Election/Restrictions
Claims 10-30 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 7/23/2026.
Applicant’s election without traverse of group I, claims 1-9 in the reply filed on 7/23/2026 is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
Applicant should note that the large number of references in the attached information disclosure statement have been considered by the examiner in the same manner as other documents in Office search files are considered by the examiner while conducting a search of the prior art in a proper field of search. See MPEP 609.05(b).
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Double Patenting
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, 8-9 is/are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim(s) 1, 2, 3, 4, 7, 8, 9 of U.S. Patent No. 12654028. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant application claim(s) is/are broader than the corresponding claim(s) in the reference patent and thus the corresponding claim(s) is/are a species of the more generic instant claim(s). It has been held that the generic invention is "anticipated" by the "species". See In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Furthermore, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant application claim(s) overlap in scope with and are anticipated and/or obvious over the reference claim(s).
Regarding claim 1, U.S. Patent No. 12654028 teaches an eyewear device comprising:
an eyewear device configured to be worn by a user (claim 1 “eyewear device”);
a lens (claim 8 “lenses”); and
a passive light conversion material integrated within at least a portion of the lens (claim 3 “integrated into the at least one video display device”; claim 8 “lenses”; claim 7 “quantum dots”; see instant claim 2 which recites “quantum dots”),
wherein the passive light conversion material is configured to absorb ambient wavelengths of light from at least one of sunlight or artificial light sources and convert at least a portion of the absorbed ambient light into at least one therapeutic wavelength of photobiomodulation ("PBM") light within a range of 600nm to 1200nm (claim 1 “range of 600 nm to 1400 nm”; claim 7 “quantum dots”; see instant claim 2 which recites “passive light conversion material comprises quantum dots”; For the purposes of examination, Applicant is reminded that this is a product claim. Intended use/functional language does not require that reference specifically teach the intended use of the element. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.), and
wherein the lens is configured to direct the PBM light toward the user's eye (claim 2 “towards the retina”; claim 4 “focus the PBM wavelengths of light into eyes”).
Regarding claim 2, U.S. Patent No. 12654028 teaches wherein the passive light conversion material comprises quantum dots (claim 7 “quantum dots”).
Regarding claim 4, U.S. Patent No. 12654028 teaches at least one optical element configured to direct the PBM light toward the user's eye (claim 2 “towards the retina.”; claim 4 “through at least one optic that is configured to focus the PBM wavelengths of light into eyes”),
wherein the optical element includes at least one of micro-optics or a waveguide structure attached to or embedded within the eyewear device (claim 2 “towards the retina.”; claim 4 “through at least one optic that is configured to focus the PBM wavelengths of light into eyes”; claim 8 “lenses”; lens would read on “waveguide”; furthermore, it would be an obvious change in shape to use micro-optics as opposed to optics; MPEP 2144.04).
Regarding claim 8, U.S. Patent No. 12654028 teaches configured to be an augmented reality eyewear device (claim 1 “An electronic eyewear device… at least one video display device; a first plurality of light emitters configured to receive first control signals that cause the first plurality of light emitters to emit wavelengths of light for producing video images on the at least one video display device; For the purposes of examination, Applicant is reminded that this is a product claim. Intended use/functional language does not require that reference specifically teach the intended use of the element. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.).
Regarding claim 9, U.S. Patent No. 12654028 teaches being configured to be at least one of sunglasses, reading glasses, prescription glasses (claim 1 “eyewear”; claim 9 “lenses”; For the purposes of examination, Applicant is reminded that this is a product claim. Intended use/functional language does not require that reference specifically teach the intended use of the element. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. Furthermore, it would be an obvious modification to have prescription lenses as needed for the user to see which would result in either reading glasses or prescription glasses as recited), a contact lens or a face shield.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 7, 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gallas (US 20150017109 A1; 1/15/2015).
Regarding claim 1, Gallas teaches an eyewear device comprising:
an eyewear device configured to be worn by a user ([0025] “sunglass”);
a lens ([0025] “sunglass lens”; claim 2); and
a passive light conversion material integrated within at least a portion of the lens ([0025] “lens materials…sunglass lens”; claim 2),
wherein the passive light conversion material is configured to absorb ambient wavelengths of light from at least one of sunlight or artificial light sources and convert at least a portion of the absorbed ambient light into at least one therapeutic wavelength of photobiomodulation ("PBM") light within a range of 600nm to 1200nm ([0006]; [0008]; [0022]; [0025] “600 nm to 1200 nm”; [0036]), and
wherein the lens is configured to direct the PBM light toward the user's eye ([0025] “ophthalmic lens…ocular tissue”; [0036]; [0038] “retina…eye”).
