DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 16-36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hannuksela et al. (US 20220094909 A1).
Regarding claims 16 and 23, Tsukuba discloses a video decoding apparatus and a video decoding method comprising one or more processors ([0013] and [0014], [0037] to [0044]; examples: figures 6-9) configured to perform at least:
obtaining a bitstream representing a video having a plurality of pictures (coded data of fig. 7, [0009], [0014], and [0018] obtaining coded data of a sub-picture, the sub-picture belonging to a picture, and the sub-picture belonging to a sub-picture sequence),
at least one of the plurality of pictures having a plurality of sub-pictures (coded data of fig. 7; fig. 10, sub-pictures [0009], [0014], and [0018] obtaining coded data of a sub-picture, the sub-picture belonging to a picture, and the sub-picture belonging to a sub-picture sequence),
at least one of the sub-pictures being a layered sub-picture encoded using a plurality of layers ([0120]-[0122], [0133], [0134], [0158], and [0422] to [0423]; [0424] to [0435] this suggests that encoding and/or decoding sub-pictures or sub-picture sequences is performed by any techniques as disclosed. Examples: Figs. 13 and 14, each sub-picture may use a part of the other sub-picture as a reference frame as is shown in FIGS. 13 and 14 for two examples; Fig. 15, each sub-picture may use other sub-picture to compensate this redundancy. In example in FIG. 15 different parts of a point cloud have been projected to surface 1 and surface 2 to generate patch 1 and patch 2, respectively. Each patch is coded as a sub-picture. In this example, a part of the point cloud content which is indicated by c, d, e is redundantly projected to two surfaces, so the corresponding content in redundant in patch 1 and patch 2. In FIG. 15, that part of the sub-picture 2 which may be predicted from sub-picture 1 is indicated by dashed box. The collection of reconstructed sub-pictures may form the output picture), and
wherein each layered sub-picture is associated to a respective layer-based sub-picture-based sub-decoded-picture buffer (sub-DPB) (730 of fig. 8; [0291] and [0294]);
for each of the plurality of sub-pictures, obtaining from the bitstream ([0009], [0014], and [0018]), information indicating a size of a sub-picture-based sub-DPB corresponding to the respective sub-picture ([0291] and [0294] The example illustrates decoding of two sub-picture sequences, which have the same height but different width. It needs to be understood that the number of sub-picture sequences and/or the sub-picture dimensions could have been chosen differently and these choices are only meant as possible examples) being a layered sub-picture encoded using a plurality of layers ([0120]-[0122], [0133], [0134], [0158], and [0422] to [0423]; [0424] to [0435] this suggests that encoding and/or decoding sub-pictures or sub-picture sequences is performed by any techniques as disclosed. Examples: Figs. 13 and 14, each sub-picture may use a part of the other sub-picture as a reference frame as is shown in FIGS. 13 and 14; in FIG. 15 different parts of a point cloud have been projected to surface 1 and surface 2 to generate patch 1 and patch 2, respectively. Each patch is coded as a sub-picture. In this example, a part of the point cloud content which is indicated by c, d, e is redundantly projected to two surfaces, so the corresponding content in redundant in patch 1 and patch 2. In FIG. 15, that part of the sub-picture 2 which may be predicted from sub-picture 1 is indicated by dashed box. The collection of reconstructed sub-pictures may form the output picture; [0501] a manipulated reference sub-picture that is used as a reference for a third sub-picture of a first time instance may be generated from a first reconstructed sub-picture and a second reconstructed sub-picture (also of the first time instance) that precede the third sub-picture in decoding order, while the packing information used in generating the manipulated reference sub-picture may comprise the information for the first, second, and third sub-pictures); and
decoding each of the plurality of sub-pictures using the respective sub-DPB having the indicated size (710 and 730 of fig. 7, decoded picture).
Regarding claim 17, Tsukuba teaches the method of claim 16, Tsukuba further discloses wherein each sub-picture shares a same reference picture list with other sub-pictures within a picture ([0122] A scalable video codec for quality scalability (also known as Signal-to-Noise or SNR) and/or spatial scalability may be implemented as follows. For a base layer, a conventional non-scalable video encoder and decoder is used. The reconstructed/decoded pictures of the base layer are included in the reference picture buffer for an enhancement layer. In H.264/AVC, HEVC, and similar codecs using reference picture list(s) for inter prediction, the base layer decoded pictures may be inserted into a reference picture list(s) for coding/decoding of an enhancement layer picture similarly to the decoded reference pictures of the enhancement layer; [0316] reference picture list; [0374] It is noted that sub-pictures of different sub-picture sequences may use the same reference sub-picture as a reference for prediction using the same or different spatial relationship information, [0451] and [0452], Shared coded sub-picture of fig. 12).
