DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hinatsu et al. (US 2012/0175952 A1).
In regards to claim 14, Hinatsu discloses, in figure 1, a DC coupling device (1), comprising: an energy storage device (13) (Par 0076); and a power supply device (6, 7, 8, 9, 11) comprising an AC terminal (input terminal of central step down n-pulse transformers 6), a DC output terminal (output terminal of DC-DC converter 9), a DC coupling terminal (DC coupling terminal of alternative power source 13 connected to DC bus 8) and a controller (10, 11) (Par 0074), wherein the AC terminal (input terminal of central step down n-pulse transformers 6) is electrically connected with at least one power source (2) through an AC bus (AC transmission lines 4), the DC output terminal (output terminal of DC-DC converter 9) is electrically connected with a power load (5) (Par 0073), and the DC coupling terminal (DC coupling terminal of alternative power source 13 connected to DC bus 8) is electrically connected with the energy storage device (13); wherein the controller (10, 11) determines an operating mode according to states and parameters of the at least one power source (2) (Par 0074; “it also monitors the one or more power determination and monitoring means 3 to acquire real time or predicted wind power data. In addition to direct power measurements, other approaches to estimating or predicting wind power as are known in the art also can be used. For example, wind power or wind speed can be measured at each wind turbine and the multiple measurements can be used to provide total estimated real time or predicted wind power for the wind farm”), the energy storage device and/or the power load, and selectively receives and converts an electric power provided by the at least one power source (2) and/or the energy storage device (13) (Par 0074-0075; “The electrolyser module controllers monitor and control all the functions of the electrolyser modules and the DC-DC converters 9”) so as to supply power to the power load (5) through at least one power transmission path (power transmission path through 4, 6, 7, 8, 9); wherein the power supply device (6, 7, 8, 9, 11) and/or the energy storage device (13) provide the at least one power transmission path (power transmission path through 4, 6, 7, 8, 9).
In regards to claim 15, Hinatsu discloses, in figure 1, the DC coupling device according to claim 14, wherein a plurality of power transmission paths (power transmission paths output of DC-DC converter 9) are formed between the at least one power source (2) and the power load (5), each of the plurality of power transmission paths (power transmission paths output of DC-DC converter 9) comprises at least one power converter (9), the at least one power converter (9) is configured to convert and transmit power in the corresponding power transmission path (Par 0066).
In regards to claim 16, Hinatsu discloses, in figure 1, the DC coupling device according to claim 15, wherein the controller (10, 11) comprises: a mode selection unit (11) electrically connected with the at least one power source (2) and the power load (5) (Par 0074, 0080), and configured to receive a plurality of first parameters (Par 0074, 0066; “power determination and monitoring means 3 are located in or proximate to the wind farm for measuring and/or enabling estimation of and/or enabling prediction of the power of the AC electricity generated by the wind farm” thus provides the data to dispatch controller 11), determine the at least one power source (2) supplying the power load (5) according to the plurality of first parameters (Par 0107; “determining the target current set point for each of said plurality of electrolyser modules based on the estimated available DC power from the wind farm”), and generate a plurality of power commands (output plurality of power commands to electrolyser module controller 10) (Par 0075); and a plurality of power control units (10), wherein each of the plurality of power control units (10) is electrically connected with the mode selection unit (11) (Par 0075), the corresponding power transmission path (output of DC-DC converter 9 transmission path) and the corresponding power converter (9), and configured to receive a plurality of second parameters and at least one of the plurality of power commands (Par 0074; “The at least one dispatch controller monitors the one or more electrolyser module controllers 10, which may also be PLC's or similar devices, for data, alarms and faults”), and control the corresponding power converter (9) according to the plurality of second parameters and the at least one of plurality of power commands (Par 0075; “The electrolyser module controllers monitor and control all the functions of the electrolyser modules and the DC-DC converters 9”), so that the corresponding power transmission path (output of DC-DC converter 9 transmission path) provides power to the power load (5) (Par 0074-0075).
In regards to claim 17, Hinatsu discloses, in figure 1, the DC coupling device according to claim 16, wherein the plurality of first parameters comprises power parameters of the at least one power source (2) and the power supply device (5) (Par 0074), and the plurality of second parameters comprises power parameters of the plurality of power transmission paths (Par 0075).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hinatsu et al. (US 2012/0175952 A1) in view of Gu et al. (US 2023/0041986 A1).
