DETAILED ACTION
In the preliminary amendment dated 10/29/2025, the following occurred: Claims 1-20 were amended. The Specification at pages 1, 2, 6, 7, 8 and 23 was amended. The abstract was also amended.
This is the first action on the merits. Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Priority
This application claims foreign priority to 10-2024-0116950, filed 08/29/2024, to 10-2025-0020878, filed 02/18/2025 and to 10-2025-0119532, filed 08/26/2025.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 08/28/2025 and 02/06/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Claims 1, 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1
The claim recites a method and a device for guiding goal setting and goal achievement based on body indicators, which are within a statutory category.
Step 2A1
Regarding claims 1, 12 and 13, the limitation of (claim 1 being representative) selecting, from among a plurality of clusters based on body indicators, a target cluster that a target user aims for, based on a user input; determining, based on time series data of body indicators pre-obtained from a plurality of users, a target route that guides the target user from a starting cluster comprising a body indicator of the target user to the target cluster; determining, based on the time series data, a difficulty level and expected time to be taken for the body indicator of the target user to move from the starting cluster to a most adjacent cluster on the target route; and providing the target route, the time, and the difficulty level to the target user and regarding claim 12- the limitation of obtaining a user input; displaying, in response to obtaining the user input, a target route that provides a guide to reach the target cluster from a starting cluster comprising a body indicator of the target user; and displaying a difficulty level and expected time to be taken for the body indicator of the target user to move from the starting cluster to a most adjacent cluster on the target route as drafted, is a process that, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, covers certain methods of organizing human activity (i.e., managing personal behavior including following rules or instructions) but for recitation of generic computer components. The claims encompass a series of rules or instructions for a person or persons to follow, with or without the aid of a computer, to select a target cluster, determine a target route, determine a difficulty level and expected time to be taken, provide the target route, the time, and the difficulty level to the target user, obtain a user input, display a target route and display a difficulty level and expected time to be taken in the manner described in the identified abstract idea, supra. The rules or instructions are the claimed steps of “selecting… determining… determining…. obtaining … displaying and displaying a difficulty level and expected time” as indicated supra.
Other than reciting generic computer components (discussed infra), i.e., an electronic device (in claim 1), an electronic device and a user terminal (in claim 12) and an electronic device comprising at least one processor comprising processing circuitry and memory (in claim 13) the claimed invention amounts to managing personal behavior or interaction between people. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers managing personal behavior or interactions between people but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Step 2A2
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, claim 1 recites the additional element of an electronic device. Claim 12 recites the additional elements of an electronic device and a user terminal. Claim 13 recites the additional elements of an electronic device comprising at least one processor comprising processing circuitry and memory. These additional elements are not exclusively defined by the applicant and are recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., generic computer components for enabling access to medical information or for performing generic computer functions, see Specification at page 11) such that they amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. As set forth in MPEP 2106.04(d) “merely including instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer” is an example of when an abstract idea has not been integrated into a practical application. Accordingly, even in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements of a user terminal, an electronic device, at least one processor, processing circuitry and memory to perform the noted steps amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept (“significantly more”). Moreover, using generic computer components to perform abstract ideas does not provide a necessary inventive concept. See Alice, 573 U.S. at 223 (“mere recitation of a generic computer cannot transform a patent-ineligible abstract idea into a patent-eligible invention”). Therefore, whether considered alone or in combination, the additional elements do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea.
The examiner notes that: A well-known, general-purpose computer has been determined by the courts to be a well-understood, routine and conventional element (see, e.g., Alice Corp. v. CLS Bank; see also MPEP 2106.05(d)); Receiving and/or transmitting data over a network (“a communications network”) has also been recognized by the courts as a well - understood, routine and conventional function (see, e.g., buySAFE v. Google; MPEP 2016(d)(II)); and Performing repetitive calculations is/are also well-understood, routine and conventional computer functions when they are claimed in a merely generic manner (see, e.g., Parker v. Flook; MPEP 2016.05(d)).
