DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: 51 in Figures 5A and 5B. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Applicant is advised that should claim 6 be found allowable, claim 8 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4, 1, 5, 6, 5, 8-10, 13-15, 13, 16-17, and 11-12, respectively, of U.S. Patent No. 12,424,376. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-19 are broader than claims 1-4, 1, 5, 6, 5, 8-10, 13-15, 13, 16-17, and 11-12, respectively, of U.S. Patent No. 12,424,376.
U.S. Patent Application 19/313,142
U.S. Patent No. 12,424,376.
1.A wireless power transfer coil circuit, comprising:
two or more current paths including a first current path having a first conductive spiral trace and a second current path having a second conductive spiral trace nested with the first conductive spiral trace.
1.A wireless power transfer coil circuit, comprising:
Two or more current paths including a first current path having a first conductive spiral trace and a second current path having a second conductive spiral trace nested with the first conductive spiral trace,
wherein the first current path further comprises a first passive component in series with the first conductive spiral trace and the second current path further comprises a second passive component in series with the second conductive spiral trace, and
wherein an impedance of the first passive component and an impedance of the second passive component have values capable of equalizing current flow in the first and second current paths.
2.The wireless power transfer coil circuit of claim 1, wherein the first and second conductive spiral traces are formed in a same layer.
2.The wireless power transfer coil circuit of claim 1, wherein the first and second conductive spiral traces are formed in a same layer.
3.The wireless power transfer coil circuit of claim 2, wherein the layer is planar.
3.The wireless power transfer coil circuit of claim 2, wherein the layer is planar.
4. The wireless power transfer coil circuit of claim 1, wherein the first and second current paths are connected in parallel.
4. The wireless power transfer coil circuit of claim 1, wherein the first and second current paths are connected in parallel.
5.The wireless power transfer coil circuit of claim 1,
wherein the first current path further comprises a first passive component in series with the first conductive spiral trace and the second current path further comprises a second passive component in series with the second conductive spiral trace.
1.A wireless power transfer coil circuit, comprising:
Two or more current paths including a first current path having a first conductive spiral trace and a second current path having a second conductive spiral trace nested with the first conductive spiral trace,
wherein the first current path further comprises a first passive component in series with the first conductive spiral trace and the second current path further comprises a second passive component in series with the second conductive spiral trace, and
wherein an impedance of the first passive component and an impedance of the second passive component have values capable of equalizing current flow in the first and second current paths.
6.The wireless power transfer coil circuit of claim 5, wherein the first passive component comprises a first capacitor and the second passive component comprises a second capacitor.
5.The wireless power transfer coil circuit of claim 1, wherein the first passive component comprises a first capacitor and the second passive component comprises a second capacitor.
7.The wireless power transfer coil circuit of claim 5, wherein the first passive component comprises a first resistor and the second passive component comprises a second resistor.
6. The wireless power transfer coil circuit of claim 1, wherein the first passive component comprises a first resistor and the second passive component comprises a second resistor.
8.The wireless power transfer coil circuit of claim 5, wherein the first passive component comprises a first capacitor and the second passive component comprises a second capacitor.
5. The wireless power transfer coil circuit of claim 1, wherein the first passive component comprises a first capacitor and the second passive component comprises a second capacitor.
9. The wireless power transfer coil circuit of claim 1, wherein the first current path and the second current path comprise respective resistances selected to equalize current flow in the first and second current paths.
8. The wireless power transfer coil circuit of claim 1, wherein the first current path and the second current path comprise respective resistances selected to equalize current flow in the first and second current paths.
10. The wireless power transfer coil circuit of claim 9, wherein the respective resistances are resistances of the respective first and second conductive spiral traces and/or resistances of resistors in series with the respective first and second conductive spiral traces.
9. The wireless power transfer coil circuit of claim 9, wherein the respective resistances are resistances of the respective first and second conductive spiral traces and/or resistances of resistors in series with the respective first and second conductive spiral traces.
11. The wireless power transfer coil circuit of claim 1, further comprising a third conductive spiral trace nested with the first and second conductive spiral traces and in a same layer as the first and second conductive spiral traces.
10. The wireless power transfer coil circuit of claim 1, further comprising a third conductive spiral trace nested with the first and second conductive spiral traces and in a same layer as the first and second conductive spiral traces.
12. The wireless power transfer coil of claim 1, further comprising:
a third conductive spiral trace; and
a fourth conductive spiral trace nested with the third conductive spiral trace, wherein the first and second conductive spiral traces are in a first layer and the third and fourth conductive spiral traces are in a second layer different from the first layer.
