DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/27/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: operation unit, control unit, and obtaining unit in claim 1 as well as an operation apparatus, control apparatus, and an obtaining apparatus in claim 16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9 and 14-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moon et al (pub # 20140184501) in view of Ohashi et al (pub # 20210046380).
Consider claim 1. Moon et al teaches An information processing apparatus (Fig. 1 and paragraph 0049, input apparatus 200).
which accepts an input of a user via an operation unit which is supported and operated by a hand, (Fig. 5 and paragraphs 0109 and 0111, input apparatus 200 comprising button 220, wherein the button 220 receives a user command for selecting an item or dragging an item.).
the information processing apparatus comprising:
a control unit configured to control an indicator position indicated by the user according to a motion of the operation unit; (Figs. 1, 9A and 9B as well as at least paragraph 0055, In the display system according to an exemplary embodiment, the user may place the cursor on a point that he or she wants using the input apparatus 200 of the absolute mapping method, such as a pointing device, and execute display items.).
wherein in a case where a predetermined fluctuation of the hand finger before an operation is performed on an operation member included in the operation unit occurs based on the position or the orientation of the hand finger which is obtained by the obtaining unit, (paragraph 0148, The input apparatus 200 receives a button selection command (in operation S1040). In addition, the input apparatus 200 transmits a button selection command to the display apparatus 100).
the control unit restricts a movement of the indicator position even when the operation unit is moved by the predetermined fluctuation. (Figs. 9A and 9B as well as paragraphs 0102-0104, when movements are detected by the input apparatus 200 by a button selection command, the controller 130, as illustrated in a dotted line in FIG. 9b, can calculate a coordinate value calculated after receiving a button selection command as a coordinate value (x2, y2) outside the second item 910-2. However, the controller 130 can compensate a coordinate value calculated after receiving a button selection command to a coordinate value (x1, y1) which has no change of a coordinate value calculated during a predetermined time before receiving a button selection command. Therefore, the controller 130, when receiving a button selection command from the input apparatus 200 while a cursor is located on an item, even though a coordinate value calculated after receiving a button selection command exceeds an item, if a coordinate value of a stable position before receiving a button selection command exists, can compensate a coordinate value of the cursor 920 within an item. When the user selects the button in the method described above according to an exemplary embodiment, input errors may be minimized.).
Moon et al does not specifically disclose and an obtaining unit configured to obtain a position or an orientation of a hand finger of the user from a captured image.
In an analogous art Ohashi et al teaches and an obtaining unit configured to obtain a position or an orientation of a hand finger of the user from a captured image. (paragraph 0024, there is a method of estimating the posture and the shape of the hand of the user on the basis of information regarding an image obtained by the detection unit 26. Paragraph 0029, The detection unit 26 is, for example, a pair of cameras installed to capture an image in a direction so as to capture images of the user holding the controller device 10).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the detection unit of Ohashi et al with the apparatus of Moon et al so that information regarding the posture and shape of the user's hand can be acquired more precisely (Ohashi et al paragraph 0007).
Consider claim 16. Moon et al teaches A system of an information processing apparatus (Fig. 1 and paragraph 0049, input apparatus 200).
which accepts an input of a user via an operation apparatus which is supported and operated by a hand, (Fig. 5 and paragraphs 0109 and 0111, input apparatus 200 comprising button 220, wherein the button 220 receives a user command for selecting an item or dragging an item.).
the system comprising:
a control apparatus configured to control an indicator position indicated by the user according to a motion of the operation apparatus; (Figs. 1, 9A and 9B as well as at least paragraph 0055, In the display system according to an exemplary embodiment, the user may place the cursor on a point that he or she wants using the input apparatus 200 of the absolute mapping method, such as a pointing device, and execute display items.).
wherein in a case where a predetermined fluctuation of the hand finger before an operation on an operation member included in the operation apparatus is performed occurs based on the position or the orientation of the hand finger which is obtained by the obtaining apparatus, (paragraph 0148, The input apparatus 200 receives a button selection command (in operation S1040). In addition, the input apparatus 200 transmits a button selection command to the display apparatus 100).
the control apparatus restricts a movement of the indicator position even when the operation apparatus is moved by the predetermined fluctuation. (Figs. 9A and 9B as well as paragraphs 0102-0104, when movements are detected by the input apparatus 200 by a button selection command, the controller 130, as illustrated in a dotted line in FIG. 9b, can calculate a coordinate value calculated after receiving a button selection command as a coordinate value (x2, y2) outside the second item 910-2. However, the controller 130 can compensate a coordinate value calculated after receiving a button selection command to a coordinate value (x1, y1) which has no change of a coordinate value calculated during a predetermined time before receiving a button selection command. Therefore, the controller 130, when receiving a button selection command from the input apparatus 200 while a cursor is located on an item, even though a coordinate value calculated after receiving a button selection command exceeds an item, if a coordinate value of a stable position before receiving a button selection command exists, can compensate a coordinate value of the cursor 920 within an item. When the user selects the button in the method described above according to an exemplary embodiment, input errors may be minimized.).
