DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
The preliminary amendment filed 4/15/26 is entered. Claims 4,12, and 15 are amended. Claims 1-16 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5, 6, 9, 13, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lal, US-20210003534
In regards to claim 1, Lal discloses a flexible circuit (Par. 0098 “multiple 1×1 mm ultrasonic transceiver sensor chip that include a 10×10 array of 20 μm AlN transducer pixels are arranged on a flexible backing (e.g., flex board) spaced apart using the soft polymer material and coated by a hard polymer layer.”, i.e. flexible circuit) configured to be coupled to a housing (Par. 0073 “target object (e.g., the inanimate or animate object)”) of an electronic device (Par. 0004 “devices, systems and methods for touch, force and/or thermal sensing by an ultrasonic transceiver chip”), comprising: a flexible material (Fig. 4A, 403 casing structure or material; Par. 0073 “the casing structure or material 403 can include a flexible or soft polymer positioned between ultrasonic transceiver sensor chips 410 in the array”); a plurality of transducers (Fig. 4A, 410 ultrasonic transceiver sensors) coupled to the flexible material (Fig. 4A, 403 casing structure or material; Par. 0073 “the casing structure or material 403 can include a flexible or soft polymer positioned between ultrasonic transceiver sensor chips 410 in the array”), wherein the plurality of transducers (Fig. 4A, 410 ultrasonic transceiver sensors) is configured to detect touch by transmitting and receiving one or more acoustic waves (Par. 0080 “the acoustic pulse generated by a piezoelectric transducer 413A of the array is directed to propagate through the substrate 411 and the contact layer 419, such that when the object is in contact with the surface of the contact layer 419, a reflected ultrasonic pulse is produced and propagates through the contact layer 419 and the substrate 411 to be received at the array of piezoelectric transducers 413”; Par. 0047 “using ultrasound for sensing a touch or touch force associated with the touch”); and a pressure-sensitive adhesive (Par. 0073 “an adhesive material to bind the ultrasonic transceiver sensor chips 410 to a base surface, such as the target object (e.g., the inanimate or animate object)”, all materials can receive pressure, i.e. pressure sensitive), wherein the pressure-sensitive adhesive (Par. 0073 “an adhesive material to bind the ultrasonic transceiver sensor chips 410 to a base surface, such as the target object (e.g., the inanimate or animate object)”, all materials can receive pressure, i.e. pressure sensitive) is coupled to one or more areas of the flexible material (Fig. 4A, 403 casing structure or material; Par. 0073 “the casing structure or material 403 can include a flexible or soft polymer positioned between ultrasonic transceiver sensor chips 410 in the array”; Par. 0073 “an adhesive material to bind the ultrasonic transceiver sensor chips 410 to a base surface, such as the target object (e.g., the inanimate or animate object)) including a first area at which a first portion of the pressure-sensitive adhesive (Par. 0073 “an adhesive material to bind the ultrasonic transceiver sensor chips 410 to a base surface, such as the target object (e.g., the inanimate or animate object)”, all materials can receive pressure, i.e. pressure sensitive) is configured to couple the flexible circuit to the housing (Par. 0073 “an adhesive material to bind the ultrasonic transceiver sensor chips 410 to a base surface, such as the target object (e.g., the inanimate or animate object)).
In regards to claim 9, Lal discloses electronic device (Par. 0004 “devices, systems and methods for touch, force and/or thermal sensing by an ultrasonic transceiver chip”), comprising: a housing (Par. 0073 “target object (e.g., the inanimate or animate object)”); a flexible material (Fig. 4A, 403 casing structure or material; Par. 0073 “the casing structure or material 403 can include a flexible or soft polymer positioned between ultrasonic transceiver sensor chips 410 in the array”); and a plurality of transducers (Fig. 4A, 410 ultrasonic transceiver sensors) to the flexible material (Fig. 4A, 403 casing structure or material; Par. 0073 “the casing structure or material 403 can include a flexible or soft polymer positioned between ultrasonic transceiver sensor chips 410 in the array”) via a pressure-sensitive adhesive (Par. 0073 “an adhesive material to bind the ultrasonic transceiver sensor chips 410 to a base surface, such as the target object (e.g., the inanimate or animate object)”, all materials can receive pressure, i.e. pressure sensitive) at one or more areas of the flexible material (Fig. 4A, 403 casing structure or material; Par. 0073 “the casing structure or material 403 can include a flexible or soft polymer positioned between ultrasonic transceiver sensor chips 410 in the array”), wherein: a first area of the one or more areas is coupled via a first portion of the pressure-sensitive adhesive (Par. 0073 “an adhesive material to bind the ultrasonic transceiver sensor chips 410 to a base surface, such as the target object (e.g., the inanimate or animate object)”, all materials can receive pressure, i.e. pressure sensitive) to the housing (Fig. 4A, 403 casing structure or material; Par. 0073 “the casing structure or material 403 can include a flexible or soft polymer positioned between ultrasonic transceiver sensor chips 410 in the array”; Par. 0073 “an adhesive material to bind the ultrasonic transceiver sensor chips 410 to a base surface, such as the target object (e.g., the inanimate or animate object)); and the plurality of transducers (Fig. 4A, 410 ultrasonic transceiver sensors) is configured to detect touch by transmitting and receiving one or more acoustic waves (Par. 0080 “the acoustic pulse generated by a piezoelectric transducer 413A of the array is directed to propagate through the substrate 411 and the contact layer 419, such that when the object is in contact with the surface of the contact layer 419, a reflected ultrasonic pulse is produced and propagates through the contact layer 419 and the substrate 411 to be received at the array of piezoelectric transducers 413”; Par. 0047 “using ultrasound for sensing a touch or touch force associated with the touch”).
