This action is in response to the preliminary amendment received on October 20, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5, 7, 8, 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5, 8, 10 and 11 recite the limitation "the sheet" in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim since the claims is drawn to a first sheet and a second sheet such that it is unclear which of the first and second sheets the applicant is referencing. For examining purposes, Examiner has understood the phrase “the sheet” to reference the first sheet of material.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the sheet" in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim since the claims is drawn to a first sheet and a second sheet such that it is unclear which of the first and second sheets the applicant is referencing.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No.12,630,320. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the pending claims are a broader recitation of limitations claimed in the referenced US. Patent (see Diagram I below).
Diagram I
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 7, 8 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by FRIEZE et al. (US 2007/0095699).
In reference to claims 1, 7 and 8, FRIEZE et al. discloses a packaging method (figure 2) comprising: positioning (step 1 of figure 2) and retaining an article (see Diagram II below) in a fixed disposition on a first sheet of material (see Diagram II below); subsequently, folding (steps 2-5 of figure 2) the first sheet of material about the article to entirely encompass the article within the first sheet of material; securing straps (figure 1) to the first sheet to retain the article in the fixed disposition on the first sheet; subsequently, folding (steps 6-9 of figure 2) a second sheet of material (see Diagram II below) about the first sheet to entirely enclose the first sheet and article therewithin; and subsequently, securing (steps 9 of figure 2; paragraphs [0005-0006]) the second sheet of material in the folded disposition with enclosing the first sheet and the article therewithin (see Diagram II below).
Diagram II
Regarding claim 13, paragraphs [0026-0027] of FREIZE et al. discloses the knowledge in the art to provide tape as the strap that secures the second sheet of material in the folded disposition .
Claims 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by HUNTER et al. (US 2,734,543).
In reference to claims 17 and 18, HUNTER et al. discloses a packaging method comprising: positioning and retaining (column 2 lines 44-50) an article 13 in a fixed disposition on a first side of a first sheet 14 of textile (cloth) material; subsequently folding (column 2 lines 50-51) the first sheet 14 about the article 13 such that the article 13 is entirely encompassed by the first sheet 14; and securing 21 the folded first sheet 14 around the article 13 using a tie 20 that is fastened to a second surface (figure 5) of the sheet that is opposite to the first surface (figure 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 3, 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FRIEZE et al. (US 2007/0095699) in view of FITZWATER et al. (US 2016/0107814).
With respect to claims 2, 5 and 6, FRIEZE et al. discloses a method of packaging comprising the step of retaining an article against a first sheet of material, wherein the first sheet of material is folded about the article to create a pouch (steps 2-5 of figure 2). FITZWATER et al. teaches a method of packaging comprising: fastening (glue; paragraph [0037]) a piece of material 25 to a first sheet 5 of material to define a pouch 28; retaining (figure 4) an article F in a fixed disposition on the first sheet 5; and folding (figure 5). the first sheet about the article F in the fixed disposition within the pouch to entirely encompass the article F by the first sheet 27. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to have modified the method of FRIEZE et al. to include the step of fastening a material to the first sheet to define a pouch since paragraph [0037] states various means for creating the pouch can be utilized without departing from the intended purpose of forming a pouch sufficient for retaining a product on the first sheet.
In reference to claim 3, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to shape the pouch as a triangle, since page 2 of Applicant’s specification does not disclose that the shape of a triangle solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose, and it appears that the invention would perform equally well with a pouch having a rectangular shape. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to provide the pouch in the shape of a triangle as disclosed by FRIEZE et al. (see Diagram III below) and a rectangular shaped pouch as taught by FITZWATER et al. for their use in the packaging art and the selection of any of these known equivalents to retain an article against the first sheet would be within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
Diagram III
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FRIEZE et al. (US 2007/0095699) in view of FITZWATER et al. (US 2016/0107814) as applied to claim 2, and further in view of PROKASH et al (US 7,922,983).
Regarding claim 4, paragraph [0005] and [0020] of FRIEZE et al. discloses the first and second sheets of material as materials suitable for sterilization, such as: muslin (textile), plastics, composites and hybrids; wherein the article(s) wrapped within the first and second sheets is medical utensils which are not known to be textile materials. PROKASH et al. teaches a packaging method comprising: positioning and retaining a textile (woven; column 4 lines ) article 14 on a first sheet 12 of cloth material (column 4 lines 16-19); folding the first sheet 12 to enclose the article 14 within the first sheet 12. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to have further modified the method of FRIEZE et al. to include a cloth article enclosed within the first sheet since column 3 line 66- column 4 line 5 of PROKASH et al. states such a modification provides an additional layer to the wrapped product for the purpose of resisting tearing.
Claims 9 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FRIEZE et al. (US 2007/0095699) in view of PROKASH et al. (US 7,922,983).
