DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in China on 03/10/2023. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the CN202310247001.5 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1-5 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being incomplete for omitting essential elements, such omission amounting to a gap between the elements. See MPEP § 2172.01.
Claim 1 recites: “A steer-by-wire control method, comprising:”. However, the specification (See at least ¶0021 and Fig. 1) discloses “the present disclosure provides an electronic device, including: a memory configured to store a computer program; and a processor configured to execute the computer program stored in the memory to implement operations of the above steer-by-wire control method”. Additionally, Claim 6 recites “An electronic device, comprising: a memory configured to store a computer program; and a processor configured to execute the computer program stored in the memory to implement a steer-by-wire control method, the steer-by-wire control method comprising”. Therefore as-claimed, Claim 1 is missing an essential element, i.e. an electronic device or the like configured to execute the recited method. Absence of an electronic device configured to execute the method leads to confusion based on the overall disclosure whether the claimed method can be practiced by a human. The latter brings into question whether the claim is directed towards patent eligible subject matter or is directed towards in-eligible subject matter (i.e. a mental process without significantly more.
For the purpose of examination over the prior art Claim 1 will be construed as: A computer-implemented steer-by-wire control method representing computer executable program instructions, that when executed by a processor causes the processor to perform functions, the computer-implemented steer-by-wire control method comprising:
obtaining a steering parameter of a vehicle, wherein the steering parameter is a steering ratio of a steering wheel to a tire;
converting, based on the steering parameter, a steering signal of the steering wheel of the vehicle into a desired steering angle corresponding to the vehicle;
and calculating, based on the desired steering angle, a desired wheel speed of each of wheels of the vehicle, and performing, for each of the wheels of the vehicle, wheel speed control for the wheel based on the desired wheel speed of the wheel.
Claims 2-5 recite “the method according to Claim 1”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claims. For the purpose of examination over the prior art the preambles of Claims 2-5 will be construed as: “The computer-implemented steer-by-wire control method of Claim 1,”.
Appropriate Correction is Required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-9, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Song et al. (CN113002324A1). Song discloses “The invention discloses an electronic differential system of a four-wheel independent driving and independent steering electric vehicle. The system comprises an information acquisition module, a steering decision module, an electronic differential control module and an execution module. Under the condition that the steering mode and the driving mode of the vehicle can be switched, a speed type electronic differential control strategy and a torque type electronic differential control strategy are reasonably combined, so that the vehicle can keep good differential performance in various steering modes and driving modes, and the running stability of the vehicle is improved.” (Abstract).
Regarding Claim 1, Song discloses: : A computer-implemented (Fig. 1) steer-by-wire (¶0208; “The steer-by-wire system”) control method (Fig. 2) representing computer executable program instructions, that when executed by a processor (Fig. 1; ¶0147, electronic differential controller) causes the processor to perform functions, the computer-implemented steer-by-wire control method comprising:
obtaining a steering parameter of a vehicle, wherein the steering parameter is a steering ratio of a steering wheel to a tire (¶0206; “steering system angular transmission ratio”);
converting, based on the steering parameter, a steering signal of the steering wheel of the vehicle into a desired steering angle corresponding to the vehicle (¶0208; “The steer-by-wire system calculates the desired front wheel steering angle based on the input steering wheel angle”);
and calculating, based on the desired steering angle, a desired wheel speed of each of wheels of the vehicle, and performing, for each of the wheels of the vehicle, wheel speed control for the wheel based on the desired wheel speed of the wheel (¶0147 “a calculation method based on an Ackerman steering model, based on the received vehicle speed, desired front wheel steering angle, and rear wheel steering angle. Further, the electronic differential control module uses the difference between the theoretical and measured speeds of each wheel as the control variable, and controls the output torque of the four hub motors through a proportional-integral-derivative control strategy, so that the actual wheel speed tracks the target wheel speed”).
