DETAILED ACTION
The amendment to the claims filed after non-final office action on June 25, 2026 is acknowledged. Claims 1-30 are pending in the instant application.
The was restriction deemed proper and made FINAL in the previous office action. Claims 1-18, 21, 24, 27, 30 remain withdrawn as being drawn to a non-elected species/invention. Claims 19-20, 22-23, 25-26, 28-29 are examined on the merits of this office action.
Maintained/Revised Rejection
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 19-20, 22-23, 25-26, 28-29 remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NCT02970942 (NCT02970942, published version 4/24/2019) in view of Kabisch (WO2019072941)*All references cited previously.
Please note that the term “about” is construed to be plus or minus 10% based on the specification definition (see paragraph 0050). Accordingly about 2.4 mg per week is construed as encompassing 2.16-2.64 mg per week. Furthermore, the weekly administration amount can be divided over many doses over the course of the week unless specifically stated that it is administered once.
NCT02970942 (“investigation of efficacy and safety of three dose levels of subcutaneous semaglutide Once daily versus placebo in subjects with NASH) teaches a method of treating NASH comprising administering subcutaneous semaglutide to subjects diagnosed with NASH (see Study overview, page 1) over 72 weeks (see Primary outcome Measure, page 17).
NCT02970942 teaches that the study enrolls subjects having liver fibrosis stages 1, 2 and 3, administers semaglutide once daily at does including 0.1, 0.2 and 0.4 mg/day, of which 0.4 mg/day corresponding to a cumulative weekly dose of approximately 2.8 mg at the high end and 0.1 corresponds to 0.7/week and 0.2 corresponds to 1.4 weekly (see page 16, Intervention/Treatment). NCT02970942 teaches treating NASH, administering semaglutide subcutaneously, treating liver fibrosis states 1-3 with the objective of achieving resolution of NASH without worsening fibrosis (see page 17, “what is the study measuring, primary outcomes). NCT02970942 is silent to a weekly dose of 2.4 mg.
Kabisch teaches dosing regimens for semaglutide including: once weekly administration of semaglutide; weekly doses including 2.4 mg; weekly doses ranging 2.2-2.7 mg and 2.4-3.2 mg; subcutaneous administration; interchangeable daily and weekly dosing regimens (see description, page 1, see administration, page 3).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to apply the once-weekly 2.4 mg semaglutide dosing regimen taught by Kabisch to the NASH treatment method disclosed in NCT02970942. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to reduce dosing frequency; improve patient compliance; utilize a clinically established semaglutide dosing regimen; and optimize treatment convenience while treating the same disease with the same therapeutic agent. Such modification represents routine dose selection and optimization of a known dosing regimen for a known drug used to treat the same condition and would have been expected to achieve the same therapeutic effect. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success. Dose amount and dosing frequency are result effective variables and it would have been obvious to optimize (see MPEP 2144.05).
Regarding claims 20 and 23, NCT02970942 discloses administering semaglutide to subjects having NASH and fibrosis stages 1, 2 and 3 (see Eligibility Criteria page 14). Thus, treating subjects having fibrosis stage 2 using the method of claim 19 would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 22, as stated above, NCT02970942 teaches administering semaglutide subcutaneously to treat NASH. Kabisch teaches once weekly administration of semaglutide. It would have been obvious to modify the daily dosing regimen of NCT02970942 to a once weekly dosing regimen as taught by Kabisch in order to reduce dosing frequence and improve compliance. Such modification represents routine optimization of dosing frequency, which is a recognized result effective variable in the pharmaceutical field.
Regarding claim 25, Kabisch teaches administering semaglutide in an amount of 2.4 mg per week, including in once-weekly dosing regimens. Selecting this dose amount for the NASH treatment method taught by NCT02970942 constitutes routine dose selection from a finite set of disclosed weekly doses. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success. Dose amount and dosing frequency are result effective variables and it would have been obvious to optimize (see MPEP 2144.05).
Claim 26 depends from claim 25 and further recites that the subject has liver fibrosis stage 2. NCT02970942 teaches treating subjects having fibrosis stage 2. Applying the 2.4 mg dose of claim 25 to this disclosed patient population would have been obvious in view of Kabisch.
