DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending in the instant application.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, line 1, recites “the phase”. To correct antecedent issues, examiner suggests “a phase”.
Claim 8, line 1, recites “the phase tuning element”. To keep consistency in the claim language, examiner suggests “the one or more phase-tuning elements”, as recited in claim 1.
Claim 9 includes the phrase "AR" instead of “augmented reality (AR)”. The acronym should be spelled out in the first time it is used in a claim.
Claim 9, line 17, recites “the phase”. To correct antecedent issues, examiner suggests “a phase”.
Claim 15 includes the phrase "AR" instead of “augmented reality (AR)”. The acronym should be spelled out in the first time it is used in a claim.
Claim 15, line 13, recites “the phase”. To correct antecedent issues, examiner suggests “a phase”.
Claim 20, lines 1-2, recites “the phase tuning element”. To keep consistency in the claim language, examiner suggests “the one or more phase-tuning elements”, as recited in claim 15.
Claims 2-7, 10-14, and 16-19 depend directly or indirectly from an objected claim, therefore are also objected.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6-11, 13-17, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chao et al. (US 10564431 B1, hereinafter Chao).
Regarding Claim 1, Chao teaches a method (col. 22 lines 57-65. Steps, operations, or processes described herein may be performed or implemented with one or more hardware or software modules, alone or in combination with other devices), comprising:
at an illumination system for performing eye-tracking at an augmented reality (AR) device (see Fig. 1-4, Fig. 9, col. 1, lines 30-40, col. 2 lines 48-61, col. 2 lines 26-47, col. 3 lines 35-40, col. 3, lines 64-67, col. 4 lines 1-5, col. 4 lines 17-28, col. 5 lines 47-52, col. 6 lines 1-7. Light projection system is described for use in artificial reality systems, and which outputs patterned interferometric illumination that may be dynamically adjustable. Embodiments of the present disclosure may include or be implemented in conjunction with an artificial reality system. Artificial reality is a form of reality that has been adjusted in some manner before presentation to a user, which may include, e.g., a virtual reality (VR), an augmented reality (AR), a mixed reality (MR), a hybrid reality, or some combination and/or derivatives thereof. As described herein, a DCA 115, and specifically an illumination source of a DCA 115 may be used to determine depth information about a user's eyes and/or face. The light from the eye tracking system may be from any of the IC illumination sources described in further detail with reference to FIGS. 3-8. The controller may estimate a position of the eye using the one or more captured images and a model of the eye), the illumination system comprising (i) one or more laser sources (see Fig. 3, light source 310, Fig. 4, first light source 410 and second light source 425, col. 6 lines 8-46, col. 9 lines 3-50. The light source 310 may be any light source with spatial coherence capable of producing interferometric illumination and compatible with the IC chip, such as a Vertical External-cavity Surface-emitting Laser (VECSEL), a Vertical-cavity Surface-emitting Laser (VCSEL), a superluminescent diode (SLED), a tunable laser, a quantum dot laser, an edge emitting laser, a laser diode, or any combination of these light sources), (ii) one or more waveguides (see Fig. 3, first wave guide 315a, second waveguide 315b, third waveguide 315c, Fig. 4, first waveguide 415a, second waveguide 415b and third waveguide 415c, col. 6 lines 32-56, col. 9 lines 60-67, col. 10 lines 1-5), (iii) one or more phase-tuning elements (see Fig. 3, phase delay device 320, Fig. 4, phase delay devices 420 and 435, col. 6, lines 57-67, col. 7 lines 1-23, col. 8 lines 35-47), and (iv) a plurality of emission apertures including a first emission aperture and a second emission aperture (see Fig. 3, exit 345a and exit 345b, Fig. 4-5C, exits 510a, 510b, 515a and 515b, col. 7 lines 43-60, col. 11, lines 35-44, col. 12 lines 3-53):
causing emission, via a respective laser source of the one or more laser sources, of laser light (see Fig. 3, Figs. 4-5C, Fig. 9, col. 19 lines 16-21, col. 19 lines 40-45. The DCA 920 includes an illumination source, an imaging device and a controller. The illumination source of the DCA 920 is configured to illuminate the target area with illumination light in accordance with emission instructions. The illumination source of the DCA 920 may be any of the illumination generators described in FIGS. 3-8);
receiving, via the one or more waveguides, the laser light from the respective laser source, such that the laser light is propagated along a first optical path and a second optical path (see Fig. 3, Figs. 4-5C, col. 6 lines 8-46, col. 9 lines 60-67, col. 10 lines 1-45. The light source 310 outputs light to a first waveguide 315a. The light source 310 is thus optically coupled to the first waveguide 315a. For example, the optical coupling can be achieved by an adiabatically tapered waveguide. The adiabatically tapered waveguide can be a separate waveguide from the first waveguide 315a. In other examples, the first waveguide 315a itself is adiabatically tapered. The first waveguide 315a in-couples light from the light source 310. The first waveguide 315a ends in a junction and is split into a second waveguide 315b and a third waveguide 315c. Light propagating in the first waveguide 315a is split between the second waveguide 315b and the third waveguide 315c such that substantially equal amounts of light propagate in the second waveguide 315b and the third waveguide 315c from the first waveguide 315a. The second light source 425, a fourth waveguide 430a, a fifth waveguide 430b, a sixth waveguide 430c and a phase delay device 435 are configured and operate in the same way as the light source 310, the first waveguide 315a, the second waveguide 315b, the third waveguide 315c and the phase delay device 320, respectively, and as described with reference to FIG. 3. Similarly, the first light source 410, the first waveguide 415a, the second waveguide 415b, the third waveguide 415c and the phase delay device 420 are configured and operate in the same way as the light source 310, the first waveguide 315a, the second waveguide 315b, the third waveguide 315c and the phase delay device 320, respectively, and as described with reference to FIG. 3. The second light source 425 outputs light to the fourth waveguide 430a. The second light source 425 is optically coupled to the fourth waveguide 430a. Light propagating in the fourth waveguide 430a is split between the fifth waveguide 430b and the sixth waveguide 430c such that substantially equal amounts of light propagate in the fifth waveguide 430b and the sixth waveguide 430c from the fourth waveguide 430a);
