DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is in response to original application filed on 08/29/2025.
Claims 2-21 are pending.
Claim 1 is canceled. Claims 2-21 are new.
Claims 2-21 are rejected.
Notice of AIA Status
Priority
This application makes reference to or appears to claim subject matter disclosed in Application No. 18/753,604, filed 06/25/2024.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 01/16/2026 was filed prior to this Office action. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner. The NPL references were derived from parent application 18/753,604.
Statutory Review under 35 USC § 101
Claims 2-11 are directed towards a method and have been reviewed.
Claims 2-11 appear to be patent-eligible as they perform an abstract idea integrated into a practical application as per Step 2A, Prong Two of the patent subject matter eligibility determination.
Claims 12-21 are directed toward a system and have been reviewed.
Claims 12-21 appear to be statutory, as the system includes hardware (memory hardware; processor hardware). The system is also patent-eligible as it performs an abstract idea integrated into a practical application as per Step 2A, Prong Two of the patent subject matter eligibility determination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4, 10-11; 12-14, and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leaman et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0293107 (published September 15, 2022; hereinafter Leaman) in view of Pogrebezky et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0242634 (hereinafter Pogrebezky).
Regarding claim 2, Leaman teaches:
A computer-implemented method comprising: receiving target input data specified by a user, wherein: the target input data includes keyword input data indicating user-specified keywords to locate in webpages, and the target input data includes topic input data indicating user-specified topics to locate in the webpages; (Leaman FIG. 2, ¶ 0090: elements for extracting key phrases from a primary online content object, a content cluster data store 132 that stores clusters of topics, and a content development and management application 150 having a user interface that allows users to develop content. Within the platform 100, key phrases 112 are extracted from the primary online content object 102 and are processed; see also Leaman ¶ 0119: When users use the content development and management application 150, or content strategy tool, the user may be prompted to enter a topic based on the user's own knowledge of the enterprise; see also Leaman ¶ 0295: a client user may provide one or more customization parameters via one or more GUIs ... The types of customization parameters may include custom ticket attributes, client branding (e.g., logos or photographs), root URLs to generate a knowledge graph on behalf of the client, topic headings for organizing a client's customer service page, media assets to be included under each respective topic heading, ticket pipeline definitions, workflow definitions)
accessing network data for a set of entities, wherein the network data includes, for each entity of the set of entities, a respective set of URL data objects; (Leaman ¶ 0300-0301: the user may provide a root URL to initiate the generation of a knowledge base. In response to the root URL (or multiple root URLs), the system may crawl a set of documents (e.g., webpages) starting with the root URL … the user may define one or more topic headings, and for each topic heading may upload or provide links to a set of media assets (e.g., articles and/or videos) that relate to the heading; see also Leaman ¶ 0295: a client user may provide one or more customization parameters via one or more GUIs ... The types of customization parameters may include ... root URLs to generate a knowledge graph on behalf of the client)
create target input data embeddings based on the topic input data; (Leaman FIG. 2, ¶ 0091: The system and method are then capable of projection of the crawled, stored and processed information, using the present processing hardware, networking and computing infrastructure so as to generate specially formatted vectors, e.g., a single vector or multiple vectors. The vector or vectors may be generated according to a Word2vec model used to produce word embeddings in a multi-layer neural network or similar arrangement; see also ¶ 0107: the processing results in a plurality of the content clusters 130 representing topics within the primary online content object 102 ... the platform 100 may take content for the primary online content object 102, such as a website, and extract a number of phrases, such as a number of co-located phrases, based on processing the n-grams present in the content ... This provides a vector representation of a website within the LSA model 124)
generating a dynamic intent score for each entity of the set of entities by: (Leaman FIG. 2, ¶ 0090: ...a user interface 152 of a content development management application 150 within which an agent of an enterprise, such as a marketer, a salesperson, or the like may view the suggested topic 138 and relevant information about it (such as indicators of its similarity or relevancy as described elsewhere herein))
for each URL data object of the respective set of URL data objects: extracting keywords from a webpage associated with the URL data object; (Leaman FIG. 2, ¶ 0086-0090: In embodiments, the primary online content object 102 is a web page of an enterprise ... Within the platform 100, key phrases 112 are extracted from the primary online content object 102 and are processed, such as using a variety of models 118, resulting in one or more content clusters 130 that are stored in a content cluster data store 132)
