DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) were submitted on 11/20/2025. The submission are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR § 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US 20180020241 A1), hereinafter “Li,” in view of Rapaka et al. (US 20160100168 A1), hereinafter “Rapaka.”
Regarding claim 1, Li discloses: a method for inverse quantization of a picture block, (See Li, Abstract: video decoder reconstructs, based on inverse quantized transform coefficients of the current CU, a coding block of the current CU; Par. 0158: inverse quantization unit 308; Par. 0178: inverse quantization unit 354) the method comprising:
obtaining one or more existing quantization parameter (QP) values (See Li, Abstract: video decoder receives local quantization information; Par. 0011: means for signaling, in a bitstream, local quantization information for the current quantization group, wherein the quantization parameter is derivable based at least in part on the local quantization information for the current quantization group; and means for including, in the bitstream; See also Pars. 0013, 0067) wherein the one or more existing QP values are associated with a chrominance component of the picture block (See Li, Pars. 0155, 0219, 0221, and 0230: QP values corresponding to samples of chroma block)
determining a QP value for the chrominance component of the picture block based on the one or more existing QP values; (See again Li, Par. 0155: QP values corresponding to the samples of the chroma block are averaged in a weighted manner to derive the delta QP for the chroma block; See further Pars. 0219, 0221, and 0230: derivation of values for QP corresponding to chrominance components);
Li is not specific about wherein a colour format of the picture block is 4:2:0; performing inverse quantization on the chrominance component of the picture block using the determined QP value.
However, Rapaka teaches those concepts: wherein a colour format of the picture block is 4:2:0 (See Rapaka, Fig. 2C and Par. 0032: different chroma sampling formats such as 4:4:4; See also Pars. 0065, 0066 and 0140; - 4:4:4 represents no chroma subsampling used, in comparison with 4:2:2 and 4:2:0 format);
Rapaka further teaches performing inverse quantization on the chrominance component of the picture block using the determined QP value (See Rapaka, Par. 0142: inverse quantization unit 86 inverse quantizes, i.e., de-quantizes, the quantized transform coefficients provided in the bitstream and decoded by entropy decoding unit 80. The inverse quantization process may include use of a quantization parameter calculated by video encoder 20 for each video block in the video slice (i.e., determined QP value); See also Figs. 10, 12 and 14; - Teaching of performing inverse quantization on chrominance component of a picture block using determined QP values).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having both the references of Li and Rapaka, before him/her, to combine the features of those references to implement a method for inverse quantization of a picture block. Li teaches a video decoder which receives local quantization information for a current quantization group, and derives, based on the local quantization information, a quantization parameter. Rapaka teaches a device for decoding video data that is configured to determine a quantization parameter for one or more blocks, and dequantize transform coefficients based on the determined quantization parameter. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine the teachings of Li and Rapaka to devise a method for inverse quantization of a picture block capable of lowering coding complexity by performing inverse quantization on chrominance component of a picture block using determined QP values.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Li and Rapaka discloses: the method of claim 1, wherein the one or more existing QP values comprises at least one of the following: a QP value for a luminance component of the picture block collocated with the chrominance component of the picture block; (See Rapaka, Pars. 0064 – 0069, and Par. 0082: indication of chroma/luma components; Par. 0094: indication of QP values for luma and chroma components; - -i.e., the one or more existing QP values comprises a QP value for a luminance component of the picture block collocated with the chrominance component of the picture block)
the one or more existing QP values respectively for one or more luminance components of neighboring blocks of the picture block; (See Rapaka, Par. 0142: inverse quantization unit 86 inverse quantizes, i.e., de-quantizes, the quantized transform coefficients provided in the bitstream and decoded by entropy decoding unit 80. The inverse quantization process may include use of a quantization parameter calculated by video encoder 20 for each video block in the video slice; See also Figs. 10, 12 and 14; - Teaching of performing inverse quantization on chrominance component of a picture block using determined QP values; - determining QP value for the chrominance component of the picture block based on the one or more existing QP values comprising: determining the QP value for the chrominance component of the picture block based on the QP value for the luminance component of the picture block collocated with the chrominance component of the picture block) or
the one or more existing QP values respectively for one or more chrominance components of the neighboring blocks of the picture block. (See again above reasoning on the basis of Rapaka, Par. 0142 and Figs. 10, 12, 14 as cited above)
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Li and Rapaka discloses: the method of claim 2, wherein determining the QP value for the chrominance component of the picture block based on the one or more existing QP values comprises:
