Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because in the table shown in Fig.13, the “S” should be deleted after “DEVELOPING”. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2,4,7-8,10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kato et al. (JP 11-282222) in view of Hirobe et al. (U.S. 2007/0048021).
Kato et al. (see page 4-6 of translation) teach an image forming apparatus 100 (see Fig.1) including an image bearing member 1 having a replaceable process cartridge 43; a developing device 7 as part of the replaceable process cartridge having a developing container 3 for accommodating a toner material 8; a developer bearing member 10 which carries the toner; a developer bias application portion 33 (see Fig.7) in which an AC and DC bias are superimposed on the developer bearing member 10 in order to develop an electrostatic latent image; the toner material comprising a negatively charged one component magnetic toner and a positively charged external additive; the process cartridge can be a type A using a toner having 1.5% by weight external additive while a process cartridge B has 0.6% by weight external additive; a storage medium 50 is attached to the bottom of the developing device and stores information as to whether the process cartridge is type A or type B; an acquisition unit/CPU 104 acquires the data as to whether process cartridge A or B is attached to the image forming apparatus by reading the storage medium 50 and controls the developing bias applied to the developer bearing member 10 based on the stored information in the storage medium regarding the external additive wherein if the process cartridge is A, the AC bias is set to 1600V, frequency is 1800 Hz and DC bias is -450V while if the process cartridge is B; the AC bias and DC bias are the same but the frequency is changed to 2200 Hz.
Regarding claim 1, Kato et al. also suggests that the image forming apparatus can have a detachable toner container from the developing device and that the detachable toner container can have the storage medium 50 (see translation page 3, par. 9; page 9, par. 2 and par. 7).
Regarding claims 4 and 10, the frequency of the AC voltage is smaller (1800 Hz) if the process/toner cartridge is type A using an external additive of 1.5% (second ratio) than the frequency of the AC voltage (2200 Hz) if the process/toner cartridge is type B using an external additive of 0.6% (first ratio)
Specifically, Kato et al. teach all that is claimed except the external additive information being a “coverage” of the external additive carried on the surface of the toner particle rather than the percentage of external additive contained within the accommodated toner material.
Hirobe et al. teach an image forming apparatus using a toner material to develop electrostatic latent images and transfer the developed images to a recording medium; the toner material having an external additive which increases the coverage % depending on the weight % amount added to the toner material as shown in Table 4 (par. 77).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date that an increase in the amount of external additive within the accommodated toner material would necessarily mean that the amount of external additive adhered to the surface of the toner particles (coverage %) would also increase as described in the Hirobe et al. reference. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date that Kato et al. at least teach indirectly to control the developing bias application portion based on the coverage information stored in a storage medium.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3,5-6,9,11-12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claims 3 and 9, the controller controlling the developing bias application portion such that the amplitude of the AC voltage when the coverage ratio is a second ratio higher than a first ratio is smaller than an amplitude of the AC voltage when the coverage ratio is the first ratio is not taught, suggested or rendered obvious by the prior art of record.
Regarding claims 5 and 11, the controller controlling the developing bias application portion such that the duty ratio in a case the coverage is a second ratio higher than a first ratio is lower than the duty ratio in a case the coverage is the first ratio is not taught, suggested or rendered obvious by the prior art of record.
Regarding claims 6 and 12, the developing bias having a waveform including, in one cycle, an AC bias portion in which the AC and DC voltages are superimposed and a blank portion where only the DC voltage is applied subsequent to the application of the AC voltage, the controller controlling the developing bias application portion such that the time of a blank portion in one cycle of the developing bias when the coverage is a second ratio higher than a first ratio is longer than the time of the blank portion in a case the coverage is the first ratio is not taught, suggested or rendered obvious by the prior art of record.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kusunoki, Ishida, Funayama, Ito et al., and Tohata all teach image forming apparatus using an external additive with the toner and controlling the apparatus on the basis of the external additive. Wakisaka is a related application.
/ROBERT B BEATTY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852