comparing the extracted keywords with the user-specified keywords of the target input data; (Leaman FIG. 2, ¶ 0091: The vector or vectors may be generated according to a Word2vec model used to produce word embeddings in a multi-layer neural network or similar arrangement ... new terms or phrases or documents may be compared against known data in the data store of the system and generate a similarity, relevance, or nearness quantitative metric; see also Leaman ¶ 0108: The application of the word2vec model 120 and the doc2vec model 122 to the vector representation of primary online content object 102 (e.g., website) to draw vectors may result in a content-context model based on co-located phrases. This allows new terms to be compared against that content context database to determine how near it is to the enterprise's existing primary online content objects 102 (e.g., webpages), such as using cosine similarity)
generating a keyword comparison value for the URL data object based on the comparison; (Leaman FIG. 2, ¶ 0091: The vector or vectors may be generated according to a Word2vec model used to produce word embeddings in a multi-layer neural network or similar arrangement ... new terms or phrases or documents may be compared against known data in the data store of the system and generate a similarity, relevance, or nearness quantitative metric; see also Leaman ¶ 0108: This allows new terms to be compared against that content context database to determine how near it is to the enterprise's existing primary online content objects 102 (e.g., webpages), such as using cosine similarity. That similarity may then be converted into a score and displayed through the UI, such as displaying it as a “Relevancy” score)
scraping the webpage associated with the URL data object to generate a scraped text data object; (Leaman ¶ 0127: the platform 100 may proactively recommend core topics, such as based on crawling and scraping existing site content of an enterprise. Thus, also provided herein is the auto-discovery engine 170, including various methods, systems, components, modules, services, processes, applications, interfaces and other elements for automated discovery of topics for interactions with customers of an enterprise)
creating a web embedding by providing the scraped text data object to a machine learning module; (Leaman ¶ 0127: the platform 100 may proactively recommend core topics, such as based on crawling and scraping existing site content of an enterprise; Leaman ¶ 0107: the platform 100 may take content for the primary online content object 102, such as a website, and extract a number of phrases, such as a number of co-located phrases, based on processing the n-grams present in the content ... This provides a vector representation of a website within the LSA model 124 [shows web embedding]; ¶ 0138: the directed content system 200 may include, but is not limited to: ... a machine learning system 212 that learns/trains classification models that are used to extract events, entities, and/or relationships, scoring models that are used to identify intended recipients of directed content, and/or models that are used to generate directed models [shows use of a machine learning module])
generating a topic comparison value based on a comparison of the web embedding with the target input data embeddings; and (Leaman FIG. 2, ¶ 0091: Vectors based on other content information (e.g., phrases or documents [relevant to web embeddings], which can be referred to as Phrase2vec or Document2vec herein) may also be employed in some embodiments ... new terms or phrases or documents may be compared against known data in the data store of the system and generate a similarity, relevance, or nearness quantitative metric; see also Leaman ¶ 0107-0108: The application of the word2vec model 120 and the doc2vec model 122 to the vector representation of primary online content object 102 (e.g., website) [shows involvement of web embeddings] to draw vectors may result in a content-context model based on co-located phrases. This allows new terms to be compared against that content context database to determine how near it is to the enterprise's existing primary online content objects 102 (e.g., webpages), such as using cosine similarity. That similarity may then be converted into a score and displayed through the UI, such as displaying it as a “Relevancy” score)
generating a total comparison value for the URL data object by combining (i) the keyword comparison value and (ii) the topic comparison value; and (Leaman ¶ 0091: The vector or vectors may be generated according to a Word2vec model used to produce word embeddings in a multi-layer neural network or similar arrangement … Vectors based on other content information (e.g., phrases or documents, which can be referred to as Phrase2vec or Document2vec herein) may also be employed in some embodiments [interpreted as being additionally employed] ... In this way, new terms or phrases or documents may be compared against known data in the data store of the system and generate a similarity, relevance, or nearness quantitative metric. Cosine similarity or other methods can be employed as part of this nearness determination. The similarity may be translated into a corresponding score in some embodiments [this passage contemplates a single value])
