DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: On page 2, in paragraph 0001, line 2: The phrase --now U.S. Patent No. 12,419,433,-- should be inserted after the phrase “November 22, 2024,”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993); In re Longi, 759 F.2d 887, 225 USPQ 645 (Fed. Cir. 1985); In re Van Ornum, 686 F.2d 937, 214 USPQ 761 (CCPA 1982); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); and In re Thorington, 418 F.2d 528, 163 USPQ 644 (CCPA 1969).
Claims 1-7, 9-18 and 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14, 17 and 18 of U.S. Patent No. 12,419,433. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-7, 9-18 and 20 are generic to all that is recited in claims 1-14, 17 and 18 of U.S. Patent No. 12,419,433. In other words, claims 1-14, 17 and 18 of U.S. Patent No. 12,419,433 fully encompass the subject matter of claims 1-7, 9-18 and 20 and therefore anticipate claims 1-7, 9-18 and 20. Since claims 1-7, 9-18 and 20 are anticipated by claims 1-14, 17 and 18 of the patent, they are not patentably distinct from claims 1-14, 17 and 18. Thus the invention of claims 1-14, 17 and 18 of the patent is in effect a “species” of the “generic” invention of claims 1-7, 9-18 and 20. It has been held that the generic invention is anticipated by the species, see In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Since claims 1-7, 9-18 and 20 are anticipated (fully encompassed) by claims 1-14, 17 and 18 of the patent, claims 1-7, 9-18 and 20 are not patentably distinct from claims 1-14, 17 and 18, regardless of any additional subject matter present in claims 1-14, 17 and 18.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4-7, 9, 11, 12 and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2025/0176732 to Mostafa et al.
The applied reference has a common Applicant with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
With respect to claim 1, Mostafa et al. ‘732 shows the claimed limitations of a cushion (100), comprising; an array of interconnected columns (10) having a height extending through at least a portion of a thickness of the cushion, at least one column of the array of interconnected columns (10) comprising: at least one wall (10w) defined from a compressible, resilient material, and a firmness-defining feature (20) structured as a spine protruding from the at least one wall (10w) and extending uniformly along a height of the at least one wall (as shown in Figures 1, 2C & 3 and as described on page 1, in paragraph 0021 and on page 2, in paragraphs 0021, 0023 & 0024).
With respect to claims 2 and 4, the reference discloses a condition wherein the at least one column of the array of interconnected columns (10) further comprises: a void (10v) at least partially defined by the at least one wall (10w); and wherein the spine (20) protrudes outward and away from the void (10v) (as shown in Figure 1 and as described on page 1, in paragraph 0021 and on page 2, in paragraphs 0021-0023).
With respect to claims 5-7, the reference further discloses wherein the at least one wall (10w) comprises an inner surface (11) defining the void (10v) and an outer surface (12) opposite the inner surface, and wherein the spine (20) protrudes from at least one of the inner surface or the outer surface (as shown in Figure 1 and as described on page 1, in paragraph 0021 and on page 2, in paragraphs 0021-0023); wherein the void (10v) extends through an entire height of the at least one column (10) (as described on page 1, in paragraph 0021 and on page 2, in paragraphs 0021 & 0022); and wherein the firmness-defining feature (20) extends along an entire height of the at least one wall (10w) (as shown in Figure 3 and as described on page 2, in paragraphs 0027 & 0028 and on page 3, in paragraph 0029).
With respect to claim 9, the reference shows the claimed limitations of a cushion (100), comprising: an array of interconnected columns (10) having a height extending through at least a portion of a thickness of a cushion (100), at least one column of the array of interconnected columns (10) including: at least one wall (10w) comprising an inner surface (11) and an outer surface (12) opposite the inner surface, and a plurality of firmness-defining features (20), each of the plurality of firmness-defining features structured as a spine protruding from the at least one wall (10w) and uniformly extending along the at least one wall (as shown in Figures 1, 2C & 3 and as described on page 1, in paragraph 0021 and on page 2, in paragraphs 0021-0024).
