DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (KR20200009799 of record with reference made to examiner provided machine translation) in view of Min (US9847485 of record).
Regarding claim 1, Lee teaches:
A method of manufacturing a mask, comprising:
disposing a mask frame (Fig 10a-b, 12a-b, 133-f: frame 200; [0090]), the mask frame including a plurality of cell openings arranged in a first direction and a second direction intersecting the first direction (Fig 10a-b);
disposing a first edge area of an N-th cell mask on a border portion of the mask frame corresponding to a portion of the mask frame adjacent to an N-th cell opening (Fig 10a-b, 11a-b, 12a-b, 133-f; [0090]);
irradiating a first laser beam between the border portion of the mask frame and the first edge area of the N-th cell mask (10a-b, 11a-b, 12a-b, 13c-f: laser L, dummy dm; [0091, 0118-0119]); and
irradiating a second laser beam between the first edge area of the N-th cell mask and a second edge area of the N-th cell mask extending from the first edge area (10a-b, 11a-b, 12a-b, 13c-f: cutting laser CL; [0120]), wherein N is a natural number (Fig 12a).
Lee does not teach disposing a mask frame on a stage and photographing the N-th cell mask.
In the same field of endeavor regarding display manufacture, Min teaches disposing a mask on a stage (Fig 11: mask frame assembly 100, supporter 162) and photographing a N-th cell mask (Fig 11: vison part 182; col 10, ln 28-40) for the motivation of supporting and aligning the mask frame during processing (col 9, ln 63-col 10, ln 2; col 10, ln 28-40).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method as taught by Lee with the supporting and photographing as taught by Min in order to support and align the mask frame during processing.
Regarding claim 2, Lee in view of Min teaches the method of claim 1.
Lee further teaches wherein the first edge area of the N-th cell mask has a substantially quadrangular ring shape in a plan view, and the first laser beam is irradiated along the first edge area of the N-th cell mask and the border portion of the mask frame contacting the first edge area of the N-th cell mask (Fig 10a-b, Fig 13c-f; [0091, 0118-0119]).
Regarding claim 3, Lee in view of Min teaches the method of claim 2.
Lee further teaches wherein the second laser beam is irradiated between the first edge area of the N-th cell mask and the second edge area of the N-th cell mask to remove the second edge area from the N-th cell mask (Fig 11a-b, Fig 13c-f; [0120]).
Regarding claim 4, Lee in view of Min teaches the method of claim 2.
Lee further teaches wherein the disposing of the first edge area of the N-th cell mask is performed by a transfer module comprising at least one tool including a contact surface inclined at an angle with respect to a plane defined by the first direction and the second direction (Fig 12a-b, 13c-f: vacuum transfer units 60; [0109-0122]), and the at least one tool adsorbs the first edge area or the second edge area of the N-th cell mask using one of an electromagnetic force, an electrostatic force, and a vacuum suction force (Fig 12a-b, 13c-f; [0112]).
Regarding claim 6, Lee in view of Min teaches the method of claim 1.
Lee further teaches tensioning the N-th cell mask before the disposing of the first edge of the N-th cell mask ([0090, 0096-0097]).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Min as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (US2019/0088529) hereinafter Kim.
Regarding claim 5, Lee in view of Min teaches the method of claim 2.
Min further teaches wherein the photographing of the N-th cell mask is performed by a camera module comprising a plurality of cameras spaced apart from the stage (Fig 11 shows a second unlabeled vison part 182).
Lee in view of Min does not teach each of the plurality of cameras photographs a plurality of marks formed in the N-th cell mask when the N-th cell mask is viewed from the plurality of cameras.
In the same field of endeavor regarding display manufacture, Kim teaches a camera that photographs a plurality of marks formed on a unit substrate for the motivation of allowing the apparatus to recognize and manipulate the unit substrate (Fig 1: vision camera 100, alignment mark A, unit substrate US; [0026-0027, 0064-0066]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the photographing as taught by Lee in view of Min with the alignment mark identification as taught by Kim in order to allow the apparatus to recognize and manipulate the unit substrate.
Conclusion
/ALEXANDER A WANG/Examiner, Art Unit 1741
/ALISON L HINDENLANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1741