DETAILED ACTION
Priority
2. Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. JP 2024-171103, filed on 30th, Sep. 2024.
Drawings
3. The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the
“information generator” (Claim 9)
must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
4. Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding Claim 9’s limitation “…an information generator to create notification information…” in which “an information generator” is an amended structure of the previously claimed “a creation part”.
“an information generator” is rejected as “New Matter” because:
A. There is NEITHER structure in the original specification NOR drawings discloses and illustrates “an information generator” respectively.
B. The ONLY structure capable of “create notification information” is specified and denoted as “creation part 281” in PGPub. [0083] and FIG. 7.
To further advance prosecution, the Examiner interprets “information generator” as processor(s) and application(s) currently used to push notification in electronic devices.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
5. Claim(s) 1-2, 4, and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Beyer, Jr. et al. (US Patent/PGPub. No. 20060199612).
Regarding Claim 1, (currently amended)
Beyer, Jr. et al. teach
an information processing system ([0048], FIG. 1-4, i.e. communication network) comprising:
a first device ([0066], FIG. 1-4, i.e. Each ship has its own display) mounted in a mobile object ([0066], FIG. 1-4, i.e. ship);
a plurality of second devices ([0066], FIG. 1-4, i.e. all the cellular/PDA phones) used by a plurality of users ([0066], FIG. 1-4, i.e. participants) at places different from ([0066], FIG. 1-4, i.e. “Each network participant is able to view the location of all of the other participants in the net and to also view the location of the AIS equipped ships on each participant's display” which would mean that the participants’ locations are different from the ships’ locations) that of the mobile object (i.e. please see above citation(s));
an information acquisition part ([0066], FIG. 1-4, i.e. AIS constantly transmits updates of each ship's current location (please note that applicant’s [0046] defines “information acquisition part” as part of a server that “are realized, for example, by causing a hardware processor such as a central processing unit (CPU) to execute a program (software).”)) configured to acquire predetermined information ([0066], FIG. 1-4, i.e. ship's current location) transmitted by the first device (i.e. please see above citation(s));
a provision part ([0066], FIG. 1-4, i.e. AIS/remote server (please note that applicant’s [0046] defines “provision part” as part of a server that “are realized, for example, by causing a hardware processor such as a central processing unit (CPU) to execute a program (software).”)) configured to provide the predetermined information acquired by the information acquisition part to the plurality of second devices ([0066], FIG. 1-4, i.e. transmits updates of each ship's current location, course and speed and other pertinent data); and
a plurality of presentation parts ([0066], FIG. 1-4, i.e. cell phone/PDA display) configured to present the predetermined information provided to the plurality of second devices by the provision part ([0066], FIG. 1-4, i.e. participant is able to view the location),
wherein, when an operation input ([0067], FIG. 1-4, i.e. user can point by touch screen to the display location where the track has moved to on his cellular/PDA display) from a first user ([0058], FIG. 1-4, i.e. the cellular phone "one" operator selects, from a list, the other users (or all of them)) is performed, one second device ([0058], FIG. 4 & 6, i.e. the cellular phone "one" operator) among the plurality of second devices ([0058], FIG. 4 & 6, i.e. a list, the other users (or all of them)) generates an output signal containing position information ([0058], FIG. 4 & 6, i.e. GPS positions … latitude and longitude) based on the operation input and transmits the output signal ([0058], FIG. 4 & 6, i.e. transmit their GPS positions) to another second devices other than the one second device ([0058], FIG. 4 & 6, i.e. to all the other phones in the established net), and
the presentation parts of the another second devices present an output result ([0054], FIG. 4 & 6, i.e. the operator can … view the locations and statuses) based on ([0058], FIG. 4 & 6, i.e. based on the participants' latitude and longitude) the position information included in the output signal from the one second device (i.e. please see above citation(s)).
