DETAILED ACTION
Acknowledgements
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claims 1-20 have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC §101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Analysis
In the instance case, claims 1-10 are directed to a method, claims 11-20 are directed to an electronic device. Therefore, these claims fall within the four statutory categories of invention.
The claim(s) recite(s) copying and pasting text with access control. Specifically, the claims recite “detecting a copy operation on first data of a first application, and storing the first data; detecting a paste request of a second application for the first data; and in response to the second application meeting a first condition, sending the stored first data to the second application, wherein the first condition comprises that the second application is pre-authorized by a user.”, which is fundamental economic principles or practices within certain methods of organizing human activity grouping of abstract ideas in prong one of step 2A of the Alice/Mayo test (See MPEP 2106) because the claims involve a series of steps for copying and pasting text with access control. Accordingly, the claims recite an abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because, when analyzed under prong two of step 2A of the Alice/Mayo test (See MPEP 2106), the additional element(s) of the claim(s) such as the use of electronic device, memory and processors merely use(s) a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea. The processors and memories are recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic processor performing a generic computer function of copying and pasting text with access control) such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer components. Accordingly, the additional elements do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea, and the claims are directed to an abstract idea.
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of using electronic device, memory and processors to perform copying and pasting text with access control steps amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer components. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer components cannot provide an inventive concept. The claim is not patent eligible.
Dependent claims 2-4 and 12-14 describe first condition. Dependent claims 5, 7, 15 and 17 describe first data. Dependent claims 6 and 16 describe anonymizing identifier. Dependent claims 8 and 18 describe copy and paste operations. Dependent claims 9 and 19 describe second condition. Dependent claims 10 and 20 describe copy and paste operation with a third application. These claims further recite the abstract idea of certain methods of organizing human activity. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the additional element(s) of the claim(s) such as the use of electronic device, memory and processors merely use(s) a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea. The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The claims are not patent eligible.
Viewed as a whole, the combination of elements recited in the claims simply recite the concept of copying and pasting text with access control. The claims do not, for example, purport to improve the functioning of the computer itself. Nor do they effect an improvement in any other technology or technical field.
The use of an electronic device, memory and processors as tools to implement the abstract idea does not render the claim patent eligible because it does not provide meaningful limitations beyond generally linking the use of an abstract idea to a particular technological environment and requires no more than a computer performing functions that correspond to acts required to carry out the abstract idea.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC §102
Claims 1-4, 9-14 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 as being anticipated by China Application Publication CN114945176A (“Zhao et al.”).
Regarding claims 1 and 11, Zhao et al. discloses:
detecting a copy operation on first data of a first application, and storing the first data; (abs; Fig. 1 steps 101-103; claim 1, ¶¶0044-0049);
detecting a paste request of a second application for the first data; and (abs; Fig. 1 step 105; ¶0062; claim 1);
in response to the second application meeting a first condition, sending the stored first data to the second application, wherein the first condition comprises that the second application is pre-authorized by a user. (abs; Fig. 1 steps 106 and 107; ¶0062, ¶0066, claim 1).
Regarding claims 2 and 12, Zhao et al. discloses all limitation as described above. Zhao et al. further discloses:
in response to the second application not meeting the first condition, skipping sending the stored first data to the second application, wherein the first condition further comprises that the second application corresponds to a paste operation of the user. (Zhao, Fig 1 step 106; ¶0064)
Regarding claims 3 and 13, Zhao et al. discloses all limitation as described above. Zhao et al. further discloses:
in response to the second application not meeting the first condition, and it being determined that the first data comprises private information, skipping sending the stored first data to the second application. (¶0065)
Regarding claims 4 and 14, Zhao et al. discloses all limitation as described above. Zhao et al. further discloses:
in response to the second application not meeting the first condition and the first data not comprising private information, sending the stored first data to the second application. (¶0065)
Regarding claims 9 and 19, Zhao et al. discloses all limitation as described above. Zhao et al. further discloses:
in response to the first data meeting a second condition, deleting the first data and associated storage information of the first data; and (¶0066)
wherein the second condition comprises at least one of the following:
a delete operation performed by the user on the first data is detected; or (¶0066)
storage time of the first data meets a time threshold.
Regarding claims 10 and 20, Zhao et al. discloses all limitation as described above. Zhao et al. further discloses:
wherein the electronic device comprises a third application, (Fig. 1 system clipboard) and the third application comprises a writing module, a storage module, a detection module, and reading module, wherein
the writing module sends the first data to the storage module after the copy operation on the first data of the first application is detected; (Fig. 1 step 103)
the storage module is configured to store the first data; (Fig. 1 step 103)
the detection module is configured to: in response to the paste request, determine whether the second application meets the first condition, obtain the first data from the storage module when the second application meets the first condition, and send the first data to the reading module; and (Fig. 1 steps 105 and 106)
the reading module is configured to send the first data to the second application. (Fig. 1 step 107)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-8 and 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over China Application Publication CN114945176A (“Zhao et al.”) in view of China Application Publication CN113901508A (“Hou”).