Claim 28 depends on claim 19 and recites that the semaglutide is administered in an amount of 2.4 mg once weekly. Kabisch teaches once weekly administration of 2.4 mg semaglutide, and NCT02970942 teaches administering semaglutide to treat NASH. Combining these teachings would have been obvious as a matter of routine dose and frequence selection for a known therapeutic agent used to treat the same disease. Furthermore, dose amount and dosing frequency are result effective variables and it would have been obvious to optimize (see MPEP 2144.05).
Claim 29 depends from claim 28 and further recites that the subject has liver fibrosis stage 2. NCT02970942 teaches treating subjects having fibrosis stage 2. Applying the 2.4 mg dose once weekly of claim 28 to this disclosed patient population would have been obvious in view of Kabisch. Furthermore, dose amount and dosing frequency are result effective variables and it would have been obvious to optimize (see MPEP 2144.05).
Regarding the limitation of “wherein the administering results in resolution of NASH and no worsening of liver fibrosis” in instant claim 19, NCT02970942 in view of Kabisch teach the same method of the instant claims including administering the same drug, same amount to the same patient population and thus, these desired result oriented effects with be inherently achieved as a result of practicing the method of NCT02970942 in view of Kabisch.
Response to Applicant’s Arguments
Applicant argues that Kabisch teaches weekly administration of semaglutide only in the context of weight management and not for treating NASH, and therefore fails to provide a rationale for modifying of NCT02970942 protocol.
Applicant’s argument has been fully considered but not found persuasive. The rejection does not rely on Kabisch for teaching treatment of NASH. Rather, NCT02970942 teaches the use of semaglutide to treat NASH, including subcutaneous administration to subjects with fibrosis stages 1-3 and the objective of achieving resolution of NASH without worsening fibrosis. Kabisch is relied upon only for its teaching of clinically established semaglutide dosing regimens, including once weekly administration of about 2.4 mg. The references are relied upon for their respective teachings, not for identical intended uses.
Applicant’s argument that Kabisch concerns weight management does not outweigh the articulated rationale for combining the references. As stated in the office action, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to apply Kabisch’s one weekly dosing regimen to the NASH treatment method of NCT02970942 to reduce dosing frequency, improve patient compliance, employ an established dosing regimen, and optimize treatment convenience while administering the same therapeutic agent, Optimization of dose amount and dosing frequency constitutes routine optimization recognized result effective variables (see MPEP 2144.05).
Applicant additionally argues that the office action fails to establish a reasonable expectation of success. This argument is unpersuasive. Both references utilize the same active pharmaceutical ingredient, semaglutide, administered by the same subcutaneous route. Kabisch teaches that once weekly dosing provides an alternative dosing regimen for semaglutide, while NCT02970942 teaches semaglutide treatment of NASH. In view of these teachings, one of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably have expected that substituting a known weekly dosing regimen for a known daily regimen of the same drug would provide comparable therapeutic delivery absent evidence to the contrary.
Applicant has not provided persuasive evidence demonstrating that weekly administration of semaglutide would have been expected to lose efficacy in treating NASH or that the claimed 2.4 mg weekly regimen yields unexpected results relative to the prior art. Attorney argument cannot take the place of objective evidence wherein the prior art otherwise establishes a prima facie case of obviousness (see MPEP 716.01). With respective to the limitation requiring “resolution of NASH and no worsening of liver fibrosis”, NCT02970942 expressly teaches that this is the primary therapeutic objective of semaglutide treatment. The claimed limitation therefore merely recites the intended or inherent therapeutic result of practicing the obvious combination of the cited references. Applicant has not provided persuasive evidence that the claimed outcome distinguishes the method from the combined teachings of the prior art.
Double Patenting
Claims 19-20, 22-23, 25-26, 28-29 remain rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of US Patent No. 11478533 (reference application) in view of NCT02970942 (cited above). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
The instant application claims “A method of treating non-alcoholic steatohepatitis (NASH), comprising administering semaglutide subcutaneously in an amount of about 2.4 mg per week to a subject diagnosed with NASH, wherein the administering results in resolution of NASH and no worsening of liver fibrosis” (Claim 19). The instant application further claims liver fibrosis stage 2 (claim 20); administered once weekly, and administered 2.4 mg once weekly (claim 28).