In regards to claim 1, Hinatsu discloses, in figure 1, a power system (1) suppling a hydrogen generation device (5) (Par 0066), and the power system (1) comprising: a plurality of power sources (2) (Par 0066; “A wind farm 2, with one or more wind turbine generators, generates medium to high voltage AC electricity”); an energy storage device (13) (Par 0076); and a hydrogen generation power supply device (6, 7, 8, 9, 11) comprising an AC terminal (input terminal of central step down n-pulse transformers 6), a DC output terminal (output terminal of DC-DC converter 9), a DC coupling terminal (DC coupling terminal of alternative power source 13 connected to DC bus 8) and a controller (10, 11) (Par 0074), wherein the AC terminal (input terminal of central step down n-pulse transformers 6) is electrically connected with the plurality of power sources (2) through an AC bus (AC transmission lines 4), the DC output terminal (output terminal of DC-DC converter 9) is electrically connected with the hydrogen generation device (5) (Par 0073), the DC coupling terminal (DC coupling terminal of alternative power source 13 connected to DC bus 8) is electrically connected with the energy storage device (13), wherein the controller (10, 11) determines an operating mode according to states and parameters of the plurality of power sources (2) (Par 0074; “it also monitors the one or more power determination and monitoring means 3 to acquire real time or predicted wind power data. In addition to direct power measurements, other approaches to estimating or predicting wind power as are known in the art also can be used. For example, wind power or wind speed can be measured at each wind turbine and the multiple measurements can be used to provide total estimated real time or predicted wind power for the wind farm”), the energy storage device and/or the hydrogen generation device, and the controller (10, 11) selectively receives and converts an electric power provided by at least one of the plurality of power sources (2) and/or the energy storage device (13) (Par 0074-0075; “The electrolyser module controllers monitor and control all the functions of the electrolyser modules and the DC-DC converters 9”), so as to supply power to the hydrogen generation device (5) through at least one power transmission path (power transmission path through 4, 6, 7, 8, 9); wherein the hydrogen generation power supply device (6, 7, 8, 9, 11) and/or the energy storage device (13) provide the at least one power transmission path (power transmission path through 4, 6, 7, 8, 9).
Hinatsu does not disclose a plurality of power sources.
However, Gu discloses, in figure 1, a plurality of power sources (N renewable energy systems 103; Par 0033).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hinatsu’s power dispatch system by including a plurality of power sources as taught by Gu in order to improve the energy utilization and safety of the direct-current coupling hydrogen production system (Gu; Par 0032).
In regards to claim 2, Hinatsu and Gu disclose the power system according to claim 1. Gu further discloses, in figure 1, wherein a plurality of power transmission paths (power transmission paths of 103, 102, 104, 20) are formed between the plurality of power sources (103) and the hydrogen generation device (hydrogen production electrolyzer system 20) (Par 0033), and each of the plurality of power transmission paths (power transmission paths of 103, 102, 104, 20) comprises at least one power converter (201, 202) (Par 0045), and the at least one power converter (201, 202) is configured to perform power conversion and transmission in the corresponding power transmission path (Par 0044-0046).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hinatsu’s power dispatch system by wherein a plurality of power transmission paths are formed between the plurality of power sources and the hydrogen generation device, and each of the plurality of power transmission paths comprises at least one power converter, and the at least one power converter is configured to perform power conversion and transmission in the corresponding power transmission path as taught by Gu in order to improve the energy utilization and safety of the direct-current coupling hydrogen production system (Gu; Par 0032).
In regards to claim 3, Hinatsu and Gu disclose the power system according to claim 2. Hinatsu further discloses, in figure 1, wherein the controller (10, 11) comprises: a mode selection unit (11) electrically connected with the plurality of power sources (2) and the hydrogen generation device (5) (Par 0074, 0080), wherein the mode selection unit (11) is configured to receive a plurality of first parameters (Par 0074, 0066; “power determination and monitoring means 3 are located in or proximate to the wind farm for measuring and/or enabling estimation of and/or enabling prediction of the power of the AC electricity generated by the wind farm” thus provides the data to dispatch controller 11), determine power sources for supplying power to the hydrogen generation device (5) according to the plurality of first parameters (Par 0107; “determining the target current set point for each of said plurality of electrolyser modules based on the estimated available DC power from the wind farm”), and generate a plurality of power commands (output plurality of power commands to electrolyser module controller 10) (Par 0075); and a plurality of power control units (10), wherein each of the power control units (10) is electrically connected with the mode selection unit (11) (Par 0075), a corresponding power transmission path (output of DC-DC converter 9 transmission path) and a corresponding power converter (9), wherein each of the power control units (10) is configured to receive a plurality of second parameters and at least one of the plurality of power commands (Par 0074; “The at least one dispatch controller monitors the one or more electrolyser module controllers 10, which may also be PLC's or similar devices, for data, alarms and faults”), and control the corresponding power converter (9) according to the plurality of second parameters and the at least one of the plurality of power commands (Par 0075; “The electrolyser module controllers monitor and control all the functions of the electrolyser modules and the DC-DC converters 9”), so that the corresponding power transmission path (output of DC-DC converter 9 transmission path) supplies power to the hydrogen generation device (5) (Par 0074-0075).