Moon et al does not specifically disclose and an obtaining apparatus configured to obtain a position or an orientation of a hand finger of the user from a captured image.
In an analogous art Ohashi et al teaches and an obtaining apparatus configured to obtain a position or an orientation of a hand finger of the user from a captured image. (paragraph 0024, there is a method of estimating the posture and the shape of the hand of the user on the basis of information regarding an image obtained by the detection unit 26. Paragraph 0029, The detection unit 26 is, for example, a pair of cameras installed to capture an image in a direction so as to capture images of the user holding the controller device 10).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the detection unit of Ohashi et al with the apparatus of Moon et al so that information regarding the posture and shape of the user's hand can be acquired more precisely (Ohashi et al paragraph 0007).
Consider claim 17. Moon et al teaches A control method of an information processing apparatus (Fig. 1 and paragraph 0049, input apparatus 200).
which accepts an input of a user via an operation apparatus which is supported and operated by a hand, (Fig. 5 and paragraphs 0109 and 0111, input apparatus 200 comprising button 220, wherein the button 220 receives a user command for selecting an item or dragging an item.).
the control method comprising:
controlling an indicator position indicated by the user according to a motion of the operation apparatus; (Figs. 1, 9A and 9B as well as at least paragraph 0055, In the display system according to an exemplary embodiment, the user may place the cursor on a point that he or she wants using the input apparatus 200 of the absolute mapping method, such as a pointing device, and execute display items.).
wherein in a case where a predetermined fluctuation of the hand finger before an operation on an operation member included in the operation apparatus is performed occurs based on the position or the orientation of the hand finger which is obtained in the obtaining, (paragraph 0148, The input apparatus 200 receives a button selection command (in operation S1040). In addition, the input apparatus 200 transmits a button selection command to the display apparatus 100).
the controlling includes restricting a movement of the indicator position even when the operation apparatus is moved by the predetermined fluctuation. (Figs. 9A and 9B as well as paragraphs 0102-0104, when movements are detected by the input apparatus 200 by a button selection command, the controller 130, as illustrated in a dotted line in FIG. 9b, can calculate a coordinate value calculated after receiving a button selection command as a coordinate value (x2, y2) outside the second item 910-2. However, the controller 130 can compensate a coordinate value calculated after receiving a button selection command to a coordinate value (x1, y1) which has no change of a coordinate value calculated during a predetermined time before receiving a button selection command. Therefore, the controller 130, when receiving a button selection command from the input apparatus 200 while a cursor is located on an item, even though a coordinate value calculated after receiving a button selection command exceeds an item, if a coordinate value of a stable position before receiving a button selection command exists, can compensate a coordinate value of the cursor 920 within an item. When the user selects the button in the method described above according to an exemplary embodiment, input errors may be minimized.).
Moon et al does not specifically disclose and obtaining a position or an orientation of a hand finger of the user from a captured image.
In an analogous art Ohashi et al teaches and obtaining a position or an orientation of a hand finger of the user from a captured image. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the detection unit of Ohashi et al with the apparatus of Moon et al so that information regarding the posture and shape of the user's hand can be acquired more precisely (Ohashi et al paragraph 0007).
Consider claim 2. Moon et al does not specifically disclose The information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the predetermined fluctuation is a fluctuation of a coordinate position of a joint point that is a point where a position of at least one of a joint of the hand finger or a fingertip is estimated.
In an analogous art Ohashi et al teaches wherein the predetermined fluctuation is a fluctuation of a coordinate position of a joint point that is a point where a position of at least one of a joint of the hand finger or a fingertip is estimated. (paragraph 0046, information regarding a position (x, y, z) of the hand of the user holding the controller device 10, and the posture and the shape (an angle α around the lower arm direction of the user's wrist, an amount of bending β of the wrist joint, inclinations θY1, θY2, . . . of respective fingers, rotation angles θR1, θR2, . . . of respective fingers, and bending amounts θP1, θP2, . . . of respective fingers) is obtained.).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of Ohashi et al with the system and method of Moon et al so that information regarding the posture and shape of the user's hand can be acquired more precisely (Ohashi et al paragraph 0007).
