DETAILED ACTION
This office action is responsive to original claims filed on 08/27/2025. Presently, Claims 1 - 19 remain pending.
Claim Objections
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 4, Line 2 recites “at a predetermine speed”, which should be changed to “at a predetermined speed”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6-9 and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 6, Lines 2-3, and Claim 16, Lines 2-3, recite “… obtains information on at least three planes in consideration of a penetration depth of the infrared rays based on data of the infrared sensor measured …”. Specification, Page 14, Lines 5-17, describes analyzing data obtained from infrared sensors to obtain position information on the YZ plane, the XZ plane, and the YX plane. However, the description misses details on how to analyze the data of the infrared sensors, what kind of data of the infrared sensors are, and what position information on the planes is.
Claim 7, Lines 2-3, and Claim 17, Lines 2-4, recite “… calculates the heating position of the nanomagnetic particles based on position information obtained from at least three infrared sensors …”. Specification, Page 14, Line 21 to Page 15, Line 5, describes the process of calculating a heating position of nanomagnetic particle based on position information of the infrared sensor. However, the described process confusingly uses coordinates of the heating position, (Xm, Ym), as known information (see [Expression 1] and Fig. 4) to calculate (Xm, Ym) as an outcome.
Claim 8, Lines 2-3, and Claim 18, Lines 2-4, recite “… generates three-dimensional position information based on position information obtained from at least three infrared sensors …”. Specification, Page 14, Lines 14-15, merely recites “The processor 110 may obtain three-dimensional position information using the XZ plane and the YX plane.”, without additional details.
Claim 9, Lines 2-3, and Claim 19, Lines 2-3, recite “… generates a two-dimensional image or a three-dimensional image …”. Specification, Page 13, Lines 22-23, merely recites “the processor 110 may generate and output a two-dimensional image or a three-dimensional image of the measurement target 13 based on infrared data.”, without additional details.
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1, Lines 7-8, recites “… rays generated from the measurement target and nanomagnetic particles generated by the magnetic field”. It is unclear what is generated by the magnetic field, infrared rays or nanomagnetic particles or else. For present purposes of examination, Examiner interprets the recited phrase to refer to “… rays generated from the measurement target and nanomagnetic particles, which are heated by the magnetic field”.
Claims 2-9 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) because they inherit the indefiniteness of the claim(s) they respectively depend upon.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sugano et al (US 20090054722 A1; hereafter Sugano).
With regard to Claim 10, Sugano discloses an operation method (Sugano, Fig. 5 discloses a workflow for such method) of an infrared sensor-based nanomagnetic particle medical imaging device (Sugano, Fig. 8 as cited below shows a therapy equipment), the operation method comprising:
Fig. 8 of Sugano
applying, by a processor (Sugano, Para 0051; “FIG. 8 is a schematic illustration of a configuration of a control unit … For the control unit, PC can be used.”), a current to a coil (Sugano, Para 0050; “… a pair of coils 13 carrying an alternating current.”) and generating a magnetic field inside a chamber (Sugano, Para 0050; “For generation of an alternating-current magnetic field used for a high-frequency magnetic field, as shown in FIG. 7, for example, a target site 22 may be arranged between a pair of coils 13 carrying an alternating current.”) in which a measurement target is accommodated (Sugano, Fig. 8 as cited above shows heating unit 35 and temperature measurement unit 31, each of which can be a chamber for accommodating a measurement target, e.g. a human subject);
receiving, by the processor, data about the measurement target and nanomagnetic particles (Sugano, Para 0051; “A value of rise in temperature ΔT after irradiation of a magnetic field from the temperature measurement unit 31 is received by the receiving unit of the temperature measurement 33, and temperature distribution in the vicinity of the target site is monitored by the monitoring unit 36.”) measured through an infrared sensor (Sugano, Para 0052; “… the temperature measurement may be carried out by … imaging of a heating site by placing, in the vicinity of a target site, an apparatus formed by arranging infrared imaging sensors … in a matrix formation.”); and
analyzing, by the processor, the data measured through the infrared sensor (Sugano, Para 0051; “If the value of rise in temperature ΔT is below a target value of rise in temperature ΔTset set in advance as a target, … When ΔT exceeds ΔTset, …”. The disclosed judging process is an analysis of sensor-acquired data) and calculating heating positions of the measurement target and the nanomagnetic particles (Sugano, Para 0051; “… temperature distribution in the vicinity of the target site is monitored by the monitoring unit 36.”).
