DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
This action is in response to applicant’s filing on 8/26/2025. Claims 1-20 are pending and considered below.
Claim Objections
Claims 15 and 16 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 15 and 16 should depend from claim 9. (The claims as written repeat claims 7 and 8).
Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent Number 12,419,208. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Comparing claims 1-8 and 15-16 of the instant application with claims 17-18 of U.S. Patent Number 12,419,208:
“An agricultural system comprising: one or more processors; and memory storing instructions executable by the one or more processors that, when executed by the one or more processors, configure the one or more processors to:” (claim 1) of the instant application would have been obvious over “An agricultural system, comprising: at least one processor; a data store storing computer executable instructions which, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to perform steps comprising:” (claim 17) of U.S. Patent Number 12,419,208;
“identify a boundary contour indicative of a contour of a portion of a boundary between a headland area of a field and a primary planted area of a field” (claim 1) of the instant application would have been obvious over “identifying a boundary contour indicative of a contour of a portion of a boundary between a headland area of a field and a primary planted area of a field” (claim 17) of U.S. Patent Number 12,419,208;
“project the boundary contour onto the headland area of the field” (claim 1) of the instant application would have been obvious over “projecting the boundary contour onto the headland area of the field” (claim 17) of U.S. Patent Number 12,419,208;
“generate a turn path corresponding to a headland turn between a current pass and a next subsequent pass based on the boundary contour as projected onto the headland area of the field” (claim 1) of the instant application would have been obvious over “generating a turn path corresponding to a headland turn between a current pass and a next subsequent pass based on the projected boundary contour” (claim 17) of U.S. Patent Number 12,419,208; and
“control an agricultural machine based on the turn path” (claim 1) of the instant application would have been obvious over “controlling an agricultural machine to automatically perform the headland turn based on the turn path” (claim 17) of U.S. Patent Number 12,419,208.
Comparing claims 9-14 of the instant application with claims 1-10 of U.S. Patent Number 12,419,208:
“A computer implemented method of controlling an agricultural machine comprising:” (claim 9) of the instant application would have been obvious over “A computer implemented method of controlling an agricultural machine, the method comprising:” (claim 1) of U.S. Patent Number 12,419,208;
“identifying a boundary contour indicative of a contour of a portion of a boundary between a headland area of a field and a primary planted area of a field” (claim 9) of the instant application is the same as “identifying a boundary contour indicative of a contour of a portion of a boundary between a headland area of a field and a primary planted area of a field” (claim 1) of U.S. Patent Number 12,419,208;
“projecting the boundary contour onto the headland area of the field” (claim 9) of the instant application is the same as “projecting the boundary contour onto the headland area of the field” (claim 1) of U.S. Patent Number 12,419,208;
“generating a turn path corresponding to a headland turn between a current pass and a next subsequent pass based on the boundary contour as projected onto the headland area of the field” (claim 9) of the instant application would have been obvious over “generating a turn path corresponding to a headland turn between a current pass and a next subsequent pass based on the projected boundary contour” (claim 1) of U.S. Patent Number 12,419,208; and
“controlling the agricultural machine based on the turn path” (claim 9) of the instant application would have been obvious over “controlling the agricultural machine to automatically perform the headland turn based on the turn path” (claim 1) of U.S. Patent Number 12,419,208.
Comparing claims 17-20 of the instant application with claims 11-16 of U.S. Patent Number 12,419,208:
“An agricultural machine comprising: one or more processors; and memory storing instructions executable by the one or more processors that, when executed by the one or more processors, configure the one or more processors to:” (claim 17) of the instant application would have been obvious over “An agricultural machine, comprising: a steering subsystem; one or more processors; and memory storing instructions executable by the one or more processors that, when executed by the one or more processors, configured the agricultural machine to:” (claim 11) of U.S. Patent Number 12,419,208;
“identify a boundary contour indicative of a contour of a portion of a boundary between a headland area of a field and a primary planted area of a field” (claim 17) of the instant application would have been obvious over “identify a boundary contour indicative of a contour of a portion of a boundary of a headland area of a field” (claim 11) of U.S. Patent Number 12,419,208;
“project the boundary contour onto the headland area of the field” (claim 17) of the instant application is the same as “project the boundary contour onto the headland area of the field” (claim 11) of U.S. Patent Number 12,419,208;
“generate a turn path corresponding to a headland turn between a current pass and a next subsequent pass based on the boundary contour as projected onto the headland area of the field” (claim 17) of the instant application would have been obvious over “generate a turn path corresponding to a headland turn between a current pass and a next subsequent pass based on the projected boundary contour” (claim 11) of U.S. Patent Number 12,419,208; and
“control the agricultural machine based on the turn path” (claim 17) of the instant application would have been obvious over “control the steering subsystem to automatically perform the headland turn based on the turn path” (claim 11) of U.S. Patent Number 12,419,208.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 6-10, 14-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Graf Plessen (US-2019/0208695-A1, hereinafter Graf Plessen).