Claims 2-11 and 14-20 are similarly rejected because they either further define/narrow the abstract idea and/or do not further limit the claim to a practical application or provide as inventive concept such that the claims are subject matter eligible even when considered individually or as an ordered combination. Claim(s) 2 and 14 further merely describe(s) determining, from among a plurality of paths, a plurality of candidate paths based on the starting cluster and the target cluster, wherein the plurality of paths is predetermined based on an index representing position information of the body indicators; and determining a target path among the plurality of candidate paths and determining the target route based on the target path. Claim(s) 3 and 15 further merely describe(s) determining a plurality of candidate paths starting from an index representing the body indicator of the target user and ending at any index included in the target cluster. Claim(s) 4 and 16 further merely describe(s) extracting, from the time series data, data with an index changed compared to previous data, wherein the index represents statistical position information of the body indicator; determining movement rate information representing a rate of movement from each index to each of adjacent indices, based on the extracted data; and determining the difficulty level based on the movement rate information. Claim(s) 5 and 17 further merely describe(s) generating, based on the movement rate information, a histogram with a rate and a number of pieces of data included in the movement rate information as axes; determining a cumulative distribution function based on the histogram; and determining the difficulty level based on the cumulative distribution function. Claim(s) 6 and 18 further merely describe(s) extracting, from the time series data, data with an index changed compared to previous data, wherein the index represents statistical position information of the body indicator; determining, based on the extracted data, time information representing time taken per unit distance consumed in moving from each index to each of adjacent indices; and determining the expected time based on the time information. Claim(s) 7 and 19 further merely describe(s) determining the time information representing the time information representing the time taken per unit distance by dividing time consumed in moving from each index to each of the adjacent indices in a coordinate space, which uses the body indicators as coordinates, by a movement distance of the index. Claim(s) 8 and 20 further merely describe(s) the body indicators comprise: a body mass index (BMI) and a percentage body fat (PBF). Claim(s) 9 further merely describe(s) selecting, based on the user input, any one of top two or more clusters with the highest scores based on the body indicators as the target cluster. Claim(s) 10 further merely describe(s) selecting, based on the user input, any one of clusters with scores based on the body indicators greater than or equal to an average as the target cluster. Claim(s) 11 further merely describe(s) selecting, based on the user input, any one of clusters determined based on a period set by the target user as the target cluster. Claims 2-11 and 14-20 further define the abstract idea and are rejected for the same reason presented above with respect to claims 1, 12 and 13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nusbaum (US 2014/0214446).
REGARDING CLAIM 1
Nusbaum discloses an operating method of an electronic device, the operating method comprising: selecting, from among a plurality of clusters based on body indicators, a target cluster that a target user aims for, based on a user input ([0018] teaches goals are set using input from a user. [0141] teaches guiding the user to his/her desired goal (lose weight, get stronger, get healthier, etc.) (interpreted by Examiner as the target cluster that a target user aims for) [0181] the user has the option of selecting as many goals as desired (interpreted by Examiner as selecting, from among a plurality of clusters based on body indicators, a target cluster that a target user aims for, based on a user input) and [0178] teaches User Profile Create mode which prompts the user for all data required by the system in this example (such as his/her current weight and ultimate goals)); determining, based on time series data of body indicators pre-obtained from a plurality of users, a target route that guides the target user from a starting cluster comprising a body indicator of the target user to the target cluster ([0006] teaches recommending protocols for weight loss that include nutritional guidelines and exercise. [0022] teaches taking into account, for example, user weight, height, sex, age, health, goals, progress, etc and [0023] teaches dynamically tailored to individual users in real time. [0028] teaches user profile contains icons for identifying various diet regimens, at least some of which are targeted to address weight loss. [0112] teaches specialized dietary regimens can be utilized as part of the overall treatment of a medical condition in an individual whose goal is to keep their weight stable. Additionally, these specialized dietary regimens can be used as part of a weight loss intervention and [0178] teaches the system makes initial recommendations (such as an initial diet and exercise regime to pursue) as a first step toward achieving his/her ideal weight. [0192] teaches the user could simply experiment with the system by plugging in any token height/weight/sex and look to see how the system would go about resolving a typical overweight male/female, e.g.: Male: 5' 9'' @ 195 lbs (assumed to be about 16 lbs overweight)> Female: 5' 4'' @ 170 lbs (assumed to be about 24 lbs overweight)); determining, based on the time series data, a difficulty level and expected time to be taken for the body indicator of the target user to move from the starting cluster to a most adjacent cluster on the target route ([0190] teaches Timeframe: used to calculate reachable increments toward the user goal across a reasonable time interval with a typical range of 1-2 lbs per week (interpreted by Examiner as determining, based on the time series data, an expected time to be taken for the body indicator of the target user to move from the starting cluster to a most