DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Applicant is reminded that in order for a patent issuing on the instant application to obtain priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) or (f), 365(a) or (b), or 386(a) or (b), based on priority papers filed in a parent or related Application No. 17/288,051 (to which the present application claims the benefit under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) or is a reissue application of a patent issued on the related application), a claim for such foreign priority must be timely made in this application. To satisfy the requirement of 37 CFR 1.55 for a certified copy of the foreign application, applicant may simply identify the parent nonprovisional application or patent for which reissue is sought containing the certified copy.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 9/3/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,439,121. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims in the instant application are broader than the claims in the ‘121 Patent.
Referring to claims 1-12 of the instant application, see claims 1-10 of the ‘121 Patent.
Referring to claims 13-19 of the instant application, see claims 11-19 of the ‘121 Patent.
Referring to claim 20 of the instant application, see claim 20 of the ‘121 Patent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 and 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barrett et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2002/0170057) in view of Alexander et al. (U.S. Patent No. 2014/0089980).
Referring to claim 1, Barrett discloses display a first screen including a content on an entire screen of a display unit (see Figures 1-2).
Barrett also discloses displaying a second screen including the television program image on the entire screen of the display, filter information on a first area of the display and a first program guide superimposed on the television program image, wherein the filter information and the first program guide are displayed in different areas superimposed on the television program image (see Figure 3, wherein the filter information includes the X and Y axis values that separates the first program guide cells by channel and time, wherein the program guide is superimposed over the television program).
Barrett also discloses displaying a third screen including a second program guide on the entire screen of the display and the filer information on a third area of the display (see Figure 6 for displaying a second program guide on the entire screen of the display and the channel and time axes (filter information)).
Barrett also discloses performing a transition from the first screen to the second screen (see Paragraph 0066)
Barrett also discloses performing a transition between a second screen and a third screen (see Figure 6 for transition between multiple screens when a user scrolls to the right to view more programs at a later time and further note transitioning to the screen in Figure 7), in accordance with a single operation of a directional key of a cross button provided on a remote controller (see Figure 1 and Paragraph 0043 for the viewer using an input device to activate a button to navigate through the EPG displayed to the user in Figures 2-3 and Paragraphs 0066 for the user using the input device to navigate between the EPG displayed in Figure 2 and Figure 3), wherein the filter information includes at least information identifying a filter for filtering according to a type of program (see Figure 3, wherein the filter information includes the X and Y axis values that separates the first program guide cells by channel and time, the Examiner notes that the time a program airs and channel the program is broadcast on are both program types, as broadly claimed), in a case where there is no target to be selected on a current screen, other than the transition, in a direction corresponding to the single operation (see Paragraph 0066 for scrolling through the list of channels and once the end of the list has been reached continuing scrolling in a direction to expand the list of channels to view).
Barrett fails to disclose that displaying on the third screen the content on a second area of the display.
Alexander discloses displaying on the third screen the content on a second area of the display (see Paragraphs 0031, 0097, 0171 and Figure 1 for filter information 20 and the program guide 52 are in different areas and the TV program image can be placed on a second area (window 12) of the display unit).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the third EPG screen, as taught by Barrett, using the PIP window, as taught by Alexander, for the purpose of providing improved features to the EPG display (see Paragraph 0009 of Alexander).
Referring to claim 2, Barrett also discloses that the first program guide and the second program guide include information corresponding to the filter (see Figures 2-3 both having the channel and times axes).
Referring to claim 3, Barrett also discloses switching from the second screen to the third screen, in a case where an operation corresponding to a downward direction is performed (see Paragraphs 0066-0067 and Figures 6-7).
Referring to claim 4, Barrett also discloses that in the case the second screen is displayed, the filter information is superimposed on the television program image (see Figure 3).
Referring to claim 5, Alexander also discloses that a size of the television program image in the third screen is smaller than a size of the television program in the first screen (see Figure 1).
Referring to claim 6, Barrett also discloses that the second program guide includes information on channels and broadcasting time (see Figure 3).
Referring to claim 7, Barrett also discloses that the second program guide includes information on programs in a same time on different channels (see Figure 3).
Referring to claim 8, Barrett also discloses that the display control device is a television receiver comprising the display unit (see Figure 1).
Referring to claim 9, Barrett discloses that the transition from the first screen to the second screen is performed in accordance with an operation of an allocated key provided on the remote controller (see the rejection of claim 1 for performing a transition using a directional key of a cross button provided on a remote controller).
Referring to claim 10, Alexander discloses filter information corresponding to registered favorites (see Paragraphs 0185 and 0291).
Referring to claim 12, Barrett also discloses that the filter information includes at least information identifying filters for filtering according to a type of program, the information identifying the filters is selectable (see Figure 7 of Barrett and further note Figures 5-7 of Alexander).
Referring to claims 13-19, see the rejection of claims 1-7, respectively.
Referring to claim 20, see the rejection of claim 1.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barrett et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2002/0170057) in view of Alexander et al. (U.S. Patent No. 2014/0089980) in further view of Yates (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2007/0156521).
Referring to claim 11, Barrett and Alexander disclose all of the limitations of claim 1, but fail to teach displaying a fourth screen including the content on the entire screen of the display and detailed program information superimposed on the television program and performing a transition from the first screen to the fourth screen or between the second screen and the fourth screen.
Yates discloses displaying a fourth screen including the content on the entire screen of the display (see Figures 2 and Paragraph 0019) and detailed program information superimposed on the television program (see Figure 2 and the bottom of Paragraph 0134 for displaying detailed program information superimposed over a television program) and performing a transition from the first screen to the fourth screen or between the second screen and the fourth screen (see Figures 19A-19B and Paragraphs 0070, 0072, 0101-0102 and 0111).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the third EPG screen, as taught by Barrett and Alexander, using the fourth screen, as taught by Yates, for the purpose of providing users of a media program with an opportunity to preview, purchase and gain more information about merchandise related to the media program (see Paragraph 0001 of Yates, wherein the Examiner further notes that merchandise corresponds to additional media program episodes that a user can purchase (see above)).
Conclusion
/Jason Salce/Senior Examiner, Art Unit 2421
Jason P Salce
Senior Examiner
Art Unit 2421
July 20, 2026