Regarding claim 18, Tsukuba teaches the method of claim 17, wherein the reference picture list is signaled in a respective sub-picture parameter set ([0120] and [0316]).
Regarding claim 19, Tsukuba teaches the method of claim 16, Tsukuba further discloses wherein the information indicating the size of a sub-picture-based sub-DPB is obtained from a data structure signaled in a PPS or SEI message ([0311] and [0396]),
the data structure including a maximum size of each respective layer-based sub-picture-based sub-DPB associated to each layer of sub-picture ([0396] and [0397]).
Regarding claim 20, Tsukuba teaches the method of claim 16, Tsukuba further discloses wherein the information indicating the size of a sub-picture-based sub-DPB is obtained from a data structure signaled in a PPS or SEI message ([0311] and [0396])), the data structure including a width and a height of each respective layer-based sub-picture-based sub-DPB associated to each layer of sub-picture ([0396] and [0397]).
Regarding claims 21 and 24, Tsukuba teaches the method of claim 16 and apparatus of claim 23, wherein the information indicating the size of a sub-DPB is obtained from a data structure the data structure signaled in a PPS or SEI message ([0396]-[0397]),
the data structure indicating a level of each of the plurality of respective sub-pictures (sub-pictures of fig. 12, illustrate a level of sub-picture).
Regarding claims 22 and 25, Tsukuba teaches the method of claim 16 and apparatus of claim 23, further comprising partitioning a decoded picture buffer (DPB) into a plurality of layer-based sub-DPBs (730 of fig. 7, [0294] the example illustrates decoding of two sub-picture sequences, which have the same height but different width).
Regarding claims 26 and 33, Tsukuba further teaches a video encoding apparatus and a video encoding method comprising one or more processors ([0033] and [0041] configured to perform at least a video encoding method comprising:
encoding, in a bitstream (coded data of fig. 7, fig. 11an encoding process and/or in a decoding process according to an embodiment),
a video having a plurality of pictures (coded data of fig. 7, [0009], [0014], and [0018] obtaining coded data of a sub-picture, the sub-picture belonging to a picture, and the sub-picture belonging to a sub-picture sequence),
at least one of the plurality of pictures having a plurality of sub-pictures (coded data of fig. 7; fig. 10, sub-pictures [0009], [0014], and [0018] obtaining coded data of a sub-picture, the sub-picture belonging to a picture, and the sub-picture belonging to a sub-picture sequence),
at least one of the sub-pictures being a layered sub-picture encoded using a plurality of layers ([0120]-[0121]; [0133]-[0134]; [0158], [0422] to [0423]),
each of the plurality of layered sub-pictures being encoded using a respective layer-based sub-picture-based sub-decoded-picture buffer (sub-DPB) ([0113] a decoded picture buffer (DPB), 730 of fig. 8; [0291] and [0294]);
for each of the plurality of sub-pictures, encoding in the bitstream,
information indicating a size of a sub-picture-based sub-DPB corresponding to the respective sub-picture ([0291] and [0294] The example illustrates decoding of two sub-picture sequences, which have the same height but different width. It needs to be understood that the number of sub-picture sequences and/or the sub-picture dimensions could have been chosen differently and these choices are only meant as possible examples) being a layered sub-picture encoded using a plurality of layers ([0120]-[0121]; [0133]-[0134]; [0158], [0422] to [0423]).
Regarding claim 27, Tsukuba teaches the method of claim 26, Tsukuba further discloses wherein each sub-picture shares a same reference picture list with other sub-pictures within a picture ([0316] reference picture list Shared coded sub-picture of fig. 12, [0451] and [0452]).
Regarding claim 28, Tsukuba teaches the method of claim 27, Tsukuba further teaches wherein the reference picture list is signaled in a respective sub-picture parameter set ([0120] and [0316]).
Regarding claim 29, Tsukuba teaches the method of claim 26, Tsukuba further discloses wherein the information indicating the size of a sub-picture-based sub-DPB is obtained from a data structure signaled in a PPS or SEI message ([0311] and [0396]),
the data structure including a maximum size of each respective layer-based sub-picture-based sub-DPB associated to each layer of sub-picture([0396] and [0397]).
