This is the first office action in response to the above identified patent application filed on 08/29/2025. Claims 1-21 are currently pending and being examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the gaseous fuel nozzle assembly" in lines 5 and 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 14 recites the limitation "the gaseous fuel nozzle assembly" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 15 recites the limitation "the gaseous hydrogen fuel" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 18 recites the limitation "the gaseous hydrogen fuel" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 19 recites the limitation "the gaseous hydrogen fuel" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 19 recites the limitation "the gaseous fuel nozzle assembly" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 20 recites the limitation "the gaseous fuel nozzle assembly" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 21 recites the limitation "the gaseous fuel nozzle assembly" in lines 2 and 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 21 recites the limitation "the gaseous hydrogen fuel" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 12, 13, 16, 17 depend from Claim 11 and are rejected accordingly.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 of U.S. Patent No. 12,410,746. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the referencing US Patent fully encompass the subject matter of the instant application claims and therefore anticipate the claims of the instant application. Since the claims of the instant application are anticipated by the claims of the referencing US Patent, the claims of the instant application are not patentably distinct from the referencing US Patent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 9-18, 20 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okada et al. (JP 6722491) in view of Toqan et al. (US 2022/0333783).
In regards to Independent Claims 1 and 11, and with particular reference to Figures 1, 2, 3 and 8, Okada discloses a method of operating a gas turbine engine GT having a compressor section 1, a combustion section 3 including a combustion chamber 21, and a turbine section 5 in a serial flow arrangement, the method comprising:
providing gaseous hydrogen fuel H to a gaseous fuel nozzle assembly 13 fluidly coupled with the combustion chamber 21;
providing steam W to the gaseous fuel nozzle assembly 13;
Okada is silent about controlling a flame speed of a flame in the combustion chamber by providing the steam from the gaseous fuel nozzle assembly to the combustion chamber.
Toqan teaches that adding steam to hydrogen can reduce the flame speeds by a factor of 4 to 5 times (par. 51). In other words, Toqan teaches that adding steam to hydrogen controls/limits a flame speed in the combustion chamber.
Thus, since Okada already teaches adding steam W to hydrogen H (refer to figure 3 in Okada). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to conclude that the system in Okada does control/limit a flame speed in the combustion chamber because as taught by Toqan, controlling the addition of steam to hydrogen has the effect of controlling/reducing/limiting a flame speed (par. 51 in Toqan).
Regarding dependent Claims 2, 3, 12 and 13, Okada in view of Toqan teaches the invention as claimed and as disclosed above and Toqan further teaches wherein the controlling the flame speed includes limiting the flame speed to a maximum speed of 3 meters per second o 6 meters per second (compare figures 7A and 9A in Toqan teaching that by adding steam the flame speed can be reduced to a maximum speed of 3 meter per second or 6 meters per second depending on the equivalence ratio).
Regarding dependent Claims 4 and 15, Okada in view of Toqan teaches the invention as claimed and as disclosed above and Okada further teaches (refer particularly to figures 2 and 3) wherein providing the steam W from the gaseous fuel nozzle assembly to the combustion chamber 21 includes emitting the steam W into a first outer fluid passage 87 of the fuel nozzle assembly to mix the steam W with air A prior to mixing with the gaseous hydrogen fuel H (H discharge via orifices 75).
Regarding dependent Claims 5 and 16, Okada in view of Toqan teaches the invention as claimed and as disclosed above and Okada further teaches further emitting steam W into a first outer fluid passage 57 by one or more steam conduit outlets 61, refer to figures 3 and 4.
Regarding dependent Claims 6 and 17, Okada in view of Toqan teaches the invention as claimed and as disclosed above and Okada further teaches wherein the one or more steam conduct outlets 61 are disposed in a swirler 87 (the steam is discharged into the swirler, the exiting via the outlets of the swirler).