US Patent No. 11478533claims “A method of treating non-alcoholic steatohepatitis (NASH), comprising administrating semaglutide subcutaneously in an amount of about 2.4 mg per week to a subject diagnosed with NASH, wherein the administering results in an improvement in lobular inflammation” (see claim 1). US Patent No. 11478533 further claims “wherein the semaglutide is administered once weekly” (claim 14); wherein the method provides no worsening of liver fibrosis in the subject (claim 15). US Patent No. 11478533 is silent to treating NASH with stage 2 fibrosis.
However, NCT02970942 teaches that the study enrolls subjects having liver fibrosis stages 1, 2 and 3, administers semaglutide once daily at does including 0.1, 0.2 and 0.4 mg/day, of which 0.4 mg/day corresponding to a cumulative weekly dose of approximately 2.8 mg at the high end and 0.1 corresponds to 0.7/week and 0.2 corresponds to 1.4 weekly (see page 16, Intervention/Treatment). NCT02970942 teaches treating NASH, administering semaglutide subcutaneously, treating liver fibrosis states 1-3 with the objective of achieving resolution of NASH without worsening fibrosis (see page 17, “what is the study measuring, primary outcomes).
It would have been obvious before the effecting filing date of the claimed invention to treat stages 1, 2 and 3. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so given Co-pending 15931093 claims teaches treating NASH and preventing worsening of fibrosis and lobular inflammation both of which would be beneficial in any stage fibrosis.
Response to Applicant’s Arguments
Applicant argues that the nonstatutory double rejections be held in abeyance, particularly because the pending claims have not been indicated as in condition for allowance.
Applicant’s argument has been fully considered but not found persuasive. Applicant has not presented persuasive arguments demonstrating that the instant claims are patentably distinct from the patented claims. Accordingly, the rejection is maintained.
Claims 19-20, 22-23, 25-26, 28-29 remain rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-26 of US Patent No. 11318191 (reference application) in view of NCT02970942 (cited above) and Kabisch (see reference above). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
The instant application claims “A method of treating non-alcoholic steatohepatitis (NASH), comprising administering semaglutide subcutaneously in an amount of about 2.4 mg per week to a subject diagnosed with NASH, wherein the administering results in resolution of NASH and no worsening of liver fibrosis” (Claim 19). The instant application further claims liver fibrosis stage 2 (claim 20); administered once weekly, and administered 2.4 mg once weekly (claim 28).
US Patent No. 11318191 B2 claims A liquid pharmaceutical composition consisting of semaglutide (see claim 23). The intended use of the liquid formulation is parenteral and in particular subcutaneous administration (see claim 24 and “administration and kits”).
US Patent No. 11318191 B2 further claims “A method of treating diabetes, obesity, Alzheimer's disease, nonalcoholic steatohepatitis (NASH) and/or cardiovascular diseases comprising administering to a subject in need thereof a therapeutically effective amount of the liquid pharmaceutical composition according to claim 23”. US Patent No. 11318191 B2 is silent to treating stage 2 fibrosis with NASH and 2.4 mg/week dose.
However, NCT02970942 teaches that the study enrolls subjects having liver fibrosis stages 1, 2 and 3, administers semaglutide once daily at does including 0.1, 0.2 and 0.4 mg/day, of which 0.4 mg/day corresponding to a cumulative weekly dose of approximately 2.8 mg at the high end and 0.1 corresponds to 0.7/week and 0.2 corresponds to 1.4 weekly (see page 16, Intervention/Treatment). NCT02970942 teaches treating NASH, administering semaglutide subcutaneously, treating liver fibrosis states 1-3 with the objective of achieving resolution of NASH without worsening fibrosis (see page 17, “what is the study measuring, primary outcomes).