15. The wireless power coil circuit of claim 12, wherein the first conductive spiral trace is nested within the second conductive spiral trace, the third conductive spiral trace is nested within the fourth conductive spiral trace, and the first conductive spiral trace is connected in series with the fourth conductive spiral trace.
13. A wireless power transfer coil circuit comprising:
two or more current paths including a first current path having a first conductive spiral trace and a second current path having a second conductive spiral trace nested with the first conductive spiral trace;
a third conductive spiral trace; and
a fourth conductive spiral trace nested with the third conductive spiral trace, wherein the first and second conductive spiral traces are in a first layer and the third and fourth conductive spiral traces are in a second layer different from the first layer,
wherein the first conductive spiral trace is nested within the second conductive spiral trace, the third conductive spiral trace is nested within the fourth conductive spiral trace, and the first conductive spiral trace is connected in series with the fourth conductive spiral trace.
13. The wireless power transfer circuit of claim 12, wherein the first and second layers are separated by a dielectric layer.
14. The wireless power transfer circuit of claim 13, wherein the first and second layers are separated by a dielectric layer.
14. The wireless power transfer coil circuit of claim 12, wherein two or more of the first, second, third and fourth conductive spiral traces are connected in parallel.
15. The wireless power transfer coil circuit of claim 13, wherein two or more of the first, second, third and fourth conductive spiral traces are connected in parallel.
16. The wireless power transfer coil of claim 12, further comprising at least one conductive connection between the first and second layers within an inner diameter of the wireless power transfer coil circuit.
16. The wireless power transfer coil of claim 13, further comprising at least one conductive connection between the first and second layers within an inner diameter of the wireless power transfer coil circuit.
17. The wireless power transfer coil circuit of claim 12, further comprising a plurality of leads extending from the first and second layers from an outer diameter of the wireless power transfer coil circuit.
17. The wireless power transfer coil circuit of claim 12, further comprising a plurality of leads extending from the first and second layers from an outer diameter of the wireless power transfer coil circuit.
18. The wireless power transfer coil circuit of claim 1, wherein the first conductive spiral trace comprises a first segment and a second segment, and the first current path further comprises a capacitor connected in series between the first segment and the second segment.
11. The wireless power transfer coil circuit of claim 1, wherein the first conductive spiral trace comprises a first segment and a second segment, and the first current path further comprises a capacitor connected in series between the first segment and the second segment.
19. The wireless power transfer coil circuit of claim 1, wherein a width of the first conductive spiral trace is less than three times a skin depth at a frequency of operation or a minimum frequency of operation.
12. The wireless power transfer coil circuit of claim 1, wherein a width of the first conductive spiral trace is less than three times a skin depth at a frequency of operation or a minimum frequency of operation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 9-10, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by the US patent application publication of Kurz et al. (2015/0145634).
As to claim 1, Kurz discloses a wireless power transfer coil circuit, comprising:
two or more current paths including a first current path having a first conductive spiral trace (130) and a second current path having a second conductive spiral trace (150) nested with the first conductive spiral trace (130) (see paragraph [0037], lines 1-7 and Figure 4).
As to claim 2, the first and second conductive traces of Kurz (130,150) are formed in a same layer (the conductive traces are positioned with in each other, see paragraph [0037], lines 3-7 and Figure 4).
As to claim 3, the layer is planar (see paragraph [0037], lines 3-7 and Figure 4).
As to claim 4, the first and second current paths of Kurz are connected in parallel (see paragraph [0030], lines 8-11).
As to claim 9, the first current path and the second current path of Kurz comprise respective resistances selected to equalize current flow in the first and second current paths (the resistance can vary depending on the performance characteristics required, see paragraph [0042], lines 7-9; the first coil 730 and the second coil 750 could be exactly the same size and shape, see paragraph [0050], lines 3-5).
As to claim 10, the respective resistances are resistances of the respective first and second conductive spiral traces (see paragraph [0042], lines 7-9; paragraph [0060], lines 3-5; and Figure 4).
As to claim 19, a width of the first conductive spiral trace of Kurz is less than three times a skin depth at a frequency of operation or a minimum frequency of operation (the conductive spiral trace can be of any suitable dimensions, e.g. between 0.005 in. and 0.250 in. in width; the dimensions could vary depending on physical and performance requirements of the mobile device; see paragraph [0033], lines 11-18).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kurz in view of the US patent application publication of Weber (2009/0319025).