Regarding claim 30, Tsukuba teaches the method of claim 16, Tsukuba further discloses wherein the information indicating the size of a sub-picture-based sub-DPB is obtained from a data structure signaled in a PPS or SEI message ([0311] and [0396])), the data structure including a width and a height of each respective layer-based sub-picture-based sub-DPB associated to each layer of sub-picture ([0396] and [0397]).
Regarding claims 31 and 34, Tsukuba teaches the method of claim 23 and apparatus of claim 33, wherein the information indicating the size of a sub-DPB is obtained from a data structure the data structure signaled in a PPS or SEI message ([0396]-[0397]),
the data structure indicating a level of each of the plurality of respective sub-pictures (sub-pictures of fig. 12, illustrate a level of sub-picture).
Regarding claims 32 and 35, Tsukuba teaches the method of claim 23 and apparatus of claim 33, further comprising partitioning a decoded picture buffer (DPB) into a plurality of layer-based sub-DPBs (730 of fig. 7, [0294] the example illustrates decoding of two sub-picture sequences, which have the same height but different width).
Claim(s) 16-36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tsukuba et al. (US 20170019673 A1).
Regarding claims 16 and 23, Tsukuba discloses a video decoding apparatus and a video decoding method (figs. 2 (b) and 18-24 for performing a video decoding method) comprising one or more processors configured to perform at least:
obtaining a bitstream representing a video having a plurality of pictures (fig. 8 (a), PICT#0 and PICT#1 are a plurality of pictures),
at least one of the plurality of pictures having a plurality of sub-pictures (fig. 8 (b) to 8 (f), SLICE 0, SLICE 1 and SLICE NS-1 include coding tree units are considered as a plurality of sub-pictures),
at least one of the sub-pictures being a layered sub-picture encoded using a plurality of layers (fig. 2 (a), [0007] and [0067] the sub-pictures are encoded in the layer coding using one or more layers. Examples of the layered sub-picture encoded using a plurality layers as shown in Fig. 3, for subset of layer set coding; Fig. 16, for OutputLayerSet coding; [0134] the number (vps_num_layer_sets_minus1) (SYNVPS06 in FIG. 11) of layer sets for defining a set of layers, which is expressed in the coding data, and is formed from one or more layers; layer set information (layer set, layer_id_included_flag[i][j]) (SYNVPS07 in FIG. 11) for defining a set of layers constituting a layer set; dependency relation between layers (direct dependency flag direct_dependency_flag[i][j]) (SYNVPS0C in FIG. 12); [0203] and [0220] to [0222]), and
wherein each layered sub-picture is associated to a respective layer-based sub-picture-based sub-decoded-picture buffer (sub-DPB) (fig. 16, OLS#A and DPB_INFO#A…OLS#X and DPB_INFO#X, and OLS#Y and DPB_INFO#Y);
for each of the plurality of sub-pictures (OuputLayerSet of fig. 16), obtaining from the bitstream (fig. 8 (a) and (8b)),
information indicating a size of a sub-picture-based sub-DPB corresponding to the respective sub-picture (fig. 15, DPB size syntax, [0357] max_vps_dec_pic_buffering_minus1[i][k][j] (SYNDPB07): max_vps_dec_pic_buffering_minus1[i][k][j] indicates “maximum number of requests −1” of the number of pictures stored in the k-th sub-buffer (sub-DPB), in the output layer set OLS#i)
being a layered sub-picture encoded using a plurality of layers (fig. 2 (a) illustrating the higher layer is encoded using lower layers, DATA#A at L1 comprising DATA#B and DATA#C from lower layers), applicable to figure 16; [0134] the number (vps_num_layer_sets_minus1) (SYNVPS06 in FIG. 11) of layer sets for defining a set of layers, which is expressed in the coding data, and is formed from one or more layers; layer set information (layer set, layer_id_included_flag[i][j]) (SYNVPS07 in FIG. 11) for defining a set of layers constituting a layer set; dependency relation between layers (direct dependency flag direct_dependency_flag[i][j]) (SYNVPS0C in FIG. 12), [0220] to [0224]); and
decoding each of the plurality of sub-pictures using the respective sub-DPB having the indicated size ( ([0187] the hierarchy video decoding device 1 decodes coding data of a picture of a layer i, generates a decoding picture thereof; [0364] and [0365] the output layer set is decoded using the sub-DPB; fig. 16, [0368] and [0369] the DPB information decoding means decodes DPB information DPB_INFO#i corresponding to the output layer set OLS#i, by using the coding data).
