DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 8/17/2026have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burns (US 2017/0277256) in view of DiVerdi (US 2019/0056848) and Marks (US 10,112,111).
Regarding claim 1, Burns teaches A method comprising: receiving extended reality (XR) content data comprising a portion of an XR environment viewable via an XR display, being used by an XR user ([0053-0059] teaches the virtual reality computing system can be an augmented reality experience that provides wholly or partially transparent from the perspective of the wearer to create an see-through display [0057].), in an orientation of the XR display; generating, based on the orientation of the XR display ([0017-0018] teaches the system recognizes user navigation and will adjust the immersive experience accordingly], a viewport region to be output on a display of a display device separate from the XR display ([0016-0018] teaches that a system will recognize a gaze target from a field of view and dim the field of view around the gaze target while a user is navigate as seen in Fig. 2-4 and 6.),.Although Burns teaches the limitations as discussed above, he fails to teach wherein the viewport region has a size relative to the display, an orientation relative to the display, and a position within the display, that are each based on the orientation of the XR display; and causing output, via the display, of the viewport region having the size, the orientation, and the position.
However in the field of creating a viewing experience for a user, Diverdi teaches a method of collaborative interaction with virtual reality where a viewport region is a sub-portion of the portion of the XR environment (Viewport 516 is a portion of the view of the user) has a size relative to the display (Fig. 6D/7D show viewports with different sizes [0078]), an orientation relative to the display([0066-0069] teaches the system tracks orientation of the head of the user and outputs the data), and a position within the display (Figs.6A/B through 7A/B) , that are each based on the orientation of the XR display; and causing output, via the display, of the viewport region having the size([0078]), the orientation, and the position ([0078-0087]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the device as taught by Burns with the method of creating a viewport as taught by DiVerdi. This combination would help improve a user viewing experience by protecting against nausea encountered as discussed bey Diverdi [0005]. The combination teach the limitations as discussed above but do not teach that the viewport is output on a display of a non-XR display device.
However in the field of providing a method of shared data content, Marks teaches a system where a view of an XR device is output on a display of a non-XR display device (Fig. 2B and 4 show how the view of the VR environment is present on display 107 for spectators of observe.).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the device as taught by Burns with the method of creating a viewport as taught by DiVerdi and the presentation method as taught by Marks. This combination would help improve a user viewing experience by allowing presenting entertainment to multiple observers as taught by Marks.
Regarding claim 2, DiVerdi teaches receiving data indicating a plurality of orientations of the XR display associated with a plurality of times, wherein: the generating the viewport region comprises generating, based on the plurality of orientations of the XR display, a corresponding plurality of corresponding viewport regions having sizes relative to the display, orientations relative to the display, and positions within the display (Figs. 6D and 7D), that are based on corresponding orientations of the plurality of orientations, wherein the viewport region is one of the plurality of viewport regions; and generating an observation video comprising the plurality of viewport regions, having the sizes, orientations and positions, in a sequence corresponding to the plurality of times([0078-0087]).
Regarding claim 3, DiVerdi teaches wherein the viewport region further has a shape that is based on the orientation of the XR display (viewport 516 shows a shape in 6A/7A from a first orientation and a different shape in 6B/7B from a second orientation.).
Regarding claim 4, DiVerdi teaches a horizontal field of view (FOV) of the viewport region is narrower than a horizontal FOV of a portion of the XR environment viewable via the XR display in the orientation of the XR display, and a vertical FOV of the viewport region is narrower than a vertical FOV of the portion of the XR environment viewable via the XR display in the orientation of the XR display (viewport 516 is narrower than the XR environment in both the vertical and horizontal direction).
Regarding claim 5, DiVerdi teaches wherein the size of the viewport region is smaller than a size of the display (view port 516 is smaller than display).
Regarding claim 6, DiVerdi teaches the XR environment comprises one or more of: a virtual reality (VR) environment, or an augmented reality (AR) environment ([0029]); and the XR display comprises one or more of: a head-mounted display (HMD) worn by the XR user, or a tablet computer held by the XR user ([0030]).
