 from rotating within the top plate”, and (ii) a jack screw (par. 13: leveling screw 60) threadably coupled with the threaded nut, wherein the jack screw comprises a tool engaging head (par. 14: “screwdriver receiving slot 68”) configured to be engaged by a torque input tool (par. 14-15: “By inserting a screwdriver into the slot 68”) in order to adjust the tilt of the tabletop (entire par. 15: “further advancement of the shaft 64 will result in a raising of the corresponding edge of the slate sheet”). In device of Eisenhauer nut is prevented to rotate using prongs 58 and not the claimed opposing surfaces associated with the table base.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace tilt adjustment mechanism of Kritzer with screw tilting adjustment mechanism of Eisenhauer (hereinafter modified lift table of Kritzer). Doing so would allow any desired angle adjustment with a basic hand tool by using a simpler lifting mechanism.
Carr teaches an anti-rotation mechanism for a fastener in which the fastener 302 is captured between opposing surfaces (404, 408) associated with a base 304, wherein the opposing surfaces inhibit rotation of the fastener.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to use opposing surfaces on the base of modified lift table of Kritzer. Because these two anti-rotation mechanisms were art-recognized equivalents before effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to substitute opposing surfaces for insertion prongs.
Regarding claim 2, Eisenhauer teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) the tool engaging head defines a recessed opening (par. 14: “screwdriver receiving slot 68”).
Regarding claim 3, Eisenhauer teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) the adjustable top comprises an underside, wherein the table tilt assembly (as stated in rejection of clam 1 above table tilt assembly comprises nuts 52, a leveling screw 60 and counterbore 70 in which enlarged portion of the jack screw 60 is housed inside) further comprises a receptacle (counterbore 70) associated with the underside of the adjustable top, and wherein a portion of the jack screw is housed within the receptacle (enlarged portion of the jack screw 60 is housed inside counterbore 70).
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou (CN 108373130 A) in view of Eisenhauer and Carr.
Regarding claim 1, Zhou teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. below) a lift table, comprising: (a) a base member (1); (b) a tabletop assembly, wherein the tabletop assembly comprises a table base and an adjustable top, wherein the adjustable top is configured to pivot about a pivot axis relative to the table base such that the adjustable top is configured to define a plurality of angles relative to the table base: (c) a lift assembly configured to adjust the height of the tabletop assembly relative to the base member between a lowered configuration and a raised configuration; and (d) a table tilt assembly (assembly connecting the table base 2 and adjustable top 6) configured to drive the pivoting of the adjustable top relative to the table base about the pivot axis among the plurality of angles, wherein the table tilt assembly comprises: (i) a threaded nut captured between opposing surfaces associated with the table base, wherein the opposing surfaces inhibit rotation of the threaded nut relative to the table base, and (ii) a jack screw threadably coupled with the threaded nut, wherein the jack screw comprises a tool engaging head configured to be engaged by a torque input tool in order to adjust the tilt of the tabletop.In device of Zhou table tilt assembly is hydraulic jack and not jack screw mechanism.
Eisenhauer teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) a tabletop assembly comprises a table base and an adjustable top, wherein the adjustable top is configured to pivot about a pivot axis relative to the table base such that the adjustable top is configured to define a plurality of angles relative to the table base; and (d) a table tilt assembly (table tilt assembly comprises nuts 52, a leveling screw 60 and counterbore 70 in which enlarged portion of the jack screw 60 is housed inside) configured to drive the pivoting of the adjustable top relative to the table base between the plurality of angles (par. 12-15), wherein the table tilt assembly comprises: (i) a threaded nut (nut 52) fixed against rotation relative to the table base (par. 12: “prongs 58 are embedded into the top plate 12 and thus prevent the nut 52 from rotating within the top plate”, and (ii) a jack screw (par. 13: leveling screw 60) threadably coupled with the threaded nut, wherein the jack screw comprises a tool engaging head (par. 14: “screwdriver receiving slot 68”) configured to be engaged by a torque input tool (par. 14-15: “By inserting a screwdriver into the slot 68”) in order to adjust the tilt of the tabletop (entire par. 15: “further advancement of the shaft 64 will result in a raising of the corresponding edge of the slate sheet”). In device of Eisenhauer nut is prevented to rotate using prongs 58 and not the claimed opposing surfaces associated with the table base.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace tilt adjustment mechanism of Zhou with screw tilting adjustment mechanism of Eisenhauer (hereinafter modified lift table of Zhou). Doing so would allow any desired angle adjustment with a basic hand tool by using a simpler lifting mechanism.