adjusting, via a respective phase-tuning element of the one or more phase-tuning elements, the phase in the first optical path, such that a respective phase in the first optical path is different than another respective phase in the second optical path (see Figs. 3-5C, col. 6 lines 57-67, col. 7 lines 1-23, col. 8 lines 7-26, col. 8 lines 35-47, col. 9 lines 60-67, col. 10 lines 1-5, col. 10 lines 46-61. The phase delay device 320 may be any other standard device capable of producing a phase shift in the light propagating from the first waveguide 315a to the third waveguide 315c. Each of the patterns 340a, 340b and 340c are produced from different phase shifts applied by the phase delay device 320. The lateral location of the nodes, can be adjusted by changing the phase shift applied by the phase delay device 320. As shown in FIG. 4, phase delay devices 420 and 435 are located on the third waveguide 415c and the sixth waveguide 430c, respectively. The first light source 410, the first waveguide 415a, the second waveguide 415b, the third waveguide 415c and the phase delay device 420 are configured and operate in the same way as the light source 310, the first waveguide 315a, the second waveguide 315b, the third waveguide 315c and the phase delay device 320, respectively, and as described with reference to FIG. 3. Each of the patterns 450a, 450b and 450c are produced from different phase shifts applied by the phase delay device 420 to light propagating in the third waveguide 415. Each of the patterns 460a, 460b and 460c are produced from different phase shifts applied by the phase delay device 435 to light propagating in the sixth waveguide 430c. The spacing lateral location of the nodes in the fringe patterns can be adjusted by changing the phase shift applied by the phase delay devices 435 and 420);
outputting, via at least the first and second emission apertures, respective laser light from the first and second optical paths, to form a fringe illumination pattern (see Figs. 3-4, col. 7 lines 43-60, col. 8 lines 7-26, col. 8 lines 48-58, col. 9 lines 27-36, col. 10 lines 32-61. Light exits the second waveguide 315b from an exit 345a and from the third waveguide 315c from an exit 345b. Because light propagating in the third waveguide 315c is phase shifted, light exiting the second waveguide 315b from the exit 345a and the third waveguide 315c from exit 345b periodically constructively and destructively interfere, producing the interference fringes of the patterned interferometric illumination 325. The period between the interference fringes is determined by the physical waveguide spacing 330 between the exit 345a and the exit 345b of the second waveguide 315b and the third waveguide 315c. When the first light source 410 and the second light source 425 output light simultaneously, the resulting interferometric illumination 440 contains two different fringe patterns, where the fringe pattern resulting from the second light source 425 is closer together than the fringe pattern resulting from the first light source 410. Light exits the fifth waveguide 430b and the sixth waveguide 430c. Because of the phase delay applied by the phase delay device 435, the output light from the fifth waveguide 430b is separated by a phase shift from the output light from the sixth waveguide 430c, and thus the light periodically interferes, producing a patterned interferometric illumination 440. The distance between interferometric fringes in the interferometric illumination 440 output from the fifth waveguide 430b and the sixth waveguide 430c may be larger than the fringe distance output by the second waveguide 415b and the third waveguide 415c due to the smaller lateral distance between the fifth waveguide 430b and the sixth waveguide 430c); and
based on the fringe illumination pattern formed by the respective laser light from the first and second optical paths, determining an orientation of a user's pupil (see Figs. 2A-2B, col. 3 lines 57-63, col. 4 lines 17-35, col. 5 lines 64-67, col 6 lines 1-31, col. 8 lines 7-25, col. 19 lines 45-52. FIG. 2, provides image light to an eye box located at an exit pupil of another eye of the user. The NED 100 includes a depth camera assembly (DCA) 115 for determining depth information of an object in a target area. The target area may be the eye box 270 of the NED 100. The DCA 115 includes an illumination assembly which illuminates a target area with a structured light pattern and determines the depth information of the object based in part on deformation of the structured light pattern on surfaces of the target area. The illumination assembly may be the patterned light generator 205. In some embodiments, the target area is a user's eye, and the DCA 115 determines information about a user's eye. The patterned light generator 205 of the DCA 115 may be any of the IC illumination generators described in FIGS. 3-8. FIG. 3 is a diagram 300 of an IC patterned light generator 305 and example output light intensity profiles 335, in accordance with an embodiment. The IC patterned light generator 305 produces patterned interferometric illumination 325. The patterned interferometric illumination 325 may be used for 3D depth eye tracking. The DCA 920 is used for eye tracking. The DCA 920 determines eye tracking information associated with an eye of a user wearing the near-eye-display 905. The eye tracking information determined by the DCA 920 may comprise information about an orientation of the user's eye, i.e., information about an angle of an eye-gaze).
Regarding Claim 2, Chao teaches the method of claim 1, wherein:
Chao further teaches the one or more laser sources comprises a first laser source and a second laser source (see Fig. 4, First light source 410 and second light source 45, col. 6 lines 10-17, col. 9 lines 12-27. The light source may be any of a tunable laser, a quantum dot laser, an edge emitting laser, a laser diode, or any combination of these light sources),
the one or more waveguides includes a first waveguide configured to receive first light from the first laser source (see Fig. 4, first light source 410 and third waveguide 415c, col. 9 lines 6-11, col. 9 lines 27-33. As depicted in figure 4 the first waveguide 415a in-couples light from the first light source 415; the first waveguide 415a ends in a junction and is split into the second waveguide 415b and the third waveguide 415c. Therefore, light propagating in the first waveguide 415a is split between the second waveguide 415b and the third waveguide 415c), and a second waveguide configured to receive second light from the second laser source (see Fig. 4, second light source 425 and sixth waveguide 430c, col. 10 lines 6-16. The fourth waveguide 430a in-couples light from the second light source 425. The fourth waveguide 430a ends in a junction and is split into the fifth waveguide 430b and the sixth waveguide 430c. Light propagating in the fourth waveguide 430a is split between the fifth waveguide 430b and the sixth waveguide 430c such that substantially equal amounts of light propagate in the fifth waveguide 430b and the sixth waveguide 430c from the fourth waveguide 430a), and
each of the first waveguide and the second waveguide are coupled to a different respective phase-tuning element, including the respective phase-tuning element and another phase-tuning element that is distinct and separate from the respective phase-tuning element (see Fig. 4, phase delay device 420 and phase delay device 435, col. 8 lines 35-37. As shown in FIG. 4, phase delay devices 420 and 435 are located on the third waveguide 415c and the sixth waveguide 430c, respectively).
