DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
The reply filed 06/01/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 1-20 have been amended. Claims 1-20 are pending and presented for examination.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland on 08/29/2024. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the GB2412700.3 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments to claims 2-11 and 13-20, filed 06/01/2026, have overcome the claim objections set forth in the Non-Final Rejection 03/03/2026. Therefore, the claim objections to claims 2-11 and 13-20 have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s amendments to claim 1, filed 06/01/2026, have overcome the 35 U.S.C. 101 rejection set forth in the Non-Final Rejection 03/03/2026. Therefore, the 35 U.S.C. 101 rejection of claims 1-11 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s amendments to claims 10 and 11, filed 06/01/2026, have overcome the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection set forth in the Non-Final Rejection 03/03/2026. Therefore, the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection of claims 10 and 11 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s amendments to claims 1, 10 and 12, filed 06/01/2026, have overcome the prior art rejections set forth in the Non-Final Rejection 03/03/2026. Therefore, the prior art rejections have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Rowley et al. U.S. 2025/0371547.
In response to the Applicant’s remarks against Davis U.S. 2006/0179007 on pgs. 12-13, the Non-Final Rejection 03/03/2026 has mapped all of the functions of the issuer processing system with respect to two other systems that were made analogous to the access control server (ACS) and the dynamic authentication system on pg. 8 of the rejection. In the mapping, the cardholder system 205 of Davis was made analogous to the claimed ACS, the central transaction server of Davis was made analogous to the claimed issuer processing system, and the access control server of Davis was made analogous to the claimed dynamic authentication system. Therefore, the rejection clearly highlights the flow of information between the three entities as claimed. Applicant’s remark that the role, architectural position, and the function of the issuing processing system with respect to the two other entities is made in error since the remarks have failed to provide any subsequent rationale or reasoning as to why the mapping and the flow of information, as clearly mapped out in the rejection, do not disclose the claimed interactions. Merely providing conclusory remarks without further elaborating on how the specific, provided teachings of Davis are inappropriate to what is being claimed cannot be persuasive. Furthermore, the rejection has also provided several reasons for combining Fitzpatrick et al. U.S. 2023/0208644 with Davis on pgs. 8-9 of the rejection. The motivations to combine include: 1) monitor the entire authentication system, 2) compensate for any portion of the system failures by providing appropriate response to other portions of the system, 3) enable portions of the system to be upgraded without breaking compatibility with the non-upgraded portions, and 4) translate all incoming traffic into a format compatible with the intended recipient, as supported by Davis in paragraph [0005]. Applicant’s remarks appear to rely on the assumption that an older prior art, i.e. “2003 disclosure,” cannot be reasonably combined with an architecture disclosed in “2024” (the prior art of Fitzpatrick was filed in 2022). The MPEP does not place any limits on the age of the prior art when considering combinations, and the remarks have not provided any substantive evidence to reach such conclusion. The remarks also fail to address the provided rationales for combination, but instead, relies on the unfounded assumption that a 2003 prior art cannot possibly be combined with a 2022 prior art. Furthermore, a primary prior art does not have to explicitly disclose the problems at issue in order for it to be combined with a secondary prior art that would improve upon the primary prior art. Applicant’s remarks have also failed to provide any evidence to support such conclusion. Therefore, the remarks against Davis cannot be persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6-14, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fitzpatrick et al. U.S. 2023/0208644 (herein as “Fitzpatrick”) in view of Davis U.S. 2006/0179007, and further in view of Rowley et al. U.S. 2025/0371547 (herein as “Rowley”).