With regard to Claim 11, Sugano discloses the operation method of Claim 10, wherein the generating of the magnetic field includes:
receiving, by the processor, a temperature of the coil from a temperature sensor (Sugano, Para 0052; “For the temperature measurement unit 31 … the temperature measurement may be carried out by … imaging of a heating site by placing, in the vicinity of a target site, an apparatus formed by arranging infrared imaging sensors … in a matrix formation.” The disclosed temperature measurement unit 31 may use “infrared imaging sensors”, which is also a temperature sensor, and shown in cited Fig. 8 above, covers coils 13); and
controlling, by the processor, the current applied to the coil or a coolant injection according to the temperature of the coil measured through the temperature sensor (Sugano, Para 0051; “When ΔT exceeds ΔTset, the high-frequency magnetic field irradiation by the heating unit 35 is brought to a halt, and the treatment is terminated.”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5-9 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugano, in view of Cao et al (US 20190206051 A1; hereafter Cao).
With regard to Claim 1, Sugano discloses an infrared sensor-based nanomagnetic particle medical imaging device (Sugano, Fig. 8 as cited above shows a therapy equipment) comprising:
a coil (coil 13) configured to generate a magnetic field (Sugano, Para 0050; “For generation of an alternating-current magnetic field used for a high-frequency magnetic field, as shown in FIG. 7, for example, a target site 22 may be arranged between a pair of coils 13 carrying an alternating current.”) inside a chamber in which a measurement target is accommodated (Sugano, Fig. 8 shows heating unit 35 and temperature measurement unit 31, each of which can be a chamber for accommodating a measurement target, e.g. a human subject);
an infrared sensor which detects infrared rays generated from the measurement target and nanomagnetic particles (Sugano, Para 0052; “… the temperature measurement may be carried out by … imaging of a heating site by placing, in the vicinity of a target site, an apparatus formed by arranging infrared imaging sensors … in a matrix formation.”) generated by the magnetic field (Sugano, Para 0050; “… any electromagnetic wave can be used as long as it has a frequency capable of applying high-frequency dielectric heating to the magnetic fine particles …”);
a temperature sensor configured to measure temperatures of the coil and the measurement target (Sugano, Para 0052; “For the temperature measurement unit 31 … the temperature measurement may be carried out by … imaging of a heating site by placing, in the vicinity of a target site, an apparatus formed by arranging infrared imaging sensors … in a matrix formation.” The disclosed temperature measurement unit 31 may use “infrared imaging sensors, which is also a temperature sensor, and shown in cited Fig. 8 above, covers both coils 13 and target site 22); and
a processor (Sugano, Para 0051; “FIG. 8 is a schematic illustration of a configuration of a control unit … For the control unit, PC can be used.”) configured to control a current applied to the coil to generate the magnetic field in the chamber (Sugano, Para 0052; “… the heating unit 35 irradiates a high-frequency magnetic field in accordance with a signal from the control unit of heating 34”), analyze data measured through the infrared sensor (Sugano, Para 0051; “A value of rise in temperature ΔT after irradiation of a magnetic field from the temperature measurement unit 31 is received by the receiving unit of the temperature measurement 33 …”. According to the diagram in Fig. 8, the disclosed “receiving unit of the temperature measurement” receives temperature measurement from unit 31, and after analysis (i.e. whether temperature change exceeds some threshold), controls the units 32 and 34 accordingly), and calculate heating positions of the measurement target and the nanomagnetic particles (Sugano, Para 0051; “… temperature distribution in the vicinity of the target site is monitored by the monitoring unit 36.”).
Sugano does not clearly and explicitly disclose a sensor that moves along a lane installed in a chamber.