Regarding Claim 3, Chao teaches the method of claim 2.
Chao further teaches wherein the first laser source and the second laser source are formed in a same semiconductor substrate (see Fig. 5A, col. 7 lines 23-43, col. 11 lines 7-34. col. 9, lines 65-67, col. 10 lines 1-5. col. 12 lines 23-29. As depicted in figure 5A, the first light source 410 and the second light source 425 are form in the same layer IC pattern light generator 500. Similarly, the first light source 410, the first waveguide 415a, the second waveguide 415b, the third waveguide 415c and the phase delay device 420 are configured and operate in the same way as the light source 310, the first waveguide 315a, the second waveguide 315b, the third waveguide 315c and the phase delay device 320, respectively, and as described with reference to FIG. 3. The substrate 322 may be formed from any standard chip substrate material, such as a semiconductor material. Any of the light source 310, the first waveguide 315a, the second waveguide 315b, the third waveguide 315c and/or the phase delay device 320 may be formed on the substrate 322 through any standard etching or epitaxial growth technique).
Regarding Claim 6, Chao teaches the method of claim 1.
Chao further teaches wherein: the one or more waveguides includes a first optical waveguide that is optically split to form the first optical path and the second optical path (see Fig. 3, first waveguide 315a is split into a second waveguide 315b and a third waveguide 315c, col. 6 lines 32-67, Fig. 4 first waveguide 415a is split into a second waveguide 415b and a third waveguide 415c, col. 9 lines 6-11, col. 9 lines 65-67, col. 10 lines 1-5 . The first waveguide 315a in-couples light from the light source 310. The first waveguide 315a ends in a junction and is split into a second waveguide 315b and a third waveguide 315c. Light propagating in the first waveguide 315a is split between the second waveguide 315b and the third waveguide 315c such that substantially equal amounts of light propagate in the second waveguide 315b and the third waveguide 315c from the first waveguide 315a. A phase delay device 320 applies a phase delay to light in the third waveguide 315c), and only one of the first and second optical paths of the first optical waveguide is coupled with the respective phase-tuning element (see Fig. 3, phase delay device 320 and third waveguide 315c, col. 6 lines 57-67, Fig. 4 phase delay device 420 and third waveguide 415c, col. 9, lines 65-67, col. 10 lines 1-5. A phase delay device 320 applies a phase delay to light in the third waveguide 315c. The phase delay device 320 is an active phase delay device. An electro-optic modulator phase delay device 320 modulates the phase of the light propagating in the third waveguide 315c, resulting in a phase shift relative to the light propagating in the second waveguide 315. Similarly, the first light source 410, the first waveguide 415a, the second waveguide 415b, the third waveguide 415c and the phase delay device 420 are configured and operate in the same way as the light source 310, the first waveguide 315a, the second waveguide 315b, the third waveguide 315c and the phase delay device 320, respectively, and as described with reference to FIG. 3).
Regarding Claim 7, Chao teaches the method of claim 6.
Chao further teaches wherein a period of fringes in the fringe illumination pattern is defined by a distance between the first optical path and the second optical path of the first optical waveguide (see Figs. 3-4, col. 7 lines 43-68, col. 8 lines 1-6. . The period between the interference fringes is determined by the physical waveguide spacing 330 between the exit 345a and the exit 345b of the second waveguide 315b and the third waveguide 315c).
Regarding Claim 8, Chao teaches the method of claim 1.
Chao further teaches wherein the phase tuning element includes at least one of a thermo-optical modulator, one or more free carrier depletion based base shifters, or liquid crystals (see col. 6 lines 57-67, col. 7 lines 1-23. The phase delay device 320 is an active phase delay device. An electro-optic modulator phase delay device 320 modulates the phase of the light propagating in the third waveguide 315c, resulting in a phase shift relative to the light propagating in the second waveguide 315b. In other embodiments, the phase delay device 320 is a thermo-optic phase shifter. In other embodiments, the phase delay device 320 is an acousto-optic deflector (AOD). The phase delay device 320, and any of the phase delay devices described herein, may be a micro-electro-mechanical system (MEMS) mirror. A MEMS mirror phase delay device 320 applies a phase delay through translational motion of a mirror, driven by electromagnetic, electrostatic, thermos-electric or piezo-electric effects. For example, a comb-drive may produce resonant translational movement of the MEMS mirror. In other embodiments, the phase delay device 320 is an electro-optic modulator. The phase delay device 320 may be any other standard device capable of producing a phase shift in the light propagating from the first waveguide 315a to the third waveguide 315c).