Carr teaches an anti-rotation mechanism for a fastener in which the fastener 302 is captured between opposing surfaces (404, 408) associated with a base 304, wherein the opposing surfaces inhibit rotation of the fastener.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to use opposing surfaces on the base of modified lift table of Zhou. Because these two anti-rotation mechanisms were art-recognized equivalents before effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to substitute opposing surfaces for insertion prongs.
Regarding claim 2, Eisenhauer teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) the tool engaging head defines a recessed opening (par. 14: “screwdriver receiving slot 68”).
Regarding claim 3, Eisenhauer teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) the adjustable top comprises an underside, wherein the table tilt assembly (as stated in rejection of clam 1 above table tilt assembly comprises nuts 52, a leveling screw 60 and counterbore 70 in which enlarged portion of the jack screw 60 is housed inside) further comprises a receptacle (counterbore 70) associated with the underside of the adjustable top, and wherein a portion of the jack screw is housed within the receptacle (enlarged portion of the jack screw 60 is housed inside counterbore 70).
Claims 1-4, 6-9, 10-11, 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lei (CN 209098099 U) in view of Eisenhauer and Carr.
Regarding claim 1, Lei teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) a lift table, comprising: (a) a base member; (b) a tabletop assembly, wherein the tabletop assembly comprises a table base (2) and an adjustable top (8), wherein the adjustable top is configured to pivot about a pivot axis relative to the table base (compare Figs. 1, 2) such that the adjustable top is configured to define a plurality of angles relative to the table base; (c) a lift assembly configured to adjust the height of the tabletop assembly relative to the base member between a lowered configuration (not shown) and a raised configuration (Figs. 1, 2); and (d) a table tilt assembly configured to drive the pivoting of the adjustable top relative to the table base about the pivot axis among the plurality of angles, wherein the table tilt assembly comprises: (i) a threaded nut captured between opposing surfaces associated with the table base, wherein the opposing surfaces inhibit rotation of the threaded nut relative to the table base, and (ii) a jack screw threadably coupled with the threaded nut, wherein the jack screw comprises a tool engaging head configured to be engaged by a torque input tool in order to adjust the tilt of the tabletop.In device of Lei table tilt assembly is cylinder and piston jack and not jack screw mechanism.
Eisenhauer teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) a tabletop assembly comprises a table base and an adjustable top, wherein the adjustable top is configured to pivot about a pivot axis relative to the table base such that the adjustable top is configured to define a plurality of angles relative to the table base; and (d) a table tilt assembly (table tilt assembly comprises nuts 52, a leveling screw 60 and counterbore 70 in which enlarged portion of the jack screw 60 is housed inside) configured to drive the pivoting of the adjustable top relative to the table base between the plurality of angles (par. 12-15), wherein the table tilt assembly comprises: (i) a threaded nut (nut 52) fixed against rotation relative to the table base (par. 12: “prongs 58 are embedded into the top plate 12 and thus prevent the nut 52 from rotating within the top plate”, and (ii) a jack screw (par. 13: leveling screw 60) threadably coupled with the threaded nut, wherein the jack screw comprises a tool engaging head (par. 14: “screwdriver receiving slot 68”) configured to be engaged by a torque input tool (par. 14-15: “By inserting a screwdriver into the slot 68”) in order to adjust the tilt of the tabletop (entire par. 15: “further advancement of the shaft 64 will result in a raising of the corresponding edge of the slate sheet”). In device of Eisenhauer nut is prevented to rotate using prongs 58 and not the claimed opposing surfaces associated with the table base.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace tilt adjustment mechanism of Lei with screw tilting adjustment mechanism of Eisenhauer (hereinafter modified lift table of Lei). Doing so would allow any desired angle adjustment with a basic hand tool by using a simpler lifting mechanism.
Carr teaches an anti-rotation mechanism for a fastener in which the fastener 302 is captured between opposing surfaces (404, 408) associated with a base 304, wherein the opposing surfaces inhibit rotation of the fastener.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to use opposing surfaces on the base of modified lift table of Lei. Because these two anti-rotation mechanisms were art-recognized equivalents before effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to substitute opposing surfaces for insertion prongs.
Regarding claim 2, Eisenhauer teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) the tool engaging head defines a recessed opening (par. 14: “screwdriver receiving slot 68”).
Regarding claim 3, Eisenhauer teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) the adjustable top comprises an underside, wherein the table tilt assembly (as stated in rejection of clam 1 above table tilt assembly comprises nuts 52, a leveling screw 60 and counterbore 70 in which enlarged portion of the jack screw 60 is housed inside) further comprises a receptacle (counterbore 70) associated with the underside of the adjustable top, and wherein a portion of the jack screw is housed within the receptacle (enlarged portion of the jack screw 60 is housed inside counterbore 70).
