DETAILED ACTION
This is a non-final office action on the merits. Claims 1-20 are pending and addressed below.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/1/2025 is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Case et al. (US 20220151450).
Regarding claims 1 and 13, Case et al. teaches:
A mobile cleaning robot comprising:
a drive system configured to move the mobile cleaning robot about an environment;
a cleaning system;
a memory device including instructions; and
one or more processors coupled to the memory device, the one or more processors including processing circuitry that, when in operation, is configured by the instructions to:
(at least figs 1-5B [0004]-[0087] [0105]-[0192] fig. 8 [0218]-[0225] discussed mobile robot 100/autonomous mobile floor cleaning robot, drive system, controller circuit, memory storage element, mobile device, discussed cleaning mission, time-boxed mission, prioritized cleaning module 582, path planning module 584, coverage path)
receive or generate a cleaning mission for one or more areas of the environment;
generate a coverage path for the mobile cleaning robot to traverse the one or more areas during the cleaning mission;
operate the drive system to move the mobile cleaning robot about the environment according to the coverage path; and
operate the cleaning system to perform cleaning operations while the mobile cleaning robot traverses the coverage path
(at least figs 1-5B [0004]-[0087] [0105]-[0192] discussed mobile robot 100/autonomous mobile floor cleaning robot, drive system, controller circuit, memory storage element, mobile device, discussed cleaning mission, time-boxed mission, prioritized cleaning module 582, path planning module 584, coverage path; in particular [0006] [0172]-[0192])
Regarding claim 2, Case et al. teaches:
receiving, with the controller, a time-based mission including one or more areas to be cleaned by the mobile cleaning robot;
receiving, with the controller, a set time window for the mobile cleaning robot to clean the one or more areas of the environment; and
modifying the coverage path based on the time-based mission and the set time window
(at least figs 1-5B [0004]-[0087] [0105]-[0192] discussed mobile robot 100/autonomous mobile floor cleaning robot, drive system, controller circuit, memory storage element, mobile device, discussed cleaning mission, time-boxed mission, prioritized cleaning module 582, path planning module 584, coverage path; in particular [0006] [0172]-[0192])
Regarding claim 3, Case et al. teaches:
operating the mobile cleaning robot in a turbo mode during the time-based mission to reduce mission operation time to meet the set time window (at least figs 1-5B [0004]-[0087] [0105]-[0192] discussed mobile robot 100/autonomous mobile floor cleaning robot, drive system, controller circuit, memory storage element, mobile device, discussed cleaning mission, time-boxed mission, prioritized cleaning module 582, path planning module 584, coverage path; in particular [0006] [0172]-[0192])
Regarding claim 4, Case et al. teaches:
wherein operating the mobile cleaning robot in the turbo mode comprises:
prioritizing cleaning of visible areas over less-visible areas to maximize visible area cleaned within the set time window
(at least figs 1-5B [0004]-[0087] [0105]-[0192] discussed mobile robot 100/autonomous mobile floor cleaning robot, drive system, controller circuit, memory storage element, mobile device, discussed cleaning mission, time-boxed mission, prioritized cleaning module 582, path planning module 584, coverage path; in particular [0006] [0172]-[0192])
Regarding claim 5, Case et al. teaches:
wherein operating the mobile cleaning robot in the turbo mode comprises:
identifying an avoidance spot in the one or more areas; and
modifying the coverage path to avoid the avoidance spot to reduce mission operation time
(at least figs 1-5B [0004]-[0087] [0105]-[0192] discussed mobile robot 100/autonomous mobile floor cleaning robot, drive system, controller circuit, memory storage element, mobile device, discussed cleaning mission, time-boxed mission, prioritized cleaning module 582, path planning module 584, coverage path; in particular [0006] [0172]-[0192])
Regarding claim 6, Case et al. teaches:
wherein the avoidance spot includes one or more of floor areas located near a wall, clutter, obstacles, or hazardous areas (at least figs 1-5B [0004]-[0087] [0105]-[0192] discussed mobile robot 100/autonomous mobile floor cleaning robot, drive system, controller circuit, memory storage element, mobile device, discussed cleaning mission, time-boxed mission, prioritized cleaning module 582, path planning module 584, coverage path; in particular [0006] [0172]-[0192])
Regarding claim 7, Case et al. teaches:
wherein operating the mobile cleaning robot in the turbo mode comprises:
controlling the drive system to move the mobile cleaning robot at a speed higher than a robot speed during normal cleaning operation, wherein the speed is based on the set time window
(at least figs 1-5B [0004]-[0087] [0105]-[0192] discussed mobile robot 100/autonomous mobile floor cleaning robot, drive system, controller circuit, memory storage element, mobile device, discussed cleaning mission, time-boxed mission, prioritized cleaning module 582, path planning module 584, coverage path; in particular [0006] [0172]-[0192])
Regarding claim 8, Case et al. teaches:
wherein the speed is inversely proportional to a duration of the set time window
(at least figs 1-5B [0004]-[0087] [0105]-[0192] discussed mobile robot 100/autonomous mobile floor cleaning robot, drive system, controller circuit, memory storage element, mobile device, discussed cleaning mission, time-boxed mission, prioritized cleaning module 582, path planning module 584, coverage path; in particular [0006] [0172]-[0192])
