DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Species IV drawn to Figure 3B and claims 1-17 in the reply filed on 4/7/26 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 7, 10 and 16-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 4/7/26.
Claim 7 is being withdrawn as being directed to the species of Figure V where the holding device is rigidly coupled to the first mounting device and spatially separated by a gap from the second mounting device.
Claim 10 is being withdrawn as being directed to the species of Figure 1A (paragraph 109) where a rotational movement of the first mounting device relative to the second mounting device around the compensator axis is absorbed by a curvature of at least one of: the first membrane bellows and the second membrane bellows.
Claim 16 is being withdrawn as being directed to the species of Figure VII (paragraph 135) where the at least one bellows coupler is held non-tiltable relative to the compensator axis (where the channel is a straight channel though the compensator).
Claim 17 is being withdrawn as being directed to the species of Figure VII the at least one bellows coupler comprises a circular outer perimeter.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in Germany on 8/29/24. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the DE 10 2024 124 636.7 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because in Figure 3B, drawing element “106b” is missing (note that the lead line is shown for this element).
The drawings are objected to because the bellows membranes (106a, 106b, 106c) are not shown as “bellows” but rather as a pipe (such as shown in Figure 4).
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: Line 7 – add --and-- after “mounting device;”.
Correction is required.
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities: Line 2 – add --at least one-- between “the” and “bellows”.
Correction is required.
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities: Line 2 – add --at least one-- between “the” and “bellows”.
Correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 8, 9, 14 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chul Korean Patent No. KR100611678B1.
With regard to claim 1, and as shown in Figure 5, Chul discloses a multi-axis compensator (as shown in Fig 5 below), comprising:
a first mounting device and a second mounting device;
a passage extending through the first mounting device and the second mounting device along a compensator axis;
multiple membrane bellows disposed in succession along the compensator axis, of which a first membrane bellows is coupled to the first mounting device and a second membrane bellows is coupled to the second mounting device;
at least one bellows coupler by which the first membrane bellows is coupled to the second membrane bellows, such that the first membrane bellows and the second membrane bellows run at an angle to each other, when the first mounting device and the second mounting device are centric to the compensator axis.
With regard to claim 8, Chul discloses wherein the at least one bellows coupler is held in a position excentric from the compensator axis independently from a position of the first mounting device and the second mounting device relative to the compensator axis or relative to each other (as shown in Fig 5).
With regard to claim 9, Chul discloses wherein the first mounting device comprises a flange (as shown in Fig 5 above).
With regard to claim 14, Chul discloses wherein the at least one bellows coupler is held rotatable about the compensator axis relative to the first mounting device or to the second mounting device (where the bellows coupler is capable of being rotatable about the compensator axis relative to the first mounting device or to the second mounting device).
With regard to claim 15, Chul discloses wherein a torsion of the first mounting device and the second mounting device relative to each other is converted into a rotation of the bellows coupler about the compensator axis relative to the first mounting device or second mounting device (wherein the bellows coupler is capable of being rotated when torsion is applied relative to the first mounting device and the second mounting device).
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 6, 8, 9, 12, 14 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Francis U.S. Patent No. 5,248,170.
With regard to claim 1, Francis discloses a multi-axis compensator, comprising:
a first mounting device (at 36, 40) and a second mounting device (at 38, 42);
a passage (passage between 36 and 38) extending through the first mounting device and the second mounting device along a compensator axis (axis between 36 and 38);
multiple membrane bellows (at 28, 30) disposed in succession along the compensator axis, of which a first membrane bellows (at 28) is coupled to the first mounting device (at 36, 40) and a second membrane bellows (at 30) is coupled to the second mounting device (at 38, 42);
at least one bellows coupler (at 20 to 22) by which the first membrane bellows (at 28) is coupled to the second membrane bellows (at 30), such that the first membrane bellows and the second membrane bellows run at an angle to each other, when the first mounting device and the second mounting device are centric to the compensator axis (as shown in Fig 3).