generating the dynamic intent score based on the total comparison values of the respective set of URL data objects; (Leaman FIG. 2, ¶ 0091: new terms or phrases or documents may be compared against known data in the data store of the system and generate a similarity, relevance, or nearness quantitative metric. Cosine similarity or other methods can be employed as part of this nearness determination. The similarity may be translated into a corresponding score ... The score can further be presented as a “relevance” metric; see Leaman ¶ 0119-0120: For each identified core topic, the topic may be validated based on one or more metrics or criteria, (e.g., competitiveness, popularity, relevancy, or the like). In embodiments, a relevancy metric may be determined based on cosine similarity between a topic and the core topic, and/or based on various other sources of website analytics data)
ranking the set of entities according to their respective dynamic intent scores; (Leaman FIG. 2, ¶ 0090-0091: From the content clusters 130 a suggestion generator 134 may generate one or more suggested topics 138, which may be presented in a user interface 152 of a content development management application 150 within which an agent of an enterprise, such as a marketer, a salesperson, or the like may view the suggested topic 138 and relevant information about it (such as indicators of its similarity or relevancy as described elsewhere herein); Leaman ¶ 0095: topics are suggested (or entered topics are rated) based on the topics' competitiveness, popularity, and/or relevance)
selecting a subset of the set of entities according to the ranking; and generating a target list including the subset. (Leaman FIG. 2, ¶ 0090-0091: From the content clusters 130 a suggestion generator 134 may generate one or more suggested topics 138, which may be presented in a user interface 152 of a content development management application 150 within which an agent of an enterprise, such as a marketer, a salesperson, or the like may view the suggested topic 138 and relevant information about it (such as indicators of its similarity or relevancy as described elsewhere herein); see also Leaman ¶ 0117: The cluster user interface 178 may allow a user, such as a sales or marketing professional, to explore a set of topics (e.g., topics that are highly relevant to a brand of the enterprise and related topics) which, in embodiments, may be presented with a relevancy score 174 or other measures of similarity, as well as with other information, such as search volume information and the like. In embodiments, the cluster user interface 178 or other portion of the user interface 152 may allow a user to select and attach one or more topics or content objects, such as indicating which topics should be considered at the core for the enterprise, for a brand, or for a particular project)
An interpretation of Leaman results in it not expressly disclosing:
generating a dynamic intent score for each entity of the set of entities by: for each URL data object of the respective set of URL data objects:
generating the dynamic intent score based on the total comparison values of the respective set of URL data objects;
However, Pogrebezky fortifies these teachings through the following:
generating a dynamic intent score for each entity of the set of entities by: for each URL data object of the respective set of URL data objects: (Pogrebezky ¶ 0047-0051: A plurality of independent seed source services each crawl web pages to collect seeds from different web-based sources ... each of values for each attribute within each cluster can be scored by (a) selecting a particular enriched company seed from the cluster; (b) extracting values for each attribute of that particular enriched company seed ... (e) summing all of the weighted similarity scores at a website scoring function to generate a website score for that particular enriched company seed)
generating the dynamic … score based on the total comparison values of the respective set of URL data objects; (Pogrebezky ¶ 0051: each of values for each attribute within each cluster can be scored by … (e) summing all of the weighted similarity scores at a website scoring function to generate a website score for that particular enriched company seed; ¶ 0150: The weighted similarity products 572, 574, 576, 578, 580 for each attribute can then be summed by a website scoring function 582 to generate a website score 583. In other words, all of the extracted attributes that are extracted from a company seed for a particular website are scored, weighted and then grouped together to generate score 583 to that website)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the functioning of the webpage scoring of Leaman with the functioning of the website scoring of Pogrebezky.
In addition, both of the references (Leaman and Pogrebezky) disclose features that are directed to analogous art, and they are directed to the same field of endeavor, such as web-based scoring techniques.
Motivation to do so would be to improve the functioning of Leaman performing scoring of webpages with the ability in similar reference Pogrebezky also performing scoring of webpages but with the improvement of clustering techniques.
Motivation to do so would also be the teaching, suggestion, or motivation for a person of ordinary skill in the art to implement improved automated, efficient, and consistent data generation and updating techniques as seen in Pogrebezky ¶ 0029.
