Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments of 9/15/26 have been entered.
Applicant’s amendments regarding the shape of the cylindrical or partially cylindrical body have been found persuasive with respect to differentiating from Hughes. It has necessitated the new grounds of rejection presented below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Vierke (US 20150021946 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Vierke teaches a clamping head arrangement for clamping a drill rod element, the clamping head arrangement having:
- a plurality of clamping jaw elements (Fig 5, elements 12, 14, 16, 18), each of which has a clamping surface which is designed for clamping contact with a contact side of the drill rod element (Fig 5, Para 0042 “clamping surface 28”), and
- a main body (Fig 5, body 8) with guide tracks (Fig 5, tracks 22), along which the clamping jaw elements are displaceably mounted (Fig 7-8, Para 0046, see movement between the figures), wherein the guide tracks are angled to a centre axis of the clamping head arrangement (Fig 7-8, angling best seen in Fig 7-8), so that displacement of the clamping jaw elements along the guide tracks causes axial and radial displacement of the clamping jaw elements with respect to the centre axis (Fig 7-8, see movement between the figures), wherein
- the clamping jaw elements are each designed with a cylindrical guide body (Fig 5, portion 20 is cylindrical, as seen) or a partially cylindrical guide body having a D-shaped cross-section (note, the first alternative is taught), and
- the guide tracks in the main body are formed as partially cylindrical guide channels (Fig 5, 22 is at least partially cylindrical, as seen), in each of which the guide body of one of the plurality of clamping jaw elements is displaceably mounted (Fig 7-8, see movement between the figures and Para 0046).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Hughes (US 20110259577 A1), in view of Vierke (US 20150021946 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Hughes teaches a clamping head arrangement for clamping a drill rod element, having
- a plurality of clamping jaw elements (Fig 1c, segments 740), each of which has a clamping surface which is designed (Fig 1c, inner surface of 740) for clamping contact with a contact side of the drill rod element (Para 0041), and
- a main body (Fig 1c, 750e) with guide tracks (Para 0059, Fig 1c, frustoconical surfaces 752 of body 750 and keyway which engages key 742 of segments 740), along which the clamping jaw elements are displaceably mounted, wherein the guide tracks are angled to a centre axis of the clamping head arrangement (Para 0059, “frustoconical” surfaces are angled), so that displacement of the clamping jaw elements along the guide tracks causes axial and radial displacement of the clamping jaw elements with respect to the centre axis (Para 0059, Para 0054, “holder 740 constricts radially inward. Yet, when the holder 740 moves upward, towards the disengaged position (FIG. 4b) the holder 740 expands radially outward.”).
Hughes is not explicit on the clamping jaw elements are each designed with a cylindrical or partially cylindrical guide body including a curved outer surface having a constant radius along a longitudinal axis of the guide body, and the guide tracks in the main body are formed as partially cylindrical guide channels, in each of which the guide body of one of the plurality of clamping jaw elements is displaceably mounted.
Vierke teaches the clamping jaw elements are each designed with a cylindrical or partially cylindrical guide body including a curved outer surface having a constant radius along a longitudinal axis of the guide body (Fig 5, portion 20 is cylindrical, as seen, with a constant radius by virtue of its shape, see also Para 0046), and
the guide tracks in the main body are formed as partially cylindrical guide channels (Fig 5, 22 is at least partially cylindrical, as seen), in each of which the guide body of one of the plurality of clamping jaw elements is displaceably mounted (Fig 7-8, see movement between the figures and Para 0046).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention disclosed by Hughes by having the recited particualrs of the jaw element with the cylindrical guide body and corresponding track in the main body as disclosed by Vierke because functions to “guide the sliding motion of the clamp elements along the conically tapering inner circumferential surface of the device body” and provides stabilizing functions (Para 0011).
Regarding claim 2, Hughes as modified teaches wherein the partially cylindrical guide channels are open on a side facing the drill rod element to be clamped (Fig 5 of Vierke, the guide channels 22 face the inner diameter/where the drill rod would be).
Regarding claim 3, Hughes teaches wherein the main body is designed annularly with a free interior for receiving the drill rod element and the guide channels are open to the interior (Fig 1a, annularly designed/with an open interior bore to receive a drill rod).
Regarding claim 4, Hughes teaches wherein the main body is designed in the form of a shaft or block (Fig 1c, the main body 750e is designed as a shaft or block, as seen) with an inner circumferential side in which the partially cylindrical guide channels with the clamping jaw elements are arranged (Fig 1c, located on the inner circumferential side of 750e), wherein a tubular drill rod element can be clamped on an inner side (Para 0041, 0054, 0059).
Regarding claim 5, Hughes teaches wherein the clamping jaw elements are connected to at least one actuator (Para 0055, hydraulic cylinders/actuators), which is mounted so as to be displaceable relative to the main body for displacing the clamping jaw elements (Para 0055, actuator, at least the portion coupled via 760 is displaceable).
Regarding claim 6, Hughes teaches wherein the at least one actuator is axially displaceable by means of at least one actuating cylinder (Para 0055, hydraulic cylinders/actuators).
Regarding claim 7, Hughes teaches wherein each clamping jaw element is connected to the actuator with a clearance via a connecting device (Fig 1c, Para 0059 clearance results from connecting device 760).
Regarding claim 8, Hughes teaches wherein a hook arrangement is formed on a rear region of each clamping jaw element to form the connecting device and engages in an associated receiving mount on the actuator (Para 0055, connecting device 760 is/is formed by a hook eye).
Regarding claim 9, Hughes teaches wherein the clamping head arrangement for forming a drill drive arrangement can be driven in rotation via at least one rotary drive (Fig 1c, Para 0059).
Regarding claim 10, Hughes teaches a drilling device for creating a borehole with at least one drill rod element (Para 0049, tubular member 105), wherein a clamping head arrangement according to claim 1 is provided (see parent claim).
Conclusion
/THEODORE N YAO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3676