DETAILED ACTION
Examiner’s Note
Examiner has cited particular paragraphs/columns and line numbers or figures in the references as applied to the claims below for convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations with the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant, in preparing the responses, to fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner. Applicant is reminded that the Examiner is entitled to give the broadest reasonable interpretation to the language of the claims. Furthermore, the Examiner is not limited to the Applicant’s definition which is not specifically set forth in the claims.
Information Disclosure Statements
The Information Disclosure Statement(s) (IDS) filed on 02/25/2026 and 06/16/2026 has/have been acknowledged.
Status of Application
The preliminarily amended list of claims 1-4 and 12-15 is pending in this application. In the preliminarily amended claim set filed 08/28/2025:
Claim(s) 5-11 and 16-22 has/have been canceled.
Claim(s) 1 and 12 is/are the independent claim(s) observed in the application.
Non-Final Rejection
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a communicator configured to receive boarding information” and “a controller configured to change at least one of a position or a form of the vehicle seat” in claim 1.
Claim limitations: “a communicator configured to receive boarding information” and “a controller configured to change at least one of a position or a form of the vehicle seat” has/have been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because it uses/they use a generic placeholder(s) such as “communicator” or “controller” respectively coupled with functional language: without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation:
In the specification, the applicant describes the structure of the “communicator” as follows: “The communicator 100 may include at least one constituent component capable of communicating with an external device, for example, at least one of a local area communication module, a wireless communication module or a wired communication module.” in at least ¶: 0057 of the Applicant’s specification, for example.
Therefore, the examiner has interpreted the “communicator” as including but not limited to a device that communicates an input from an external device to a controller using either of a wired or wireless system, for example.
In the specification, the applicant describes the structure of the “controller” as follows: “The controller 200 may be implemented as a memory that stores data about an algorithm for controlling operations of the constituent components of the vehicle 10 or a program that reproduces the algorithm, or as a processor that performs the aforementioned operations using the data stored in the memory. In this instance, the memory and the processor may be provided as physically separated chips, or be integrated into one chip.” in at least ¶: 0063 of the Applicant’s specification, for example.
Therefore, the examiner has interpreted the “controller” as including but not limited to generic computing components that in conjunction with software achieve the claimed functionality, for example.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 and 12-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by YAMAMOTO et al. (Japanese Patent Publication 2007015623 A) referenced as Yamamoto moving forward.
With respect to claim 1, Yamamoto discloses:
“A vehicle, comprising: a vehicle seat including at least one of a first seat, a second seat or a rear seat” [Yamamoto; In at least the paragraphs and figures cited, Yamamoto discloses a vehicle(denoted 1 in Fig. 1) including a first seat(denoted 12 in Fig. 1); a second seat(denoted 13 in Fig. 1); and a plurality of rear seats(denoted 14 and 15 in Fig. 1); Fig. 1-3; ¶: 0021];
“a communicator configured to receive boarding information including information about at least one of a number of occupants or a number of pieces of baggage from a user terminal” [Yamamoto; In at least the paragraphs and figures cited, Yamamoto discloses an operation unit(sometimes referred to as the control unit)(denoted 9 in Fig. 1-3), which "serves as an input means for inputting the number of passengers and the number of luggage items to be loaded;" (¶: 0025) using an LCD display(denoted 8 in Fig. 1-3), wirelessly. In view of at least the above, the disclosed operation unit and LCD display have been interpreted as patentably indistinct from the Applicant's broadly recited "communicator" and "user terminal," respectively; Fig. 1-3; ¶: 0021, 0025];
“and a controller configured to change at least one of a position or a form of the vehicle seat based on the boarding information” [Yamamoto; In at least the paragraphs and figures cited, Yamamoto discloses an electronic control unit (ECU)(denoted 5 in Fig. 2), which controls a series of actuators(denoted 21-25 in Fig. 2) in order to control seats 11-15 to conform to a particular seat pattern based on the input from the operation unit(denoted 9 in Fig. 2). Yamamoto further discloses that the seat patterns may comprise translation, rotation and or folding the seats 11-15(¶: 0026). In view of at least the above the disclosed ECU has been interpreted as patentably indistinct from the Applicant's broadly recited "controller;" Fig. 1-3; ¶: 0021].