Consider claim 3. Ohashi et al further teaches The information processing apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the predetermined fluctuation is a fluctuation in which the coordinate positions of the joint points of two or more fingers including a wearing finger that is a finger wearing the operation unit are within a predetermined distance and a distance between the coordinate positions is reduced. (Fig. 4 and paragraph 0033, when the information regarding the distance measured by each of the proximity sensors 13 is illustrated as a graph in the order of arrangement from the index finger side to the little finger side of the user's hand to which the controller device 10 is fixed, in the case where the user bends all the fingers, as illustrated in FIG. 4, the distances from the proximity sensors 13 to the bent fingers are obtained so that the positions at respective fingers forming peaks (downward peaks) P1, P2, . . . are observed. Also see at least Fig. 2 where the controller device 10 is worn around the user’s fingers).
Consider claim 4. Moon et al further teaches The information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein in a case where the predetermined fluctuation occurs, the control unit restricts the movement of the indicator position by setting a correction value for subtracting a change amount of the motion of the operation unit by the predetermined fluctuation. (paragraph 0094, When it is determined that the button selection command is a click, the controller 130 may replace a coordinate value calculated after receiving the button selection command to a coordinate value of a stable position calculated before receiving the button selection command, and display the cursor on the compensated coordinate value. The coordinate value of the stable position is a coordinate value of a section in which there is no changes in the calculated coordinate value during a predetermined period of time before receiving the button selection command.).
Consider claim 5. Moon et al further teaches The information processing apparatus according to claim 4, wherein in a case where the predetermined fluctuation is ended, the control unit performs control in a manner that the indicator position is moved from the indicator position according to the motion of the operation unit while the correction value is maintained. (paragraph 0094, When it is determined that the button selection command is a click, the controller 130 may replace a coordinate value calculated after receiving the button selection command to a coordinate value of a stable position calculated before receiving the button selection command, and display the cursor on the compensated coordinate value. The coordinate value of the stable position is a coordinate value of a section in which there is no changes in the calculated coordinate value during a predetermined period of time before receiving the button selection command.).
Consider claim 6. Moon et al further teaches The information processing apparatus according to claim 4, wherein in a case where the predetermined fluctuation is ended, the control unit ends the setting of the correction value, and performs control in a manner that the indicator position is moved from the indicator position according to the motion of the operation unit. (paragraph 0094, When it is determined that the button selection command is a click, the controller 130 may replace a coordinate value calculated after receiving the button selection command to a coordinate value of a stable position calculated before receiving the button selection command, and display the cursor on the compensated coordinate value. The coordinate value of the stable position is a coordinate value of a section in which there is no changes in the calculated coordinate value during a predetermined period of time before receiving the button selection command.).
Consider claim 7. Moon et al further teaches The information processing apparatus according to claim 4, wherein the control unit controls an image to be displayed on a display unit, ends the setting of the correction value in a case where and the indicator position is not displayed from the image, and performs control in a manner that the indicator position is moved from the indicator position according to the motion of the operation unit. (paragraph 0094, When it is determined that the button selection command is a click, the controller 130 may replace a coordinate value calculated after receiving the button selection command to a coordinate value of a stable position calculated before receiving the button selection command, and display the cursor on the compensated coordinate value. The coordinate value of the stable position is a coordinate value of a section in which there is no changes in the calculated coordinate value during a predetermined period of time before receiving the button selection command.).
Consider claim 8. Moon et al further teaches The information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the operation unit is a controller that is operable by being supported and lifted by at least any of a hand, a finger, and an arm. (Fig. 1 and paragraph 0049, The input apparatus 200 may be a pointing device as shown in FIG. 1, but it is merely an example. The input apparatus 200 may be implemented in diverse devices, such as a digital pen.).
Consider claim 9. Moon et al further teaches The information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the operation unit is a controller provided with a button as the operation member, and the predetermined fluctuation includes a fluctuation of a position or an orientation of a hand finger when the button is pressed. (paragraph 0114, When the button 220 is selected, the controller 240 may replace a coordinate value calculated after the button 220 is selected with a coordinate value of the stable position calculated before the button 220 is selected, and control the communicator 230 to transmit a button selection command and information on the coordinate value of the stable position to the display apparatus 100.).