Regarding Claim 9, Chao teaches an illumination system for performing eye-tracking at an AR device (see Fig. 1-4, Fig. 9, col. 1, lines 30-40, col. 2 lines 48-61, col. 2 lines 26-47, col. 3 lines 35-40, col. 3, lines 64-67, col. 4 lines 1-5, col. 4 lines 17-28, col. 5 lines 47-52, col. 6 lines 1-7. Light projection system is described for use in artificial reality systems, and which outputs patterned interferometric illumination that may be dynamically adjustable. Embodiments of the present disclosure may include or be implemented in conjunction with an artificial reality system. Artificial reality is a form of reality that has been adjusted in some manner before presentation to a user, which may include, e.g., a virtual reality (VR), an augmented reality (AR), a mixed reality (MR), a hybrid reality, or some combination and/or derivatives thereof. As described herein, a DCA 115, and specifically an illumination source of a DCA 115 may be used to determine depth information about a user's eyes and/or face. The light from the eye tracking system may be from any of the IC illumination sources described in further detail with reference to FIGS. 3-8. The controller may estimate a position of the eye using the one or more captured images and a model of the eye), the illumination system comprising:
one or more laser sources (see Fig. 3, light source 310, Fig. 4, first light source 410 and second light source 425, col. 6 lines 8-46, col. 9 lines 3-50. The light source 310 may be any light source with spatial coherence capable of producing interferometric illumination and compatible with the IC chip, such as a Vertical External-cavity Surface-emitting Laser (VECSEL), a Vertical-cavity Surface-emitting Laser (VCSEL), a superluminescent diode (SLED), a tunable laser, a quantum dot laser, an edge emitting laser, a laser diode, or any combination of these light sources);
one or more waveguides (see Fig. 3, first wave guide 315a, second waveguide 315b, third waveguide 315c, Fig. 4, first waveguide 415a, second waveguide 415b and third waveguide 415c, col. 6 lines 32-56, col. 9 lines 60-67, col. 10 lines 1-5);
one or more phase-tuning elements (see Fig. 3, phase delay device 320, Fig. 4, phase delay devices 420 and 435, col. 6, lines 57-67, col. 7 lines 1-23, col. 8 lines 35-47);
a plurality of emission apertures including a first emission aperture and a second emission aperture (see Fig. 3, exit 345a and exit 345b, Fig. 4-5C, exits 510a, 510b, 515a and 515b, col. 7 lines 43-60, col. 11, lines 35-44, col. 12 lines 3-53);
one or more processors (see col. 6 lines 25-30, col. 22 lines 57-65, col. 23 lines 1-11. The processor and/or controller is described in further detail with reference to FIG. 9. Any of the steps, operations, or processes described herein may be performed or implemented with one or more hardware or software modules. A software module is implemented with a computer program product comprising a computer-readable medium containing computer program code, which can be executed by a computer processor for performing any or all of the steps, operations, or processes described. any computing systems referred to in the specification may include a single processor or may be architectures employing multiple processor designs for increased computing capability); and
memory, comprising instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause operations (col. 22 lines 43-65, col. 23 lines 2-11. Any of the steps, operations, or processes described herein may be performed or implemented with one or more hardware or software modules, alone or in combination with other devices. A software module is implemented with a computer program product comprising a computer-readable medium containing computer program code, which can be executed by a computer processor for performing any or all of the steps, operations, or processes described) for:
causing emission, via a respective laser source of the one or more laser sources, of laser light (see Fig. 3, Figs. 4-5C, Fig. 9, col. 19 lines 16-21, col. 19 lines 40-45. The DCA 920 includes an illumination source, an imaging device and a controller. The illumination source of the DCA 920 is configured to illuminate the target area with illumination light in accordance with emission instructions. The illumination source of the DCA 920 may be any of the illumination generators described in FIGS. 3-8);
receiving, via the one or more waveguides, the laser light from the respective laser source, such that the laser light is propagated along a first optical path and a second optical path (see Fig. 3, Figs. 4-5C, col. 6 lines 8-46, col. 9 lines 60-67, col. 10 lines 1-45. The light source 310 outputs light to a first waveguide 315a. The light source 310 is thus optically coupled to the first waveguide 315a. For example, the optical coupling can be achieved by an adiabatically tapered waveguide. The adiabatically tapered waveguide can be a separate waveguide from the first waveguide 315a. In other examples, the first waveguide 315a itself is adiabatically tapered. The first waveguide 315a in-couples light from the light source 310. The first waveguide 315a ends in a junction and is split into a second waveguide 315b and a third waveguide 315c. Light propagating in the first waveguide 315a is split between the second waveguide 315b and the third waveguide 315c such that substantially equal amounts of light propagate in the second waveguide 315b and the third waveguide 315c from the first waveguide 315a. The second light source 425, a fourth waveguide 430a, a fifth waveguide 430b, a sixth waveguide 430c and a phase delay device 435 are configured and operate in the same way as the light source 310, the first waveguide 315a, the second waveguide 315b, the third waveguide 315c and the phase delay device 320, respectively, and as described with reference to FIG. 3. Similarly, the first light source 410, the first waveguide 415a, the second waveguide 415b, the third waveguide 415c and the phase delay device 420 are configured and operate in the same way as the light source 310, the first waveguide 315a, the second waveguide 315b, the third waveguide 315c and the phase delay device 320, respectively, and as described with reference to FIG. 3. The second light source 425 outputs light to the fourth waveguide 430a. The second light source 425 is optically coupled to the fourth waveguide 430a. Light propagating in the fourth waveguide 430a is split between the fifth waveguide 430b and the sixth waveguide 430c such that substantially equal amounts of light propagate in the fifth waveguide 430b and the sixth waveguide 430c from the fourth waveguide 430a);
adjusting, via a respective phase-tuning element of the one or more phase-tuning elements, the phase in the first optical path, such that a respective phase in the first optical path is different than another respective phase in the second optical path (see Figs. 3-5C, col. 6 lines 57-67, col. 7 lines 1-23, col. 8 lines 7-26, col. 8 lines 35-47, col. 9 lines 60-67, col. 10 lines 1-5, col. 10 lines 46-61. The phase delay device 320 may be any other standard device capable of producing a phase shift in the light propagating from the first waveguide 315a to the third waveguide 315c. Each of the patterns 340a, 340b and 340c are produced from different phase shifts applied by the phase delay device 320. The lateral location of the nodes, can be adjusted by changing the phase shift applied by the phase delay device 320. As shown in FIG. 4, phase delay devices 420 and 435 are located on the third waveguide 415c and the sixth waveguide 430c, respectively. The first light source 410, the first waveguide 415a, the second waveguide 415b, the third waveguide 415c and the phase delay device 420 are configured and operate in the same way as the light source 310, the first waveguide 315a, the second waveguide 315b, the third waveguide 315c and the phase delay device 320, respectively, and as described with reference to FIG. 3. Each of the patterns 450a, 450b and 450c are produced from different phase shifts applied by the phase delay device 420 to light propagating in the third waveguide 415. Each of the patterns 460a, 460b and 460c are produced from different phase shifts applied by the phase delay device 435 to light propagating in the sixth waveguide 430c. The spacing lateral location of the nodes in the fringe patterns can be adjusted by changing the phase shift applied by the phase delay devices 435 and 420);