As to claim 5, Kurz discloses all of the claimed features, as set forth above,
except for the first current path further comprising a first passive component in series with the first conductive spiral trace and the second current path further comprising a second passive component in series with the second conductive spiral trace.
Weber discloses coils (106,114) (see paragraph [0025], lines 1-3), a first current path further comprising a first passive component (162) in series with the first conductive spiral trace (106) and the second current path further comprising a second passive component (164) in series with the second conductive spiral trace (see paragraph [0050], lines 1-11 and Figure 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Kurz by connecting respective passive components in series with the first and second conductive spiral traces, in order to provide an improved system with an inductive response across a wider spectrum of RF energies.
As to claims 6 and 8, the first passive component of Weber comprises a first capacitor (in series with the resistor 162) and the second passive component comprises a second capacitor (in series with the resistor 164) (see paragraph [0050], lines 6-10 and Figure 1).
As to claim 7, the first passive component of Weber comprises a first resistor (162) and the second passive component comprises a second resistor (164) (see paragraph [0050], lines 6-10 and Figure 1).
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kurz in view of the US patent of Cheng (7,622,891).
As to claim 11, Kurz discloses all of the claimed features, as set forth above,
except for a third conductive spiral trace nested with the first and second conductive traces and in a same layer as the first and second conductive spiral traces. Cheng discloses a third conductive trace nested with first and second conductive traces and in a same layer as the first and second conductive traces (one or more smaller coils may be contained within a boundary of one or more larger coils, there are provided four nested sets of electrical coils (see column 4, lines 5-42). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Kurz by nesting a third conductive spiral trace with the first and second conductive spiral traces, in order to provide efficient power to receiving devices of different sizes and power requirements.
Claim(s) 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kurz in view of the US patent application publication of Foley (2017/0323718).
As to claim 12, Kurz discloses all of the claimed features, as set forth above,
except for a third conductive spiral trace, and a fourth conductive spiral trace nested with the third conductive spiral trace, wherein the first and second conductive spiral traces are in a first layer and the third and fourth conductive spiral traces are in a second layer different from the first layer. Foley discloses a third conductive spiral trace; and a fourth conductive spiral trace nested with the third conductive spiral trace, wherein the first and second conductive spiral traces are in a first layer and the third and fourth conductive spiral traces are in a second layer different from the first layer (the first and second, and third and fourth, conductive spiral traces are stacked and therefore in different layers (see paragraph [0009], lines 9-14 and paragraph [0030], lines 1-3). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Kurz to include third and fourth conductive traces as taught by Foley, in order to provide an improved system with the increased ability to support higher voltage ranges while reducing the overall footprint of the device.
As to claim 13, the first and second layers of Foley are separated by a dielectric layer (insulator; see paragraph [0105], lines 1-4).
As to claim 14, Kurz discloses the first and second conductive spiral traces connected in parallel (see paragraph [0030], lines 5-8).
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kurz in view of the US patent application publication of Chen (2008/0185284).
As to claim 18, Kurz discloses all of the claimed features, as set forth above,
except for the first conductive trace comprising a first segment and a second segment, and the first current path further comprising a capacitor connected in series between the first segment and the second segment. Chen discloses a first conductive coil trace comprising a first segment and a second segment, and the first current path further comprises a capacitor connected in series between the first segment and the second segment (the top coil is approximately spiral, see paragraph [0077], lines 1-4; a capacitor is connected in series between the second end of the first coil segment and the first end of the second coil segment, see Abstract). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Kurz by connecting a capacitor in series between first and second segments of the first conductive trace, as taught by Chen, in order to provide an improved system with a capacitor to provide a voltage peak along the first coil segment that is aligned with a virtual ground along the second coil segment to improve uniformity and efficiency.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 15-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 15 contains allowable subject matter because none of the prior art of
record discloses or suggests the first conductive spiral trace nested within the second conductive spiral trace, the third conductive spiral trace nested within the fourth conductive spiral trace, and the first conductive spiral trace connected in series with the fourth conductive spiral trace, in combination with the remaining claimed features.
Claim 16 contains allowable subject matter because none of the prior art of record discloses or suggests at least one conductive connection between the first and second layers within an inner diameter of the wireless power transfer coil circuit, in combination with the remaining claimed features.
Claim 17 contains allowable subject matter because none of the prior art of record discloses or suggests a plurality of leads extending from the first and second layers from an outer diameter of the wireless power transfer coil circuit, in combination with the remaining claimed features.
Conclusion
/HAL KAPLAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836