DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Species 1A and Species 2C in the reply filed on 2/23/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. Applicant has not complied with one or more conditions for receiving the benefit of an earlier filing date under 35 U.S.C. 120 as follows:
The later-filed application must be an application for a patent for an invention which is also disclosed in the prior application (the parent or original nonprovisional application or provisional application). The disclosure of the invention in the parent application and in the later-filed application must be sufficient to comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, except for the best mode requirement. See Transco Products, Inc. v. Performance Contracting, Inc., 38 F.3d 551, 32 USPQ2d 1077 (Fed. Cir. 1994).
The disclosure of the prior-filed application, Application No. 19/223,670, fails to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for one or more claims of this application. The parent application does not disclose a relay as recited in claims 1 and 16. Therefore, all claims have an effective filing date of 8/27/2025.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 9/24/2025 was filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: the first paragraph should list all parent applications found in the ADS filed on 8/27/2025 and their current status in the first paragraph of the specification.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mirowski et al. (US 3,614,955, hereinafter Mirowski).
Mirowski discloses a de-energizable defibrillator. The defibrillator includes an electromechanical component (switch 64) and an energy storage element (+15V) that provides power to the electromechanical component (see figure). Circuitry 50 is configured to generate a defibrillation waveform. A relay 46 is triggerable by the electromechanical component such that the circuitry 50 is isolated from the energy storage element by the relay (see figure).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mirowski in view of Locke et al. (US 2003/0208237, hereinafter Locke).
Regarding claims 2 and 3, Mirowski, as described above, discloses the applicant’s basic invention, including an electromechanical switch component that, when in an open position, is separated from the energy storage element by a physical gap between contacts (see figure). However, Mirowski is silent as to the switch being a magnetically triggered reed switch. Locke also discloses a defibrillator, and thus is analogous art with Mirowski (see figure 3). Locke discloses that sample switches to act as an on/off power switch can be any electromechanical component, including a magnetically triggered reed relay switch (par. 0040). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the applicant’s effective filing date to substitute the magnetically triggered reed switch of Locke for the generic switch of Mirowski because Locke teaches them to be functionally equivalent in the defibrillator art for acting as a power switch and the substitution would not affect the overall operation of purpose of Mirowski.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3 of U.S. Patent No. 12,168,137 in view of Mirowski. The patented claims anticipate the current claims with the exception of using a relay triggerable by the electromechanical component. Mirowski discloses a de-energizable defibrillator and thus is analogous art with the patented claims. The defibrillator includes an electromechanical component (switch 64) and an energy storage element (+15V) that provides power to the electromechanical component (see figure). Circuitry 50 is configured to generate a defibrillation waveform. A relay 46 is triggerable by the electromechanical component such that the circuitry 50 is isolated from the energy storage element by the relay (see figure). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the applicant’s effective filing date to include the relay of Mirowski as the electromechanical component of the patented claims in order to isolate the circuitry from the power source.
Claims 1-3 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3 of U.S. Patent No. 12,257,443 in view of Mirowski. The patented claims anticipate the current claims with the exception of using a relay triggerable by the electromechanical component. Mirowski discloses a de-energizable defibrillator and thus is analogous art with the patented claims. The defibrillator includes an electromechanical component (switch 64) and an energy storage element (+15V) that provides power to the electromechanical component (see figure). Circuitry 50 is configured to generate a defibrillation waveform. A relay 46 is triggerable by the electromechanical component such that the circuitry 50 is isolated from the energy storage element by the relay (see figure). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the applicant’s effective filing date to include the relay of Mirowski as the electromechanical component of the patented claims in order to isolate the circuitry from the power source.
Claims 1-3 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3 of U.S. Patent No. 12,257,444 in view of Mirowski. The patented claims anticipate the current claims with the exception of using a relay triggerable by the electromechanical component. Mirowski discloses a de-energizable defibrillator and thus is analogous art with the patented claims. The defibrillator includes an electromechanical component (switch 64) and an energy storage element (+15V) that provides power to the electromechanical component (see figure). Circuitry 50 is configured to generate a defibrillation waveform. A relay 46 is triggerable by the electromechanical component such that the circuitry 50 is isolated from the energy storage element by the relay (see figure). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the applicant’s effective filing date to include the relay of Mirowski as the electromechanical component of the patented claims in order to isolate the circuitry from the power source.
Claims 1-3 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/908,315 in view of Mirowski. The copending claims anticipate the current claims with the exception of using a relay triggerable by the electromechanical component. Mirowski discloses a de-energizable defibrillator and thus is analogous art with the patented claims. The defibrillator includes an electromechanical component (switch 64) and an energy storage element (+15V) that provides power to the electromechanical component (see figure). Circuitry 50 is configured to generate a defibrillation waveform. A relay 46 is triggerable by the electromechanical component such that the circuitry 50 is isolated from the energy storage element by the relay (see figure). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the applicant’s effective filing date to include the relay of Mirowski as the electromechanical component of the copending claims in order to isolate the circuitry from the power source.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1-3 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/908,237 in view of Mirowski. The copending claims anticipate the current claims with the exception of using a relay triggerable by the electromechanical component. Mirowski discloses a de-energizable defibrillator and thus is analogous art with the patented claims. The defibrillator includes an electromechanical component (switch 64) and an energy storage element (+15V) that provides power to the electromechanical component (see figure). Circuitry 50 is configured to generate a defibrillation waveform. A relay 46 is triggerable by the electromechanical component such that the circuitry 50 is isolated from the energy storage element by the relay (see figure). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the applicant’s effective filing date to include the relay of Mirowski as the electromechanical component of the copending claims in order to isolate the circuitry from the power source.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 16-20 are allowed.
Claims 4-7 would be allowable if rewritten to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached PTO-892.
Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/Eric D. Bertram/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796