Regarding claim 17, Tsukuba teaches the method of claim 16, Tsukuba further discloses wherein each sub-picture shares a same reference picture list with other sub-pictures within a picture ((C of fig. 2 (a), reference picture list C is sharing with other sub-picture and the reference picture list C is used for the prediction for upper or enhancement layers; [0174] The reference picture list corresponding to a case where a value is 1 is used. In a case where two reference picture lists are used, that is, in a case of predFlagL0=1 and predFlagL1=1, corresponding to bi-prediction is performed. In a case where one reference picture list is used, that is, in a case of (predFlagL0, predFlagL1)=(1, 0) or (predFlagL0, predFlagL1)=(0, 1), corresponding to uni-prediction is performed; the reference list is used in the second layer L2 and the first layer L1 of fig. 2 (a)).
Regarding claim 18, Tsukuba teaches the method of claim 17, wherein the reference picture list is signaled in a respective sub-picture parameter set ([0174] The prediction list use flags predFlagL0 and predFlagL1 are flags indicating whether or not reference picture lists which may be respectively referred to as an L0 reference list and an L1 reference list are used. The reference picture list corresponding to a case where a value is 1 is used).
Regarding claim 19, Tsukuba teaches the method of claim 16, Tsukuba further discloses wherein the information indicating the size of a sub-picture-based sub-DPB is obtained from a data structure signaled in a PPS or SEI message ([0146] The active PPS identifier is used for designating a PPS (active PPS) referring in order to decode a target slice; [0203] The parameter set decoding means decodes a parameter set (VPS/SPS/PPS) based on the defined syntax table (not illustrated). The parameter set decoding means includes layer set decoding means, inter-layer dependency information decoding means, output layer set information decoding means, PTL information decoding means, DPB information decoding means, scalable identifier decoding means, and the like which are not illustrated; [0354] The DPB information decoding means decodes DPB information corresponding to the output layer set OLS#i (i=1 . . . NumOutputLayerSets−1), from pieces of syntax SYNDPB05 to SYNDPB10 illustrated in FIG. 15(b), in DPB_SIZE( ) (FIG. 15(b)) indicated by SYNVPS0M on the VPS which is included in the coding data), the data structure including a maximum size of each respective layer-based sub-picture-based sub-DPB associated to each layer of sub-picture([0351] x_max_dec_pic_buffering_minus1 [ ]:x_max_dec_pic_buffering_minus1[ ] indicates “the maximum number of requests −1” of the number of pictures stored in the buffer (DPB)); [0352] x_max_num_reorder_pics[ ]:x_max_num_reorder_pics[ ] indicates the maximum allowable number of pictures which can be ahead of a picture in a decoding order, and follow the picture in a display order, in a case of the picture such as a B picture, of which the decoding order and the display order are different from each other in a hierarchy structure; [0357] to [0359]).
Regarding claim 20, Tsukuba teaches the method of claim 16, Tsukuba further discloses wherein the information indicating the size of a sub-picture-based sub-DPB is obtained from a data structure signaled in a PPS or SEI message ([0146] The active PPS identifier is used for designating a PPS (active PPS) referring in order to decode a target slice; [0203] The parameter set decoding means decodes a parameter set (VPS/SPS/PPS) based on the defined syntax table (not illustrated). The parameter set decoding means includes layer set decoding means, inter-layer dependency information decoding means, output layer set information decoding means, PTL information decoding means, DPB information decoding means, scalable identifier decoding means, and the like which are not illustrated; [0354] The DPB information decoding means decodes DPB information corresponding to the output layer set OLS#i (i=1 . . . NumOutputLayerSets−1), from pieces of syntax SYNDPB05 to SYNDPB10 illustrated in FIG. 15(b), in DPB_SIZE( ) (FIG. 15(b)) indicated by SYNVPS0M on the VPS which is included in the coding data)), the data structure including a width and a height of each respective layer-based sub-picture-based sub-DPB associated to each layer of sub-picture ([0466] PicSizeInCtbsY encompasses a width and height; [0354] DPB size).