Regarding claims 5 and 15, Zhao et al. discloses all limitation as described above. Zhao et al. does not explicitly disclose:
wherein storing the first data comprises:
in response to a determination that the first data comprises private information,
generating an anonymized identifier of the private information in the first data; and
storing the first data in association with the anonymized identifier of the first data.
However, Hou discloses:
wherein storing the first data comprises:
in response to a determination that the first data comprises private information, (Fig. 1 step 101; ¶0051)
generating an anonymized identifier of the private information in the first data; and (Fig. 1 step 102; abs; ¶0061; claim 1)
storing the first data in association with the anonymized identifier of the first data. (Fig. 1 steps 103-104; abs; ¶¶0075-79; claim 1)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shearing plate access control method, electronic equipment and storage medium of Zhao et al. by including generating an anonymized identifier for the private information and storing the anonymized identifier with the first data in accordance with the teaching of Hou. This modification allows the combined system to protect data privacy.
Regarding claims 6 and 16, Zhao et al. in view of Hou discloses all limitation as described above. Hou further discloses:
wherein generating the anonymized identifier of the private information in the first data comprises:
in response to the first data comprising N1 types of private information, generating N2 anonymized identifiers, wherein N2 is greater than or equal to N1, and wherein: (Fig. 1 step 102; abs; ¶0061; claim 1)
when N1 is equal to 1, the N2 anonymized identifiers comprise anonymized identifiers corresponding to the N1 types of private information; or (Fig. 1 step 102; abs; ¶0061; claim 1)
when N1 is greater than 1, the N2 anonymized identifiers comprise anonymized identifiers corresponding to the N1 types of private information and a general anonymized identifier of the first data.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shearing plate access control method, electronic equipment and storage medium of Zhao et al. by including generating an anonymized identifier for the private information in accordance with the teaching of Hou. This modification allows the combined system to protect data privacy.
Regarding claims 7 and 17, Zhao et al. in view of Hou discloses all limitation as described above. Hou further discloses:
wherein storing the first data in association with the anonymized identifier of the first data comprises:
when N2 is equal to 1, storing the first data in association with the anonymized identifier of the first data; or (Fig. 1 steps 103-104; abs; ¶¶0075-79; claim 1)
when N2 is greater than 1, storing each type of private information in the first data in association with a corresponding anonymized identifier, and storing the first data in association with a general anonymized identifier.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shearing plate access control method, electronic equipment and storage medium of Zhao et al. by including storing the anonymized identifier with the first data in accordance with the teaching of Hou. This modification allows the combined system to protect data privacy and fetch the original data quickly if there is a need.
Regarding claims 8 and 18, Zhao et al. discloses all limitation as described above. Zhao further discloses:
displaying data of the first data; and (Fig. 1 step 101)
detecting a selection operation performed by the user on the data of the first data; and (Fig. 1 step 101)
Zhao et al. does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the data of the first data is an anonymized identifier;
wherein sending the stored first data to the second application comprises:
sending, to the second application, data that corresponds to the anonymized identifier selected through the selection operation and that is in the stored first data.
However, Hou discloses:
wherein the data of the first data is an anonymized identifier; (¶0007)
wherein sending the stored first data to the second application comprises:
sending, to the second application, data that corresponds to the anonymized identifier selected through the selection operation and that is in the stored first data. (¶0035 and ¶0077)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shearing plate access control method, electronic equipment and storage medium of Zhao et al. by including sending data that corresponds to the anonymized identifier selected in accordance with the teaching of Hou. This modification allows the combined system to protect data privacy.
Conclusion
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US20170004316A1 (“Walton”) discloses systems and methods are described for clipboard intercession of secure applications. Techniques include a method for clipboard intercession comprising: for a first application, the application having a first library that includes a function referencing a first memory location for at least one clipboard command associated with the application, modifying the application such that a second, different memory location is referenced when the function is called for the at least one clipboard command; in response to the first application receiving a copy command, copying first text to the second memory location and not the first memory location; and, in response to a second application receiving a paste command after the first application receives the copy command, referencing the first memory location and not the second memory location such that the first text is not accessed by the second application..
“MAINTAINING K-ANONYMITY ON REAL-TIME DATA”(“Blosser et al.”) discloses a solution of tracking the released k-anonymized tuples and, in the future, prevent the release of the same tuple at a decreased privacy level.
/YINGYING ZHOU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3697