Re Claim 1, Fitzpatrick discloses a payment processing network configured for dynamic authentication integration, the network comprising:
an Access Control Server ACS and issuer processing system operative to communicate with each other over the network, each comprising one or more processors and memory (Fig. 1A, issuer domain 110, [0029], [0032], [0208-210]), wherein the ACS is configured to:
receive from the communications network an Authentication Request (AReq) message comprising a dynamic authentication code [0039] – “authorization request may include, e.g., the dynamic code,” [0040] – “forward the authorization request…to an access control server 113”;
extract the dynamic authentication code from the AReq message ([0047] – “the code validation request may include the authorization request, or a subset of the attributes of the authorization request, such as, e.g., the identifier and dynamic code,” since the code validation request includes information from the received authorization request, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the information within the authorization request must be extracted in order to be included in the code validation request);
generate a validation request comprising the dynamic authentication code ([0047] – “the code validation request may include the authorization request, or a subset of the attributes of the authorization request, such as, e.g., the identifier and dynamic code,” since the code validation request includes information or a subset of information from the received authorization request, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that that the code validation request must be generated); and
transmit the validation request to the […] dynamic code authentication server [0046] – “send a code validation request…to the validator 135 of a dynamic code authentication server”; and
[…]
the ACS further comprising a risk calculation engine configured to Fig. 1A, 114:
receive the validation result from […] the dynamic code authentication server ([0053-54] – the code validation acknowledgement is returned to the access control server, and the workflow service 114 of the access control server may use the code validation acknowledgement to determine an authentication status of the authentication request, therefore, the acknowledgement is received by the workflow service of the access control server);
calculate a […] risk factor derived from transaction metadata ([0054] – “the workflow service 114 may perform additional authentication checks, such as, e.g. fraud checks, identity verification checks, permissions checks, balance checks, etc.,” the checks are analogous to risk factors);
[…]
generate an authentication response message (ARes) based on the […] risk factor for transmission over the communications network ([0056] – “the access control server 113 may return an authorization acknowledgement…to the directory server…indicating the authentication status…via suitable interfacing technology,” i.e. the risk factor).
However, Fitzpatrick does not expressly disclose the following italicized limitations:
transmit the validation request to the issuer processing system;
wherein the issuer processing system is configured to:
receive the validation request from the ACS;
forward the validation request comprising the dynamic authentication code to a dynamic authentication system;
receive a validation result from the dynamic authentication system;
return the validation result to the ACS.
receive the validation result from the issuer processing system.
The issuer processing system is interpreted to be any system that acts as an intermediary system between the access control server and the dynamic authentication system of the claimed invention. Fitzpatrick discloses an access control server and a dynamic code authentication server, i.e. dynamic authentication system. However, Fitzpatrick does not disclose any intermediary system that communicates data between the access control server and the dynamic authentication system.
Davis discloses a centralized transaction server in electronic commerce card authorization system. Specifically, Davis discloses
transmit the validation request to the issuer processing system ([0035] – “the cardholder system 205 supplies the central transaction server 280 with the authentication request,” the central transaction server is analogous to the issuer processing system);
wherein the issuer processing system is configured to Claim 1:
receive the validation request from the ACS (Claim 1 – “receive an authentication request from a cardholder system”);
forward the validation request comprising the dynamic authentication code to a dynamic authentication system (Claim 1 – “forward the authentication request to an access control server”);
receive a validation result from the dynamic authentication system (Claim 1 – “receive an authentication response from the access control server”);
return the validation result to the ACS (Claim 1 – “forward the authentication response to the cardholder system”),
receive the validation result from the issuer processing system ([0039] – “The cardholder system 205 in turn forwards the authentication response 268,” thereby suggesting the cardholder system 205 received the authentication response from the central transaction server).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fitzpatrick’s interaction between the access control server and the dynamic code authentication server with the teachings of a central transaction server to relay data between the servers in Davis. One would be motivated to make this combination to monitor the entire authentication system, compensate for any portion of the system failures by providing appropriate response to other portions of the system, enable portions of the system to be upgraded without breaking compatibility with the non-upgraded portions, and translate all incoming traffic into a format compatible with the intended recipient Davis, [0005].
However, Fitzpatrick in view of Davis do not explicitly teach
the risk factor is weighted;
apply a risk modification algorithm that adjusts the weighted risk factor in dependence on the validation result to generate a modified risk factor.