Regarding claim 4, Lei teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) a pivot pin extending through a portion of both the table base and the adjustable top, wherein the pivot pin defines the pivot axis.
Regarding claim 6, Lei teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) the pivot pin is located at a first end of the tabletop assembly, wherein the table tilt assembly is located at a second end of the tabletop assembly, and wherein the second end is located opposite to the first end.
Regarding claim 7, Eisenhauer teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) the table tilt assembly further comprises a second jack screw having a second engagement feature configured to be engaged by the torque input tool in order to adjust the tilt of the tabletop (Fig. 2 shows 22 jack screws).
Regarding claim 8, Eisenhauer teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) the table tilt assembly further comprises a second threaded nut fixed to the table base, wherein the second jack screw is engaged with the second threaded nut (Fig. 2 shows 22 threaded nuts).
Regarding claim 10, Lei teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) a lift table, comprising: (a) a base member; (b) a tabletop assembly extending between a first end and a second end, wherein the tabletop assembly comprises: (i) a table base (2), (ii) an adjustable top (8), and (iii) a pivot located at the first end of the tabletop assembly, wherein the pivot pivotally couples the adjustable top to the table base about a pivot axis (pivot axis is perpendicular to the page), wherein the adjustable top is configured to pivot about the pivot axis relative to the table base such that the adjustable top is configured to define a plurality of angles relative to the table base; (c) a lift assembly configured to adjust the height of the tabletop assembly relative to the base member between a lowered configuration (not shown) and a raised configuration (Figs. 1, 2); and (d) a table tilt assembly (13) located at the second end of the tabletop assembly, wherein the table tilt assembly is configured to drive the pivoting of the adjustable top about the pivot axis relative to the table base between the plurality of angles, wherein the table tilt assembly comprises: (i) a threaded nut captured between opposing surfaces fixed relative to the table base, wherein the opposing surfaces inhibit rotation of the threaded nut relative to the table base, and (ii) a jack screw threadably coupled with the threaded nut.In device of Lei table tilt assembly is cylinder and piston jack and not jack screw mechanism.
Eisenhauer teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) a tabletop assembly comprises a table base and an adjustable top, wherein the adjustable top is configured to pivot about a pivot axis relative to the table base such that the adjustable top is configured to define a plurality of angles relative to the table base; and (d) a table tilt assembly (table tilt assembly comprises nuts 52, a leveling screw 60 and counterbore 70 in which enlarged portion of the jack screw 60 is housed inside) configured to drive the pivoting of the adjustable top relative to the table base between the plurality of angles (par. 12-15), wherein the table tilt assembly comprises: (i) a threaded nut (nut 52) fixed against rotation relative to the table base (par. 12: “prongs 58 are embedded into the top plate 12 and thus prevent the nut 52 from rotating within the top plate”, and (ii) a jack screw (par. 13: leveling screw 60) threadably coupled with the threaded nut, wherein the jack screw comprises a tool engaging head (par. 14: “screwdriver receiving slot 68”) configured to be engaged by a torque input tool (par. 14-15: “By inserting a screwdriver into the slot 68”) in order to adjust the tilt of the tabletop (entire par. 15: “further advancement of the shaft 64 will result in a raising of the corresponding edge of the slate sheet”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace tilt adjustment mechanism of Lei with screw tilting adjustment mechanism of Eisenhauer (hereinafter modified lift table of Lei). Doing so would allow any desired angle adjustment with a basic hand tool by using a simpler lifting mechanism.
Carr teaches an anti-rotation mechanism for a fastener in which the fastener 302 is captured between opposing surfaces (404, 408) associated with a base 304, wherein the opposing surfaces inhibit rotation of the fastener.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to use opposing surfaces on the base of modified lift table of Lei. Because these two anti-rotation mechanisms were art-recognized equivalents before effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to substitute opposing surfaces for insertion prongs.
Regarding claim 11, Lei teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) the pivot comprises a first pivot pin.
Regarding claim 13, Lei teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) the table base comprises a yoke (supporting plate), wherein the first pivot pin extends through the yoke of the table base.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LEI in view of Eisenhauer and Carr as applied to claims 10-11, and further in view of Zhou.
Regarding claim 12, device of Lei has only one pivot axis.