With respect to claim 2, Yamamoto discloses: “The vehicle of claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to change the form of the vehicle seat to unfold the rear seat, when the number of occupants is less than a first predetermined number of occupants” [Yamamoto; In a least the paragraphs and figures cited, Yamamoto discloses pattern 5(Fig. 8) as on option when the number of passengers is less than 4 people. Yamamoto further discloses in Fig. 8 that rear seat 14 is placed in an unfolded position(consistent with the definition set forth in the Applicant's specification in particular ¶: 0055), such that it may be occupied. In view of this, the Examiner has interpreted setting the input to 4 passengers as patentably indistinct from the Applicant's broadly recited "when the number of occupants is less than a first predetermined number of occupants;" Fig. 8, 12; ¶: 0042, 0058].
With respect to claim 3, Yamamoto discloses: “The vehicle of claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to change the form of the vehicle seat to unfold the rear seat and the second seat, when the number of occupants is greater than or equal to a first predetermined number of occupants and less than a second predetermined number of occupants” [Yamamoto; In a least the paragraphs and figures cited, Yamamoto discloses pattern 5(Fig. 8) as on option when the number of passengers is greater than or equal to 1 person and less than 4 people. Yamamoto further discloses in Fig. 8 that second seat 13 and rear seat 14 are placed in an unfolded position(consistent with the definition set forth in the Applicant's specification in particular ¶: 0055), such that they may be occupied. In view of this, the Examiner has interpreted setting the input to between 1 and 4 passengers as patentably indistinct from the Applicant's broadly recited "when the number of occupants is greater than or equal to a first predetermined number of occupants and less than a second predetermined number of occupants;" Fig. 8, 12; ¶: 0042, 0058].
With respect to claim 4, Yamamoto discloses: “The vehicle of claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to change the form of the vehicle seat to unfold the rear seat, the second seat and the first seat, when the number of occupants is greater than or equal to a second predetermined number of occupants” [Yamamoto; In a least the paragraphs and figures cited, Yamamoto discloses pattern 1(Fig. 4) when the number of passengers is set to either 6 or 7 people. Yamamoto further discloses in Fig. 4, that all of 11-15 in unfolded positions(consistent with the definition set forth in the Applicant's specification in particular ¶: 0055), such that they may be occupied. In view of this, the Examiner has interpreted setting the input to six passengers or more as patentably indistinct from the Applicant's broadly recited "when the number of occupants is greater than or equal to a second predetermined number of occupants;" Fig. 4, 12; ¶: 0042, 0058].
With respect to claim 12, Yamamoto discloses:
“A control method of a vehicle, the control method comprising: receiving boarding information including information about at least one of a number of occupants or a number of pieces of baggage from a user terminal through a communicator” [Yamamoto; In at least the paragraphs and figures cited, Yamamoto discloses an operation unit(sometimes referred to as the control unit)(denoted 9 in Fig. 1-3), which "serves as an input means for inputting the number of passengers and the number of luggage items to be loaded;" (¶: 0025) using an LCD display(denoted 8 in Fig. 1-3), wirelessly. In view of at least the above, the disclosed operation unit and LCD display have been interpreted as patentably indistinct from the Applicant's broadly recited "communicator" and "user terminal," respectively; Fig. 1-3; ¶: 0021, 0025];
“and changing at least one of a position or a form of a vehicle seat based on the boarding information” [Yamamoto; In at least the paragraphs and figures cited, Yamamoto discloses an electronic control unit (ECU)(denoted 5 in Fig. 2), which controls a series of actuators(denoted 21-25 in Fig. 2) in order to control seats 11-15 to conform to a particular seat pattern based on the input from the operation unit(denoted 9 in Fig. 2). Yamamoto further discloses that the seat patterns may comprise translation, rotation and or folding the seats 11-15(¶: 0026); Fig. 1-3; ¶: 0021];
“the vehicle seat including at least one of a first seat, a second seat or a rear seat” [Yamamoto; In at least the paragraphs and figures cited, Yamamoto discloses a vehicle(denoted 1 in Fig. 1) including a first seat(denoted 12 in Fig. 1); a second seat(denoted 13 in Fig. 1); and a plurality of rear seats(denoted 14 and 15 in Fig. 1); Fig. 1-3; ¶: 0021].
With respect to claim 13, Yamamoto discloses: “The control method of claim 12, wherein the changing of the at least one of the position or the form of the vehicle seat comprises changing the form of the vehicle seat to unfold the rear seat, when the number of occupants is less than a first predetermined number of occupants” [Yamamoto; In a least the paragraphs and figures cited, Yamamoto discloses pattern 5(Fig. 8) as on option when the number of passengers is less than 4 people. Yamamoto further discloses in Fig. 8 that rear seat 14 is placed in an unfolded position(consistent with the definition set forth in the Applicant's specification in particular ¶: 0055), such that it may be occupied. In view of this, the Examiner has interpreted setting the input to 4 passengers as patentably indistinct from the Applicant's broadly recited "when the number of occupants is less than a first predetermined number of occupants;" Fig. 8, 12; ¶: 0042, 0058].