Cao in the same field of endeavor discloses a sensor that moves along a lane installed in a chamber (Cao, Para 0154; “the information acquisition component 1210 may be an infrared camera configured to collect information associated with the thermal distribution of the subject.”; Para 0161; “… the information acquisition component 1210 may collect information at different positions 1311, 1312, 1313, and 1314 when the extendable pole 1310 is at different extension lengths”. The disclosed extendable pole 1310 corresponds to the claimed lane). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sugano, as suggested by Cao, in order to make a sensor moveable. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make the modification for the benefit of achieving more comprehensive and more accurate result by measuring from multiple different perspectives of a measurement target (Cao, Para 0161; “… during the movement driven by the extendable pole 1310, the information acquisition component 1210 may continuously or periodically acquire information related to the subject.”).
With regard to Claim 5, Sugano and Cao disclose the infrared sensor-based nanomagnetic particle medical imaging device of Claim 1, but as discussed above do not explicitly and clearly disclose wherein the lane includes first to fourth lanes, and
the infrared sensor is provided as one or more infrared sensors disposed on each of the first to fourth lanes.
Cao further discloses wherein the lane includes first to fourth lanes (Cao, Para 0167; “… the imaging device 1400 may include a plurality of information acquisition components 1210, that is, 1210-4, 1210-5, 1210-6, 1210-7, and 1210-8”; Para 0169; “… similar to the information acquisition component 1210 of the imaging device 1300, one or more information acquisition components 1210 of the imaging device 1400 may be retracted in and/or extended …”. All the 5 disclosed components 1210 can extend to form 5 lanes), and
the infrared sensor is provided as one or more infrared sensors disposed on each of the first to fourth lanes (Cao, Para 0154; “… the information acquisition component 1210 may be an infrared camera …”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sugano and Cao, as further suggested by Cao, in order to use 4 infrared sensors or cameras on 4 different lanes. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make the modification for the benefit of accurately reconstructing 3D model of a subject by acquiring images or signals from multiple different perspectives (Cao, Para 0167; “The plurality of information acquisition components 1210 may be configured at different positions at the gantry 111 to acquire information related to the subject from different perspectives. Merely by way of example, as illustrated in FIG. 14C, the information acquisition components 1210 may capture images (e.g., images 1401 to 1405) of the subject from different oblique angles.”).
With regard to Claim 6, Sugano and Cao disclose the infrared sensor-based nanomagnetic particle medical imaging device of Claim 5, but as discussed above do not explicitly and clearly disclose wherein the processor obtains information on at least three planes in consideration of a penetration depth of the infrared rays based on data of the infrared sensor measured on the first to fourth lanes.
Cao further discloses wherein the processor obtains information on at least three planes in consideration of a penetration depth of the infrared rays based on data of the infrared sensor measured on the first to fourth lanes (Cao, Para 0167; “… a plurality of information acquisition components 1210, that is, 1210-4, 1210-5, 1210-6, 1210-7, and 1210-8. The plurality of information acquisition components 1210 may be configured at different positions at the gantry 111 to acquire information related to the subject from different perspectives … as illustrated in FIG. 14C, the information acquisition components 1210 may capture images (e.g., images 1401 to 1405) of the subject from different oblique angles. The model generation module 420 may generate a top view image 1410 of the subject based on the plurality of images 1401 to 1405 by, for example, using a matrix transformation technique. Additionally or alternatively, the model generation module 420 may further generate a side view image 1420 of the subject …”. Fig. 14A is cited below to show the different coverage planes by the different cameras, and the different images 1401-1405 are further used to generate other view images 1410 and 1420, and 3D model by implementing process 1000 or 1100 (Para 0168)).
Fig. 14A of Cao
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sugano and Cao, as further suggested by Cao, in order to collect information of at least 3 different planes by the sensors. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make the modification for the benefit of efficiently and accurately determining location and distribution of a target object in 3D space (Cao, Para 0164; “The use of more than one camera may eliminate the image distortion, thus improving the quality of the captured images and increasing the speed of generating a 3D model of the subject.”).
With regard to Claim 7, Sugano and Cao disclose the infrared sensor-based nanomagnetic particle medical imaging device of Claim 5, but as discussed above do not explicitly and clearly disclose wherein the processor calculates the heating position of the nanomagnetic particles based on position information obtained from at least three infrared sensors among the infrared sensors installed on the first to fourth lanes.