Zhou teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) a lift table, comprising: (a) a base member (1); (b) a tabletop assembly, wherein the tabletop assembly comprises a table base and an adjustable top, wherein the adjustable top is configured to pivot about a pivot axis relative to the table base such that the adjustable top is configured to define a plurality of angles relative to the table base: (c) a lift assembly configured to adjust the height of the tabletop assembly relative to the base member between a lowered configuration and a raised configuration; and (d) a table tilt assembly (assembly connecting the table base 2 and adjustable top 6) configured to drive the pivoting of the adjustable top relative to the table base about the pivot axis among the plurality of angles; the pivot comprises first and second pivot pins (each passing through brackets 207).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace single pivot of Lei with two separate pivots of Zhou; because these two pivot systems were art-recognized equivalents and one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to substitute two pivots for one pivot; also there is an absence of criticality to the number of these pins and there is also an absence of unexpected results.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 14-16 and 18-20 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Claim 14 is allowed for disclosing “the adjustable top comprises a first receptacle that houses a portion of the first jack screw”. These limitations with other claimed limitations in a whole, make the instant invention neither anticipated nor rendered obvious by the best prior art in record.
The closest prior art to the claimed invention of claim 14 are Kritzer, Zhou and Eisenhauer.
Kritzer teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) a lift table, comprising: (a) a base member (base frame 16); (b) a tabletop assembly (lift platform assembly 180), wherein the tabletop assembly comprises a table base (lift deck 184) and an adjustable top (tilting or tilt table 182), wherein the adjustable top is configured to pivot about a pivot axis relative to the table base such that the adjustable top is configured to define a plurality of angles relative to the table base (par. 0057: “a limited angular range in a fore and aft or side to side direction or a combination thereof”; Figs. 10-13), and wherein the adjustable top is configured to receive and support a fuel unit (par. 4-6: battery pack or battery of an electric vehicle) while defining each angle of the plurality of angles relative to the table base; (c) a lift assembly configured to adjust the height of the tabletop assembly relative to the base member between a lowered configuration (not shown) and a raised configuration (shown in Fig. 1); and to (d) a table tilt assembly (side tilt adjustment assembly or side tilt assembly 204) configured to drive the pivoting of the adjustable top relative the table base about the pivot axis among the plurality of angles (par. 0059; Figs. 10-13), (par. 4-6: battery pack or battery of an electric vehicle).In device of Kritzer table tilt assembly is not jack screw mechanism. Kritzer in Par. 0059 teaches “It is foreseen that other configurations of tilt mechanisms could be employed to adjustably tilt the tilt table 182 relative to the lift deck 184”.
Zhou teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) a lift table, comprising: (a) a base member (1); (b) a tabletop assembly, wherein the tabletop assembly comprises a table base and an adjustable top, wherein the adjustable top is configured to pivot about a pivot axis relative to the table base such that the adjustable top is configured to define a plurality of angles relative to the table base; (c) a lift assembly configured to adjust the height of the tabletop assembly relative to the base member between a lowered configuration and a raised configuration; and (d) a table tilt assembly (assembly connecting the table base 2 and adjustable top 6) configured to drive the pivoting of the adjustable top relative to the table base about the pivot axis among the plurality of angles, Lift table of Zhou is used in “car maintenance industry” and therefore is capable of intended use of lifting and tilting a fuel unit.In device of Zhou, table tilt assembly is hydraulic jack and not jack screw mechanism.
Eisenhauer teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) a tabletop assembly comprises a table base and an adjustable top, wherein the adjustable top is configured to pivot about a pivot axis relative to the table base such that the adjustable top is configured to define a plurality of angles relative to the table base; and (d) a table tilt assembly (table tilt assembly comprises nuts 52, a leveling screw 60 and counterbore 70 in which enlarged portion of the jack screw 60 is housed inside) configured to drive the pivoting of the adjustable top relative to the table base between the plurality of angles (par. 12-15), wherein the table tilt assembly comprises: (i) first and second threaded nuts (nuts 52; Fig. 2 shows 22 jack screws and nuts) fixed against rotation relative to the table base (par. 12: “prongs 58 are embedded into the top plate 12 and thus prevent the nut 52 from rotating within the top plate”, and (ii) first and second jack screws (par. 13: leveling screw 60) threadably coupled with the threaded nut; wherein the table tilt assembly is configured to retain the adjustable top in each of the plurality of angles.
However Kritzer and Eisenhauer alone or in combination of Eisenhauer do not teach the claimed receptacle.
Claims 15-16 and 18-20 are allowed due to dependency on allowed claim 14.
Claim 5 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to amended claims 1 and 10 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the combination of references being used in the current rejection as necessitate by amendments.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
MAHDI H. NEJAD
Examiner
Art Unit 3723
/MAHDI H NEJAD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723