determining the QP value for the chrominance component of the picture block based on the QP value for the luminance component of the picture block collocated with the chrominance component of the picture block. (See Rapaka, as cited for above limitation along with Li, Pars. 0225 and 0230: chroma QP values may be directly derived from luma QP values; - determining the QP value for the chrominance component of the picture block based on the retrieved QP value of the luminance block; See again Rapaka, Pars. 0068 and 0069: Fig. 3 illustrates the relative position of chroma samples with respect to luma samples within a CU; See further Li, Par. 0154: delta QP for chroma (i.e., the chroma delta QP) may be derived from corresponding luma delta QP; Par. 0156: chroma QP values may be derived directly from a luma QP, as, for example, through use of luma-to-chroma QP lookup table; - retrieving a QP value of a luminance block collocated with a sample in a specific position in a chrominance block)
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Li and Rapaka discloses: the method of claim 3, wherein determining the QP value for the chrominance component of the picture block based on the QP value for the luminance component of the picture block collocated with the chrominance component of the picture block comprises:
retrieving a QP value of a luminance block collocated with a sample in a specific position in a chrominance block; (See Rapaka, as cited for above limitation along with Li, Pars. 0225 and 0230: chroma QP values may be directly derived from luma QP values; See further Rapaka, Pars. 0068 and 0069: Fig. 3 illustrates the relative position of chroma samples with respect to luma samples within a CU; See further Li, Par. 0154: delta QP for chroma (i.e., the chroma delta QP) may be derived from corresponding luma delta QP; Par. 0156: chroma QP values may be derived directly from a luma QP, as, for example, through use of luma-to-chroma QP lookup table) and
determining the QP value for the chrominance component of the picture block based on the retrieved QP value of the luminance block. (See Rapaka, as cited for above limitation along with Li, Pars. 0225 and 0230: chroma QP values may be directly derived from luma QP values; - determining the QP value for the chrominance component of the picture block based on the retrieved QP value of the luminance block; (See Rapaka, Pars. 0068 and 0069: Fig. 3 illustrates the relative position of chroma samples with respect to luma samples within a CU; See further Li, Par. 0154, Par. 0156: chroma QP values may be derived directly from a luma QP through use of luma-to-chroma QP lookup table; - retrieving a QP value of a luminance block collocated with a sample in a specific position in a chrominance block).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Li and Rapaka discloses: the method of claim 4, wherein the sample in the specific position is a top-left sample in the bottom right quarter of the chrominance block. (See rationale applied to rejection of Claim 4, Regarding specific position of sample as indicated in the instant limitation; Par. 0155: delta QP for the chroma block may be set to the delta QP for the luma sample corresponding to the left top chroma sample of the block; See also Pars. 0066, 0218, and disclosure in Claim 24 of Li: determining, by the video encoder, a luma sample corresponding to a predefined or signaled position such as a top left chroma sample of a chroma coding block of the second CU; See further Claim 38 and Claim 52)
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Li and Rapaka discloses: the method of claim 1, further comprising:
determining the QP value for the chrominance component of the picture block based on the one or more existing QP values (Rationale applied to rejection of Claim 3, as analyzed above, also applies to the present limitation, on the basis of the previously cited references;.(See Li, Pars. 0219, 0221, and 0230: derivation of values for QP corresponding to chrominance components; - i.e., determining a QP value for the chrominance component of the picture block based on the one or more existing QP values) and at least one of the following:
a chrominance delta QP value signaled in the bitstream, (See Li, Par. 0155 and 0156: chroma delta QP value) or
a chrominance QP offset value signaled in the bitstream. (See Li, Pars. 0156, 0228: chroma offset QP value; Par. 0233: applying chroma QP offset to derive chroma quantization parameter; See also Rapaka, Pars. 0082, 0087, 0088: QP derivation involving signaling adaptive QP offsets).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Li and Rapaka discloses: the method of claim 6, further comprising:
obtaining a partition depth value of the block; (See Li, Par. 0018: example of block partitioning by using Quad-Tree-Binary-Tree partitioning structure; Pars. 0114, 0115: partition depth value of a block by tree portioning; Pars. 0118 – 0126: various depth values for blocks) and
determining the QP value for the chrominance component of the picture block based on the one or more existing QP values (Rationale applied to rejection of Claim 3, as analyzed above, also applies to the present limitation, on the basis of the previously cited references;.(See Li, Pars. 0219, 0221, and 0230: determining a QP value for the chrominance component of the picture block based on the one or more existing QP values) and the chrominance delta QP value signaled in the bitstream, (See Li, Par. 0155 and 0156: chroma delta QP value for a chrominance delta QP value signaled in the bitstream) if the partition depth value is below a threshold. (See Li, Pars. 0114, 0115: partition depth value of a block by tree portioning; (maximum allowed binary tree depth (MaxBTDepth; minimum allowed binary tree leaf node size (MinBTSize)) suggest a threshold the depth has to be below)); Pars. 0118 – 0126: various depth values for blocks; Par. 0065: quantization information for CUs that have sizes below a given threshold).