Consider claim 14. Moon et al further teaches The information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein in a case where a magnitude of the predetermined fluctuation is smaller than or equal to a predetermined threshold, the movement of the indicator position is restricted. (paragraph 0065, the controller 130 determines whether a period of time when the button selection command is received is lower than a predetermined period of time (e.g., 1 second). When the period of time when the button selection command is received is equal to or lower than the predetermined period of time, the controller 130 may determine that the button selection command is a click, may replace a coordinate value calculated after receiving the button selection command with a coordinate value of the stable position).
Consider claim 15. Moon et al further teaches The information processing apparatus according to claim 14, wherein a value distinct to each user can be set as the threshold. (paragraph 0107, It is possible to use different thresholds for different coordinates i.e., x-coordinates may have different threshold values from the y-coordinates. The difference may be based on knowledge of user actions and the input apparatus. For example, if the button is located on a right side of the input apparatus, it is possible that the user will move the input apparatus to the right when reaching for the button. Accordingly, the x-axis may have a different threshold value as opposed to the y-axis to compensate for the predicted unintended movement of the input apparatus to the right.).
Claim(s) 10-13 are is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moon et al (pub # 20140184501) in view of Ohashi et al (pub # 20210046380) and further in view of Nishizawa (pub # 20190227642.
Consider claim 10. Moon et al in view of Ohashi et al does not specifically disclose The information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the operation unit is a controller provided with a touch panel as the operation member, and the predetermined fluctuation includes a fluctuation of a position or an orientation of a hand finger when the touch panel is touched.
In an analogous art Nishizawa teaches wherein the operation unit is a controller provided with a touch panel as the operation member, (Fig. 9 and paragraph 0075, control device 10A includes a touch sensor 115).
and the predetermined fluctuation includes a fluctuation of a position or an orientation of a hand finger when the touch panel is touched. (paragraph 0076, The touch sensor 115 is a sensor configured to detect a contact of an object by a finger or the like of the user, and detects the contact operation of the finger as a second operation.).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the features of Nishizawa with the invention of Moon et al in view of Ohashi et al so that in a case that the input contents are determined based on the display position of the pointer 330 when the touch sensor 115 detects a contact operation, it is possible to input an accurate operation. As a result, it is possible to improve the operability of an operation performed by using the control device 10A (Nishizawa paragraph 0209).
Consider claim 11. Moon et al in view of Ohashi et al does not specifically disclose The information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the obtaining unit further obtains a position or an orientation of the operation unit, and in a case where the obtaining unit obtains a fluctuation of a position or an orientation of the operation unit which is independent of a fluctuation of the hand finger of the user, the control unit restricts the movement of the indicator position according to the fluctuation of the position or the orientation of the operation unit which is independent of the fluctuation of the hand finger of the user. However Nishizawa in at least Figs. 15-17 as well as paragraphs 0185-0188 discloses a method of determining the a position and orientation of a control device 10A and then limiting the movement amount. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the features of Nishizawa with the invention of Moon et al in view of Ohashi et al so that in a case of an operation in which the input contents are determined based on the display position of the operation image obtained when the receiving unit receives the second operation, it is possible to input an accurate operation. As a result, it is possible to improve an operability of an operation performed by using the operation device (Nishizawa paragraph 0007).
Consider claim 12. Nishizawa further teaches The information processing apparatus according to claim 11, wherein the obtaining unit obtains the fluctuation of the position or the orientation of the operation unit based on information from the operation unit. (paagraphs 0185-0188).
Consider claim 13. Nishizawa further teaches The information processing apparatus according to claim 11, wherein the fluctuation of the position or the orientation of the operation unit which is independent of the fluctuation of the hand finger of the user is a fluctuation in a rotation direction along a finger wearing the operation unit. (paragraph 0151, In a case where the operation of the control device 10A is detected based on the detected values of the six-axis sensor 111 and the magnetic sensor 113, the display controller 154 detects the rotation direction and the rotation amount (angle) of the control device 10A based on the detected values. The rotation direction and the rotation amount (angle) correspond to an “operation direction and operation amount of the first operation” of the invention. The display controller 154 decides the movement direction and the movement amount of the pointer 330 based on the detected rotation direction and rotation amount (angle) of the control device 10A. The display controller 154 moves the pointer 330 based on the decided movement direction and movement amount.).
Conclusion
/CHAYCE R BIBBEE/Examiner, Art Unit 2624