DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims below have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 2, 4, 5, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Marra et al. (hereinafter “Marra”), US Pub. No. 2022/0207816.
Regarding claim 2, Marra teaches a method for visually displaying 3D data (fig. 9, [0057-0061]), the method comprising intrinsically determining a field of view of a head-mounted display (Fig. 1A, [0037-0038]), at recurring times ([0062]) and displaying information that moves concomitantly with the field of view in the head-mounted display ([0033, 0057-0061], Fig. 9), and ascertaining and matching a capture pose that predefines the field of view of the head-mounted display ([0038, 0057-0059]; Fig. 9, steps 940-960) with the field of view ([0058-0060]; Fig. 9, steps 950-980).
Regarding claim 4, Marra teaches Marra teaches wherein the capture pose is ascertained using a measuring device that moves concomitantly of the determination of the field of view (Fig. 1A, [0037-0038, 0057-0058]).
Regarding claim 5, Marra teaches carrying out the intrinsic determination using at least one concomitantly moving sensor (Fig. 1A, [0037-0038, 0057-0058]).
Regarding claim 9, Marra teaches measuring the intrinsic determination of the capture pose [using] concomitantly moving cameras (Fig. 1A, [0037-0038, 0058]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagano et al. (hereinafter “Nagano”), US Pub. No. 2021/0287330, in view of Clark-Lindh et al. (hereinafter “Clark”), US Patent No. 11,238,159.
Nagano teaches a method of producing a virtual view of a 3D model of an installation ([0109-0111]), producing a virtual view of the 3D model ([0112]).
Nagano fails to explicitly teach producing the virtual view of the 3D model in head mounted display using a 3D measuring devices operating independently of the head mounted display, wherein individual virtual objects correspond to real models detected by the 3D measuring device.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Clark teaches an artificial reality system comprising HMDs (112) and external cameras (102), wherein the external cameras capture three dimensional information within the real world environment concerning objects (108, [0028]), captured image data is processed to identify objects and object poses ([0032] and virtual objects 128 are spatially overlaid upon corresponding real world objects 108, [0028]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the 3D visualization system of Nagano to employ the head mounted display and external 3D image capture arrangement taught by Clark. As such, a person having ordinary skill in the art would appreciate the motivation for doing so would have been to provide environmental/object tracking information for spatially registering virtual content with corresponding real world objects.
Claims 3 and 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marra (see above), in view of Chiou, US Patent No. 12,053,247.
Regarding claim 3, Marra fails to explicitly teach wherein the capture pose is ascertained using a 3D measuring device comprising one or more cameras that is configured independently of the head-mounted display and/or is stationary.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Chiou teaches outside-in tracking of a head mounted display using one or more external sensors or cameras installed in a stationary location, such as on a ceiling, wall, or stand (col. 35, lines 27-63, col. 36, lines 55-67). Chiou teaches that the external sensors or cameras capture movement of the HMD, including through detection of markers attached to the HMD or user’s head, and that the resulting sensor data or camera images are processed to obtain tracking information used to compute the view projection for the HMD (col. 35, lines 27-63, col. 36, lines 55-67).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the pose determination method of Marra to include the stationary external camera based tracking arrangement taught by Chiou. As such, a person having ordinary skill in the art would appreciate the motivation for doing so would have been to provide an alternative known technique for determining and tracking the pose of the head-mounted display.
Regarding claim 6, Chiou teaches measuring the capture pose using active markers on the head mounted display (col. 35, lines 46-50).
Regarding claim 7, Chiou teaches measuring the capture pose using passive markers on the head mounted display (col. 35, lines 46-50).
Regarding claim 8, Chiou teaches measuring the capture pose a stationary measuring device (col. 35, lines 46-50).
Claims 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marra (see above), in view of Nagano (see above).
Regarding claim 10, Marra teaches a method for visually displaying information using a head-mounted display, including determining a viewpoint/field of view of the head-mounted display and rendering and displaying output information based on the determined viewpoint ([0038, 0058-0061], Fig. 9).
Marra fails to explicitly teach that the information visually displayed comprises an air flow represented as concomitantly moving 3D data.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Nagano teaches determining an image showing a result of an air flow simulation for a particular wind direction as 3D data ([0027, 0082], Fig. 12B, [0109-0112]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the information displayed by th head mounted display of Marra to include the air flow simulation information taught by Nagano. As such, a person having ordinary skill in the art would appreciate the motivation for doing so would have been to permit a user to visualize airflow conditions relative to the environment while viewing the environment through the head mounted display.
Regarding claim 11, Nagano teaches wherein the 3D data comprise a 3D model (39) of an installation and/or wherein the 3D data comprise AR metadata for components of the installation ([0109-0112]).
Regarding claim 12, Marra teaches wherein the head mounted display is used to shield a real environment ([0037, 0057-0061]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13-37 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: None of the prior art, either singularly or in combination, teaches or fairly suggests comprising: providing a real model for at least one of the virtual objects; aligning a virtual body with the real model at recurring times using a 3D position measurement and linking the at least one virtual object to the virtual body and putting the at least one virtual object into a desired positional relationship with the virtual body, and a user altering the link between the virtual body and the at least one virtual object.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Bleyer et al. (US Pub. No. 2023/0274384) teaches a head mounted device including a mixed reality system including a system camera and external cameras.
Germer et al. (US Patent No. 11,099,634) teaches manipulation of virtual objects using tracked physical objects.
Kaehler et al. (US Pub. No. 2018/0005034) teaches estimating poses in 3D spaces.
/KENNETH B LEE JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2625