Regarding Claim 6, Song discloses: An electronic device (Fig. 1; ¶0147, electronic differential controller), comprising:
a memory configured to store a computer program (Fig. 2, computer implemented method; ¶0227 the electronic differential controller “stores” and “calculates” various data which implies a memory which stores the executable program illustrated as Fig. 2 method) ;
and a processor configured to execute the computer program stored in the memory to implement a steer-by-wire (¶0208; “The steer-by-wire system”) control method (¶0142, “Figure 2 is a schematic diagram of the working process of the proposed electronic differential control system”; disclosed controller comprises a processor to execute the process of Fig. 2), the steer-by-wire control method comprising:
obtaining a steering parameter of a vehicle, wherein the steering parameter is a steering ratio of a steering wheel to a tire (¶0206; “steering system angular transmission ratio”);
converting, based on the steering parameter, a steering signal of the steering wheel of the vehicle into a desired steering angle corresponding to the vehicle (¶0208; “The steer-by-wire system calculates the desired front wheel steering angle based on the input steering wheel angle”);
and calculating, based on the desired steering angle, a desired wheel speed of each of wheels of the vehicle, and performing, for each of the wheels of the vehicle, wheel speed control for the wheel based on the desired wheel speed of the wheel (¶0147 “a calculation method based on an Ackerman steering model, based on the received vehicle speed, desired front wheel steering angle, and rear wheel steering angle. Further, the electronic differential control module uses the difference between the theoretical and measured speeds of each wheel as the control variable, and controls the output torque of the four hub motors through a proportional-integral-derivative control strategy, so that the actual wheel speed tracks the target wheel speed”).
Regarding Claim 11, Song discloses: A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having a computer program stored thereon (Fig. 2, computer implemented method; ¶0227 the electronic differential controller “stores” and “calculates” various data which implies a memory which stores the executable program illustrated as Fig. 2 method), wherein the computer program, when executed by a processor(¶0142, “Figure 2 is a schematic diagram of the working process of the proposed electronic differential control system”; disclosed controller comprises a processor to execute the process of Fig. 2) , implements a steer-by-wire (¶0208; “The steer-by-wire system”) control method, the steer-by-wire control method comprising obtaining a steering parameter of a vehicle, wherein the steering parameter is a steering ratio of a steering wheel to a tire (¶0206; “steering system angular transmission ratio”);
converting, based on the steering parameter, a steering signal of the steering wheel of the vehicle into a desired steering angle corresponding to the vehicle (¶0208; “The steer-by-wire system calculates the desired front wheel steering angle based on the input steering wheel angle”);
and calculating, based on the desired steering angle, a desired wheel speed of each of wheels of the vehicle, and performing, for each of the wheels of the vehicle, wheel speed control for the wheel based on the desired wheel speed of the wheel (¶0147 “a calculation method based on an Ackerman steering model, based on the received vehicle speed, desired front wheel steering angle, and rear wheel steering angle. Further, the electronic differential control module uses the difference between the theoretical and measured speeds of each wheel as the control variable, and controls the output torque of the four hub motors through a proportional-integral-derivative control strategy, so that the actual wheel speed tracks the target wheel speed”).
Regarding Claims 2 and 7, Song further discloses: subsequent to said converting the steering signal of the steering wheel of the vehicle into the desired steering angle corresponding to the vehicle:
obtaining a current vehicle speed of the vehicle; (¶0149; “First, the information acquisition module collects the vehicle's own motion information through on-board sensors, estimates the road adhesion coefficient through a road adhesion coefficient estimator, and estimates the road slope through a road slope estimator. The vehicle's own motion information includes steering wheel angle, current vehicle speed, current longitudinal vehicle speed, vehicle center of gravity sideslip angle, yaw rate, lateral acceleration, and the rotational speed of each wheel.”)
obtaining a tire slip angle of the vehicle (¶0168-0178, sideslip angles of front and rear wheels), in response to the current vehicle speed being greater than a vehicle speed threshold (¶0155-0156);
and correcting, based on the tire slip angle, the desired steering angle (¶0206, desired front and rear steering angles based on sideslip angles, see ¶0170)
Regarding Claims 3 and 8, Song further discloses: wherein said calculating the desired wheel speed of each of the wheels of the vehicle comprises:
obtaining a current yaw rate of the vehicle (¶0210, ‘current yaw rate of the vehicle’);
adjusting a deflection angle (cp0175, centroid sideslip angle) corresponding to a target wheel (Front and rear wheels in four wheel steering), in response to the yaw rate being not equal to a theoretical yaw rate of the vehicle (¶0207+, yaw rate feedback control; ¶0210-0214);
and calculating, based on the deflection angle, the desired wheel speed of each of the wheels (¶0147; “the electronic differential control module uses the difference between the theoretical and measured speeds of each wheel as the control variable, and controls the output torque of the four hub motors through a proportional-integral-derivative control strategy, so that the actual wheel speed tracks the target wheel speed”)