Regarding claims 21 and 24, Tsukuba teaches the method of claim 16 and apparatus of claim 23, wherein the information indicating the size of a sub-DPB is obtained from a data structure the data structure signaled in a PPS or SEI message (DPB size syntax of fig. 15 (b); [0357] max_vps_dec_pic_buffering_minus1[i][k][j] (SYNDPB07): max_vps_dec_pic_buffering_minus1[i][k][j] indicates “maximum number of requests −1” of the number of pictures stored in the k-th sub-buffer (sub-DPB), in the output layer set OLS#i),
the data structure indicating a level of each of the plurality of respective sub-pictures ([0076] profile and [0077] level and tier; [0257] The PTL information (SYNVPS04 and SYNVPS0H) as illustrated in FIG. 13 includes syntax groups (SYNPTL01, SYNPTL02, SYNPTL03, SYNPTL04, SYNPTL05, and SYNPTL06) which relate to the profile and the level. The PTL information (SYNVPS04 and SYNVPS0H) is decoded by the PTL information decoding means), including the level of each respective layer of the layered sub-picture and the level indicating a predefined set of constraints on values of syntax elements of the respective sub-picture or the respective layer of the layered sub-picture ([0077] and [0264], [0265], [0272], and [0296], [0339] and [0440] profile_level_tier_idx[i])).
Regarding claims 22 and 25, Tsukuba teaches the method of claim 16 and apparatus of claim 23, further comprising partitioning a decoded picture buffer (DPB) into a plurality of layer-based sub-DPBs (DPB info. Of fig. 16, DPB_INFO#A…DPB_INFOR#Y are sub-DPBs, [0357] (sub-DPB)), and partitioning each of the layer-based sub-DPBs into respective layer-based sub-picture-based sub-DPBs (OutputLayerSet of fig. 16, OLS#A… OLS#Y and DPB_INFO#A … DPB_INFO#Y).
Regarding claims 26 and 33, Tsukuba further teaches a video encoding apparatus and a video encoding method (fig. 2 (a), 25, and 26) comprising one or more processors configured to perform at least a video encoding method comprising:
encoding, in a bitstream (HIERARCHY CODING DATA#T of fig. 25),
a video having a plurality of pictures (fig. 8 (a),
at least one of the plurality of pictures having a plurality of sub-pictures (fig. 8 (b) and 8 (d), and 8 (d), a plurality of sub-pictures encompasses slices and coding tree units that are processed by the encoder as shown in figures 2 (a), 25, and 26),
at least one of the sub-pictures being a layered sub-picture encoded using a plurality of layers (fig. 2 (a) layer encoding is applied to the sub-pictures),
each of the plurality of layered sub-pictures being encoded using a respective layer-based and sub-picture-based sub-decoded-picture buffer (sub-DPB) (fig. 16, OLS#A… OLS#Y and DPB_INFO#A … DPB_INFO#Y; [0341], [0347] to [0349]); and
for each of the plurality of sub-pictures (fig. 8 (b)), encoding in the bitstream (fig. 8 (a)), information indicating a size of the sub-picture-based sub-DPB corresponding to the respective sub-picture ((fig. 15, DPB size syntax, [0357] max_vps_dec_pic_buffering_minus1[i][k][j] (SYNDPB07): max_vps_dec_pic_buffering_minus1[i][k][j] indicates “maximum number of requests −1” of the number of pictures stored in the k-th sub-buffer (sub-DPB), in the output layer set OLS#i) being a layered sub-picture encoded using a plurality of layers (fig. 2 (a) illustrating the higher layer is encoded using lower layers, DATA#A at L1 comprising DATA#B and DATA#C from lower layers), applicable to figure 16; [0134] the number (vps_num_layer_sets_minus1) (SYNVPS06 in FIG. 11) of layer sets for defining a set of layers, which is expressed in the coding data, and is formed from one or more layers; layer set information (layer set, layer_id_included_flag[i][j]) (SYNVPS07 in FIG. 11) for defining a set of layers constituting a layer set; dependency relation between layers (direct dependency flag direct_dependency_flag[i][j]) (SYNVPS0C in FIG. 12)).
Regarding claim 27, Tsukuba teaches the method of claim 26, Tsukuba further discloses wherein each sub-picture shares a same reference picture list with other sub-pictures within a picture (L3 of figs. 2 (a) and 2 (b), the lowest layer using its own reference list, figure. 10(a) reference, and sharing the reference list with the upper layers L2 and L1).