adjacent cluster on the target route) [0232] teaches if the user reveals a long-term unhealthy diet profile, in an illustrative implementation, the system may, for example, cautiously "soften" the recommendations toward the lowest RED level--such "softening" avoids overburdening an obese user with average goals that are beyond his/her physical reach and current diet attitude and [0408] teaches if the user's response indicates a behavioral issue, the mobile computing device generates and displays a sequence of prompts to elicit a response from the user identifying the area(s) of behavioral difficulty as being in a particular category or categories, such as dietary adherence, exercise adherence and/or other issues that impact adherence and [0013] teaches generating medical warnings as needed (interpreted by Examiner as determining, based on the time series data, a difficulty level to be taken for the body indicator of the target user to move from the starting cluster to a most adjacent cluster on the target route)); and providing the target route, the time, and the difficulty level to the target user ([0418] and Fig. 7A1 teach a set of "weight loss deltas" (693) that in this example are four sets of (unspecified) weeks over which the user's goal is to be reached (interpreted by Examiner as providing the time), each of the deltas 1-4 (694) define a number of pounds to be lost during each increment of time (interpreted by Examiner as providing the target route). The weight loss delta portion of the database format also stores the color code (696) as it hopefully transitions from Red towards Green during deltas 1-4. It should be understood that the weight loss plan may be modified at any time to adjust the delta periods as well as the delta subgoals, e.g., to keep the goals achievable in response to the user's mid-stream progress (or lack thereof) ((interpreted by Examiner as a means for providing the difficulty level)).
REGARDING CLAIM 2
Nusbaum discloses the limitation of claim 1.
Nusbaum further discloses:
The operating method of claim 1, wherein the determining of the target route comprises: determining, from among a plurality of paths, a plurality of candidate paths based on the starting cluster and the target cluster, wherein the plurality of paths is predetermined based on an index representing position information of the body indicators ([0028] teaches targeting one or more medical conditions of the user and identifying various diet regimens (interpreted by Examiner as the plurality of candidate paths)); and determining a target path among the plurality of candidate paths and determining the target route based on the target path ([0107] teaches upon the selection of such a diet, the application generates and/or accesses pre-formulated breakfasts, lunches and dinners that are targeted to comport, where possible, with a user's indicated favorites, and with the selected diet and associates such meals with the user's profile (interpreted by Examiner as determining a target path and the target route based on the target path)).
REGARDING CLAIM 3
Nusbaum discloses the limitation of claim 2.
Nusbaum further discloses:
The operating method of claim 2, wherein the determining of the plurality of candidate paths comprises: determining a plurality of candidate paths starting from an index representing the body indicator of the target user and ending at any index included in the target cluster ([0423] teaches user's goal is to lose 20 pounds, from the starting weight of 196 pounds to an end weight of 176 pounds (interpreted by Examiner as candidate paths starting from an index representing the body indicator of the target user and ending at any index included in the target cluster)).
REGARDING CLAIM 4
Nusbaum discloses the limitation of claim 1.
Nusbaum further discloses:
The operating method claim 1, wherein the determining of the expected time and the difficulty level comprises: extracting, from the time series data, data with an index changed compared to previous data, wherein the index represents statistical position information of the body indicator; determining movement rate information representing a rate of movement from each index to each of adjacent indices, based on the extracted data; and determining the difficulty level based on the movement rate information ([0423] teaches user's goal is to lose 20 pounds, from the starting weight of 196 pounds to an end weight of 176 pounds, within a 6-month timeframe. During the second set of weight loss deltas (693), the user is targeted to lose 6/5/5/4 pounds at the end of 7/6/7/6 week increments, respectively. If the user successfully meets these intermediate subgoals the user will transition from yellow==>to lime==>to green color code ratings (interpreted by Examiner as extracting, from the time series data, data with an index changed compared to previous data, wherein the index represents statistical position information of the body indicator) [0424] teaches user's goal is to lose 10 pounds from the starting weight of 176 pounds to an ideal weight of 166 pounds within a 3-month timeframe. During the third weight loss deltas (693), the user is targeted to lose 4/3/2/1 pound at the end of 5/3/2/2 week increments. In this example, the blue-green color "aqua" is added as an incentive for highly motivated users trying to shed the last few pounds up to their ideal weight and recognizing the arduous difficulty of an obese individual reaching his "ideal weight" (interpreted by Examiner as determining the difficulty level based on the movement rate information) [0425] and FIG. 7B teach user database formats to provide baseline weight loss records that document a user's food and exercise history from start to the end of the goal period. Such records provide the user's data trail for every current day X within each of deltas 1-4, where the days in the delta period run from day 1, . . . X, . . . N, where N is the last day in a delta period (interpreted by Examiner as determining movement rate information representing a rate of movement from each index to each of adjacent indices). Thus, the baseline records shown in FIG. 7B provide the data that is monitored by the system in order to determine whether our hypothetical user described in FIG. 7A was able to meet his initial six-month goal of losing 40 pounds on a day by day basis.).