With respect to claims 11 and 12, the reference discloses the claimed limitations wherein the at least one wall (10w) and the plurality of firmness-defining features (20) are formed from a compressible, resilient material (as described on page 1, in paragraph 0021 and on page 2, in paragraphs 0021 & 0023); and wherein a position of each of the plurality of firmness-defining features (20) relative to another of the plurality of firmness-defining features is defined by a central angle (as shown in Figures 1 & 2C and on page 2, in paragraph 0023).
With respect to claim 15, the reference shows the claimed limitations of a method of method of providing a cushion (100), the method comprising: configuring an array of interconnected columns (10) extending through at least a portion of a thickness of the cushion, configuring each column of the array of interconnected columns to include at least one wall (10w) that is compressible and resilient, and configuring at least one column of the array of interconnected columns (10) to include a firmness-defining feature (20) structured as a spine protruding from the at least one wall (10w) and extending uniformly along a height of the at least one wall of the at least one column (as shown in Figures 1, 2C & 3 and as described on page 1, in paragraph 0021 and on page 2, in paragraphs 0021, 0023 & 0024).
With respect to claims 16 and 17, the reference discloses the claimed limitations wherein configuring the at least one column of the array of interconnected columns (10) to include the firmness-defining feature (20) comprises configuring a group of columns of the array of interconnected columns to include a plurality of firmness-defining features (as shown in Figures 1 & 2C and as described on page 2, in paragraph 0023); and wherein configuring the at least one column of the array of interconnected columns (10) to include the firmness-defining feature (20) comprises configuring the firmness-defining feature to define a buckling behavior (as shown in Figure 7 and as described on page 4, in paragraphs 0042, 0043 & 0045 and on page 5, in paragraphs 0045 & 0049).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8, 13, 14, 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mostafa et al. ‘732. With respect to claims 8 and 19, Mostafa et al. ‘732 does not specifically disclose a condition wherein the spine (20) has an at least partial semicircular cross-sectional shape. The skilled artisan would have found it obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the cushion of Mostafa et al. ‘732 with a spine having an at least partial semicircular cross-sectional shape, since such a modification would have been generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
With respect to claim 13, Mostafa et al. ‘732 does not specifically disclose a condition wherein the plurality of firmness-defining features (20) comprises a first pair of firmness-defining features and a second pair of firmness-defining features, wherein a first central angle between a first firmness-defining feature of the first pair and a second firmness-defining feature of the first pair is less than a second central angle between the first pair and the second pair. The skilled artisan would have found it obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the cushion of Mostafa et al. ‘732 with a first pair of firmness-defining features and a second pair of firmness-defining features, wherein a first central angle between a first firmness-defining feature of the first pair and a second firmness-defining feature of the first pair is less than a second central angle between the first pair and the second pair, since altering the respective positions of the plurality of firmness-defining features which extend along the at least one wall of the at least one column also would have been generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
With respect to claim 14, Mostafa et al. ‘732 does not specifically disclose a condition wherein the array of interconnected columns (10) defines a plurality of zones, wherein at least one zone of the plurality of zones includes columns that differ from columns of another zone of the plurality of zones. The skilled artisan would have found it obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the cushion of Mostafa et al. ‘732 with an array of interconnected columns which defines a plurality of zones, wherein at least one zone of the plurality of zones includes columns that differ from columns of another zone of the plurality of zones, since modifying at least one of the various structural properties of the columns (such as material composition, size, or shape) also would have been generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
With respect to claim 18, Mostafa et al. ‘732 does not specifically disclose a condition wherein configuring the firmness-defining feature (20) comprises configuring the firmness-defining feature to at least partially define at least one of a frequency or an amplitude of an energy pulse released by the at least one column (10) as the at least one column buckles. The skilled artisan would have found it obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the cushion of Mostafa et al. ‘732 with a firmness-defining feature which is configured to at least partially define at least one of a frequency or an amplitude of an energy pulse released by the at least one column as the at least one column buckles, since modifying the buckling characteristics of the at least one column or the firmness-defining feature also would have been generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure: Campbell et al. ‘654, Acharya et al. ‘646, Grutta et al. ‘385, Grutta et al. ‘301, Acharya et al. ‘630 and Mostafa et al. ‘440.
/ROBERT G SANTOS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3673