Regarding claim 12, Leaman teaches:
A system comprising: memory hardware configured to store instructions and one or more data stores including network data, (Leaman ¶ 0084: Embodiments of the disclosure are directed to computers, computer systems, networks and data storage arrangements comprising digitally encoded information and machine-readable instructions; ¶ 0305: a deployed client-specific service system may have access to the proprietary database 1620, the knowledge graph 1622, and/or the knowledge base 1624)
wherein the network data includes, for each entity of the set of entities, a respective set of URL data objects; and (Leaman ¶ 0300-0301: In response to the root URL (or multiple root URLs), the system may crawl a set of documents (e.g., webpages) starting with the root URL. In embodiments, the system may analyze (e.g., via NLP and/or document classifiers) each document and may populate a knowledge graph based on the analysis; ¶ 0305: a deployed client-specific service system may have access to the proprietary database 1620, the knowledge graph 1622, and/or the knowledge base 1624)
processor hardware configured to execute the instructions, wherein the instructions include: (Leaman ¶ 0084: The machinery in which the present system and method are implemented will therefore comprise novel and useful devices and architectures of computing and processing equipment for achieving the present objectives)
receiving target input data specified by a user, wherein: the target input data includes keyword input data indicating user-specified keywords to locate in webpages, and the target input data includes topic input data indicating user-specified topics to locate in the webpages; (Leaman FIG. 2, ¶ 0090: elements for extracting key phrases from a primary online content object, a content cluster data store 132 that stores clusters of topics, and a content development and management application 150 having a user interface that allows users to develop content. Within the platform 100, key phrases 112 are extracted from the primary online content object 102 and are processed; see also Leaman ¶ 0119: When users use the content development and management application 150, or content strategy tool, the user may be prompted to enter a topic based on the user's own knowledge of the enterprise; see also Leaman ¶ 0295: a client user may provide one or more customization parameters via one or more GUIs ... The types of customization parameters may include custom ticket attributes, client branding (e.g., logos or photographs), root URLs to generate a knowledge graph on behalf of the client, topic headings for organizing a client's customer service page, media assets to be included under each respective topic heading, ticket pipeline definitions, workflow definitions)
accessing the network data; (Leaman ¶ 0300-0301: the user may provide a root URL to initiate the generation of a knowledge base. In response to the root URL (or multiple root URLs), the system may crawl a set of documents (e.g., webpages) starting with the root URL … the user may define one or more topic headings, and for each topic heading may upload or provide links to a set of media assets (e.g., articles and/or videos) that relate to the heading; see also Leaman ¶ 0295: a client user may provide one or more customization parameters via one or more GUIs ... The types of customization parameters may include ... root URLs to generate a knowledge graph on behalf of the client)
create target input data embeddings based on the topic input data; (Leaman FIG. 2, ¶ 0091: The system and method are then capable of projection of the crawled, stored and processed information, using the present processing hardware, networking and computing infrastructure so as to generate specially formatted vectors, e.g., a single vector or multiple vectors. The vector or vectors may be generated according to a Word2vec model used to produce word embeddings in a multi-layer neural network or similar arrangement; see also ¶ 0107: the processing results in a plurality of the content clusters 130 representing topics within the primary online content object 102 ... the platform 100 may take content for the primary online content object 102, such as a website, and extract a number of phrases, such as a number of co-located phrases, based on processing the n-grams present in the content ... This provides a vector representation of a website within the LSA model 124)
generating a dynamic intent score for each entity of the set of entities by: (Leaman FIG. 2, ¶ 0090: ...a user interface 152 of a content development management application 150 within which an agent of an enterprise, such as a marketer, a salesperson, or the like may view the suggested topic 138 and relevant information about it (such as indicators of its similarity or relevancy as described elsewhere herein))
for each URL data object of the respective set of URL data objects: extracting keywords from a webpage associated with the URL data object; (Leaman FIG. 2, ¶ 0086-0090: In embodiments, the primary online content object 102 is a web page of an enterprise ... Within the platform 100, key phrases 112 are extracted from the primary online content object 102 and are processed, such as using a variety of models 118, resulting in one or more content clusters 130 that are stored in a content cluster data store 132)
comparing the extracted keywords with the user-specified keywords of the target input data; (Leaman FIG. 2, ¶ 0091: The vector or vectors may be generated according to a Word2vec model used to produce word embeddings in a multi-layer neural network or similar arrangement ... new terms or phrases or documents may be compared against known data in the data store of the system and generate a similarity, relevance, or nearness quantitative metric; see also Leaman ¶ 0108: The application of the word2vec model 120 and the doc2vec model 122 to the vector representation of primary online content object 102 (e.g., website) to draw vectors may result in a content-context model based on co-located phrases. This allows new terms to be compared against that content context database to determine how near it is to the enterprise's existing primary online content objects 102 (e.g., webpages), such as using cosine similarity)