Regarding dependent Claims 7 and 18, Okada in view of Toqan teaches the invention as claimed and as disclosed above and Okada further teaches wherein the gaseous hydrogen fuel is 100% hydrogen gas (refer to the section labeled “technical field” indicating the fuel is hydrogen gas; no indication that the hydrogen gas is a blend or mixture implying 100% hydrogen gas).
Regarding dependent Claims 9 and 20, Okada in view of Toqan teaches the invention as claimed and as disclosed above and Okada as modified by Toqan teaches that the steam injection is to control/shape the flame with steam from the gaseous fuel nozzle assembly (refer to the rejection of claim 1). Notice that the claim does not recite any additional structural elements that shape the flame but merely indicates that the steam injection shapes the flame. The prior art of Okada-Toqan being the same as explained in the rejection of claims 1 and 11 is expected to do the same, that is, shape the flame as the steam is injected into the combustion chamber).
Regarding dependent Claims 10 and 21, Okada in view of Toqan teaches the invention as claimed and as disclosed above and Okada as modified by Toqan further teaches limiting radial spread of the flame by providing the steam from the gaseous fuel nozzle assembly around the gaseous hydrogen fuel from the gaseous fuel nozzle assembly. Notice that the claim does not recite any additional structural elements that perform the claimed function of limiting radial spread of the flame, implying that steam injection alone accomplishes this. The prior art of Okada-Toqan being the same as explained in the rejection of claims 1 and 11 is expected to perform the same claimed function of limiting radial spread of the flame).
Regarding dependent Claim 14, Okada in view of Toqan teaches the invention as claimed and as disclosed above and Okada further teaches wherein the steam W from the gaseous fuel nozzle assembly 13 is provided to the combustion chamber 21.
Claims 1, 8 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Horiuchi et al. (WO 2016/056579) in view of Toqan et al. (US 2022/0333783).
In regards to Independent Claims 1 and 11, and with particular reference to Figures 1 and 5, Horiuchi discloses a method of operating a gas turbine engine 10 having a compressor section 11, a combustion section 14 including a combustion chamber 32, and a turbine section 17 in a serial flow arrangement, the method comprising:
providing gaseous hydrogen fuel 52 to a gaseous fuel nozzle assembly 71 fluidly coupled with the combustion chamber 32;
providing steam 75 to the gaseous fuel nozzle assembly 71;
Horiuchi is silent about controlling a flame speed of a flame in the combustion chamber by providing the steam from the gaseous fuel nozzle assembly to the combustion chamber.
Toqan teaches that adding steam to hydrogen can reduce the flame speeds by a factor of 4 to 5 times (par. 51). In other words, Toqan teaches that adding steam to hydrogen controls/limits a flame speed in the combustion chamber.
Thus, since Horiuchi already teaches adding steam W to hydrogen H (refer to figure 3 in Okada). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to conclude that the system in Horiuchi does control/limit a flame speed in the combustion chamber because as taught by Toqan, controlling the addition of steam to hydrogen has the effect of controlling/reducing/limiting a flame speed (par. 51 in Toqan).
Regarding dependent Claims 8 and 19, Horiuchi in view of Toqan teaches the invention as claimed and as disclosed above and Horiuchi further teaches mixing the steam 75 and the gaseous hydrogen fuel 65 in a mixing chamber (section with these two fluids mix) fluidly coupled to an inlet (any inlet in the fuel nozzle assembly 71; the mixing section is fluidly coupled to any inlet shown in the fuel nozzle assembly 71) of the gaseous fuel nozzle assembly.
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The following reference(s) are also relevant.
Kramer et al. (US 12,038,177). Particularly refer to figure 11 for claims 1, 4, 11, 15.
Newburry et al. (US 5,983,622). Particularly refer to figure 3 for claims 1, 8, 11, 19.
Cheng et al. (US 6,418,724). Particularly refer to figure 9 for claims 1, 8, 11, 19.
Okada et al. (US DE 112014004695). Particularly refer to figure 3 for claims 1, 8, 11, 19.
Contact Information
/William H Rodriguez/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3741