REGARDING CLAIM 5
Nusbaum discloses the limitation of claim 4.
Nusbaum further discloses:
The operating method of claim 4, wherein the determining of the difficulty level based on the movement rate information comprises: generating, based on the movement rate information, a histogram with a rate and a number of pieces of data included in the movement rate information as axes ([0437] teaches displaying of weight vs time plots (interpreted by Examiner as the histogram) across all 4 deltas which simplifies any statistical analysis across the entire population of users); determining a cumulative distribution function based on the histogram; and determining the difficulty level based on the cumulative distribution function ([0147] teaches at the top level of system displays are Changing-Rate Curves 294 for non-linear functions such as Weight Loss, which typically starts with a few large increments (40%==>30%) that quickly taper off to smaller increments (20%==>10%) over time. This allows user progress to be displayed as a non-linear RED==>GREEN curve vs. his/her goal curve over a week/month/year (see FIG. 7A4 for an example of how healthy==>to ideal weight tapers off, where each 20% delta of 3 weeks tapers off from 4==>3==>2==>to 1 pound which shows how difficult it is to burn off the last few pounds) (interpreted by Examiner as means to determine a cumulative distribution function and determining the difficulty level)).
REGARDING CLAIM 6
Nusbaum discloses the limitation of claim 1.
Nusbaum further discloses:
The operating method of claim 1, wherein the determining of the expected time and the difficulty level comprises: extracting, from the time series data, data with an index changed compared to previous data, wherein the index represents statistical position information of the body indicator; determining, based on the extracted data, time information representing time taken per unit distance consumed in moving from each index to each of adjacent indices; and determining the expected time based on the time information ([0190] teaches a timeframe used to calculate reachable increments toward the user goal across a reasonable time interval with a typical range of 1-2 lbs per week. [0421] teaches weight goal has been set to be 196 pounds in six months (interpreted by Examiner as determining the expected time). The weight loss deltas set intermediate weight goals of losing 13/11/9/7 pounds in 7/6/7/6 weeks, respectively (interpreted by Examiner as determining time information representing time taken per unit distance consumed in moving from each index to each of adjacent indices). Thus, at a minimum, the system will prompt users to enter their current weight at least as of the end of each of the delta periods (interpreted by Examiner as extracting, from the time series data, data with an index changed compared to previous data, wherein the index represents statistical position information of the body indicator)).
REGARDING CLAIM 7
Nusbaum discloses the limitation of claim 6.
Nusbaum further discloses:
The operating method of claim 6, wherein the determining of the time information comprises: determining the time information representing the time information representing the time taken per unit distance by dividing time consumed in moving from each index to each of the adjacent indices in a coordinate space, which uses the body indicators as coordinates, by a movement distance of the index ([0422] teaches a user after seven weeks loses 13 pounds and then after six more weeks loses 11 pounds at the end of the 7th week and the 13th week, respectively (interpreted by Examiner as determining the time information representing the time information representing the time taken per unit distance by dividing time consumed in moving from each index to each of the adjacent indices in a coordinate space, which uses the body indicators as coordinates, by a movement distance of the index)).
REGARDING CLAIM 8
Nusbaum discloses the limitation of claim 1.
Nusbaum further discloses:
The operating method of claim 1, wherein the body indicators comprise: a body mass index (BMI) and a percentage body fat (PBF) ([0561] teaches using body mass index as highly useful tool in determining a user's ideal weight that is tailored to individual users in a unique manner. [0544] teaches the need to also require measurement of percentage body fat).
REGARDING CLAIM 9
Nusbaum discloses the limitation of claim 1.
Nusbaum further discloses:
The operating method of claim 1, wherein the selecting of the target cluster comprises: selecting, based on the user input, any one of top two or more clusters with the highest scores based on the body indicators as the target cluster ([0198] teaches the data base illustrated in FIG. 13C zones in on an ideal weight for both Men and Women and for people with different body frames and vastly different levels of obesity. As in any system, the higher the level of precision to pinpoint correct ideal weight means the higher the level of precision for all calculations that follow (interpreted by Examiner as means to select any one of top two or more clusters with the highest scores based on the body indicators as the target cluster)).
