DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 12441188. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gautier US Pg. Pub. No. (2020/0262294) referred to hereinafter as Gautier.
As per claim 1, Gautier teaches a system for a vehicle (see at least Para 17, 25), comprising: a first display configured to display driver content (see at least Para 18, 20-21); a second display configured to display at least user content (see at least Para19, 22-24); and a processing unit in communication with the first display and the second display (see at least Para 25), the processing unit comprising a processor configured to: provide the driver content to the first display (see at least Para 21, 25), detect that the first display is temporarily or at least partially inoperable (see at least Para 17,35), determine a portion of the driver content for display on the second display (see at least Para 17, 40), and provide the portion of the driver content to the second display (see at least Para 36, 40).
As per claim 2, Gautier teaches a system according to claim 1, wherein the first display comprises an instrument display and the second display comprises an infotainment display (see at least Para 18, 20-21).
As per claim 3, Gautier teaches a system according to claim 1, wherein to detect that the first display is temporarily or at least partially inoperable comprises: detect that the first display is in a power off mode; detect that the first display is semi-malfunctional; or detect that the first display has one or more regions of pixels that have pixel values below a dark pixel value or above a bright pixel value (see at least Para 17, 35).
As per claim 4, Gautier teaches a system according to claim 1, wherein the portion of the driver content comprises safety-related content or vehicle-related content (see at least Para 20-21, 39-42).
As per claim 5, Gautier teaches a system according to claim 4, wherein the portion of the driver content comprises at least one of a vehicle speed, a vehicle battery charge level, a vehicle charge range, a vehicle fuel level, a vehicle fuel range, a vehicle tire pressure, a vehicle energy efficiency, a transmission gear indication, or a map (see at least Para 17, 20, 36-42).
As per claim 6, Gautier teaches a system according to claim 4, wherein the processor is further configured to always display the portion of the driver content on the first display or the second display (see at least Para 17, 36-40).
As per claim 7, Gautier teaches a system according to claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to provide the user content to the second display (see at least Para 19, 22-24).
As per claim 8, Gautier teaches a system according to claim 7, wherein the processor is further configured to provide only the portion of the driver content for display on the second display (see at least Para 39, 52).
As per claim 9, Gautier teaches a system according to claim 7, wherein the processor is further configured to provide the portion of the driver content and the user content for concurrent display on the second display (see at least Para 37).
As per claim 10, Gautier teaches a system according to claim 9, wherein the processor is further configured to provide the portion of the driver content as an overlay pane for display on the second display (see at least Para 37).
As per claim 11, Gautier teaches a system according to claim 10, wherein the overlay pane comprises a user-repositionable floating window (see at least Para 37-38, 50).
As per claim 12, Gautier teaches a system according to claim 9, wherein the portion of the driver content is displayed in a first window, the user content is displayed in a second window, and the first window and the second window are distinct contiguous windows (see at least Para 37).
As per claim 13, Gautier teaches a system according to claim 12, wherein the first window and the second window are displayed in a side-by-side layout or a top-to-bottom layout (see at least Para 40-42).
As per claim 14, Gautier teaches a system according to claim 12, wherein the second window is configured to be collapsed or minimized (see at least Para 17, 25, 39-42).
As per claim 15, Gautier teaches a system according to claim 12, wherein the processor is further configured to adjust an aspect ratio, a resolution, or a viewable screen size of the distinct contiguous windows (see at least Para 40-42).
As per claim 16, Gautier teaches a system according to claim 1, wherein the user content comprises infotainment content (see at least Para 19, 22-24).
As per claim 17, Gautier teaches a system according to claim 16, wherein the infotainment content comprises at least one of notifications, maps, entertainment media, or user personal data (see at least Para 19, 22-23).
As per claims 18-20, the limitations of claims 18-20 are similar to the limitations of claims 1-17, therefore they are rejected based on the same rationale.
Conclusion
Please refer to from 892 for cited references.
/MUSSA A SHAAWAT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3669