Regarding 7, DiVerdi wherein the viewport region has a trapezoidal shape with relative side lengths based on the orientation of the XR display (viewport 516).
Regarding claim 8, Burns teaches A computer comprising: one or more processors; and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors(computing system 1100), cause the computer to: receiving extended reality (XR) content data comprising a portion of an XR environment viewable via an XR display, being used by an XR user ([0053-0059] teaches the virtual reality computing system can be an augmented reality experience that provides wholly or partially transparent from the perspective of the wearer to create an see-through display [0057].), in an orientation of the XR display; generating, based on the orientation of the XR display ([0017-0018] teaches the system recognizes user navigation and will adjust the immersive experience accordingly], a viewport region to be output on a display of a display device separate from the XR display ([0016-0018] teaches that a system will recognize a gaze target from a field of view and dim the field of view around the gaze target while a user is navigate as seen in Fig. 2-4 and 6.),.Although Burns teaches the limitations as discussed above, he fails to teach wherein the viewport region has a size relative to the display, an orientation relative to the display, and a position within the display, that are each based on the orientation of the XR display; and causing output, via the display, of the viewport region having the size, the orientation, and the position.
However in the field of creating a viewing experience for a user, Diverdi teaches a method of collaborative interaction with virtual reality where a viewport region has a size relative to the display (Fig. 6D/7D show viewports with different sizes [0078]), an orientation relative to the display([0066-0069] teaches the system tracks orientation of the head of the user and outputs the data), and a position within the display (Figs.6A/B through 7A/B) , that are each based on the orientation of the XR display; and causing output, via the display, of the viewport region having the size([0078]), the orientation, and the position ([0078-0087]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the device as taught by Burns with the method of creating a viewport as taught by DiVerdi. This combination would help improve a user viewing experience by protecting against nausea encountered as discussed bey Diverdi [0005]. The combination teach the limitations as discussed above but do not teach that the viewport is output on a display of a non-XR display device.
However in the field of providing a method of shared data content, Marks teaches a system where a view of an XR device is output on a display of a non-XR display device (Fig. 2B and 4 show how the view of the VR environment is present on display 107 for spectators of observe.).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the device as taught by Burns with the method of creating a viewport as taught by DiVerdi and the presentation method as taught by Marks. This combination would help improve a user viewing experience by allowing presenting entertainment to multiple observers as taught by Marks.
Regarding claim 9, DiVerdi teaches receiving data indicating a plurality of orientations of the XR display associated with a plurality of times, wherein: the generating the viewport region comprises generating, based on the plurality of orientations of the XR display, a corresponding plurality of corresponding viewport regions having sizes relative to the display, orientations relative to the display, and positions within the display (Figs. 6D and 7D), that are based on corresponding orientations of the plurality of orientations, wherein the viewport region is one of the plurality of viewport regions; and generating an observation video comprising the plurality of viewport regions, having the sizes, orientations and positions, in a sequence corresponding to the plurality of times([0078-0087]).
Regarding claim 10, DiVerdi teaches wherein the viewport region further has a shape that is based on the orientation of the XR display (viewport 516 shows a shape in 6A/7A from a first orientation and a different shape in 6B/7B from a second orientation.).
Regarding claim 11, DiVerdi teaches a horizontal field of view (FOV) of the viewport region is narrower than a horizontal FOV of a portion of the XR environment viewable via the XR display in the orientation of the XR display, and a vertical FOV of the viewport region is narrower than a vertical FOV of the portion of the XR environment viewable via the XR display in the orientation of the XR display (viewport 516 is narrower than the XR environment in both the vertical and horizontal direction).
Regarding claim 12, DiVerdi teaches wherein the size of the viewport region is smaller than a size of the display (view port 516 is smaller than display).
Regarding claim 13, DiVerdi teaches the XR environment comprises one or more of: a virtual reality (VR) environment, or an augmented reality (AR) environment ([0029]); and the XR display comprises one or more of: a head-mounted display (HMD) worn by the XR user, or a tablet computer held by the XR user ([0030]).