In regards to claim 4, Hinatsu and Gu disclose the power system according to claim 3. Hinatsu further discloses, in figure 1, wherein the plurality of first parameters comprises power parameters of the plurality of power sources (2) and the hydrogen generation device (5) (Par 0074), and the plurality of second parameters comprises power parameters of the plurality of power transmission paths (Par 0075).
In regards to claim 5, Hinatsu and Gu disclose the power system according to claim 3. Hinatsu further discloses, in figure 1, a power grid (Par 0076; “The one or more alternative power sources 13 may include but are not limited to a utility electrical grid, a local electrical grid, power generator sets, or energy storage and electricity regeneration equipment such as flywheels, batteries (including redox flow batteries) and compressed air energy systems”), wherein the first power generation device (203 top as taught by Gu), the second power generation device (203 middle as taught by Gu) and the power grid are electrically connected with the AC bus (AC transmission lines 4) (Par 0076-0077), respectively.
Gu further discloses, in figure 1, wherein the plurality of power sources (103) comprise a first power generation device (203 top), a second power generation device (203 middle) (Par 0033).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hinatsu’s power dispatch system by including wherein the plurality of power sources comprise a first power generation device, a second power generation device as taught by Gu in order to improve the energy utilization and safety of the direct-current coupling hydrogen production system (Gu; Par 0032).
In regards to claim 21, Hinatsu discloses, in figure 1, a control method applied to a power system (1), the power system (1) suppling power to a hydrogen generation device (5) (Par 0066), the control method comprising:(a) providing a plurality of power sources (2) (Par 0066; “A wind farm 2, with one or more wind turbine generators, generates medium to high voltage AC electricity”), an energy storage device (13) (Par 0076) and a hydrogen generation power supply device (6, 7, 8, 9, 11), the hydrogen generation power supply device (6, 7, 8, 9, 11) comprising an AC terminal (input terminal of central step down n-pulse transformers 6), a DC output terminal (output terminal of DC-DC converter 9) and a DC coupling terminal (DC coupling terminal of alternative power source 13 connected to DC bus 8), wherein the AC terminal (input terminal of central step down n-pulse transformers 6) is electrically connected with the plurality of power sources (2) through an AC bus (AC transmission lines 4), the DC output terminal (output terminal of DC-DC converter 9) is electrically connected with the hydrogen generation device (5) (Par 0073), and the DC coupling terminal (DC coupling terminal of alternative power source 13 connected to DC bus 8) is electrically connected with the energy storage device (13); and (b) determining an operating mode according to states and parameters of the plurality of power sources (2) (Par 0074; “it also monitors the one or more power determination and monitoring means 3 to acquire real time or predicted wind power data. In addition to direct power measurements, other approaches to estimating or predicting wind power as are known in the art also can be used. For example, wind power or wind speed can be measured at each wind turbine and the multiple measurements can be used to provide total estimated real time or predicted wind power for the wind farm”), the energy storage device and/or the hydrogen generation device, and selectively receiving and converting an electric power provided by at least one of the plurality of power sources (2) and/or the energy storage device (13) (Par 0074-0075; “The electrolyser module controllers monitor and control all the functions of the electrolyser modules and the DC-DC converters 9”) so as to supply power to the hydrogen generation device (5) through at least one power transmission path (power transmission path through 4, 6, 7, 8, 9); wherein the power supply device (6, 7, 8, 9, 11) and/or the energy storage device (13) provide the at least one power transmission path (power transmission path through 4, 6, 7, 8, 9).
Hinatsu does not disclose a plurality of power sources.