Regarding claim 9, Case et al. teaches:
wherein operating the mobile cleaning robot in the turbo mode comprises:
operating the cleaning system at a cleaning power higher than a cleaning power during normal cleaning operation, wherein the cleaning power is based on the set time window
(at least figs 1-5B [0004]-[0087] [0105]-[0192] discussed mobile robot 100/autonomous mobile floor cleaning robot, drive system, controller circuit, memory storage element, mobile device, discussed cleaning mission, time-boxed mission, prioritized cleaning module 582, path planning module 584, coverage path; in particular [0006] [0172]-[0192])
Regarding claim 10, Case et al. teaches:
terminating the cleaning operations at expiration of the set time window regardless of mission completion status (at least figs 1-5B [0004]-[0087] [0105]-[0192] discussed mobile robot 100/autonomous mobile floor cleaning robot, drive system, controller circuit, memory storage element, mobile device, discussed cleaning mission, time-boxed mission, prioritized cleaning module 582, path planning module 584, coverage path; in particular [0006] [0172]-[0192])
Regarding claim 11, Case et al. teaches:
tracking a progress of the cleaning mission including a mission completion status; and
resuming unfinished cleaning operations at a subsequent time if the cleaning mission is incomplete at the expiration of the set time window
(at least figs 1-5B [0004]-[0087] [0105]-[0192] discussed mobile robot 100/autonomous mobile floor cleaning robot, drive system, controller circuit, memory storage element, mobile device, discussed cleaning mission, time-boxed mission, prioritized cleaning module 582, path planning module 584, coverage path; in particular [0006] [0172]-[0192])
Regarding claim 12, Case et al. teaches:
wherein prioritizing cleaning of visible areas comprises prioritizing large open floor spaces over floor areas underneath furniture
(at least figs 1-5B [0004]-[0087] [0105]-[0192] discussed mobile robot 100/autonomous mobile floor cleaning robot, drive system, controller circuit, memory storage element, mobile device, discussed cleaning mission, time-boxed mission, prioritized cleaning module 582, path planning module 584, coverage path; in particular [0006] [0172]-[0192])
Regarding claim 14, the cited portions and rationale in rejection to claim 2 read on this claim.
Regarding claim 15, the cited portions and rationale in rejection to claim 3 read on this claim.
Regarding claim 16, Case et al. teaches:
wherein the instructions configure the processing circuitry to:
operate the mobile cleaning robot in a multi-mission mode to complete the cleaning mission across multiple separate cleaning sessions at different times if the cleaning mission is incomplete at expiration of the set time window
(at least figs 1-5B [0004]-[0087] [0105]-[0192] discussed mobile robot 100/autonomous mobile floor cleaning robot, drive system, controller circuit, memory storage element, mobile device, discussed cleaning mission, time-boxed mission, prioritized cleaning module 582, path planning module 584, coverage path; in particular [0006] [0172]-[0192])
Regarding claim 17, Case et al. teaches:
wherein operating the mobile cleaning robot in the turbo mode comprises:
scheduling coordinated cleaning between the mobile cleaning robot and at least one additional mobile robot to reduce mission operation time
(at least figs 1-5B [0004]-[0087] [0105]-[0192] discussed mobile robot 100/autonomous mobile floor cleaning robot, drive system, controller circuit, memory storage element, mobile device, discussed cleaning mission, time-boxed mission, prioritized cleaning module 582, path planning module 584, coverage path; in particular [0006] [0172]-[0192])
Regarding claim 18, Case et al. teaches:
wherein operating the mobile cleaning robot in the turbo mode comprises:
prioritizing cleaning of areas based on a floor type of the areas, wherein dirt-revealing floor types are prioritized over dirt-hiding floor types
(at least figs 1-5B [0004]-[0087] [0105]-[0192] discussed mobile robot 100/autonomous mobile floor cleaning robot, drive system, controller circuit, memory storage element, mobile device, discussed cleaning mission, time-boxed mission, prioritized cleaning module 582, path planning module 584, coverage path; in particular [0006] [0172]-[0192])
Regarding claim 19, Case et al. teaches:
wherein the time-based mission is initiated by a trigger event comprising an indication of a user entering or exiting a pre-defined geographical zone with respect to a user residence location
(at least figs 1-5B [0004]-[0087] [0105]-[0192] discussed mobile robot 100/autonomous mobile floor cleaning robot, drive system, controller circuit, memory storage element, mobile device, discussed cleaning mission, time-boxed mission, prioritized cleaning module 582, path planning module 584, coverage path; in particular [0006] [0172]-[0192])
Regarding claim 20, Case et al. teaches:
wherein the set time window is selectable by a user via a user interface of a mobile device in communication with the mobile cleaning robot
(at least figs 1-5B [0004]-[0087] [0105]-[0192] discussed mobile robot 100/autonomous mobile floor cleaning robot, drive system, controller circuit, memory storage element, mobile device, discussed cleaning mission, time-boxed mission, prioritized cleaning module 582, path planning module 584, coverage path; in particular [0006] [0172]-[0192])
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
MOTOYAMA et al. (US 20220175209) discussed cleaning robot and setting time.
BAO LONG T. NGUYEN
Examiner
Art Unit 3656
/BAO LONG T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3656