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Li and Rapaka discloses: the method of claim 7, wherein the threshold is determined based on a pre-defined number, or a number signaled in a parameter set. (See Li, Par. 0059: current CU size is equal to the smallest CU size defined in a sequence parameter set (SPS); Par. 0065: size signaled in a picture parameter set (PPS); Par. 0136: video decoder 30 may obtain, from the bitstream, the threshold in terms of multiples of a smallest size of the coding blocks; video decoder 30 may obtain the indication of the threshold from a SPS, a PPS, a slice header, or another high-level syntax parameter set).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Li and Rapaka discloses: the method of claim 2, wherein the luminance component of the block and the chrominance component of the block are partitioned independently by separate partition trees. (See Li, Par. 0152: examples of separate luma and chroma coding trees; - i.e., indication of luminance component and chrominance component of the block partitioned independently by separate partition trees).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Li and Rapaka discloses: a decoding apparatus comprising: one or more processors; (See Li, Par. 0051: Video encoder 20 and video decoder 30 each are implemented as any of a variety of suitable programmable and/or fixed-function circuitry, such as one or more microprocessors) and a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium coupled to the processors and storing programming instructions, (See Li, Par. 0051: non-transitory computer-readable medium and execute the instructions in hardware using one or more processors to perform the techniques of this disclosure), which when executed by the processors, cause the decoding apparatus to: obtain one or more existing quantization parameter (QP) values, wherein the one or more existing QP values are associated with a chrominance component of a picture block, wherein a color format of the picture block is 4:2:0; and a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium coupled to the processors and storing programming instructions, (See Rapaka, Fig. 2C and Par. 0032: different chroma sampling formats such as 4:4:4; See also Pars. 0065, 0066 and 0140; - 4:4:4 represents no chroma subsampling used, in comparison with 4:2:2 and 4:2:0 format) determine a QP value for the chrominance component of the picture block based on the one or more existing QP values; and perform inverse quantization on the chrominance component of the picture block using the determined QP value. (Rationale applied to rejection of Claim 1 also applies here, mutatis mutandis, to the above limitations as also defined in Claim 1)
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Li and Rapaka discloses: the decoding apparatus of claim 10, wherein the one or more existing QP values comprises at least one of the following:
a QP value for a luminance component of the picture block collocated with the chrominance component of the picture block; (Refer to rationale applied to rejection of Claim 2 Regarding similar limitation)
the one or more existing QP values respectively for one or more luminance components of neighboring blocks of the picture block; (Refer to rationale applied to rejection of Claim 2 Regarding similar limitation)
the one or more existing QP values respectively for one or more chrominance components of the neighboring blocks of the picture block. (Rationale applied to rejection of Claim 2 also applies here, mutatis mutandis, to the above limitations as also defined in Claim 2)
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Li and Rapaka discloses: the decoding apparatus of claim 11, wherein determining the QP value for the chrominance component of the picture block based on the one or more existing QP values comprises: (Refer to rationale applied to rejection of Claim 3 Regarding similar limitation)
determining the QP value for the chrominance component of the picture block based on the QP value for the luminance component of the picture block collocated with the chrominance component of the picture block. (Rationale applied to rejection of Claim 3 also applies here, mutatis mutandis, to the above limitations as also defined in Claim 3)
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Li and Rapaka discloses: the decoding apparatus of claim 12, wherein determining the QP value for the chrominance component of the picture block based on the QP value for the luminance component of the picture block collocated with the chrominance component of the picture block comprises: (Rationale applied to rejection of Claim 4 also applies here, mutatis mutandis, to the above limitations as also defined in Claim 4)
retrieving a QP value of a luminance block collocated with a sample in a specific position in a chrominance block; (Refer to rationale applied to rejection of Claim 4 Regarding similar limitation) and
determining the QP value for the chrominance component of the picture block based on the retrieved QP value of the luminance block. (Rationale applied to rejection of Claim 4 also applies here, mutatis mutandis, to the above limitations as also defined in Claim 4)
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Li and Rapaka discloses: the decoding apparatus of claim 13, wherein the sample in the specific position is a top-left sample in a bottom right quarter of the chrominance block. (Rationale applied to rejection of Claim 5 also applies here, mutatis mutandis, to the above limitations as also defined in Claim 5)
Regarding Claims 15-20, Apparatus claims 15-20 of using the corresponding method claimed in claim 1-9, and the rejections of which are incorporated herein for the same reasons as used above.
Conclusion
References considered but not cited
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure.
Tourapis et al. (US 20150071345 A1) teaches CHROMA QUANTIZATION IN VIDEO CODING.
Van der Auwera et al. (US 20130259141 A1) teaches CHROMA SLICE-LEVEL QP OFFSET AND DEBLOCKING.
Jun et al. (US 20210250575 A1) teaches Image processing device for performing data decompression.
/SAMUEL D FEREJA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2487