Cao further discloses wherein the processor calculates the heating position of the nanomagnetic particles (the position of the ROI) based on position information obtained from at least three infrared sensors among the infrared sensors installed on the first to fourth lanes (Cao, Para 0103; “… the thermal imaging device may generate an infrared thermal distribution image of the subject based on the detected thermal radiations.”; Para 0104; “The ROI determination module 430 may determine the position of the ROI with respect to the 3D model of the subject based on the infrared thermal distribution image.”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sugano and Cao, as further suggested by Cao, in order to determine position of a target based on information of multiple sensors. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make the modification for the benefit of accurately determining thermal distribution so as to safely apply heating.
With regard to Claim 8, Sugano and Cao disclose the infrared sensor-based nanomagnetic particle medical imaging device of Claim 5, but as discussed above do not explicitly and clearly disclose wherein the processor generates three-dimensional position information based on position information obtained from at least three infrared sensors among the infrared sensors installed on the first to fourth lanes.
Cao in the same field of endeavor discloses wherein the processor generates three-dimensional position information (3D model of the subject) based on position information obtained from at least three infrared sensors among the infrared sensors installed on the first to fourth lanes (Cao, Para 0168; “…the information collected by the information acquisition components 1210 may further be used to generate a 3D model of the subject by implementing the process 1000 and/or the process 1100.” The disclosed 3D model is a representation of the claimed three-dimensional position information). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sugano and Cao, as further suggested by Cao, in order to generate three-dimensional model based on signals from multiple sensors. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make the modification for the benefit of enabling medical practitioners to assess or monitor a target site from any perspective so as to ensure treatment safety.
With regard to Claim 9, Sugano and Cao disclose the infrared sensor-based nanomagnetic particle medical imaging device of Claim 8, but as discussed above do not explicitly and clearly disclose wherein the processor generates a two-dimensional image or a three-dimensional image of the measurement target and the nanomagnetic particles.
Cao further discloses wherein the processor generates a two-dimensional image or a three-dimensional image of the measurement target and the nanomagnetic particles (Cao, Para 0103; “the thermal imaging device may generate an infrared thermal distribution image of the subject based on the detected thermal radiations.”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sugano and Cao, as further suggested by Cao, in order to generate thermal distribution image of a subject. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make the modification for the benefit of displaying thermal distribution across a subject so as to precisely apply heating treatment to target site and at the same time protect healthy tissue.
With regard to Claim 19, Sugano discloses the operation method of Claim 10, but does not explicitly and clearly disclose wherein, in the calculating of the heating positions of the measurement target and the nanomagnetic particles, the processor generates a two-dimensional image or a three-dimensional image of the measurement target and the nanomagnetic particles.
Cao in the same field of endeavor discloses wherein, in the calculating of the heating positions of the measurement target and the nanomagnetic particles, the processor generates a two-dimensional image or a three-dimensional image of the measurement target and the nanomagnetic particles (Cao, Para 0103; “the thermal imaging device may generate an infrared thermal distribution image of the subject based on the detected thermal radiations.”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sugano, as suggested by Cao, in order to generate thermal distribution image of a subject. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make the modification for the benefit of displaying thermal distribution across a subject so as to precisely apply heating treatment to target site and at the same time protect healthy tissue.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugano and Cao, in view of Emeric et al (US 20020148604 A1; hereafter Emeric).
With regard to Claim 2, Sugano and Cao disclose the infrared sensor-based nanomagnetic particle medical imaging device of Claim 1, but as discussed above do not explicitly and clearly disclose comprising a pump configured to inject a coolant into the chamber,
wherein the processor controls the pump and the current according to the temperature of the coil measured by the temperature sensor such that the coil maintains a constant temperature.