Kabisch teaches dosing regimens for semaglutide including: once weekly administration of semaglutide; weekly doses including 2.4 mg; weekly doses ranging 2.2-2.7 mg and 2.4-3.2 mg; subcutaneous administration; interchangeable daily and weekly dosing regimens (see description, page 1, see administration, page 3).
It would have been obvious before the effecting filing date of the claimed invention to try and treat stages 1, 2 and 3 of Nash as taught by NCT02970942 One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so given US Patent No. 191 claims treating NASH an NCT02970942 teaches treating NASH and stages 1-3 of NASH with the same drug and thus, treating NASH with semaglutide would be beneficial in any stage fibrosis as taught by NCT02970942 and obvious to try.
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to apply the once-weekly 2.4 mg semaglutide dosing regimen taught by Kabisch to the NASH treatment method disclosed in US Patent No. ‘819. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to reduce dosing frequency; improve patient compliance; utilize a clinically established semaglutide dosing regimen; and optimize treatment convenience while treating the same disease with the same therapeutic agent. Such modification represents routine dose selection and optimization of a known dosing regimen for a known drug used to treat the same condition and would have been expected to achieve the same therapeutic effect. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success. Dose amount and dosing frequency are result effective variables and it would have been obvious to optimize (see MPEP 2144.05).
Response to Applicant’s Arguments
Applicant argues that the nonstatutory double rejections be held in abeyance, particularly because the pending claims have not been indicated as in condition for allowance.
Applicant’s argument has been fully considered but not found persuasive. Applicant has not presented persuasive arguments demonstrating that the instant claims are patentably distinct from the patented claims. Accordingly, the rejection is maintained.
Double Patenting
A rejection based on double patenting of the “same invention” type finds its support in the language of 35 U.S.C. 101 which states that “whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process... may obtain a patent therefor...” (Emphasis added). Thus, the term “same invention,” in this context, means an invention drawn to identical subject matter. See Miller v. Eagle Mfg. Co., 151 U.S. 186 (1894); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Ockert, 245 F.2d 467, 114 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1957).
A statutory type (35 U.S.C. 101) double patenting rejection can be overcome by canceling or amending the claims that are directed to the same invention so they are no longer coextensive in scope. The filing of a terminal disclaimer cannot overcome a double patenting rejection based upon 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claims 19-20, 22-23, 25-26, 28-29 remain provisionally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of claims 24, 26, 28, 30, 32, 31, 32, 34-36, 38-39 of copending Application No. 19/022171 (reference application).
Claim 19 is identical in scope to co-pending claim 24, as both claims recite a method of treating non-alcoholic steatohepatitis by administering semaglutide subcutaneously in an amount of about 2.4 mg per week, resulting in resolution of NASH and no worsening of liver fibrosis.
Claim 20 is identical in scope to co-pending claim 26, as both claims further limit the method to subjects having liver fibrosis stage 2.
Claim 22 is identical in scope to co-pending claim 28, as both claims further limit the method to once-weekly administration.
Claim 23 is identical in scope to co-pending claim 30, as both claims further limit the once-weekly administration to subjects having liver fibrosis stage 2.
Claim 25 is identical in scope to co-pending claim 32, as both claims further limit the method to administration of semaglutide in an amount of 2.4 mg.
Claim 26 is identical in scope to co-pending claim 34, as both claims further limit the 2.4 mg administration to subjects having liver fibrosis stage 2.
Claim 28 is identical in scope to co-pending claim 36, as both claims further limit the method to administration of semaglutide in an amount of 2.4 mg once weekly.
Claim 29 is identical in scope to co-pending claim 38, as both claims further limit the 2.4 mg once-weekly administration to subjects having liver fibrosis stage 2.
This is a provisional statutory double patenting rejection since the claims directed to the same invention have not in fact been patented.
Response to Applicant’s Arguments
Applicant argues that the statutory double rejections be held in abeyance, particularly because the pending claims have not been indicated as in condition for allowance.
Applicant’s argument has been fully considered but not found persuasive. Applicant has not presented persuasive arguments demonstrating that the instant claims are patentably distinct from the patented claims. Accordingly, the rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERINNE R DABKOWSKI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1654