With regard to claim 2, Francis discloses further comprising a holding device (at 50, 46, 62) by which the bellows coupler (at 20 to 22) is held displaced relative to the compensator axis, when the first mounting device and the second mounting device are centric to the compensator axis (as shown in Fig 3).
With regard to claim 3, Francis discloses wherein the holding device (at 50, 46, 62) comprises an eccentric holding ring (at 20), by which the bellows coupler (at 20 to 22) is held displaced relative to the compensator axis.
With regard to claim 5, Francis discloses wherein the passage along the compensator axis runs unevenly through the multi-axis compensator, when the first mounting device and the second mounting device are centric to the compensator axis (as shown in Fig 3).
With regard to claim 6, Francis discloses wherein the holding device (at 50, 46, 62) is rigidly coupled to first mounting device (via 52).
With regard to claim 8, Francis discloses wherein the at least one bellows coupler (at 20 to 22) is held in a position excentric from the compensator axis independently from a position of the first mounting device and the second mounting device relative to the compensator axis (as shown in Fig 3).
With regard to claim 9, Francis discloses wherein the first mounting device (at 36, 40) comprises a flange (at 40).
With regard to claim 12, Francis discloses further comprising a third membrane bellows (at 18), wherein the at least one bellows coupler comprises two bellows couplers (at 32, 20 and 34, 22) which are coupled to each other by the third membrane bellows (at 18).
With regard to claim 14, Francis discloses wherein the at least one bellows coupler is held rotatable about the compensator axis relative to the first mounting device or to the second mounting device (where the bellows coupler is capable of being rotatable about the compensator axis relative to the first mounting device or to the second mounting device).
With regard to claim 15, Francis discloses wherein a torsion of the first mounting device and the second mounting device relative to each other is converted into a rotation of the bellows coupler about the compensator axis relative to the first mounting device or second mounting device (wherein the bellows coupler is capable of being rotated when torsion is applied relative to the first mounting device and the second mounting device).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chul.
With regard to claim 11, Chul discloses wherein the bellows coupler has two annular connecting surfaces which are opposite to each other (as shown in Fig 5 above) but does not disclose that the connecting surfaces are at an angle to each other.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the connecting surfaces be at an angle to each other with a reasonable expectation of success to allow for an easier connection and because a change in the shape of a prior art device is a design consideration within the level of skill of one skilled in the art. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
With regard to claim 13, Chul discloses wherein the at least one bellows coupler is coupled to at least one of the second membrane bellows (at 44) but does not disclose a material joint coupling.
The Examiner takes Official Notice wherein it is old and well known in the art to couple elements together utilizing a material joint to provide a more secure fluid connection.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the at least one bellows coupler be coupled to at least one of the second membrane bellows by a material joint with a reasonable expectation of success to provide a more secure fluid connection and because it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known element for use on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice.
Claim(s) 11 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Francis.
With regard to claim 11, Francis discloses wherein the bellows coupler has two annular connecting surfaces which are opposite to each other (at 20, 22) but does not disclose that the connecting surfaces are at an angle to each other.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the connecting surfaces be at an angle to each other with a reasonable expectation of success to allow for an easier connection and because a change in the shape of a prior art device is a design consideration within the level of skill of one skilled in the art. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
With regard to claim 13, Francis discloses wherein the at least one bellows coupler is coupled to at least one of the second membrane bellows (at 44) but does not disclose a material joint coupling.
The Examiner takes Official Notice wherein it is old and well known in the art to couple elements together utilizing a material joint to provide a more secure fluid connection.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the at least one bellows coupler be coupled to at least one of the second membrane bellows by a material joint with a reasonable expectation of success to provide a more secure fluid connection and because it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known element for use on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon examples of compensators with first and second mounting devices, membrane bellows and at least one bellows coupler.
/F.K./Examiner, Art Unit 3679
/Matthew Troutman/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3679