REGARDING CLAIM 10
Nusbaum discloses the limitation of claim 1.
Nusbaum further discloses:
The operating method of claim 1, wherein the selecting of the target cluster comprises: selecting, based on the user input, any one of clusters with scores based on the body indicators greater than or equal to an average as the target cluster (([0250] teaches that based on all the User ID/User Health inputs (that will normally yield an ideal weight and target weight loss goal for the user) coupled with the skeletal user "5/10 years ago" history data, UP can gauge which initial 1==>5 level to display (interpreted by Examiner as means for selecting, based on the user input, any one of clusters with scores based on the body indicators greater than or equal to an average as the target cluster)).
REGARDING CLAIM 11
Nusbaum discloses the limitation of claim 1.
Nusbaum further discloses:
The operating method of claim 1, wherein the selecting of the target cluster comprises: selecting, based on the user input, any one of clusters determined based on a period set by the target user as the target cluster ([0421] teaches weight goal has been set to be 196 pounds in six months (interpreted by Examiner as selecting, based on the user input, any one of clusters determined based on a period set by the target user as the target cluster)).
REGARDING CLAIM 12
Claim 12 is analogous to Claim 1 thus Claim 12 is similarly analyzed and rejected in a manner consistent with the rejection of Claim 1.
Moreover, Nusbaum discloses obtaining a user input from a target user to select, from among a plurality of clusters based on body indicators, a target cluster that the target user aims for ([0018] teaches goals are set using input from the user, [0424] teaches user's goal is to lose 10 pounds from the starting weight of 176 pounds to an ideal weight of 166 pounds within a 3-month timeframe.); displaying, in response to obtaining the user input, a target route that provides a guide to reach the target cluster from a starting cluster comprising a body indicator of the target user; and displaying a difficulty level and expected time to be taken for the body indicator of the target user to move from the starting cluster to a most adjacent cluster on the target route ([0418] and Fig. 7A1 teach a set of "weight loss deltas" (693) that in this example are four sets of (unspecified) weeks over which the user's goal is to be reached (interpreted by Examiner as displaying the time), each of the deltas 1-4 (694) define a number of pounds to be lost during each increment of time (interpreted by Examiner as displaying the target route). The weight loss delta portion of the database format also stores the color code (696) as it hopefully transitions from Red towards Green during deltas 1-4. It should be understood that the weight loss plan may be modified at any time to adjust the delta periods as well as the delta subgoals, e.g., to keep the goals achievable in response to the user's mid-stream progress (or lack thereof) ((interpreted by Examiner as a means for displaying the difficulty level));
REGARDING CLAIM 13
Claim 13 is analogous to Claims 1 and 12 thus Claim 13 is similarly analyzed and rejected in a manner consistent with the rejection of Claims 1 and 12.
REGARDING CLAIM 14
Claim 14 is analogous to Claim 2 thus Claim 14 is similarly analyzed and rejected in a manner consistent with the rejection of Claim 2.
REGARDING CLAIM 15
Claim 15 is analogous to Claim 3 thus Claim 15 is similarly analyzed and rejected in a manner consistent with the rejection of Claim 3.
REGARDING CLAIM 16
Claim 16 is analogous to Claim 4 thus Claim 16 is similarly analyzed and rejected in a manner consistent with the rejection of Claim 4.
REGARDING CLAIM 17
Claim 17 is analogous to Claim 5 thus Claim 17 is similarly analyzed and rejected in a manner consistent with the rejection of Claim 5.
REGARDING CLAIM 18
Claim 18 is analogous to Claim 6 thus Claim 18 is similarly analyzed and rejected in a manner consistent with the rejection of Claim 6.
REGARDING CLAIM 19
Claim 19 is analogous to Claim 7 thus Claim 19 is similarly analyzed and rejected in a manner consistent with the rejection of Claim 7.
REGARDING CLAIM 20
Claim 20 is analogous to Claim 8 thus Claim 20 is similarly analyzed and rejected in a manner consistent with the rejection of Claim 8.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record though not relied upon in the present basis of rejection are noted in the attached PTO 892 and include:
Duffy (US 2014/0222454) discloses systems and methods that administer a health improvement program and an adjunct medical treatment.
/LIZA TONY KANAAN/Examiner, Art Unit 3683