Regarding claim 2, Gallas teaches wherein the passive light conversion material comprises quantum dots ([0033] “quantum dots”).
Regarding claim 3, Gallas teaches wherein the passive light conversion material comprises organic dyes ([0033] “Organic dyes”).
Regarding claim 7, Gallas teaches wherein the ambient wavelengths of light being converted are within a range of 320nm to 700nm (Fig. 1; Fig. 3; [0004] “400 nm to 500 nm”; [0008] “absorption of light over the region between 300 nm and 700 nm”; [0010] “between 400 nm and 480 nm”; MPEP 2131.03: A specific example in the prior art which is within a claimed range anticipates the range).
Regarding claim 9, Gallas teaches being configured to be at least one of sunglasses ([0025] “sunglass lens”), reading glasses, prescription glasses, a contact lens or a face shield.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gallas as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Rodrigues (US 20260118672 A1; Filed 10/29/2024).
Regarding claim 4, Gallas teaches further comprising at least one optical element configured to direct the PBM light toward the user's eye ([0025] “ophthalmic lens…ocular tissue”; [0036]; [0038] “retina…eye”).
Gallas does not teach wherein the optical element includes at least one of micro-optics or a waveguide structure attached to or embedded within the eyewear device. However, Rodrigues teaches in the same field of endeavor (Fig. 1; [0057]) wherein the optical element includes at least one of micro-optics or a waveguide structure attached to or embedded within the eyewear device (Fig. 2; [0045]; [0093]). Thus it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teaching of Gallas to include these features as taught by Rodrigues because this enables generating images ([0057]-[0058]).
Regarding claim 8, Gallas does not teach configured to be an augmented reality eyewear device. However, Rodrigues teaches in the same field of endeavor (Fig. 1; [0057]) configured to be an augmented reality eyewear device (Abstract; Fig. 1; claim 1). Thus it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teaching of Gallas to include these features as taught by Rodrigues because this enables generating images (Fig. 2; [0057]-[0058]).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gallas as applied to claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 5, Gallas teaches wherein at least 25% of the PBM light emitted is at least one of:
a. approximately 670nm +50nm in wavelength and directed towards the user's retina (Fig. 3; [0008]; [0022]-[0023]; [0025]; [0034]; [0036]; [0054] “75% of the light is absorbed…quantum yield of about 75%”; [0062] “690 nm”; the reference is teaching use of materials within sunglass lens to absorb sunlight and convert to red to infrared wavelengths with a high yield to ocular tissue which corresponds to the recited ranges; In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990); MPEP 2144.05.), or
b. approximately 830nm +50nm in wavelength (Fig. 3; [0008]; [0022]-[0023]; [0025]; [0034]; [0036]; [0054] 75% of the light is absorbed…quantum yield of about 75%”; the reference is teaching use of materials within sunglass lens to absorb sunlight and convert to red to infrared wavelengths with a high yield to ocular tissue which corresponds to the recited ranges; In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990); MPEP 2144.05.) and directed towards the user's periocular skin (For the purposes of examination, Applicant is reminded that this is a product claim. Intended use/functional language does not require that reference specifically teach the intended use of the element. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. The reference teaches the use of sunglasses and so it is inherent that the converted light will also be directed to user’s periocular skin just by how the structure of the sunglasses that convert light are worn on the face over the eyes).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gallas as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Chen (US 20180229051 A1; 8/16/2018).
Regarding claim 6, Gallas does not teach wherein the lens maintains more visual transparency in a central viewing zone. However, Chen teaches in the same field of endeavor (Fig. 12; Fig. 21; [0105]; [0110]) wherein the lens maintains more visual transparency in a central viewing zone ([0113]). Thus it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teaching of Gallas to include these features as taught by Chen because this does not impede a user’s vision ([0113]).
Conclusion
/JONATHAN T KUO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3792