Emeric in the same field of endeavor discloses comprising a pump configured to inject a coolant into the chamber (Emeric, Para 0031; “Coolant enters the resonance module or chamber 74 via inlet ports 82 and 84. Coolant is fed to the resonance module 74 by a coolant pump 86 …”),
wherein the processor controls the pump and the current according to the temperature of the coil measured by the temperature sensor such that the coil maintains a constant temperature (Emeric, Para 0035; “Temperature sensors 102 are placed to measure the temperature of the resonance module 74 … the computer/control 80 may also adjust the flow rate of coolant pump 86 to increase or decrease temperatures in the MR device 10 to a desired temperature. Furthermore, the temperature, pressure, and relative humidity sensors 102, 104, 106 may also be implemented to trigger the computer/control 80 to disable the gradient coil drivers if an anomalous condition is detected”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sugano and Cao, as suggested by Emeric, in order to control coolant pump and current to maintain coil’s temperature. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make the modification for the benefit of accurately controlling temperature of heating coil so as to achieve effective treatment and reduce the risk of tissue injury.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugano and Cao, in view of Schnetter (US 20170227973 A1; hereafter Schnetter).
With regard to Claim 3, Sugano and Cao disclose the infrared sensor-based nanomagnetic particle medical imaging device of Claim 1, but as discussed above do not explicitly and clearly disclose comprising a cooling fan configured to supply cold air to the measurement target,
wherein the processor controls the cooling fan to be driven in response to the temperature of the measurement target such that the measurement target maintains a constant temperature.
Schnetter in the same field of endeavor discloses comprising a cooling fan configured to supply cold air to the measurement target (Schnetter, Para 0032; “The fan 12 can be put … into an operating mode that cools a patient 2.”),
wherein the processor controls the cooling fan to be driven in response to the temperature of the measurement target such that the measurement target maintains a constant temperature (Schnetter, Para 0038; “The comfort criterion is aimed at stabilizing the trunk temperature of the patient 2 …”; Para 0041; “the comfort criterion can be fulfilled, a control parameter characteristic as a function of time is determined in a step S6 for the fan 12 and the temperature control apparatus 13 in such a way that the comfort criterion is fulfilled.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sugano and Cao, as suggested by Schnetter, in order to use a cooling fan to maintain a temperature of a target subject. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make the modification for the benefit of quickly dissipating heat from subject’s body so as to avoid injury of tissue.
Claims 4 and 14-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugano and Cao, in view of Hull et al (US 10191014 B2; hereafter Hull).
With regard to Claim 4, Sugano and Cao disclose the infrared sensor-based nanomagnetic particle medical imaging device of Claim 1, but as discussed above do not explicitly and clearly disclose wherein the infrared sensor moves at a predetermine speed along the lane.
Hull in an analogous field of endeavor discloses wherein the infrared sensor moves at a predetermine speed along the lane (Hull, Column 3, Lines 35-36; “The infrared detector 20 is positioned on the platform 14 to record thermal image …”; Column 4, Lines 13-16; “… move the platform 14, which may take the form of a carriage 40, along the rails 38 at a predetermined speed …”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sugano and Cao, as suggested by Hull, in order to move a sensor with a predetermined speed. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make the modification for the benefit of acquiring signals from multiple perspectives of an object and utilizing the predetermined speed (thus relative positions) to properly integrate the signals for more comprehensive and/or robust result.
With regard to Claim 14, Sugano discloses the operation method of Claim 10, but does not explicitly and clearly disclose wherein the receiving of the data includes controlling, by the processor, the infrared sensor to move at a predetermined speed along a lane installed in the chamber.
Cao in the same field of endeavor discloses wherein an infrared sensor moves along a lane installed in the chamber (Cao, Para 0154; “the information acquisition component 1210 may be an infrared camera configured to collect information associated with the thermal distribution of the subject.”; Para 0161; “… the information acquisition component 1210 may collect information at different positions 1311, 1312, 1313, and 1314 when the extendable pole 1310 is at different extension lengths”. The disclosed extendable pole 1310 corresponds to the claimed lane). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sugano, as suggested by Cao, in order to make a sensor moveable. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make the modification for the benefit of achieving more comprehensive and more accurate result by measuring from multiple different perspectives of a measurement target (Cao, Para 0161; “… during the movement driven by the extendable pole 1310, the information acquisition component 1210 may continuously or periodically acquire information related to the subject.”).
Sugano and Cao as discussed above do not explicitly and clearly disclose wherein the infrared sensor moves at a predetermine speed along the lane.