Regarding Claim 2, (original)
Beyer, Jr. et al. teach
the information processing system according to claim 1, further comprising a user information acquisition part ([0021], FIG. 1-4, i.e. Each cell phone includes a CPU and databases (please note that applicant’s [0083] defines “user information acquisition part (279) as high level and generic “software and hardware” of a CPU)) configured to acquire user information of users ([0024], FIG. 1-4, i.e. phone number and, if available, its IP address and email address) of the second devices (i.e. please see above citation(s)),
wherein the second device used by the first user (i.e. please see above citation(s)) further includes a creation part ([0021], FIG. 1-4, i.e. LCD display 16) configured to create an output signal ([0021], FIG. 1-4, i.e. “LCD display 16” would have image signal for outputting image on a screen) for presenting the output result based on the user information acquired by the user information acquisition part (FIG. 2, i.e. as shown by the figure(s) symbol 30 …).
Regarding Claim 4, (original)
Beyer, Jr. et al. teach
the information processing system according to claim 1,
wherein each second device includes a POI acquisition part ([0056], FIG. 1-4, i.e. CPU and databases (please note that the Examiner interpreted “POI acquisition part” as a generic and non-specialized processor performing general processes of acquiring and transmitting data since applicant’s [0145], FIG. 14 does NOT clearly disclose any structure or algorithm of “POI acquisition part 284”)) configured to acquire point of interest (POI) information ([0023], FIG. 1-4, i.e. operator can also manipulate the geographical map 16b or chart display),
wherein the POI acquisition part acquires POI information (i.e. please see above citation(s)) based on position information of the first device ([0066], FIG. 1-4, i.e. ship's current location, course and speed and other pertinent data within line of sight) when the presentation part (i.e. please see above citation(s)) presents the output result (FIG. 1, i.e. as shown by the figure(s) output result of a map), and
wherein the presentation part presents the POI information acquired by the POI acquisition part (i.e. please see above citation(s)) along with the output result ([0066], FIG. 1-4, i.e. ship's current location; [0026], FIG. 1-4, i.e. geographical locations and buildings).
Regarding Claim 9, (currently amended)
Beyer, Jr. et al. teach
the information processing system according to claim 1, further comprising an information generator ([0041], FIG. 1-4, i.e. soft switch) to create notification information ([0041], FIG. 1-4, i.e. notification) including the output result ([0041], FIG. 1-4, i.e. fire, accident or other event occurring now at a specific geographical location) to the first device based on an operation input ([0041], FIG. 1-4, i.e. operator points and touches) performed on one second device among the plurality of second devices when the operation input from a first user is performed using the one second device ([0041], FIG. 1-4, i.e. operator to enter on the cell phone).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claim(s) 3, 5, and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beyer, Jr. et al. (US Patent/PGPub. No. 20060199612) in view of CHU et al. (US Patent/PGPub. No. 20170046111).
Regarding Claim 3, (currently amended)
Beyer, Jr. et al. teach
the information processing system according to claim 1.
However, Beyer, Jr. et al. do not explicitly teach
wherein each second device includes a line-of-sight detector to detect a line-of-sight direction of a user, and
wherein the presentation part presents the output result based on the line- of-sight direction of the user detected by the line-of-sight detector.
In the same field of endeavor, CHU et al. teach
wherein each second device ([0149], FIG. 1-4, i.e. second electronic device 410) includes a line-of-sight detector ([0149], FIG. 1-4, i.e. an optical method or an electric field/magnetic field change-based) to detect a line-of-sight direction of a user ([0149], FIG. 1-4, i.e. collect the line-of-sight information of the second user), and
wherein the presentation part ([0042], FIG. 1, i.e. display 160; [0067], FIG. 1, i.e. Each of the first external device 102 and the second external device 104 may be same type or different type of device with the electronic device 101) presents the output result based on the line- of-sight direction of the user detected by the line-of-sight detector ([0240], FIG. 17A, i.e. second electronic device 410 may transmit the detected line-of-sight information to the first electronic device 400, and the first electronic device 400 may modify the contents based on the line-of-sight information).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention’s effective date was filed to modify Beyer, Jr. et al. teaching system of sharing information among plurality of users and updating information based on user’s input with CHU et al. teaching system of sharing information among plurality of users including user’s line of sight to effectively enhance user interface utilizing user’s line of sight as input (CHU et al.’s [0240]).