generating a keyword comparison value for the URL data object based on the comparison; (Leaman FIG. 2, ¶ 0091: The vector or vectors may be generated according to a Word2vec model used to produce word embeddings in a multi-layer neural network or similar arrangement ... new terms or phrases or documents may be compared against known data in the data store of the system and generate a similarity, relevance, or nearness quantitative metric; see also Leaman ¶ 0108: This allows new terms to be compared against that content context database to determine how near it is to the enterprise's existing primary online content objects 102 (e.g., webpages), such as using cosine similarity. That similarity may then be converted into a score and displayed through the UI, such as displaying it as a “Relevancy” score)
scraping the webpage associated with the URL data object to generate a scraped text data object; (Leaman ¶ 0127: the platform 100 may proactively recommend core topics, such as based on crawling and scraping existing site content of an enterprise. Thus, also provided herein is the auto-discovery engine 170, including various methods, systems, components, modules, services, processes, applications, interfaces and other elements for automated discovery of topics for interactions with customers of an enterprise)
creating a web embedding by providing the scraped text data object to a machine learning module; (Leaman ¶ 0127: the platform 100 may proactively recommend core topics, such as based on crawling and scraping existing site content of an enterprise; Leaman ¶ 0107: the platform 100 may take content for the primary online content object 102, such as a website, and extract a number of phrases, such as a number of co-located phrases, based on processing the n-grams present in the content ... This provides a vector representation of a website within the LSA model 124 [shows web embedding]; ¶ 0138: the directed content system 200 may include, but is not limited to: ... a machine learning system 212 that learns/trains classification models that are used to extract events, entities, and/or relationships, scoring models that are used to identify intended recipients of directed content, and/or models that are used to generate directed models [shows use of a machine learning module])
generating a topic comparison value based on a comparison of the web embedding with the target input data embeddings; and (Leaman FIG. 2, ¶ 0091: Vectors based on other content information (e.g., phrases or documents [relevant to web embeddings], which can be referred to as Phrase2vec or Document2vec herein) may also be employed in some embodiments ... new terms or phrases or documents may be compared against known data in the data store of the system and generate a similarity, relevance, or nearness quantitative metric; see also Leaman ¶ 0107-0108: The application of the word2vec model 120 and the doc2vec model 122 to the vector representation of primary online content object 102 (e.g., website) [shows involvement of web embeddings] to draw vectors may result in a content-context model based on co-located phrases. This allows new terms to be compared against that content context database to determine how near it is to the enterprise's existing primary online content objects 102 (e.g., webpages), such as using cosine similarity. That similarity may then be converted into a score and displayed through the UI, such as displaying it as a “Relevancy” score)
generating a total comparison value for the URL data object by combining (i) the keyword comparison value and (ii) the topic comparison value; and (Leaman ¶ 0091: The vector or vectors may be generated according to a Word2vec model used to produce word embeddings in a multi-layer neural network or similar arrangement … Vectors based on other content information (e.g., phrases or documents, which can be referred to as Phrase2vec or Document2vec herein) may also be employed in some embodiments [interpreted as being additionally employed] ... In this way, new terms or phrases or documents may be compared against known data in the data store of the system and generate a similarity, relevance, or nearness quantitative metric. Cosine similarity or other methods can be employed as part of this nearness determination. The similarity may be translated into a corresponding score in some embodiments [this passage contemplates a single value])
generating the dynamic intent score based on the total comparison values of the respective set of URL data objects; (Leaman FIG. 2, ¶ 0091: new terms or phrases or documents may be compared against known data in the data store of the system and generate a similarity, relevance, or nearness quantitative metric. Cosine similarity or other methods can be employed as part of this nearness determination. The similarity may be translated into a corresponding score ... The score can further be presented as a “relevance” metric; see Leaman ¶ 0119-0120: For each identified core topic, the topic may be validated based on one or more metrics or criteria, (e.g., competitiveness, popularity, relevancy, or the like). In embodiments, a relevancy metric may be determined based on cosine similarity between a topic and the core topic, and/or based on various other sources of website analytics data)