outputting, via at least the first and second emission apertures, respective laser light from the first and second optical paths, to form a fringe illumination pattern (see Figs. 3-4, col. 7 lines 43-60, col. 8 lines 7-26, col. 8 lines 48-58, col. 9 lines 27-36, col. 10 lines 32-61. Light exits the second waveguide 315b from an exit 345a and from the third waveguide 315c from an exit 345b. Because light propagating in the third waveguide 315c is phase shifted, light exiting the second waveguide 315b from the exit 345a and the third waveguide 315c from exit 345b periodically constructively and destructively interfere, producing the interference fringes of the patterned interferometric illumination 325. The period between the interference fringes is determined by the physical waveguide spacing 330 between the exit 345a and the exit 345b of the second waveguide 315b and the third waveguide 315c. When the first light source 410 and the second light source 425 output light simultaneously, the resulting interferometric illumination 440 contains two different fringe patterns, where the fringe pattern resulting from the second light source 425 is closer together than the fringe pattern resulting from the first light source 410. Light exits the fifth waveguide 430b and the sixth waveguide 430c. Because of the phase delay applied by the phase delay device 435, the output light from the fifth waveguide 430b is separated by a phase shift from the output light from the sixth waveguide 430c, and thus the light periodically interferes, producing a patterned interferometric illumination 440. The distance between interferometric fringes in the interferometric illumination 440 output from the fifth waveguide 430b and the sixth waveguide 430c may be larger than the fringe distance output by the second waveguide 415b and the third waveguide 415c due to the smaller lateral distance between the fifth waveguide 430b and the sixth waveguide 430c); and
based on the fringe illumination pattern formed by the respective laser light from the first and second optical paths, determining an orientation of a user's pupil (see Figs. 2A-2B, col. 3 lines 57-63, col. 4 lines 17-35, col. 5 lines 64-67, col 6 lines 1-31, col. 8 lines 7-25, col. 19 lines 45-52. FIG. 2, provides image light to an eye box located at an exit pupil of another eye of the user. The NED 100 includes a depth camera assembly (DCA) 115 for determining depth information of an object in a target area. The target area may be the eye box 270 of the NED 100. The DCA 115 includes an illumination assembly which illuminates a target area with a structured light pattern and determines the depth information of the object based in part on deformation of the structured light pattern on surfaces of the target area. The illumination assembly may be the patterned light generator 205. In some embodiments, the target area is a user's eye, and the DCA 115 determines information about a user's eye. The patterned light generator 205 of the DCA 115 may be any of the IC illumination generators described in FIGS. 3-8. FIG. 3 is a diagram 300 of an IC patterned light generator 305 and example output light intensity profiles 335, in accordance with an embodiment. The IC patterned light generator 305 produces patterned interferometric illumination 325. The patterned interferometric illumination 325 may be used for 3D depth eye tracking. The DCA 920 is used for eye tracking. The DCA 920 determines eye tracking information associated with an eye of a user wearing the near-eye-display 905. The eye tracking information determined by the DCA 920 may comprise information about an orientation of the user's eye, i.e., information about an angle of an eye-gaze).
Regarding Claim 10, Chao teaches the illumination system of claim 9.
Chao further teaches wherein: the one or more laser sources comprises a first laser source and a second laser source (see Fig. 4, First light source 410 and second light source 45, col. 6 lines 10-17, col. 9 lines 12-27. The light source may be any of a tunable laser, a quantum dot laser, an edge emitting laser, a laser diode, or any combination of these light sources),
the one or more waveguides includes a first waveguide configured to receive first light from the first laser source (see Fig. 4, first light source 410 and third waveguide 415c, col. 9 lines 6-11, col. 9 lines 27-33. As depicted in figure 4 the first waveguide 415a in-couples light from the first light source 415; the first waveguide 415a ends in a junction and is split into the second waveguide 415b and the third waveguide 415c. Therefore, light propagating in the first waveguide 415a is split between the second waveguide 415b and the third waveguide 415c), and a second waveguide configured to receive second light from the second laser source (see Fig. 4, second light source 425 and sixth waveguide 430c, col. 10 lines 6-16. The fourth waveguide 430a in-couples light from the second light source 425. The fourth waveguide 430a ends in a junction and is split into the fifth waveguide 430b and the sixth waveguide 430c. Light propagating in the fourth waveguide 430a is split between the fifth waveguide 430b and the sixth waveguide 430c such that substantially equal amounts of light propagate in the fifth waveguide 430b and the sixth waveguide 430c from the fourth waveguide 430a), and
each of the first waveguide and the second waveguide are coupled to a different respective phase-tuning element, including the respective phase-tuning element and another phase-tuning element that is distinct and separate from the respective phase-tuning element (see Fig. 4, phase delay device 420 and phase delay device 435, col. 8 lines 35-37. As shown in FIG. 4, phase delay devices 420 and 435 are located on the third waveguide 415c and the sixth waveguide 430c, respectively).
Regarding Claim 11, Chao teaches the illumination system of claim 10.
Chao further teaches wherein the first laser source and the second laser source are formed in a same semiconductor substrate (see Fig. 5A, col. 7 lines 23-43, col. 11 lines 7-34. col. 9, lines 65-67, col. 10 lines 1-5. col. 12 lines 23-29. As depicted in figure 5A, the first light source 410 and the second light source 425 are form in the same layer IC pattern light generator 500. Similarly, the first light source 410, the first waveguide 415a, the second waveguide 415b, the third waveguide 415c and the phase delay device 420 are configured and operate in the same way as the light source 310, the first waveguide 315a, the second waveguide 315b, the third waveguide 315c and the phase delay device 320, respectively, and as described with reference to FIG. 3. The substrate 322 may be formed from any standard chip substrate material, such as a semiconductor material. Any of the light source 310, the first waveguide 315a, the second waveguide 315b, the third waveguide 315c and/or the phase delay device 320 may be formed on the substrate 322 through any standard etching or epitaxial growth technique).
Regarding Claim 13, Chao teaches the illumination system of claim 9.