Hull in an analogous field of endeavor discloses wherein the infrared sensor moves at a predetermine speed along the lane (Hull, Column 3, Lines 35-36; “The infrared detector 20 is positioned on the platform 14 to record thermal image …”; Column 4, Lines 13-16; “… move the platform 14, which may take the form of a carriage 40, along the rails 38 at a predetermined speed …”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sugano and Cao, as suggested by Hull, in order to move a sensor with a predetermined speed. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make the modification for the benefit of acquiring signals from multiple perspectives of an object and utilizing the predetermined speed (thus relative positions) to properly integrate the signals for more comprehensive and/or robust result.
With regard to Claim 15, Sugano, Cao and Hull disclose the operation method of Claim 14, including detecting the measurement target and the nanomagnetic particles with the infrared sensor (discussed in Claim 10), but as discussed above do not explicitly and clearly disclose wherein, in the receiving of the data,
the lane includes first to fourth lanes, and
the infrared sensor is provided as one or more infrared sensors disposed on each of the first to fourth lanes.
Cao further discloses wherein the lane includes first to fourth lanes (Cao, Para 0167; “… the imaging device 1400 may include a plurality of information acquisition components 1210, that is, 1210-4, 1210-5, 1210-6, 1210-7, and 1210-8”; Para 0169; “… similar to the information acquisition component 1210 of the imaging device 1300, one or more information acquisition components 1210 of the imaging device 1400 may be retracted in and/or extended …”. All the 5 disclosed components 1210 can extend to form 5 lanes), and
the infrared sensor is provided as one or more infrared sensors disposed on each of the first to fourth lanes (Cao, Para 0154; “… the information acquisition component 1210 may be an infrared camera …”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sugano, Cao and Hull, as further suggested by Cao, in order to use 4 infrared sensors or cameras on 4 different lanes. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make the modification for the benefit of accurately reconstructing 3D model of a subject by acquiring images or signals from multiple different perspectives (Cao, Para 0167; “The plurality of information acquisition components 1210 may be configured at different positions at the gantry 111 to acquire information related to the subject from different perspectives. Merely by way of example, as illustrated in FIG. 14C, the information acquisition components 1210 may capture images (e.g., images 1401 to 1405) of the subject from different oblique angles.”).
With regard to Claim 16, Sugano, Cao and Hull disclose the operation method of Claim 15, but as discussed above do not explicitly and clearly disclose wherein, in the receiving of the data, the processor obtains information on at least three planes in consideration of a penetration depth of infrared rays based on data of the infrared sensor measured on the first to fourth lanes.
Cao further discloses wherein, in the receiving of the data, the processor obtains information on at least three planes in consideration of a penetration depth of infrared rays based on data of the infrared sensor measured on the first to fourth lanes (Cao, Para 0167; “… a plurality of information acquisition components 1210, that is, 1210-4, 1210-5, 1210-6, 1210-7, and 1210-8. The plurality of information acquisition components 1210 may be configured at different positions at the gantry 111 to acquire information related to the subject from different perspectives … as illustrated in FIG. 14C, the information acquisition components 1210 may capture images (e.g., images 1401 to 1405) of the subject from different oblique angles. The model generation module 420 may generate a top view image 1410 of the subject based on the plurality of images 1401 to 1405 by, for example, using a matrix transformation technique. Additionally or alternatively, the model generation module 420 may further generate a side view image 1420 of the subject …”. Fig. 14A is cited below to show the different coverage planes by the different cameras, and the different images 1401-1405 are further used to generate other view images 1410 and 1420, and 3D model by implementing process 1000 or 1100 (Para 0168)). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sugano, Cao and Hull, as further suggested by Cao, in order to collect information of at least 3 different planes by the sensors. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make the modification for the benefit of efficiently and accurately determining location and distribution of a target object in 3D space (Cao, Para 0164; “The use of more than one camera may eliminate the image distortion, thus improving the quality of the captured images and increasing the speed of generating a 3D model of the subject.”).
With regard to Claim 17, Sugano, Cao and Hull disclose the operation method of Claim 15, but as discussed above do not explicitly and clearly disclose wherein, in the calculating of the heating positions of the measurement target and the nanomagnetic particles, the processor calculates the heating position of the nanomagnetic particles based on position information obtained from at least three infrared sensors among the infrared sensors installed on the first to fourth lanes.