Regarding Claims 4 and 9, Song further discloses: determining inner wheels and outer wheels when the vehicle is steering (¶0233; “Where s<sub>e</sub> is the average slip ratio of the four wheels, and s<sub>e1</sub>, s<sub>e2</sub>, s<sub>e3</sub>, and s<sub>e4</sub> are the average slip ratios of the left front wheel, the right front wheel, the left rear wheel, and the right rear wheel, respectively.);
obtaining a first wheel speed corresponding to each of the outer wheels;
determining, based on the desired wheel speed of each of the wheels and the first wheel speed, a second wheel speed corresponding to each of the inner wheels (¶0147; “the electronic differential control module uses the difference between the theoretical and measured speeds of each wheel as the control variable”);
and adjusting, based on the first wheel speed and the second wheel speed, a wheel speed of each of the inner wheels of the vehicle and a wheel speed of each of the outer wheels of the vehicle (¶0147; “the electronic differential control module obtains the theoretical wheel speed of each wheel through a calculation method based on an Ackerman steering model, based on the received vehicle speed, desired front wheel steering angle, and rear wheel steering angle. Further, the electronic differential control module uses the difference between the theoretical and measured speeds of each wheel as the control variable, and controls the output torque of the four hub motors through a proportional-integral-derivative control strategy, so that the actual wheel speed tracks the target wheel speed”)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song et al. (CN113002324A1). Song further discloses ¶0265 “When the differential mode determined by the electronic differential control module includes a speed-based electronic differential control strategy and the steering mode is four-wheel steering, the electronic differential control module calculates the theoretical wheel speed of each wheel according to the input desired front and rear wheel steering angles and vehicle speeds through the Ackerman front wheel steering model shown in Figure 5. The formula is as follows: Where V<sub>w1</sub>, V<sub>w2</sub>, V<sub>w3</sub>, and V<sub>w4</sub> are the theoretical wheel speeds of the left and right front wheels and left and right rear wheels of the vehicle, respectively; R<sub>1</sub>, R<sub>2</sub>, R<sub>3</sub>, and R<sub>4</sub> are the turning radii of the left and right front wheels and left and right rear wheels of the vehicle relative to the theoretical turning center of the Ackermann steering model, respectively; R<sub>s</sub> is the turning radius of the vehicle's center of gravity relative to the theoretical turning center of the Ackermann steering model; R<sub>0</sub> is the lateral distance between the turning center and the vehicle's center of gravity; B is the vehicle's track width; a<sub>0</sub> and b<sub>0</sub> are the longitudinal distances between the turning center and the vehicle's front axle and rear axle, respectively; and x<sub>0</sub> is the longitudinal distance between the turning center and the vehicle's center of gravity. The calculation formulas for R<sub>0</sub>, a<sub>0</sub>, b<sub>0</sub>, and x<sub>0</sub> are as follows.”.
Regarding Claims 5 and 10, Song further discloses wherein: the desired wheel speed of each of the wheels of the vehicle is calculated by four-wheel speed relationship formulas; wherein L is a vehicle wheelbase, Jf is a front track width, Jr is a rear track width, Vi is the desired wheel speed of a left rear wheel, V2 is the desired wheel speed of a right rear wheel, V3 is the desired wheel speed of a left front wheel, V4is the desired wheel speed of a right front wheel, and δ0 is a left-side wheel deflection angle (See Fig. 3-5; wheel base L; front and rear track width B; deflection angles δ and α; and wheel speeds V1-V4).
Song does not explicitly teach the claimed wheel speed formulas.
However it should be readily apparent that any correction factor decided upon by one having ordinary skill in the art in the execution of the claimed method will have a represented equation. The exact equation although, would be a matter dependent upon desired result and routine experimentation. The formulas used by Song and those set forth in the current application are considered obvious equivalents, and accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have incorporated the claimed formulas into the invention disclosed by Song, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable values or ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233; In re Swain, 156 F.2d 239. See also Peterson, 315 F.3d at 1330; 65 USPQ2d at 1382.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Sato (U.S. 2017/0210414A1) discloses “A control unit for a vehicle includes: a vehicle additional yaw moment calculator that calculates a vehicle additional yaw moment to be applied to a vehicle based on a yaw rate of the vehicle; a steering torque instructing module that instructs an assist torque of a steering operation of a steering system; a left-right driving force torque instructing module that instructs a left-right wheel driving torque which applies a moment to the vehicle independently of the steering system; a charging state acquisition module that acquires a state of charge of a battery which stores an electric power serving as a driving source for applying the vehicle additional yaw moment; and an adjuster that adjusts the assist torque and the left-right wheel driving torque based on the state of charge to apply the vehicle additional yaw moment.” (Abstract).
/BRIAN R KIRBY/Examiner, Art Unit 3747
/LINDSAY M LOW/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3747