Chao further teaches wherein: the one or more waveguides includes a first optical waveguide that is optically split to form the first optical path and the second optical path (see Fig. 3, first waveguide 315a is split into a second waveguide 315b and a third waveguide 315c, col. 6 lines 32-67, Fig. 4 first waveguide 415a is split into a second waveguide 415b and a third waveguide 415c, col. 9 lines 6-11, col. 9 lines 65-67, col. 10 lines 1-5 . The first waveguide 315a in-couples light from the light source 310. The first waveguide 315a ends in a junction and is split into a second waveguide 315b and a third waveguide 315c. Light propagating in the first waveguide 315a is split between the second waveguide 315b and the third waveguide 315c such that substantially equal amounts of light propagate in the second waveguide 315b and the third waveguide 315c from the first waveguide 315a. A phase delay device 320 applies a phase delay to light in the third waveguide 315c), and
only one of the first and second optical paths of the first optical waveguide is coupled with the respective phase-tuning element (see Fig. 3, phase delay device 320 and third waveguide 315c, col. 6 lines 57-67, Fig. 4 phase delay device 420 and third waveguide 415c, col. 9, lines 65-67, col. 10 lines 1-5. A phase delay device 320 applies a phase delay to light in the third waveguide 315c. The phase delay device 320 is an active phase delay device. An electro-optic modulator phase delay device 320 modulates the phase of the light propagating in the third waveguide 315c, resulting in a phase shift relative to the light propagating in the second waveguide 315. Similarly, the first light source 410, the first waveguide 415a, the second waveguide 415b, the third waveguide 415c and the phase delay device 420 are configured and operate in the same way as the light source 310, the first waveguide 315a, the second waveguide 315b, the third waveguide 315c and the phase delay device 320, respectively, and as described with reference to FIG. 3).
Regarding Claim 14, Chao teaches the illumination system of claim 13.
Chao further teaches wherein a period of fringes in the fringe illumination pattern is defined by a distance between the first optical path and the second optical path of the first optical waveguide (see Figs. 3-4, col. 7 lines 43-68, col. 8 lines 1-6. . The period between the interference fringes is determined by the physical waveguide spacing 330 between the exit 345a and the exit 345b of the second waveguide 315b and the third waveguide 315c).
Regarding Claim 15, Chao teaches a non-transitory, computer-readable storage medium comprising instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of an AR device (see Fig. 1, col. 2 lines 48-55, col. 22 lines 43-65, col. 23 lines 2-11. Embodiments of the present disclosure may include or be implemented in conjunction with an artificial reality system. Artificial reality is a form of reality that has been adjusted in some manner before presentation to a user, which may include, e.g., a virtual reality (VR), an augmented reality (AR), a mixed reality (MR), a hybrid reality, or some combination and/or derivatives thereof. Any of the steps, operations, or processes described herein may be performed or implemented with one or more hardware or software modules, alone or in combination with other devices. A software module is implemented with a computer program product comprising a computer-readable medium containing computer program code, which can be executed by a computer processor for performing any or all of the steps, operations, or processes described), cause operations comprising:
at an illumination system for performing eye-tracking at an AR device ((see Fig. 1-4, Fig. 9, col. 1, lines 30-40, col. 2 lines 48-61, col. 2 lines 26-47, col. 3 lines 35-40, col. 3, lines 64-67, col. 4 lines 1-5, col. 4 lines 17-28, col. 5 lines 47-52, col. 6 lines 1-7. Light projection system is described for use in artificial reality systems, and which outputs patterned interferometric illumination that may be dynamically adjustable. Embodiments of the present disclosure may include or be implemented in conjunction with an artificial reality system. Artificial reality is a form of reality that has been adjusted in some manner before presentation to a user, which may include, e.g., a virtual reality (VR), an augmented reality (AR), a mixed reality (MR), a hybrid reality, or some combination and/or derivatives thereof. As described herein, a DCA 115, and specifically an illumination source of a DCA 115 may be used to determine depth information about a user's eyes and/or face. The light from the eye tracking system may be from any of the IC illumination sources described in further detail with reference to FIGS. 3-8. The controller may estimate a position of the eye using the one or more captured images and a model of the eye), the illumination system comprising (i) one or more laser sources (see Fig. 3, light source 310, Fig. 4, first light source 410 and second light source 425, col. 6 lines 8-46, col. 9 lines 3-50. The light source 310 may be any light source with spatial coherence capable of producing interferometric illumination and compatible with the IC chip, such as a Vertical External-cavity Surface-emitting Laser (VECSEL), a Vertical-cavity Surface-emitting Laser (VCSEL), a superluminescent diode (SLED), a tunable laser, a quantum dot laser, an edge emitting laser, a laser diode, or any combination of these light sources), (ii) one or more waveguides (see Fig. 3, first wave guide 315a, second waveguide 315b, third waveguide 315c, Fig. 4, first waveguide 415a, second waveguide 415b and third waveguide 415c, col. 6 lines 32-56, col. 9 lines 60-67, col. 10 lines 1-5), (iii) one or more phase-tuning elements (see Fig. 3, phase delay device 320, Fig. 4, phase delay devices 420 and 435, col. 6, lines 57-67, col. 7 lines 1-23, col. 8 lines 35-47), and (iv) a plurality of emission apertures including a first emission aperture and a second emission aperture (see Fig. 3, exit 345a and exit 345b, Fig. 4-5C, exits 510a, 510b, 515a and 515b, col. 7 lines 43-60, col. 11, lines 35-44, col. 12 lines 3-53):
causing emission, via a respective laser source of the one or more laser sources, of laser light (see Fig. 3, Figs. 4-5C, Fig. 9, col. 19 lines 16-21, col. 19 lines 40-45. The DCA 920 includes an illumination source, an imaging device and a controller. The illumination source of the DCA 920 is configured to illuminate the target area with illumination light in accordance with emission instructions. The illumination source of the DCA 920 may be any of the illumination generators described in FIGS. 3-8);