Regarding Claim 5, (currently amended)
the information processing system according to claim 3, wherein
Beyer, Jr. et al. teach
each second device includes a POI acquisition part ([0056], FIG. 1-4, i.e. CPU and databases (please note that the Examiner interpreted “POI acquisition part” as a generic and non-specialized processor performing general processes of acquiring and transmitting data since applicant’s [0145], FIG. 14 does NOT clearly disclose any structure or algorithm of “POI acquisition part 284”)) configured to acquire point of interest (POI) information ([0023], FIG. 1-4, i.e. operator can also manipulate the geographical map 16b or chart display),
wherein the presentation part (i.e. please see above citation(s)) acquires a position ([0023], FIG. 1-4, i.e. displayed at the bottom left of the screen) at which the output result is to be presented based on the POI information acquired by the POI acquisition part ([0023], FIG. 1-4, i.e. touched by the stylus or finger).
However, Beyer, Jr. et al. do not explicitly teach
wherein the POI acquisition part acquires POI information based on the line-of-sight direction of the user detected by the line-of-sight detector.
In the same field of endeavor, CHU et al. teach
wherein the POI acquisition part ([0058], FIG. 1-4, i.e. processor 120 (please note that the Examiner interpreted “POI acquisition part” as a generic and non-specialized processor performing general processes of acquiring and transmitting data since applicant’s [0145], FIG. 14 does NOT clearly disclose any structure or algorithm of “POI acquisition part 284”)) acquires POI information based on the line-of-sight direction of the user ([0149], FIG. 1-4, i.e. collect the line-of-sight information of the second user) detected by the line-of-sight detector (i.e. please see above citation(s)).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention’s effective date was filed to modify Beyer, Jr. et al. teaching system of sharing information among plurality of users and updating information based on user’s input with CHU et al. teaching system of sharing information among plurality of users including user’s line of sight to effectively enhance user interface utilizing user’s line of sight as input (CHU et al.’s [0240]).
Regarding Claim 10, (currently amended)
Beyer, Jr. et al. teach
the information processing system according to claim 1.
However, Beyer, Jr. et al. do not explicitly teach
further comprising an audio receiver to acquire audio information based on audio from a user,
wherein the presentation part presents the output result based on the operation input and the audio information.
In the same field of endeavor, CHU et al. teach
further comprising an audio receiver ([0083], FIG. 1, i.e. audio module 280 processes sound information input or output through, for example, a speaker 282 … the microphone 28) to acquire audio information based on audio from a user ([0258], FIG. 21, i.e. voice command (e.g., “SWIS”) is spoken by the user),
wherein the presentation part ([0042], FIG. 1, i.e. display 160; [0067], FIG. 1, i.e. Each of the first external device 102 and the second external device 104 may be same type or different type of device with the electronic device 101) presents the output result based on the operation input and the audio information ([0258], FIG. 21, i.e. display a pop-up window 2115 on a home screen 2110).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention’s effective date was filed to modify Beyer, Jr. et al. teaching system of sharing information among plurality of users and updating information based on user’s input with CHU et al. teaching system of sharing information among plurality of users including user’s voice to effectively enhance user input/output interface by displaying user’s command/application in response to user’s voice recognition (CHU et al.’s [0258]).
7. Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beyer, Jr. et al. (US Patent/PGPub. No. 20060199612) in view of RAVASZ et al. (US Patent/PGPub. No. 20240320930).
Regarding Claim 7, (original)
Beyer, Jr. et al. teach
the information processing system according to claim 1.
However, Beyer, Jr. et al. do not explicitly teach
wherein the presentation part changes a position at which the output result is to be presented based on a speed of the mobile object.
In the same field of endeavor, RAVASZ et al. teach
wherein the presentation part ([0099], FIG. 1A, i.e. display generation component 120) changes a position ([0454], FIG. 13, i.e. at a first location and displaying the indicator at a second location) at which the output result ([0454], FIG. 13, i.e. display of the indicator) is to be presented based on a speed ([0454], FIG. 13, i.e. camera movement) of the mobile object ([0400], FIG. 11, i.e. movement 1112C of device 702, as user 1104 rotates device).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention’s effective date was filed to modify Beyer, Jr. et al. teaching system of sharing information among plurality of users and updating information based on user’s input with RAVASZ et al. teaching system of presenting images based on user’s movement to effectively enhance human machine interface by displaying images in accordance with user’s movement (RAVASZ et al.’s [0454]).
8. Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beyer, Jr. et al. (US Patent/PGPub. No. 20060199612) in view of Singh et al. (US Patent/PGPub. No. 12464247).
Regarding Claim 8, (currently amended)
Beyer, Jr. et al. teach
the information processing system according to claim 1.
However, Beyer, Jr. et al. do not explicitly teach
further comprising a mobile object behavior detector to detect right turn or left turn of the mobile object,
wherein the presentation part changes details of the output result to be presented when right turn or left turn of the mobile object is detected by the mobile object behavior detector after the output result has been presented.
In the same field of endeavor, Singh et al. teach
further comprising a mobile object behavior detector (Col. 6, Ln. 2-5, FIG. 2, i.e. angle sensor 168) to detect right turn or left turn (Col. 6, Ln. 2-5, FIG. 2, i.e. steering) of the mobile object (Col. 4, Ln. 19-27, FIG. 1-2, i.e. vehicle 100),
wherein the presentation part (Col. 9, Ln. 9-19, FIG. 1, i.e. display device 128) changes details of the output result (Col. 8, Ln. 1-9, FIG. 1, i.e. change in position of the vehicle 100) to be presented when right turn or left turn of the mobile object is detected by the mobile object behavior detector (Col. 7, Ln. 1-9, FIG. 1, i.e. yaw rate sensor continuously outputs the yaw position 204 and/or the yaw rate of the vehicle 100 in real time) after the output result has been presented (Col. 8, Ln. 1-9, FIG. 1, i.e. change in position of the vehicle 100 at each position that one of the images 220 is generated).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention’s effective date was filed to modify Beyer, Jr. et al. teaching system of sharing information among plurality of users and updating information based on user’s input with Singh et al. teaching system of presenting images based on vehicle’s movement to safely provide user driving experiences by display images in accordance with vehicle’s orientation/position (Singh et al.’s Col. 1, Ln. 17-24).
9. Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beyer, Jr. et al. (US Patent/PGPub. No. 20060199612) in view of STAUBER (US Patent/PGPub. No. 20240402871).
Regarding Claim 11, (currently amended)
Beyer, Jr. et al. teach
the information processing system according to claim 4.
However, Beyer, Jr. et al. do not explicitly teach
further comprising an audio receiver to acquire audio information based on audio from a user,
wherein the presentation part presents the POI information and the audio information acquired in association with the POI information by the audio receiver along with the output result.
In the same field of endeavor, STAUBER teaches
further comprising an audio receiver ([0021], FIG. 1, i.e. microphones 32) to acquire audio information based on audio from a user ([0021], FIG. 1, i.e. record the sounds which may include the user's speech),
wherein the presentation part ([0021], FIG. 1, i.e. visual display system 22) presents the POI information ([0473], FIG. 1, i.e. displayed content based on the user's fixation point) and the audio information acquired in association with the POI information by the audio receiver ([0473], FIG. 1, i.e. resenting audio content corresponding to the displayed text) along with the output result ([0021], FIG. 1, i.e. include text to a user 18 along with audio that may be played through one or more speaker 30).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention’s effective date was filed to modify Beyer, Jr. et al. teaching system of sharing information among plurality of users and updating information based on user’s input with STAUBER et al. teaching system of presenting images along audio output to effectively enhance human machine interface by displaying POI in images along with audio (STAUBER’s [0473]).
Response to Argument/Amendment
10. Applicant's arguments filed 07/28/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On P. 7-8 concerning Claim(s) 1, applicant argues that Beyer, Jr. et al. do not teach “one second device among the plurality of second devices generates an output signal containing position information based on the operation input and transmits the output signal to another second devices other than the one second device, and the presentation parts of the another second devices present an output result based on the position information included in the output signal from the one second device.” However, the Examiner respectfully disagrees because Beyer, Jr. et al. explicitly teach
“one of the operator selects other users from the list and then sends out GPS positions of latitude and longitude ([0058]), others and view the location ([0054], [0058], FIG. 4 & 6)”. Please see above for detail.