Cao further discloses wherein, in the calculating of the heating positions of the measurement target and the nanomagnetic particles, the processor calculates the heating position of the nanomagnetic particles (the position of the ROI) based on position information obtained from at least three infrared sensors among the infrared sensors installed on the first to fourth lanes (Cao, Para 0103; “… the thermal imaging device may generate an infrared thermal distribution image of the subject based on the detected thermal radiations.”; Para 0104; “The ROI determination module 430 may determine the position of the ROI with respect to the 3D model of the subject based on the infrared thermal distribution image.”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sugano, Cao and Hull, as further suggested by Cao, in order to determine position of a target based on information of multiple sensors. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make the modification for the benefit of accurately determining thermal distribution so as to safely apply heating.
With regard to Claim 18, Sugano, Cao and Hull disclose the operation method of Claim 15, but as discussed above do not explicitly and clearly disclose wherein, in the calculating of the heating positions of the measurement target and the nanomagnetic particles, the processor generates three-dimensional position information based on position information obtained from at least three infrared sensors among the infrared sensors installed on the first to fourth lanes.
Cao in the same field of endeavor discloses wherein, in the calculating of the heating positions of the measurement target and the nanomagnetic particles, the processor generates three-dimensional position information (3D model of the subject) based on position information obtained from at least three infrared sensors among the infrared sensors installed on the first to fourth lanes (Cao, Para 0168; “…the information collected by the information acquisition components 1210 may further be used to generate a 3D model of the subject by implementing the process 1000 and/or the process 1100.” The disclosed 3D model is a representation of the claimed three-dimensional position information). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sugano, Cao and Hull, as further suggested by Cao, in order to generate three-dimensional model based on signals from multiple sensors. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make the modification for the benefit of enabling medical practitioners to assess or monitor a target site from any perspective so as to ensure treatment safety.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugano, in view of Emeric.
With regard to Claim 12, Sugano discloses the operation method of Claim 11, but does not explicitly and clearly disclose wherein, in the generating of the magnetic field, the processor controls the coil to maintain a constant temperature.
Emeric in the same field of endeavor discloses in the generating of the magnetic field, the processor controls the coil to maintain a constant temperature (Emeric, Para 0035; “Temperature sensors 102 are placed to measure the temperature of the resonance module 74 … the computer/control 80 may also adjust the flow rate of coolant pump 86 to increase or decrease temperatures in the MR device 10 to a desired temperature.”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sugano, as suggested by Emeric, in order to control to maintain a coil’s temperature. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make the modification for the benefit of accurately controlling temperature of heating coil so as to achieve effective treatment and reduce the risk of tissue injury.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugano, in view of Schnetter.
With regard to Claim 13, Sugano discloses the operation method of Claim 10, further discloses wherein the generating of the magnetic field includes: receiving, by the processor, a temperature of the measurement target from a temperature sensor (Sugano, Para 0052; “For the temperature measurement unit 31 … the temperature measurement may be carried out by … imaging of a heating site by placing, in the vicinity of a target site, an apparatus formed by arranging infrared imaging sensors … in a matrix formation.” The disclosed temperature measurement unit 31 may use “infrared imaging sensors”, which is also a temperature sensor, and shown in cited Fig. 8, covers target site 22), but does not explicitly and clearly disclose controlling, by the processor, a cooling fan configured to supply cold air to the measurement target.
Schnetter in the same field of endeavor discloses controlling, by the processor, a cooling fan configured to supply cold air to the measurement target (Schnetter, Para 0032; “The fan 12 can be put … into an operating mode that cools a patient 2.”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sugano, as suggested by Schnetter, in order to use a cooling fan to cool a subject. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make the modification for the benefit of quickly dissipating heat from subject’s body so as to avoid injury of tissue.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. Leussler (US 20230333179 A1) discloses using temperature sensors for monitoring temperature in both RF coil and imaging target.
/L.Z./Examiner, Art Unit 3798
/PASCAL M BUI PHO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3798