With respect to claim 14, Yamamoto discloses: “The control method of claim 12, wherein the changing of the at least one of the position or the form of the vehicle seat comprises changing the form of the vehicle seat to unfold the rear seat and the second seat, when the number of occupants is greater than or equal to a first predetermined number of occupants and less than a second predetermined number of occupants” [Yamamoto; In a least the paragraphs and figures cited, Yamamoto discloses pattern 5(Fig. 8) as on option when the number of passengers is greater than or equal to 1 person and less than 4 people. Yamamoto further discloses in Fig. 8 that second seat 13 and rear seat 14 are placed in an unfolded position(consistent with the definition set forth in the Applicant's specification in particular ¶: 0055), such that they may be occupied. In view of this, the Examiner has interpreted setting the input to between 1 and 4 passengers as patentably indistinct from the Applicant's broadly recited "when the number of occupants is greater than or equal to a first predetermined number of occupants and less than a second predetermined number of occupants;" Fig. 8, 12; ¶: 0042, 0058].
With respect to claim 15, Yamamoto discloses: “The control method of claim 12, wherein the changing of the at least one of the position or the form of the vehicle seat comprises changing the form of the vehicle seat to unfold the rear seat, the second seat and the first seat, when the number of occupants is greater than or equal to a second predetermined number of occupants” [Yamamoto; In a least the paragraphs and figures cited, Yamamoto discloses pattern 1(Fig. 4) when the number of passengers is set to either 6 or 7 people. Yamamoto further discloses in Fig. 4, that all of 11-15 in unfolded positions(consistent with the definition set forth in the Applicant's specification in particular ¶: 0055), such that they may be occupied. In view of this, the Examiner has interpreted setting the input to six passengers or more as patentably indistinct from the Applicant's broadly recited "when the number of occupants is greater than or equal to a second predetermined number of occupants;" Fig. 4, 12; ¶: 0042, 0058].
Prior Art (Not relied upon)
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure can be found in the attached form 892.
FUKUDA (Japanese Patent Publication 2005075284 A) discloses: When taking a person in a rear seat of an automobile, the back of a front seat is made to fall down forward, and the front seat is slid forward. This seat can be moved by a seat driving device 36. Determination whether the seat is automatically moved or not is carried out on the basis of the number of occupants, the number of vacant seats, and the like. The number of the occupants is grasped by carrying out image-processing (extraction of facial region) about image obtained from an on-vehicle camera 32 in an image processing circuit 44. The number of the vacant seats is detected on the basis of a measured value of a gravimeter 42 measuring weight on each seat except for a driver's seat. A controller 45 determines whether the occupant should be invited to the rear seat or not from relation between the number of the occupants and the number of the vacant seats, and the seat is moved through a seat driving device 36 according to the determined result.
Lindsay (United States Patent Publication 2017/0313208 A1) discloses: Systems and methods for seat positioning modification in a vehicle are described. One embodiment of a method includes arranging a first movable seat in a default arrangement of a vehicle in preparation for receiving a passenger and determining an occurrence of an external triggering event to the vehicle. Some embodiments include, in response to determining the occurrence of the external triggering event, automatically rearranging the first movable seat to a second arrangement to accommodate for the external triggering event.
Shiga (United States Patent Publication 2020/0108744 A1) discloses: A vehicle seat control device including a control unit that, in a case in which at least one user has declared in advance a desire to board a self-driving vehicle having a plurality of seats that are switchable between a first state in which a user is able to sit down, and a second state that impedes a user sitting down, switches a same number of seats as a number of the at least one user to the first state before the at least one user boards the vehicle.
Kondrad et al. (United States Patent Publication 2022/0144146 A1) discloses: A transportation system is disclosed. The transportation system includes a vehicle, a plurality of seating assemblies positioned within a passenger compartment of the vehicle and defining an arrangement, a plurality of actuators that effect movement of various components of the plurality of seating assemblies, a plurality of sensors, and a controller. Specific examples of pre-set or pre-programmed arrangements are disclosed, as well as the ability to customize the arrangement. Additionally, exemplary methods are disclosed that illustrate transitions between a variety of the pre-set or pre-programmed arrangements.
Conclusion
/RAMI NABIH BEDEWI/Examiner, Art Unit 3666C