DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is in response to the application No. 19/311022 filed on 8/27/2025. Claims 1-18 are pending for examination.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “steering control device” and “model simulation device” in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Derginer et al. US 2020/0140052 (“Derginer”).
As to claims 1, 13, 16, 17, and 18, Derginer discloses a system and method for steering control stabilization of a marine vessel, the system comprising a steering control device, a model simulation device and a control unit,
where the steering control device is arranged to provide control signals in response to manual control inputs from an operator of the marine vessel to the model simulation device (see at least [0031]-[0032]: the user may operate the joystick 30 to command the rotational and/or translational movements described hereinabove),
where the model simulation device is arranged to apply the control signals generated by the steering control device to a simulated model of a marine vessel and provide a resulting position and heading, and their respective rate of change, of the simulated model of the marine vessel to the control unit (see at least Fig 9, elements 112, 116, 120; [0061]: The vessel dynamics model is then used to generate velocity commands at step 116. Namely, the target surge velocity, the target sway velocity, and/or the target yaw velocity are used as input to the vessel dynamics model in order to generate the surge command, sway command, and yaw command that would result in the inputted target inertial velocities. The actual vessel position is measured, such as by an IMU and/or GPS system, and the actual vessel position is utilized as feedback at step 118 to modify the surge, sway, and yaw commands),
where the control unit is arranged to control a propulsion or drive system of the marine vessel based on a difference between a real-time current position and heading, and their respective rate of change, of the marine vessel and the resulting position and heading, and their respective rate of change, of the simulated model of the marine vessel provided by the model simulation device (see at least Fig 9, elements 120, 122; [0061]: The total X direction thrust and total Y direction thrust commands are then determined for each propulsion device at step 120, such as utilizing the affine control mixing strategy described above. Steering commands and engine commands are then determined at step 122 based on the X thrust and Y thrust commands).
As to claim 2, Derginer discloses wherein the model simulation device is arranged to use the real-time current position and heading, and their respective rate of change, of the marine vessel as input when applying subsequent control signals to the simulated model of the marine vessel (see at least [0061]: The actual vessel position is measured, such as by an IMU and/or GPS system, and the actual vessel position is utilized as feedback at step 118 to modify the surge, sway, and yaw commands).
As to claim 3, Derginer discloses wherein the model simulation device is arranged to use the resulting position and heading, and their respective rate of change, of the simulated model of the marine vessel as input when applying subsequent control signals to the simulated model of the marine vessel (see at least claim 5: wherein a neutral position of the joystick is associated with a desired inertial velocity of zero; and wherein when the position of the joystick is equal to the neutral position the steering position command and the engine command are determined so as to maintain the marine vessel at its current GPS location and current heading).
As to claim 4, Derginer discloses wherein the model simulation device is arranged to simulate ideal operating conditions for the simulated model of the marine vessel when applying the control signals to the simulated model of the marine vessel (see at least [0055]: such information can be utilized to refine the command values so as to more accurately effectuate the desired inertial velocity by accounting for inaccuracies in the inverse plant model and disturbances in the environment (e.g., wind and waves).
As to claim 5, Derginer discloses wherein the simulated ideal operating conditions for the marine vessel comprise that the marine vessel is simulated as not subjected to any wind, waves or sea drift (see at least [0055]: such information can be utilized to refine the command values so as to more accurately effectuate the desired inertial velocity by accounting for inaccuracies in the inverse plant model and disturbances in the environment (e.g., wind and waves).
As to claims 6 and 14, Derginer discloses where, in case no control signals in response to manual control inputs from an operator of the marine vessel to the model simulation device is provided, the model simulation device is arranged to simulate the model of a marine vessel assuming the rate of change of the position and heading for the simulated model of the marine vessel is null (see at least claim 5: wherein a neutral position of the joystick is associated with a desired inertial velocity of zero; and wherein when the position of the joystick is equal to the neutral position the steering position command and the engine command are determined so as to maintain the marine vessel at its current GPS location and current heading).
As to claim 7, Derginer discloses wherein the control unit is arranged to further operate in a first or second additional operating modes, and the steering control device comprise a control device arranged to switch the control unit from operating in different operating modes (see at least [0030]-[0032]: The steering wheel 32 and the throttle/shift levers 34 function in a conventional manner…a joysticking mode…).
As to claim 8, Derginer discloses where, in a first additional operating mode, the control unit is arranged to receive the control signals from the steering control device and control the propulsion or drive system of the marine vessel based on the received control signals (see at least [0030]: The steering wheel 32 and the throttle/shift levers 34 function in a conventional manner, such that rotation of the steering wheel 32, for example, activates a transducer that provides a signal to the controller 24 regarding a desired direction of the vessel 10).
As to claim 9, Derginer discloses where, in a second additional operating mode, the control unit is arranged to control the propulsion or drive system of the marine vessel based on a difference between a desired set position and heading, and their respective rate of change, of the marine vessel and a real-time current position and heading, and their respective rate of change, of the marine vessel (see at least [0031]-[0032]: A manually operable input device, such as the joystick 30, can also be used to provide signals to the controller 24. The joystick 30 can be used to allow the operator of the vessel 10 to manually maneuver the vessel 10, such as to achieve translation or rotation of the vessel 10, as will be described below. It should be understood that in alterative examples, the various components 28, 30, 32, 34 may communicate directly with the PCMs 26a, 26b or may communicate with one or more central control modules).
As to claim 10, Derginer discloses wherein the steering control device comprise a main control device and a secondary control device, wherein the secondary control device is arranged to receive manual control inputs from an operator of the marine vessel (see at least [0031]-[0032]: A manually operable input device, such as the joystick 30, can also be used to provide signals to the controller 24. The joystick 30 can be used to allow the operator of the vessel 10 to manually maneuver the vessel 10, such as to achieve translation or rotation of the vessel 10, as will be described below. It should be understood that in alterative examples, the various components 28, 30, 32, 34 may communicate directly with the PCMs 26a, 26b or may communicate with one or more central control modules).
As to claim 11, Derginer discloses wherein the secondary control device comprise one or more joysticks (see at least Fig 1, element 30: joystick).
As to claims 12 and 15, Derginer discloses wherein said control signals indicate a movement in an x-direction equal to a force in x, a movement in a y-direction equal to a force in y, and a movement about z-direction equal to a moment in z (see at least Fig 9; [0061]: A signal indicating a joystick position is received at step 112. Step 114 is executed to associate the joystick position with the target surge, target sway, and target yaw velocity).
Conclusion
/Thomas Ingram/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3668