Regarding claim 1, Graf Plessen discloses:
An agricultural system comprising: one or more processors (paragraph [0093]; and FIG. 2, offline computed path including reference velocities-10, feedback controller including state estimator-11, and vehicle-12);
memory storing instructions executable by the one or more processors that, when executed by the one or more processors, configure the one or more processors to: (paragraph [0093]);
identify a boundary contour indicative of a contour of a portion of a boundary between a headland area of a field and a primary planted area of a field (paragraphs [0074-0076]; FIG. 1, obtain coordinates of: a. field contour, and b. contours of all islands (if any) within field contour-1; and FIG. 3, field contour-F1, geometrically translated lane in the same shape of the field contour-F3, straight lanes-F5, and cross-points-F6);
project the boundary contour onto the headland area of the field (paragraphs [0077-0079]; and FIG. 1, select distance between field contour and perimetric closed vehicle path within field contour-2, and translate copy of field contour in parallel by distance towards the interior of the field, and translate copies of contours of all islands in parallel by distance away from the island-interiors-5);
generate a turn path corresponding to a headland turn between a current pass and a next subsequent pass based on the boundary contour as projected onto the headland area of the field (paragraphs [0080-0091] and [0253-0254]; FIG. 1, fit a lane-grid to the field as a function of the orientation of lanes-6, select one orientation and consequently one particular lane-grid based on a specific user-chosen criterion-7, and determine a concatenation of cross-points based on the selected module, and generate a complete field covering path-8; and FIG. 11, headland application bound-18, field contour-20, traversing from an interior lane towards a headland lane-26, and traversing from a headland lane towards an interior lane-27); and
control an agricultural machine based on the turn path (paragraph [0092]; and FIG. 1, track complete field-covering path online (autonomously, semi-autonomously or manually) - 9).
Regarding claim 2, Graf Plessen further discloses:
wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, configure the one or more processors to: project the boundary contour onto the headland area of the field by spacing the boundary contour from the boundary between the headland area of the field and the primary planted area of the field by a buffer value (paragraphs [0074], [0079], [0087] and [0090]; and FIG. 3, field contour-F1, geometrically translated lane in the same shape of the field contour-F3, straight lanes-F5, and cross-points-F6).
Regarding claim 6, Graf Plessen further discloses:
wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, configure the one or more processors to: obtain an end point location of the current pass (paragraph [0090]; and FIG. 3, cross-points-F6);
obtain a start point location of the next subsequent pass (paragraph [0090]); and
generate the turn path corresponding to the headland turn between the current pass and the next subsequent pass based on the boundary contour as projected onto the headland area of the field, the end point location, and the start point location (paragraphs [0080-0091] and [0253-0254]; FIG. 1, fit a lane-grid to the field as a function of the orientation of lanes-6, select one orientation and consequently one particular lane-grid based on a specific user-chosen criterion-7, and determine a concatenation of cross-points based on the selected module, and generate a complete field covering path-8; and FIG. 11, headland application bound-18, field contour-20, traversing from an interior lane towards a headland lane-26, and traversing from a headland lane towards an interior lane-27).
Regarding claims 7 and 15, Graf Plessen further discloses:
wherein the boundary contour as projected onto the headland area of the field forms a portion of the turn path (paragraphs [0253-0262]; and FIG. 11, headland application bound-18, field contour-20, traversing from an interior lane towards a headland lane-26, and traversing from a headland lane towards an interior lane-27).
Regarding claims 8 and 20, Graf Plessen further discloses:
wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, configure the one or more processors to control the agricultural machine based on the turn path by controlling one or more of: a propulsion subsystem of the agricultural machine; and a steering subsystem of the agricultural machine (paragraphs [0092-0093]; and FIG. 2, offline computed path including reference velocities-10, feedback controller including state estimator-11, and vehicle-12).