With respect to claims 9 and 15, FRIEZE et al. paragraph [0005] and [0020] of FRIEZE et al. discloses the first and second sheets of material as materials suitable for sterilization, such as: muslin (textile), plastics, composites and hybrids; wherein the article(s) wrapped within the first and second sheets is medical utensils which are not known to be textile materials; and securing textile (velcro; paragraph [0027]) straps (figure 1) to the first sheet to retain the article in the fixed disposition on the first sheet. FRIEZE et al. further discloses the article(s) wrapped within the first and second sheets as medical utensils which are not known to be textile materials.
PROKASH et al. teaches a packaging method comprising: positioning and retaining a textile (woven; column 4 lines ) article 14 on a first sheet 12 of cloth material (column 4 lines 16-19); folding the first sheet 12 to enclose the article 14 within the first sheet 12. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to have modified the method of FRIEZE et al. to include a cloth article enclosed within the first sheet since column 3 line 66- column 4 line 5 of PROKASH et al. states such a modification provides an additional layer to the wrapped product for the purpose of resisting tearing.
Claims 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FRIEZE et al. (US 2007/0095699) in view of MAY (US 1,429,608).
With respect to claims 10 and 11, paragraph [0027] of FRIEZE et al. discloses securing the article on the first sheet with any sutiable fastener. MAY teaches the use of snaps 20 or any other rigid fastener means to retain an article on a material (figures 1-3). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to utilize tape, snaps, buttons and other known equivalent rigid fasteners, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select any known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. 1
Claims 12, 14, 19, 21 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FRIEZE et al. (US 2007/0095699) in view of HUNTER (US 2,734,543).
In reference to claim 12, FRIEZE et al. discloses a packaging method (figure 2) comprising: positioning (step 1 of figure 2) and retaining an article (see Diagram II above) in a fixed disposition on a first surface of a first sheet of material (see Diagram II above); subsequently, folding (steps 2-5 of figure 2) the first sheet of material about the article to entirely encompass the article within the first sheet of material; and securing straps (figures 1 & 2 step 9 ) to a second surface of the first sheet opposite the first surface to retain the article in the fixed disposition on the first sheet. FRIEZE et al. does not disclose the securing strap as a tie.
HUNTER teaches a packaging method comprising: positioning and retaining an article 13 on a first surface of a first sheet 14 of material; folding the first sheet 14 to enclose the article 13 therein; and retaining the article on the first sheet with a tie 20 fastened to a second surface of the first sheet 14 opposite the first surface of the first sheet. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have modified the strap of FRIEZE et al. to that of a tie since column 1 lines 36-42 of HUNTER suggests the selection of ties or tape to retain the article within the enclosure of the first sheet would be equally sufficient for the purpose of releasably securing the package in a folded/wrapped configuration.
Regarding claim 14, paragraphs [0026-0027] of FREIZE et al. discloses the knowledge in the art to provide tape as the strap that secures the second sheet of material in the folded disposition. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have modified the strap of FRIEZE et al. to that of a tie since column 1 lines 36-42 of HUNTER suggests the selection of ties or tape to retain the article within the enclosure of the first sheet would be equally sufficient for the purpose of releasably securing the package in a folded/wrapped configuration.
In reference to claims 19, 21 and 22, FRIEZE et al. discloses a packaging method (figure 2) comprising: folding (steps 2-5 of figure 2) a first sheet of material about an article to entirely encompass the article within the first sheet of material; subsequently, folding (steps 6-9 of figure 2) a second sheet of material (see Diagram II above) about the first sheet to entirely enclose the first sheet and article therewithin; and subsequently, securing (steps 9 of figure 2; paragraphs [0005-0006]) a strap (tape) to the second sheet of material in the folded disposition around the first sheet enclosing the article therewithin (see Diagram II above) rather than using a tie as claimed.
HUNTER teaches a packaging method comprising: positioning and retaining an article 13 on a first surface of a sheet 14 of material; folding the sheet 14 to enclose an article 13 therein; and using a tie 20 having a midpoint 16 fastened to a second surface of the sheet 14 opposite to the first surface to secure the sheet in a wrapped disposition about the article. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have modified the strap applied to the first material and the second material of FRIEZE et al. to that of a tie with a midsection as claimed since column 1 lines 36-42 of HUNTER suggests the selection of ties or tape to retain the article within the enclosure of the first sheet would be equally sufficient for the purpose of releasably securing the package in a folded/wrapped configuration.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Refer to the attached PTO-892 for a notice of references cited and recommended for consideration based on their disclosure of limitations related to the claimed invention; in particular, SCHEERER (US 5,867,825) and STECKLEIN et al. (US 7,560,082) are found to disclose similar packaging methods to that of the claimed invention.
Other helpful telephone numbers are listed for applicant's benefit:
Allowed Files & Publication (888) 786-0101
Assignment Branch (800) 972-6382
Certificates of Correction (703) 305-8309
Fee Questions (571) 272-6400
Inventor Assistance Center (800) PTO-9199
Petitions/special Programs (571) 272-3282
Information Help line 1-800-786-9199
/GLORIA R WEEKS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3731
June 26, 2026
1 In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.