receiving, via the one or more waveguides, the laser light from the respective laser source, such that the laser light is propagated along a first optical path and a second optical path (see Fig. 3, Figs. 4-5C, col. 6 lines 8-46, col. 9 lines 60-67, col. 10 lines 1-45. The light source 310 outputs light to a first waveguide 315a. The light source 310 is thus optically coupled to the first waveguide 315a. For example, the optical coupling can be achieved by an adiabatically tapered waveguide. The adiabatically tapered waveguide can be a separate waveguide from the first waveguide 315a. In other examples, the first waveguide 315a itself is adiabatically tapered. The first waveguide 315a in-couples light from the light source 310. The first waveguide 315a ends in a junction and is split into a second waveguide 315b and a third waveguide 315c. Light propagating in the first waveguide 315a is split between the second waveguide 315b and the third waveguide 315c such that substantially equal amounts of light propagate in the second waveguide 315b and the third waveguide 315c from the first waveguide 315a. The second light source 425, a fourth waveguide 430a, a fifth waveguide 430b, a sixth waveguide 430c and a phase delay device 435 are configured and operate in the same way as the light source 310, the first waveguide 315a, the second waveguide 315b, the third waveguide 315c and the phase delay device 320, respectively, and as described with reference to FIG. 3. Similarly, the first light source 410, the first waveguide 415a, the second waveguide 415b, the third waveguide 415c and the phase delay device 420 are configured and operate in the same way as the light source 310, the first waveguide 315a, the second waveguide 315b, the third waveguide 315c and the phase delay device 320, respectively, and as described with reference to FIG. 3. The second light source 425 outputs light to the fourth waveguide 430a. The second light source 425 is optically coupled to the fourth waveguide 430a. Light propagating in the fourth waveguide 430a is split between the fifth waveguide 430b and the sixth waveguide 430c such that substantially equal amounts of light propagate in the fifth waveguide 430b and the sixth waveguide 430c from the fourth waveguide 430a);
adjusting, via a respective phase-tuning element of the one or more phase-tuning elements, the phase in the first optical path, such that a respective phase in the first optical path is different than another respective phase in the second optical path (see Figs. 3-5C, col. 6 lines 57-67, col. 7 lines 1-23, col. 8 lines 7-26, col. 8 lines 35-47, col. 9 lines 60-67, col. 10 lines 1-5, col. 10 lines 46-61. The phase delay device 320 may be any other standard device capable of producing a phase shift in the light propagating from the first waveguide 315a to the third waveguide 315c. Each of the patterns 340a, 340b and 340c are produced from different phase shifts applied by the phase delay device 320. The lateral location of the nodes, can be adjusted by changing the phase shift applied by the phase delay device 320. As shown in FIG. 4, phase delay devices 420 and 435 are located on the third waveguide 415c and the sixth waveguide 430c, respectively. The first light source 410, the first waveguide 415a, the second waveguide 415b, the third waveguide 415c and the phase delay device 420 are configured and operate in the same way as the light source 310, the first waveguide 315a, the second waveguide 315b, the third waveguide 315c and the phase delay device 320, respectively, and as described with reference to FIG. 3. Each of the patterns 450a, 450b and 450c are produced from different phase shifts applied by the phase delay device 420 to light propagating in the third waveguide 415. Each of the patterns 460a, 460b and 460c are produced from different phase shifts applied by the phase delay device 435 to light propagating in the sixth waveguide 430c. The spacing lateral location of the nodes in the fringe patterns can be adjusted by changing the phase shift applied by the phase delay devices 435 and 420);
outputting, via at least the first and second emission apertures, respective laser light from the first and second optical paths, to form a fringe illumination pattern (see Figs. 3-4, col. 7 lines 43-60, col. 8 lines 7-26, col. 8 lines 48-58, col. 9 lines 27-36, col. 10 lines 32-61. Light exits the second waveguide 315b from an exit 345a and from the third waveguide 315c from an exit 345b. Because light propagating in the third waveguide 315c is phase shifted, light exiting the second waveguide 315b from the exit 345a and the third waveguide 315c from exit 345b periodically constructively and destructively interfere, producing the interference fringes of the patterned interferometric illumination 325. The period between the interference fringes is determined by the physical waveguide spacing 330 between the exit 345a and the exit 345b of the second waveguide 315b and the third waveguide 315c. When the first light source 410 and the second light source 425 output light simultaneously, the resulting interferometric illumination 440 contains two different fringe patterns, where the fringe pattern resulting from the second light source 425 is closer together than the fringe pattern resulting from the first light source 410. Light exits the fifth waveguide 430b and the sixth waveguide 430c. Because of the phase delay applied by the phase delay device 435, the output light from the fifth waveguide 430b is separated by a phase shift from the output light from the sixth waveguide 430c, and thus the light periodically interferes, producing a patterned interferometric illumination 440. The distance between interferometric fringes in the interferometric illumination 440 output from the fifth waveguide 430b and the sixth waveguide 430c may be larger than the fringe distance output by the second waveguide 415b and the third waveguide 415c due to the smaller lateral distance between the fifth waveguide 430b and the sixth waveguide 430c); and
based on the fringe illumination pattern formed by the respective laser light from the first and second optical paths, determining an orientation of a user's pupil (see Figs. 2A-2B, col. 3 lines 57-63, col. 4 lines 17-35, col. 5 lines 64-67, col 6 lines 1-31, col. 8 lines 7-25, col. 19 lines 45-52. FIG. 2, provides image light to an eye box located at an exit pupil of another eye of the user. The NED 100 includes a depth camera assembly (DCA) 115 for determining depth information of an object in a target area. The target area may be the eye box 270 of the NED 100. The DCA 115 includes an illumination assembly which illuminates a target area with a structured light pattern and determines the depth information of the object based in part on deformation of the structured light pattern on surfaces of the target area. The illumination assembly may be the patterned light generator 205. In some embodiments, the target area is a user's eye, and the DCA 115 determines information about a user's eye. The patterned light generator 205 of the DCA 115 may be any of the IC illumination generators described in FIGS. 3-8. FIG. 3 is a diagram 300 of an IC patterned light generator 305 and example output light intensity profiles 335, in accordance with an embodiment. The IC patterned light generator 305 produces patterned interferometric illumination 325. The patterned interferometric illumination 325 may be used for 3D depth eye tracking. The DCA 920 is used for eye tracking. The DCA 920 determines eye tracking information associated with an eye of a user wearing the near-eye-display 905. The eye tracking information determined by the DCA 920 may comprise information about an orientation of the user's eye, i.e., information about an angle of an eye-gaze).
Regarding Claim 16, Chao teaches the non-transitory, computer-readable storage medium of claim 15.