ranking the set of entities according to their respective dynamic intent scores; (Leaman FIG. 2, ¶ 0090-0091: From the content clusters 130 a suggestion generator 134 may generate one or more suggested topics 138, which may be presented in a user interface 152 of a content development management application 150 within which an agent of an enterprise, such as a marketer, a salesperson, or the like may view the suggested topic 138 and relevant information about it (such as indicators of its similarity or relevancy as described elsewhere herein); Leaman ¶ 0095: topics are suggested (or entered topics are rated) based on the topics' competitiveness, popularity, and/or relevance)
selecting a subset of the set of entities according to the ranking; and generating a target list including the subset. (Leaman FIG. 2, ¶ 0090-0091: From the content clusters 130 a suggestion generator 134 may generate one or more suggested topics 138, which may be presented in a user interface 152 of a content development management application 150 within which an agent of an enterprise, such as a marketer, a salesperson, or the like may view the suggested topic 138 and relevant information about it (such as indicators of its similarity or relevancy as described elsewhere herein); see also Leaman ¶ 0117: The cluster user interface 178 may allow a user, such as a sales or marketing professional, to explore a set of topics (e.g., topics that are highly relevant to a brand of the enterprise and related topics) which, in embodiments, may be presented with a relevancy score 174 or other measures of similarity, as well as with other information, such as search volume information and the like. In embodiments, the cluster user interface 178 or other portion of the user interface 152 may allow a user to select and attach one or more topics or content objects, such as indicating which topics should be considered at the core for the enterprise, for a brand, or for a particular project)
An interpretation of Leaman results in it not expressly disclosing:
generating a dynamic intent score for each entity of the set of entities by: for each URL data object of the respective set of URL data objects:
generating the dynamic intent score based on the total comparison values of the respective set of URL data objects;
However, Pogrebezky fortifies these teachings through the following:
generating a dynamic intent score for each entity of the set of entities by: for each URL data object of the respective set of URL data objects: (Pogrebezky ¶ 0047-0051: A plurality of independent seed source services each crawl web pages to collect seeds from different web-based sources ... each of values for each attribute within each cluster can be scored by (a) selecting a particular enriched company seed from the cluster; (b) extracting values for each attribute of that particular enriched company seed ... (e) summing all of the weighted similarity scores at a website scoring function to generate a website score for that particular enriched company seed)
generating the dynamic … score based on the total comparison values of the respective set of URL data objects; (Pogrebezky ¶ 0051: each of values for each attribute within each cluster can be scored by … (e) summing all of the weighted similarity scores at a website scoring function to generate a website score for that particular enriched company seed; ¶ 0150: The weighted similarity products 572, 574, 576, 578, 580 for each attribute can then be summed by a website scoring function 582 to generate a website score 583. In other words, all of the extracted attributes that are extracted from a company seed for a particular website are scored, weighted and then grouped together to generate score 583 to that website)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the functioning of the webpage scoring of Leaman with the functioning of the website scoring of Pogrebezky.
In addition, both of the references (Leaman and Pogrebezky) disclose features that are directed to analogous art, and they are directed to the same field of endeavor, such as web-based scoring techniques.
Motivation to do so would be to improve the functioning of Leaman performing scoring of webpages with the ability in similar reference Pogrebezky also performing scoring of webpages but with the improvement of clustering techniques.
Motivation to do so would also be the teaching, suggestion, or motivation for a person of ordinary skill in the art to implement improved automated, efficient, and consistent data generation and updating techniques as seen in Pogrebezky ¶ 0029.
Regarding claims 3 and 13, Leaman in view of Pogrebezky teaches:
wherein at least one entity of the set of entities is an individual. (Leaman ¶ 0011: the event generation may include generating of an event notification when at least one of keywords, topics, or features are detected in the transcript. The event notification may indicate a type of event, one or more speakers involved in the event, and metadata related to the event)
Regarding claims 4 and 14, Leaman in view of Pogrebezky does not expressly disclose:
wherein at least one entity of the set of entities is an organization.
However, another embodiment of Leaman teaches:
wherein at least one entity of the set of entities is an organization. (Leaman ¶ 0141: Types of entities include, but are not limited to, organizations (e.g., companies), people, governments, cities, states, countries, dates, populations, markets, sectors, industries, roles, and products. Information about organizations may be obtained from, for example, company news articles, job postings, SEC filings, organizational charts, press releases, and any other digital documents relating to organizations such as patents, trademarks, blog posts, mentions in forums, market reports, internal documents, company websites, and social media)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the functioning of the suggested topics of Leaman as modified with the functioning of the entities of Leaman.