Regarding claim 9, Graf Plessen further discloses:
A computer implemented method of controlling an agricultural machine comprising: (paragraph [0093]; and FIG. 2, offline computed path including reference velocities-10, feedback controller including state estimator-11, and vehicle-12);
identifying a boundary contour indicative of a contour of a portion of a boundary between a headland area of a field and a primary planted area of a field (paragraphs [0074-0076]; FIG. 1, obtain coordinates of: a. field contour, and b. contours of all islands (if any) within field contour-1; and FIG. 3, field contour-F1, geometrically translated lane in the same shape of the field contour-F3, straight lanes-F5, and cross-points-F6);
projecting the boundary contour onto the headland area of the field (paragraphs [0077-0079]; and FIG. 1, select distance between field contour and perimetric closed vehicle path within field contour-2, and translate copy of field contour in parallel by distance towards the interior of the field, and translate copies of contours of all islands in parallel by distance away from the island-interiors-5);
generating a turn path corresponding to a headland turn between a current pass and a next subsequent pass based on the boundary contour as projected onto the headland area of the field (paragraphs [0080-0091] and [0253-0254]; FIG. 1, fit a lane-grid to the field as a function of the orientation of lanes-6, select one orientation and consequently one particular lane-grid based on a specific user-chosen criterion-7, and determine a concatenation of cross-points based on the selected module, and generate a complete field covering path-8; and FIG. 11, headland application bound-18, field contour-20, traversing from an interior lane towards a headland lane-26, and traversing from a headland lane towards an interior lane-27); and
controlling the agricultural machine based on the turn path (paragraph [0092]; and FIG. 1, track complete field-covering path online (autonomously, semi-autonomously or manually) - 9).
Regarding claim 10, Graf Plessen further discloses:
wherein projecting the boundary contour onto the headland area of the field comprises: projecting the boundary contour onto the headland area of the field by spacing the boundary contour from the boundary between the headland area of the field and the primary planted area of the field by a buffer value (paragraphs [0074], [0079], [0087] and [0090]; and FIG. 3, field contour-F1, geometrically translated lane in the same shape of the field contour-F3, straight lanes-F5, and cross-points-F6).
Regarding claim 14, Graf Plessen further discloses:
obtaining an end point location of the current pass (paragraph [0090]; and FIG. 3, cross-points-F6);
obtaining a start point location of the next subsequent pass (paragraph [0090]); and
generating the turn path corresponding to the headland turn between the current pass and the next subsequent pass based on the boundary contour as projected onto the headland area of the field, the end point location, and the start point location (paragraphs [0080-0091] and [0253-0254]; FIG. 1, fit a lane-grid to the field as a function of the orientation of lanes-6, select one orientation and consequently one particular lane-grid based on a specific user-chosen criterion-7, and determine a concatenation of cross-points based on the selected module, and generate a complete field covering path-8; and FIG. 11, headland application bound-18, field contour-20, traversing from an interior lane towards a headland lane-26, and traversing from a headland lane towards an interior lane-27).
Regarding claim 16, Graf Plessen further discloses:
wherein controlling the agricultural machine based on the turn path comprises one or more of: controlling a propulsion subsystem of the agricultural machine; and controlling a steering subsystem of the agricultural machine (paragraphs [0092-0093]; and FIG. 2, offline computed path including reference velocities-10, feedback controller including state estimator-11, and vehicle-12).
Regarding claim 17, Graf Plessen further discloses:
An agricultural machine comprising: one or more processors (paragraph [0093]; and FIG. 2, offline computed path including reference velocities-10, feedback controller including state estimator-11, and vehicle-12);
memory storing instructions executable by the one or more processors that, when executed by the one or more processors, configure the one or more processors to: (paragraph [0093]);
identify a boundary contour indicative of a contour of a portion of a boundary between a headland area of a field and a primary planted area of a field (paragraphs [0074-0076]; FIG. 1, obtain coordinates of: a. field contour, and b. contours of all islands (if any) within field contour-1; and FIG. 3, field contour-F1, geometrically translated lane in the same shape of the field contour-F3, straight lanes-F5, and cross-points-F6);
project the boundary contour onto the headland area of the field (paragraphs [0077-0079]; and FIG. 1, select distance between field contour and perimetric closed vehicle path within field contour-2, and translate copy of field contour in parallel by distance towards the interior of the field, and translate copies of contours of all islands in parallel by distance away from the island-interiors-5);
generate a turn path corresponding to a headland turn between a current pass and a next subsequent pass based on the boundary contour as projected onto the headland area of the field (paragraphs [0080-0091] and [0253-0254]; FIG. 1, fit a lane-grid to the field as a function of the orientation of lanes-6, select one orientation and consequently one particular lane-grid based on a specific user-chosen criterion-7, and determine a concatenation of cross-points based on the selected module, and generate a complete field covering path-8; and FIG. 11, headland application bound-18, field contour-20, traversing from an interior lane towards a headland lane-26, and traversing from a headland lane towards an interior lane-27); and
control the agricultural machine based on the turn path (paragraph [0092]; and FIG. 1, track complete field-covering path online (autonomously, semi-autonomously or manually) - 9).
Regarding claim 18, Graf Plessen further discloses:
wherein the agricultural machine comprises a harvester (paragraphs [0002] and [0004]).
Conclusion
TAMARA L. WEBER
Examiner
Art Unit 3667
/TAMARA L WEBER/Examiner, Art Unit 3667