11. All dependent claims are properly rejected or objected as shown.
12. Applicants’ Response to the Non-Final Office Action, 04/30/2026, has been entered and made of record. Claim(s) 1, 3, 5, 8-9, and 10-11 is/are amended, and Claims 12-13 is/are new. Thus, Claim(s) 1-13 is/are pending in this application.
13. Applicant’s arguments, see P. 6-7, filed 07/28/2026, with respect to Rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) and/or 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) have been fully considered and are persuasive. The Rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) and/or 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) has/have been withdrawn.
Allowable Subject Matter
14. Claim(s) 6 and 12-13 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
15. The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Beyer, Jr. et al. (US Patent/PGPub. No. 20060199612) teach a cellular, PDA communication device and communication system for allowing a plurality of cellular phone users to monitor each others' locations and status, to initiate cellular phone calls by touching a symbol on the touch screen display with a stylus which can also include point to call conferencing calling. Each participant's cellular phone PDA device includes GPS navigation receiver with application software for point to call cellular phone initiation to participants and geographical entities including vehicles, persons or events, conference calls and video transfers. The method and system also includes automatic shifting from GPRS/EDGE/CDMA/1XEVDO to SMS when any of the cellular phones in the communication network is in the voice mode and in use and for automatic shifting back to GPRS/EDGE/CDMA/1XEVDO upon completion of the voice phone call. In addition, using the system, a full transfer of photographs, video clips and high speed data can be used between any cellular phones regardless of who the cellular phone vendors or cellular phone companies are and in either CDMA, GSM, WiFi or a combination of the two.
CHU et al. (US Patent/PGPub. No. 20170046111) teach an electronic device for sharing images with another electronic device through bidirectional communication and providing feedback information based on the information concerning the images and an information sharing method of the electronic device is provided. The electronic device includes a user interface, a communication circuit configured to connect the electronic device to at least one external electronic device though at least one of first and second communication channels, a memory, and a processor which is electrically connected to the user interface, the communication circuit, and the memory, wherein the memory stores instructions for the processor to establish a communication connection with the external electronic device through the first and second communication channels, transmit contents to the external electronic device through the second communication channel, receive at least one of input information made to the contents at the external electronic device and status information of the external electronic device through the second communication channel, generate feedback information related to the contents based on at least one of the input information and feedback information, and output the feedback information through the user interface.
The subject matter of the claim(s) that could neither be found/suggested nor obviously combinable in the prior arts of record. The subject matter was a device/method including
“…wherein each second device includes a POI acquisition part configured to acquire point of interest (POI) information and a selection part configured to select POI information closest to the mobile object among a plurality of pieces of POI information when the plurality of pieces of POI information are acquired by the POI acquisition part, and
wherein the presentation part presents the POI information selected by the selection part to the second devices other than the one second device.” (Claim 6),
“…wherein when the operation input from the first user is performed by the one second device among the plurality of second devices, the presentation parts of the another second devices present output results based on the operation input by the one second device,
wherein the presentation parts of the another second devices recognize a position of the presented output results and changes a presentation position of the output results based on a speed of the mobile object.” (Claim 12),
“…further comprising a mobile object behavior detector to detect right turn or left turn of the mobile object,
wherein when the operation input from the first user is performed by the one second device among the plurality of second devices, the presentation parts of the another second devices present output results based on the operation input by the one second device,
wherein after the output results are displayed and when the mobile object behavior detector detects right turn or left turn of the mobile object has occurred, the presentation parts of the another second devices determine whether a display area identified based on a line-of-sight of the first user continues to be displayed, and if it determines that the display area is no longer being displayed, changes details of the output results unlike a case in which right turn or left turn of the mobile object has not occurred.” (Claim 13),
in combination with the other elements (or steps) of the device or apparatus and method recited in the claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/VINH T LAM/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2628