However, Gu discloses, in figure 1, a plurality of power sources (N renewable energy systems 103; Par 0033).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hinatsu’s power dispatch system by including a plurality of power sources as taught by Gu in order to improve the energy utilization and safety of the direct-current coupling hydrogen production system (Gu; Par 0032).
Claims 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hinatsu et al. (US 2012/0175952 A1) in view of Lim et al. (US 2017/0033561 A1).
In regards to claim 18, Hinatsu disclose the DC coupling device according to claim 16, wherein the power supply device (6, 7, 8, 9, 11) comprises an AC/DC converter (7) and a DC/DC converter (9), the AC/DC converter (7) is electrically connected with the AC terminal (input terminal of central step down n-pulse transformers 6), the DC/DC converter (9) is electrically connected between the AC/DC converter (7) and the DC output terminal (output terminal of DC-DC converter 9), the AC/DC converter (7) and the DC/DC converter (9) is electrically connected with the DC coupling terminal (DC coupling terminal of alternative power source 13 connected to DC bus 8), but does not disclose the energy storage device comprises an energy storage converter and an energy storage element, and the energy storage converter is electrically connected between the DC coupling terminal and the energy storage element.
However, Lim discloses, in figure 1, the energy storage device (113, 121) comprises an energy storage converter (121) and an energy storage element (113) (Par 0038), and the energy storage converter (121) is electrically connected between the DC coupling terminal (DC coupling terminal between 101 and 103) and the energy storage element (113) (Par 0038).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hinatsu’s power dispatch system by including the energy storage device comprises an energy storage converter and an energy storage element, and the energy storage converter is electrically connected between the DC coupling terminal and the energy storage element as taught by Lim in order to increase the efficiency of the power supply system and prevent an abnormal operation from occurring (Lim; Par 0086).
In regards to claim 19, Hinatsu disclose the DC coupling device according to claim 16, wherein the power supply device (6, 7, 8, 9, 11) comprises an AC/DC converter (7), the AC/DC converter (7) is electrically connected between the AC terminal (input terminal of central step down n-pulse transformers 6) and the DC coupling terminal (DC coupling terminal of alternative power source 13 connected to DC bus 8), but does not disclose the energy storage device comprises an energy storage converter and an energy storage element, and the energy storage converter is electrically connected between the DC coupling terminal and the energy storage element.
However, Lim discloses, in figure 1, the energy storage device (113, 121) comprises an energy storage converter (121) and an energy storage element (113) (Par 0038), and the energy storage converter (121) is electrically connected between the DC coupling terminal (DC coupling terminal between 101 and 103) and the energy storage element (113) (Par 0038).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hinatsu’s power dispatch system by including the energy storage device comprises an energy storage converter and an energy storage element, and the energy storage converter is electrically connected between the DC coupling terminal and the energy storage element as taught by Lim in order to increase the efficiency of the power supply system and prevent an abnormal operation from occurring (Lim; Par 0086).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-13, 20, 22-25 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Speranza et al. (US 2003/0072977 A1); discloses a power system, comprising: a primary power source in electrical communication with a bus and a bridging power source, wherein the bridging power source comprises at least one of a capacitor, a battery, and an electrolysis cell, and the bridging power source is in electrical communication with said the; and a secondary power source in electrical communication with the bus. A method for operating a power system, comprising: monitoring a primary power source; if the primary power source exhibits selected characteristics, directing power from a bridging power source to a bus and initiating a secondary power source, and the bridging power source comprises at least one of a capacitor, a battery, and an electrolysis cell; and unless the secondary power source exhibits the selected characteristics, powering the bus with the secondary power source and ceasing the directing power from the bridging power source.
Edlund et al. (US 2003/0113601 A1); discloses a fuel cell system that includes a control system for regulating the power produced by the fuel cell system. The fuel cell system includes a fuel cell stack adapted to produce electrical power from a feed. In some embodiments, the fuel cell system includes a fuel processing assembly adapted to produce the feed for the fuel cell stack from one or more feedstocks. The control system regulates the power produced by the fuel cell system to prevent damage to, and/or failure of, the system.
Yamamoto et al. (US 8,527,126 B2); discloses a power supply system for an electrically powered vehicle and a method for controlling the same, and more particularly to control of a power supply system for an electrically powered vehicle equipped with a main power storage device and a plurality of sub power storage devices.
/ALEX W LAM/ Examiner, Art Unit 2836