Regarding 14, DiVerdi wherein the viewport region has a trapezoidal shape with relative side lengths based on the orientation of the XR display (viewport 516).
Regarding claim 15, Burns teaches A method comprising: receiving extended reality (XR) content data comprising a portion of an XR environment viewable via an XR display, being used by an XR user ([0053-0059] teaches the virtual reality computing system can be an augmented reality experience that provides wholly or partially transparent from the perspective of the wearer to create an see-through display [0057].), in an orientation of the XR display; generating, based on the orientation of the XR display ([0017-0018] teaches the system recognizes user navigation and will adjust the immersive experience accordingly], a viewport region to be output on a display of a display device separate from the XR display ([0016-0018] teaches that a system will recognize a gaze target from a field of view and dim the field of view around the gaze target while a user is navigate as seen in Fig. 2-4 and 6.),.Although Burns teaches the limitations as discussed above, he fails to teach wherein the viewport region has a size relative to the display, an orientation relative to the display, and a position within the display, that are each based on the orientation of the XR display; and causing output, via the display, of the viewport region having the size, the orientation, and the position.
However in the field of creating a viewing experience for a user, Diverdi teaches non-transitory computer readable medium comprising instructions to ([0122]) a method of collaborative interaction with virtual reality where a viewport region has a size relative to the display (Fig. 6D/7D show viewports with different sizes [0078]), an orientation relative to the display([0066-0069] teaches the system tracks orientation of the head of the user and outputs the data), and a position within the display (Figs.6A/B through 7A/B) , that are each based on the orientation of the XR display; and causing output, via the display, of the viewport region having the size([0078]), the orientation, and the position ([0078-0087]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the device as taught by Burns with the method of creating a viewport as taught by DiVerdi. This combination would help improve a user viewing experience by protecting against nausea encountered as discussed bey Diverdi [0005]. The combination teach the limitations as discussed above but do not teach that the viewport is output on a display of a non-XR display device.
However in the field of providing a method of shared data content, Marks teaches a system where a view of an XR device is output on a display of a non-XR display device (Fig. 2B and 4 show how the view of the VR environment is present on display 107 for spectators of observe.).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the device as taught by Burns with the method of creating a viewport as taught by DiVerdi and the presentation method as taught by Marks. This combination would help improve a user viewing experience by allowing presenting entertainment to multiple observers as taught by Marks.
Regarding claim 16, DiVerdi teaches receiving data indicating a plurality of orientations of the XR display associated with a plurality of times, wherein: the generating the viewport region comprises generating, based on the plurality of orientations of the XR display, a corresponding plurality of corresponding viewport regions having sizes relative to the display, orientations relative to the display, and positions within the display (Figs. 6D and 7D), that are based on corresponding orientations of the plurality of orientations, wherein the viewport region is one of the plurality of viewport regions; and generating an observation video comprising the plurality of viewport regions, having the sizes, orientations and positions, in a sequence corresponding to the plurality of times([0078-0087]).
Regarding claim 17, DiVerdi teaches wherein the viewport region further has a shape that is based on the orientation of the XR display (viewport 516 shows a shape in 6A/7A from a first orientation and a different shape in 6B/7B from a second orientation.).
Regarding claim 18, DiVerdi teaches a horizontal field of view (FOV) of the viewport region is narrower than a horizontal FOV of a portion of the XR environment viewable via the XR display in the orientation of the XR display, and a vertical FOV of the viewport region is narrower than a vertical FOV of the portion of the XR environment viewable via the XR display in the orientation of the XR display (viewport 516 is narrower than the XR environment in both the vertical and horizontal direction).
Regarding claim 19, DiVerdi teaches wherein the size of the viewport region is smaller than a size of the display (view port 516 is smaller than display).
Regarding claim 20, DiVerdi teaches the XR environment comprises one or more of: a virtual reality (VR) environment, or an augmented reality (AR) environment ([0029]); and the XR display comprises one or more of: a head-mounted display (HMD) worn by the XR user, or a tablet computer held by the XR user ([0030]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANDRE L MATTHEWS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621