Rowley discloses financial transaction fraud prevention system. Specifically, Rowley discloses
the risk factor is weighted [0073] – “A hysteresis model risk score may be calculated. The hysteresis model risk score…at any given time t may, for example, be calculated as a weighted sum of hysteresis model features”;
apply a risk modification algorithm that adjusts the weighted risk factor in dependence on the validation result to generate a modified risk factor ([0073] – “risk score…at any given time t may, for example, be calculated as a weighted sum of hysteresis model features,” such features “may comprise real-time data…historical data…one or more weights of the hysteresis model,” weight values are shown in Table 1, therefore, the risk score may be modified/adjusted at any time depending on the dynamic weight values to generate a modified risk score. Equation 1 is analogous to a risk modification algorithm. Furthermore, the hysteresis model features include features such as number of approved transactions, number of declines, etc., which are analogous to “dependence on the validation result”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Fitzpatrick in view of Davis’ system and method for authorization using a dynamic code with the teachings of calculating a weighted risk factor and applying a risk modification algorithm based on the validation result to generate a modified risk factor in Rowley. One would be motivated to make this combination to provide a reliable estimate of fraud risk in real time to the point of sale or other interface related to a transaction Rowley, [0002].
Re Claim 2, Fitzpatrick in view of Davis and Rowley teach the network according to claim 1, and Fitzpatrick in view of Davis and Rowley further teach further comprising a computing device configured to generate the dynamic authentication code using a time-based algorithm and stored cryptographic secret within a secure processing environment Fitzpatrick, [0023], [0103].
Re Claim 3, Fitzpatrick in view of Davis and Rowley teach the network according to claim 1, and Fitzpatrick in view of Davis and Rowley further teach wherein the dynamic authentication code is a time-based one-time password (TOTP) generated using a TOTP secret key and a current time value Fitzpatrick, [0118].
Re Claim 6, Fitzpatrick in view of Davis and Rowley the network according to claim 1, and Fitzpatrick in view of Davis and Rowley wherein the ACS is further configured to:
identify the presence of a dynamic authentication code within the AReq messages based on an associated metadata flag (Fitzpatrick, [0076] – “using a flag or metadata in user data 112, to indicate enrollment with the identity management domain 130 for the dynamic code validation protocol,” [0041] – “the access control server 113 identifies a user profile 111 associated with the authorization request based on the identifier,” [0045] – “the access control server 113 accesses the user data 112 in the user profile 111. A workflow service 114 may then determine whether the user profile 111 is enrolled for dynamic code authentication”; and
extract a dynamic Card Verification Value (dCVV) from a Card Security Code field within the AReq message upon identifying the presence of a dynamic authentication code (Fitzpatrick, [0046] – “where the user is enrolled, the workflow service 114 implements an authentication workflow…may send a code validation request at step 4 to the validator 135,” [0047] – “the code validation request may include the authorization request, or a subset of the attributes of the authorization request, such as, e.g., the identifier and dynamic code,” [0121] – “the dynamic code is a dynamic CVV,” since the code validation request includes information from the received authorization request, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the information within the authorization request must be extracted in order to be included in the code validation request).
Re Claim 7, Fitzpatrick in view of Davis and Rowley teach the network according to claim 1, and Fitzpatrick in view of Davis and Rowley further teach wherein the dynamic authentication system is configured to validate the dynamic authentication code against a stored reference secret (Fitzpatrick, [0048] – “validate the dynamic code with respect to the user identity 131 of the user,” [0049] – “user identity 131 may be…or any other data structure for storing user credentials…one of the user credentials may include a dynamic key 132,” i.e. stored reference secret).
Re Claim 8, Fitzpatrick in view of Davis and Rowley teach the network according to claim 7, Fitzpatrick in view of Davis and Rowley further teach wherein the dynamic authentication system is further configured to:
decrypt a stored encrypted cryptographic secret corresponding to payment instrument identification data Fitzpatrick, [0101] – “The private asymmetric key may then be used to decrypt the credential containing the dynamic key 132”;
execute a time-based algorithm using the decrypted secret to generate a reference authentication code Fitzpatrick, [0051] – “the validator 135 may use the dynamic key 132 of the user identity 131 to generate a recalculated dynamic code based on the dynamic key 132…the validator 135 may use the cryptographic algorithm and a random or pseudorandom number to generate a temporary dynamic code specific to the operation…the random or pseudorandom number may include a time-based value”; and
execute a comparison between the received dynamic authentication code and the generated reference authentication code Fitzpatrick, [0053] – “Where the recalculated dynamic code is equivalent to the dynamic code in the code validation request, the dynamic key 132 and the variable input must be equivalent, thus validating the user”.
