DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it contains the implied phrase “this document describes”. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Gammons (US 2011/0042942).
In regards to claim 1, Gammons discloses a female fluid coupling (116), comprising:
a coupling body (106) defining a central longitudinal axis and an interior space, wherein the female fluid coupling is configured to receive, in a mated configuration, a front-end portion of a male fluid coupling (112) when the front-end portion is inserted through an open front-end of the coupling body that leads to the interior space; and
a latch member (110) movably coupled to the coupling body and comprising an engagement surface (408, 506) configured to engage against the male fluid coupling to releasably retain the male and female fluid couplings in the mated configuration, the latch member being transversely movable relative to the central longitudinal axis between: (i) a latched position (8A) and (ii) an unlatched position (8C),
wherein the engagement surface is closer to the central longitudinal axis in the latched position than in the unlatched position (shown between figs. 8A-8C), and
wherein the engagement surface is nonplanar (shown in figs. 4-5).
In regards to claims 2 and 14, Gammons further discloses the engagement surface comprises one or more contoured surfaces (shown in fig. 4).
In regards to claims 3, 4, 15, and 16, Gammons further discloses the engagement surface comprises multiple planar surfaces (shown in fig. 5).
In regards to claims 5, 6, 17, and 18, Gammons further discloses an edge profile of the engagement surface is fully arcuate (shown in figs. 4 and 7).
In regards to claims 7 and 19, Gammons further discloses the latch member is forcibly biased to the latched position (see spring 304).
In regards to claim 8, Gammons further discloses the latch member comprises an upper surface (308) that a user can press to move the latch member from the latched position to the unlatched position.
In regards to claim 9, Gammons further discloses the latch member defines an opening (404) through which the front-end portion of the male fluid coupling extends when the male and female fluid couplings are in the mated configuration.
In regards to claim 10, Gammons further discloses the opening is an oblong shape (shown in fig. 4).
In regards to claim 11, Gammons further discloses the engagement surface extends along less than half of a peripheral wall that defines the oblong shape (it can be seen in fig. 4 that the engagement surface can be defined such that it extends less than half).
In regards to claim 12, Gammons further discloses the engagement surface extends along a backside of the peripheral wall that defines the oblong shape (shown in fig. 4, it is noted that the “backside” direction has not been defined by the claim and can be any direction).
In regards to claim 13, Gammons discloses a fluid coupling system, comprising:
a male fluid coupling (112)comprising:
a front-end portion (204); and
an annular shoulder (208) projecting radially outward from the front-end portion and defining a latch groove (206) behind the annular shoulder; and
a female fluid coupling (116) comprising:
a coupling body (106) defining a central longitudinal axis and an interior space, wherein the female fluid coupling is configured to receive, in a mated configuration, the front- end portion of the male fluid coupling when the front-end portion is inserted through an open front-end of the coupling body that leads to the interior space (shown in fig. 8A); and
a latch member (110) movably coupled to the coupling body and comprising an engagement surface (408, 506) configured to engage within the latch groove and against the annular shoulder of the male fluid coupling to releasably retain the male and female fluid couplings in the mated configuration (shown in fig. 8A), the latch member being transversely movable relative to the central longitudinal axis between: (i) a latched position (fig. 8A) and (ii) an unlatched position (fig. 8C),
wherein the engagement surface is closer to the central longitudinal axis in the latched position than in the unlatched position (shown between figs. 8A-8C), and
wherein the engagement surface is nonplanar (shown in figs. 4-5).
In regards to claim 20, Gammons further discloses the latch member defines an opening (404) through which the front-end portion of the male fluid coupling extends when the male and female fluid couplings are in the mated configuration, wherein the opening is an oblong shape (shown in fig. 4), wherein the engagement surface extends along less than half of a peripheral wall that defines the oblong shape (it can be seen in fig. 4 that the engagement surface can be defined such that it extends less than half) and wherein the engagement surface extends along a backside of the peripheral wall that defines the oblong shape (shown in fig. 4, it is noted that the “backside” direction has not been defined by the claim and can be any direction).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Each of the remaining cited prior art shows a similar fluid coupling system.
/ZACHARY T DRAGICEVICH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3679
06/12/2026