DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 23, 33 and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 23 and 35 contain the trademark/trade name Department of Transportation (DOT) C2. Where a trademark or trade name is used in a claim as a limitation to identify or describe a particular material or product, the claim does not comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph. See Ex parte Simpson, 218 USPQ 1020 (Bd. App. 1982). The claim scope is uncertain since the trademark or trade name cannot be used properly to identify any particular material or product. A trademark or trade name is used to identify a source of goods, and not the goods themselves. Thus, a trademark or trade name does not identify or describe the goods associated with the trademark or trade name. In the present case, the trademark/trade name is used to identify/describe reflective tape and, accordingly, the identification/description is indefinite.
Claim 33 is unclear as to generating a summation from x=0 to (c)-1. The description of c is not defined in the claim or the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 41 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
DeLizo et al (US 2023/0162509 and hereafter referred to as “Delizo”) in view of Winebarger (DE 102020129455, document cited on 01/14 2026, provided by Applicant for IDS filed ) and Ma et al (US 2025/0083602 and hereafter referred to as “Ma”).
Regarding Claim 41, Delizo discloses a tractor comprising:
an image capture device (Figure 2, Figure 1, 142, Page 2, paragraph 0025),
means for estimating a length of the trailer (Page 5, paragraph 0066, Figure 2, 212, Page 2, paragraph 0025, Page 3, paragraph 0033, Claim 1, Claim 7).
Delizo does not disclose estimating a length of a trailer towed by a tractor based on a height in pixels of reflective tape on the trailer.
Winebarger discloses estimating a length of the trailer based on a height in pixels of retroreflector on the trailer (paragraph 0009, 0032, 0062, 0069).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the invention to modify Delizo to include the missing limitations as taught by Winebarger in order to determine expected trajectory (Page 1, paragraph 0002) as disclosed by Winebarger.
The combination does not explicitly disclose that the retroreflector is reflective tape.
Ma discloses reflective tape (Page 3, paragraph 0049, Page 4, paragraph 0053). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the invention to modify the combination to include the missing limitations as taught by Winebarger in order to improve visibility of motorists and pedestrians (Page 3, paragraph 0049) as disclosed by Ma.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 21-22,24-32, 34, 36-40 are allowed.
Claim 33 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/FARZANA HOSSAIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2482
July 11, 2026