Chao further teaches wherein: the one or more laser sources comprises a first laser source and a second laser source (see Fig. 4, First light source 410 and second light source 45, col. 6 lines 10-17, col. 9 lines 12-27. The light source may be any of a tunable laser, a quantum dot laser, an edge emitting laser, a laser diode, or any combination of these light sources),
the one or more waveguides includes a first waveguide configured to receive first light from the first laser source (see Fig. 4, first light source 410 and third waveguide 415c, col. 9 lines 6-11, col. 9 lines 27-33. As depicted in figure 4 the first waveguide 415a in-couples light from the first light source 415; the first waveguide 415a ends in a junction and is split into the second waveguide 415b and the third waveguide 415c. Therefore, light propagating in the first waveguide 415a is split between the second waveguide 415b and the third waveguide 415c), and a second waveguide configured to receive second light from the second laser source (see Fig. 4, second light source 425 and sixth waveguide 430c, col. 10 lines 6-16. The fourth waveguide 430a in-couples light from the second light source 425. The fourth waveguide 430a ends in a junction and is split into the fifth waveguide 430b and the sixth waveguide 430c. Light propagating in the fourth waveguide 430a is split between the fifth waveguide 430b and the sixth waveguide 430c such that substantially equal amounts of light propagate in the fifth waveguide 430b and the sixth waveguide 430c from the fourth waveguide 430a), and
each of the first waveguide and the second waveguide are coupled to a different respective phase-tuning element, including the respective phase-tuning element and another phase-tuning element that is distinct and separate from the respective phase-tuning element (see Fig. 4, phase delay device 420 and phase delay device 435, col. 8 lines 35-37. As shown in FIG. 4, phase delay devices 420 and 435 are located on the third waveguide 415c and the sixth waveguide 430c, respectively).
Regarding Claim 17, Chao teaches the non-transitory, computer-readable storage medium of claim 16.
Chao further teaches wherein the first laser source and the second laser source are formed in a same semiconductor substrate (see Fig. 5A, col. 7 lines 23-43, col. 11 lines 7-34. col. 9, lines 65-67, col. 10 lines 1-5. col. 12 lines 23-29. As depicted in figure 5A, the first light source 410 and the second light source 425 are form in the same layer IC pattern light generator 500. Similarly, the first light source 410, the first waveguide 415a, the second waveguide 415b, the third waveguide 415c and the phase delay device 420 are configured and operate in the same way as the light source 310, the first waveguide 315a, the second waveguide 315b, the third waveguide 315c and the phase delay device 320, respectively, and as described with reference to FIG. 3. The substrate 322 may be formed from any standard chip substrate material, such as a semiconductor material. Any of the light source 310, the first waveguide 315a, the second waveguide 315b, the third waveguide 315c and/or the phase delay device 320 may be formed on the substrate 322 through any standard etching or epitaxial growth technique).
Regarding Claim 19, Chao teaches the non-transitory, computer-readable storage medium of claim 15.
Chao further teaches wherein: the one or more waveguides includes a first optical waveguide that is optically split to form the first optical path and the second optical path (see Fig. 3, first waveguide 315a is split into a second waveguide 315b and a third waveguide 315c, col. 6 lines 32-67, Fig. 4 first waveguide 415a is split into a second waveguide 415b and a third waveguide 415c, col. 9 lines 6-11, col. 9 lines 65-67, col. 10 lines 1-5 . The first waveguide 315a in-couples light from the light source 310. The first waveguide 315a ends in a junction and is split into a second waveguide 315b and a third waveguide 315c. Light propagating in the first waveguide 315a is split between the second waveguide 315b and the third waveguide 315c such that substantially equal amounts of light propagate in the second waveguide 315b and the third waveguide 315c from the first waveguide 315a. A phase delay device 320 applies a phase delay to light in the third waveguide 315c), and
only one of the first and second optical paths of the first optical waveguide is coupled with the respective phase-tuning element (see Fig. 3, phase delay device 320 and third waveguide 315c, col. 6 lines 57-67, Fig. 4 phase delay device 420 and third waveguide 415c, col. 9, lines 65-67, col. 10 lines 1-5. A phase delay device 320 applies a phase delay to light in the third waveguide 315c. The phase delay device 320 is an active phase delay device. An electro-optic modulator phase delay device 320 modulates the phase of the light propagating in the third waveguide 315c, resulting in a phase shift relative to the light propagating in the second waveguide 315. Similarly, the first light source 410, the first waveguide 415a, the second waveguide 415b, the third waveguide 415c and the phase delay device 420 are configured and operate in the same way as the light source 310, the first waveguide 315a, the second waveguide 315b, the third waveguide 315c and the phase delay device 320, respectively, and as described with reference to FIG. 3)..
Regarding Claim 20, Chao teaches the non-transitory, computer-readable storage medium of claim 15.
Chao further teaches wherein the phase tuning element includes at least one of a thermo-optical modulator, one or more free carrier depletion based base shifters, or liquid crystals (see col. 6 lines 57-67, col. 7 lines 1-23. The phase delay device 320 is an active phase delay device. An electro-optic modulator phase delay device 320 modulates the phase of the light propagating in the third waveguide 315c, resulting in a phase shift relative to the light propagating in the second waveguide 315b. In other embodiments, the phase delay device 320 is a thermo-optic phase shifter. In other embodiments, the phase delay device 320 is an acousto-optic deflector (AOD). The phase delay device 320, and any of the phase delay devices described herein, may be a micro-electro-mechanical system (MEMS) mirror. A MEMS mirror phase delay device 320 applies a phase delay through translational motion of a mirror, driven by electromagnetic, electrostatic, thermos-electric or piezo-electric effects. For example, a comb-drive may produce resonant translational movement of the MEMS mirror. In other embodiments, the phase delay device 320 is an electro-optic modulator. The phase delay device 320 may be any other standard device capable of producing a phase shift in the light propagating from the first waveguide 315a to the third waveguide 315c)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-5, 12 and 18 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the objections
set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20210314549 A1 – Gao et al. – A switchable fringe pattern illuminator that includes a light source, a plurality of waveguides, and a plurality of phase delay devices that spatially shifts fringe patterns.
/IM/Examiner, Art Unit 2626
/TEMESGHEN GHEBRETINSAE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2626 6/30/26