Regarding claim 28, Tsukuba teaches the method of claim 27, Tsukuba further teaches wherein the reference picture list is signaled in a respective sub-picture parameter set ([0174] The prediction list use flags predFlagL0 and predFlagL1 are flags indicating whether or not reference picture lists which may be respectively referred to as an L0 reference list and an L1 reference list are used. The reference picture list corresponding to a case where a value is 1 is used).
Regarding claim 29, Tsukuba teaches the method of claim 26, Tsukuba further discloses wherein the information indicating the size of a sub-picture-based sub-DPB is obtained from a data structure signaled in a PPS or SEI message ([0348] [0348] The DPB information is information indicating the maximum size and the like for a decoding picture held in the buffer (DPB) by a decoder in order to decode an output layer set. The DPB information is decoded from the VPS or the SPS by the DPB information decoding means; [0354] DPB_size ( )), the data structure including a maximum size of each respective layer-based sub-picture-based sub-DPB associated to each layer of sub-picture([0351] x_max_dec_pic_buffering_minus1 [ ]:x_max_dec_pic_buffering_minus1[ ] indicates “the maximum number of requests −1” of the number of pictures stored in the buffer (DPB)); [0352] x_max_num_reorder_pics[ ]:x_max_num_reorder_pics[ ] indicates the maximum allowable number of pictures which can be ahead of a picture in a decoding order, and follow the picture in a display order, in a case of the picture such as a B picture, of which the decoding order and the display order are different from each other in a hierarchy structure; [0357] to [0359]).
Regarding claim 30, Tsukuba teaches the method of claim 26, Tsukuba further teaches wherein the information indicating the size of a sub-picture-based sub-DPB is obtained from a data structure signaled in a PPS or SEI message ([0348] [0348] The DPB information is information indicating the maximum size and the like for a decoding picture held in the buffer (DPB) by a decoder in order to decode an output layer set. The DPB information is decoded from the VPS or the SPS by the DPB information decoding means; [0354] DPB_size ( )), the data structure including a width and a height of each respective layer-based sub-picture-based sub-DPB associated to each layer of sub-picture ([0466] PicSizeInCtbsY encompasses a width and height).
Regarding claims 31 and 34, Tsukuba teaches the method of claim 26 and apparatus of claim 26, Tsukuba further teaches wherein the information indicating the size of a sub-DPB is obtained from a data structure the data structure signaled in a PPS or SEI message (DPB size syntax of fig. 15 (b); [0357] max_vps_dec_pic_buffering_minus1[i][k][j] (SYNDPB07): max_vps_dec_pic_buffering_minus1[i][k][j] indicates “maximum number of requests −1” of the number of pictures stored in the k-th sub-buffer (sub-DPB), in the output layer set OLS#i),
the data structure indicating a level of each of the plurality of respective sub-pictures ([0076] profile and [0077] level and tier; [0257] The PTL information (SYNVPS04 and SYNVPS0H) as illustrated in FIG. 13 includes syntax groups (SYNPTL01, SYNPTL02, SYNPTL03, SYNPTL04, SYNPTL05, and SYNPTL06) which relate to the profile and the level. The PTL information (SYNVPS04 and SYNVPS0H) is decoded by the PTL information decoding means), including the level of each respective layer of the layered sub-picture and the level indicating a predefined set of constraints on values of syntax elements of the respective sub-picture or the respective layer of the layered sub-picture ([0077] and [0264], [0265], [0272], and [0296], [0339] and [0440] profile_level_tier_idx[i])).
Regarding claims 32 and 35, Tsukuba teaches the method of claim 26 and apparatus of claim 33, Tsukuba further teaches partitioning a decoded picture buffer (DPB) into a plurality of layer-based sub-DPBs (DPB info. Of fig. 16, DPB_INFO#A…DPB_INFOR#Y are sub-DPBs, [0357] (sub-DPB)), and partitioning each of the layer-based sub-DPBs into respective layer-based sub-picture-based sub-DPBs (OutputLayerSet of fig. 16, OLS#A… OLS#Y and DPB_INFO#A … DPB_INFO#Y).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Choi et al. (US 20160227249 A1) discloses the multilayer video decoding method may further include: determining a size of a sub DPB with respect to the layer format group included in the layer set; and storing a decoded picture of the layer format group in the sub DPB of the determined size.
Naing et al. (US 20140369415 A1) discloses decoding bitstream includes pictures, slices (sub-picture units), and information DPB in layer encoding (figs. 1, 6, 10, and 11).
Contact Information
TUNG T. VO
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2425
/TUNG T VO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2425