Motivation to do so would be to simply substitute the topics suggested in Leaman as modified with the entities in Leaman to obtain predictable results.
Regarding claims 10 and 20, Leaman in view of Pogrebezky teaches:
wherein the target list is encoded as a text file format. (Leaman ¶ 0338: most of the data may be stored using a JavaScript™ Object Notation (JSON) (e.g., web-based tool JSON blob) to assist in creating, editing, viewing, formatting, and sharing JSON ... JSON may be used as data format such that JSON may be an open standard file format and data interchange format that may use text to store and transmit data objects)
Regarding claim 11, Leaman in view of Pogrebezky teaches:
outputting the target list to a graphical user interface. (Leaman FIG. 2, ¶ 0090: From the content clusters 130 a suggestion generator 134 may generate one or more suggested topics 138, which may be presented in a user interface 152 of a content development management application 150 within which an agent of an enterprise, such as a marketer, a salesperson, or the like may view the suggested topic 138 and relevant information about it (such as indicators of its similarity or relevancy as described elsewhere herein); see also Leaman ¶ 0117: The cluster user interface 178 may allow a user, such as a sales or marketing professional, to explore a set of topics (e.g., topics that are highly relevant to a brand of the enterprise and related topics) which, in embodiments, may be presented with a relevancy score 174 or other measures of similarity, as well as with other information, such as search volume information and the like)
Regarding claim 21, Leaman in view of Pogrebezky teaches:
wherein the target input data originates from a user who requests creation of the target list. (Leaman FIG. 2, ¶ 0090: elements for extracting key phrases from a primary online content object, a content cluster data store 132 that stores clusters of topics, and a content development and management application 150 having a user interface that allows users to develop content. Within the platform 100, key phrases 112 are extracted from the primary online content object 102 and are processed ... From the content clusters 130 a suggestion generator 134 may generate one or more suggested topics 138, which may be presented in a user interface 152 of a content development management application 150 within which an agent of an enterprise, such as a marketer, a salesperson, or the like may view the suggested topic 138 and relevant information about it (such as indicators of its similarity or relevancy as described elsewhere herein))
Claims 5-6 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leaman in view of Pogrebezky in further view of Schwarm et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0026759 (hereinafter Schwarm).
Regarding claims 5 and 15, Leaman in view of Pogrebezky teaches all the features with respect to claims 2 and 12 above but does not expressly disclose the following, addressed by Schwarm:
wherein the set of entities includes browsing entities who have accessed one or more target websites. (Schwarm ¶ 0031: The system can be configured to map the web data traffic content to a business entity identifier to identify a business entity visiting the website; map the web traffic data content to personnel data for the business entity associated with the business entity identifier to identify business personnel associated with the business entity visiting the website; ¶ 0050-0053: At block 204, the system is configured to obtain visitor intelligence data 105, and at block 205 the business entity mapping module 106 is configured to map the web traffic data content 102 to visitor intelligence data 105, for example, personnel data for the business entity associated with the business entity identifier to identify business personnel associated with the business entity visiting the website ... At block 205, the system is configured to map the web data traffic content 102 to a business entity identifier to identify a business entity visiting the website)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the functioning of the webpage scoring of Leaman as modified with the functioning of the website mapping of Schwarm.
In addition, both of the references (Leaman as modified and Schwarm) disclose features that are directed to analogous art, and they are directed to the same field of endeavor, such as web-based embedding techniques.
Motivation to do so would be to improve the functioning of Leaman as modified creating embeddings from webpages with the ability in similar reference Schwarm also creating embeddings from webpages but with the improvement of mapping techniques (FIG. 2).
Motivation to do so would be to improve the functioning of Leaman performing webpage similarity determination the ability in similar reference Schwarm also performing webpage similarity determination but with the improvement of interest/intent determination (¶ 0033).