Re Claim 9, Fitzpatrick in view of Davis and Rowley teach the network according to claim 1, and Fitzpatrick in view of Davis and Rowley teach wherein the issuer processing system is further configured to execute static validation of the authentication code when dynamic validation is unavailable (Fitzpatrick, [0123] – “issuer domain 110 indicates that the user profile 111…has canceled or otherwise ended the enrollment (with the dynamic code validation protocol)…as a result the authorization request and code validation request, would be the static code for legacy operation authorization processes,” [0029] – “A domain may include any combination of personal computing devices, servers, cloud platforms, and other computing devices/systems that are centralized or decentralized, homogenous or heterogenous, or any combination thereof,” therefore, an issuer domain may include a plurality of servers/systems, and an issuer domain involved in the authorization/validation process is analogous to any of the plurality of servers/systems, i.e. issuer processing system, executing the static validation).
Re Claim 10, it recites similar distinguishing features as claim 1. Therefore, it is rejected for the same reasons above.
Re Claim 11, it recites similar distinguishing features as claim 1. Therefore, it is rejected for the same reasons above.
Re Claims 12-14 and 17-20, they are the method claims of system claims 1-3 and 6-9, respectively. They recite similar distinguishing features as claims 1-3 and 6-9. Therefore, they are rejected for the same reasons above.
Claims 4-5 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fitzpatrick et al. U.S. 2023/0208644 (herein as “Fitzpatrick”) in view of Davis U.S. 2006/0179007, and further in view of Rowley et al. U.S. 2025/0371547 (herein as “Rowley”) as applied to claims 1 and 12 above, and further in view of Eggimann et al. U.S. 2021/0119790 (herein as “Eggimann”).
Re Claim 4, Fitzpatrick in view of Davis and Rowley teach a network according to claim 1, however, Fitzpatrick in view of Davis and Rowley do not explicitly teach wherein the risk calculation engine is further configured to apply a weighting function responsive to the validation result indicating a successful dynamic code validation.
Eggimann discloses enhanced security in sensitive data transfer over a network. Specifically, Eggimann discloses
wherein the risk calculation engine is further configured to apply a weighting function responsive to the validation result indicating a successful dynamic code validation [0048] – “The ACS 124 is configured to assess a risk of the transaction based on the validation result…When the customer 102 is authenticated…the ACS 124 is configured to then generate the IAV (issuer authentication value),” generating the IAV based on the validation result is analogous to apply a weighting function responsive to the validation result, “The IAV also includes a validation flag indicating if the cryptogram was validated or not,” i.e. indicating a successful dynamic code validation).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Fitzpatrick in view of Davis and Rowley’s system and method for authorization using a dynamic code with the teachings of applying a weighting function responsive to the validation result indicating a successful dynamic code validation in Eggimann. One would be motivated to make this combination to enable processing of a transaction in a reliable, secure, and timely manner Eggimann, [0009].
Re Claim 5, Fitzpatrick in view of Davis, Rowley, and Eggimann teach a network according to claim 4, Fitzpatrick in view of Davis, Rowley, and Eggimann further teach wherein the weighting function comprises applying a predetermined risk reduction factor to the risk factor derived from the transaction metadata (Rowley, [0075] – “using a decision interpreter to generate a trend decision, comprising…a non-escalating trend decision,” [0005] – applying a weighted analysis to reach a final decision on the transaction’s risk level. This may include, for example, considering various risk factors and applying bias adjustments as necessary,” [0087] – “the risk level action comprises…decreasing…risk level,” i.e. risk reduction factor).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to Fitzpatrick in view of Davis and Eggimann’s system and method for authorization using a dynamic code with the teachings of applying a predetermined risk reduction factor to the risk factor derived from the transaction metadata in Rowley. One would be motivated to make this combination to provide a reliable estimate of fraud risk in real time to the point of sale or other interface related to a transaction Rowley, [0002].
Re Claim 15, it is the method claim of system claim 4. It recites similar distinguishing features as claim 4. Therefore, it is rejected for the same reasons above.
Re Claim 16, it is the method claim of system claim 5. It recites similar distinguishing features as claim 5. Therefore, it is rejected for the same reasons above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTINE DANG/Examiner, Art Unit 3698