DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1, 7-30 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Geetha (IN-2004CH00392A; submitted by applicant on 7/24/26) in view of Santos et al (Life sciences, 2004, 75, 1917-1924).
Scope of prior art
Geetha teaches dibenzo alpha pyrones (DBP), including 3,8 dihydroxy DBP (urolithin A) as being helpful in alleviating inflammatory conditions and prostaglandin mediated allergic conditions that can be used orally or topically (4th page, Detailed description, first two paragraphs).
Ascertaining the difference
Geetha does not teach an oral composition comprising urolithin A in combination with creatine. Geetha also does not teach the amount of Urolithin A in the composition.
Secondary reference
Santos teaches that creatine supplementation reduces increase in PGE2 and TNF-α both of which are markers for muscle inflammation. Muscle inflammation is an inflammatory condition.
Obviousness
A skilled artisan prior to the earliest effective filing date of the current application, would have found it obvious to combine creatine and Urolithin A into a single dose oral formulation. Geetha teaches that Urolithin A can be administered to alleviate an inflammatory condition. Santos teaches that creatine alleviates muscle inflammation, which is an inflammatory condition. Since both agents are described as having utility in alleviating an inflammatory condition, it would have been obvious to make a single formulation comprising Urolithin A and creatine with an expectation that the formulation would have utility in alleviating an inflammatory condition, specifically muscle inflammation.
2144.06 Art Recognized Equivalence for the Same Purpose [R-08.2012]
I. COMBINING EQUIVALENTS KNOWN FOR THE SAME PURPOSE
“It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art.” In reKerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980) (citations omitted) (Claims to a process of preparing a spray-dried detergent by mixing together two conventional spray-dried detergents were held to be prima facie obvious.). See also In reCrockett, 279 F.2d 274, 126 USPQ 186 (CCPA 1960) (Claims directed to a method and material for treating cast iron using a mixture comprising calcium carbide and magnesium oxide were held unpatentable over prior art disclosures that the aforementioned components individually promote the formation of a nodular structure in cast iron.); and Ex parteQuadranti, 25 USPQ2d 1071 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1992) (mixture of two known herbicides held prima facie obvious).
With regards to specific amounts of each agent present in the composition, a skilled artisan would have found it obvious to determine the optimal amount of Utolithin A and creatine to add to the composition. Dose optimization is well within the real of routine experimentation. Applicants can overcome this rejection by demonstration of unexpected results derived from administration of a specifically claimed dose.
Conclusion
Claims 1 and 7-30 are pending
Claims 1 and 7-30 are rejected
/YEVGENY VALENROD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1628