Regarding claims 6 and 16, Leaman in view of Pogrebezky teaches all the features with respect to claims 2 and 12 above but does not expressly disclose the following, addressed by Schwarm:
filtering the network data so that a respective set of URL data objects includes URL data objects accessed by a browsing entity. (Schwarm ¶ 0031: The system can be configured to map the web data traffic content to a business entity identifier to identify a business entity visiting the website; map the web traffic data content to personnel data for the business entity associated with the business entity identifier to identify business personnel associated with the business entity visiting the website; ¶ 0050-0053: At block 204, the system is configured to obtain visitor intelligence data 105, and at block 205 the business entity mapping module 106 is configured to map the web traffic data content 102 to visitor intelligence data 105, for example, personnel data for the business entity associated with the business entity identifier to identify business personnel associated with the business entity visiting the website ... At block 205, the system is configured to map the web data traffic content 102 to a business entity identifier to identify a business entity visiting the website)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the functioning of the webpage scoring of Leaman as modified with the functioning of the website mapping of Schwarm.
In addition, both of the references (Leaman as modified and Schwarm) disclose features that are directed to analogous art, and they are directed to the same field of endeavor, such as web-based embedding techniques.
Motivation to do so would be to improve the functioning of Leaman as modified creating embeddings from webpages with the ability in similar reference Schwarm also creating embeddings from webpages but with the improvement of mapping techniques (FIG. 2).
Motivation to do so would be to improve the functioning of Leaman performing webpage similarity determination the ability in similar reference Schwarm also performing webpage similarity determination but with the improvement of interest/intent determination (¶ 0033).
Claims 7-8 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leaman in view of Pogrebezky in further view of Cartmell et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2002/0103820 (hereinafter Cartmell).
Regarding claims 7 and 17, Leaman in view of Pogrebezky teaches all the features with respect to claims 2 and 12 above but does not expressly disclose the following, addressed by Cartmell:
wherein the target list includes respective domain names associated with the subset. (Cartmell ¶ 0024-0029: alternatives to a specified domain name are determined and presented to a user, such as after the user has attempted to register an already registered domain name … After one or more domain name alternatives have been generated, the alternatives can be provided or presented to a user)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the functioning of the webpage scoring of Leaman as modified with the functioning of the domain name scoring of Cartmell.
In addition, both of the references (Leaman as modified and Cartmell) disclose features that are directed to analogous art, and they are directed to the same field of endeavor, such as web-based scoring techniques.
Motivation to do so would be to improve the functioning of Leaman as modified performing web-based scoring with the ability in similar reference Cartmell also performing web-based scoring but with the improvement of ranking techniques (Cartmell ¶ 0022).
Regarding claims 8 and 18, Leaman in view of Pogrebezky and Cartmell teaches:
wherein the subset is sorted in the target list according to alphabetic order of their respective domain names. (Cartmell ¶ 0029: After one or more domain name alternatives have been generated, the alternatives can be provided or presented to a user ... The various alternatives can be presented in a variety of ways, such as in order of relevance, in alphabetical order, or grouped into categories based on how the alternative was generated)
Claims 9 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leaman in view of Pogrebezky in further view of Arians et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2014/0101194 (hereinafter Arians).
Regarding claims 9 and 19, Leaman in view of Pogrebezky teaches all the features with respect to claims 2 and 12 above but does not expressly disclose the following, addressed by Arians:
wherein the subset is sorted in the target list according to numeric order of their respective dynamic intent scores. (Arians FIG. 2, ¶ 0031: Indexed data may include domain names, registrar information, contact information, or any other text searchable domain information that has been indexed and stored in the text index. Matched search results are scored based on relevancy and other factors in step S260, and ranked in descending score order in step S270, described in more detail below. The ranked matched search results, such as matched domain names, that make up the first page of search results (such as the first ten or twenty results) are forwarded to the web server in step S300)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the functioning of the webpage scoring of Leaman as modified with the functioning of the domain name scoring of Arians.
In addition, both of the references (Leaman as modified and Arians) disclose features that are directed to analogous art, and they are directed to the same field of endeavor, such as web-based scoring techniques.
Motivation to do so would be to improve the functioning of Leaman as modified performing web-based scoring with the ability in similar reference Arians also performing web-based scoring but with the improvement of ranking techniques (Arians ¶ 0031).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Chen, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2015/0326606; see Chen ¶ 0026 describing ordering domain names based on the numerical values associated with each domain name, relevant to at least independent claim 2, requiring a respective set of URL data objects for each entity of a set of entities, and dependent claim 9 requiring sorting according to numeric order of respective scores.
/J.P.F/Examiner, Art Unit 2153 August 18, 2026
/KAVITA STANLEY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2153