In regards to claim 5, Lal discloses the plurality of transducers (Fig. 4A, 410 ultrasonic transceiver sensors) is formed from the flexible material (Fig. 4A, 403 casing structure or material; Par. 0073 “the casing structure or material 403 can include a flexible or soft polymer positioned between ultrasonic transceiver sensor chips 410 in the array”).
In regards to claim 13, Lal discloses the plurality of transducers (Fig. 4A, 410 ultrasonic transceiver sensors) is formed from the flexible material (Fig. 4A, 403 casing structure or material; Par. 0073 “the casing structure or material 403 can include a flexible or soft polymer positioned between ultrasonic transceiver sensor chips 410 in the array”).
In regards to claim 6, Lal discloses the flexible material (Fig. 4A, 403 casing structure or material; Par. 0073 “the casing structure or material 403 can include a flexible or soft polymer positioned between ultrasonic transceiver sensor chips 410 in the array”) includes polyvinylidene fluoride (PVDF) (Par. 0079 PVDF).
In regards to claim 14, Lal discloses the the flexible material (Fig. 4A, 403 casing structure or material; Par. 0073 “the casing structure or material 403 can include a flexible or soft polymer positioned between ultrasonic transceiver sensor chips 410 in the array”) includes polyvinylidene fluoride (PVDF) (Par. 0079 PVDF).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-4, 7, 8, 10-12, and 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lal, US-20210003534, in view of Pragada, US-20200042130.
In regards to claim 2, Lal does not disclose expressly the one or more areas include a second area, different from the first area, at which a second portion, different from the first portion, of the pressure-sensitive adhesive is configured to couple a first end of the flexible material to a second end of the flexible material.
Pragada discloses the one or more areas include a second area, different from the first area, at which a second portion, different from the first portion, of the pressure-sensitive adhesive is configured to couple a first end of the flexible material to a second end of the flexible material (Par. 0083 a stack-up that comprises a transducer; Fig. 11 and 13, PSA connects left portion of stack-up transducer to right side of stack-up transducer).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the transducers of Lal can be provided in an annular shape under a cover glass housing of an electronic device using PSA in the manner of Pragada. The motivation for doing so would have been to simplify the structural integration of the device (Pragada Par. 0003).
In regards to claim 10, Lal does not disclose expressly the one or more areas include a second area, different from the first area, at which a second portion, different from the first portion, of the pressure-sensitive adhesive couples a first end of the flexible material to a second end of the flexible material.
Pragada discloses the one or more areas include a second area, different from the first area, at which a second portion, different from the first portion, of the pressure-sensitive adhesive couples a first end of the flexible material to a second end of the flexible material (Par. 0083 a stack-up that comprises a transducer; Fig. 11 and 13, PSA connects left portion of stack-up transducer to right side of stack-up transducer).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the transducers of Lal can be provided in an annular shape under a cover glass housing of an electronic device using PSA in the manner of Pragada. The motivation for doing so would have been to simplify the structural integration of the device (Pragada Par. 0003).
In regards to claim 3, Lal does not disclose expressly the flexible material is shaped in a strip and the second area is configured to couple the strip of the flexible material into a ring.
Pragada discloses the flexible material is shaped in a strip and the second area is configured to couple the strip of the flexible material into a ring (Par. 0003 transducers arranged in a ring shape).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the transducers of Lal can be provided in an annular shape under a cover glass housing of an electronic device using PSA in the manner of Pragada. The motivation for doing so would have been to simplify the structural integration of the device (Pragada Par. 0003).
In regards to claim 11, Lal does not disclose expressly the flexible material is shaped in a strip and the second area is configured to couple the strip of the flexible material into a ring.
Pragada discloses the flexible material is shaped in a strip and the second area is configured to couple the strip of the flexible material into a ring (Par. 0003 transducers arranged in a ring shape).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the transducers of Lal can be provided in an annular shape under a cover glass housing of an electronic device using PSA in the manner of Pragada. The motivation for doing so would have been to simplify the structural integration of the device (Pragada Par. 0003).
In regards to claim 11, Lal does not disclose expressly the flexible material is shaped in a strip and the second area is configured to couple the strip of the flexible material into a ring.
Pragada discloses the flexible material is shaped in a strip and the second area is configured to couple the strip of the flexible material into a ring (Par. 0003 transducers arranged in a ring shape).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the transducers of Lal can be provided in an annular shape under a cover glass housing of an electronic device using PSA in the manner of Pragada. The motivation for doing so would have been to simplify the structural integration of the device (Pragada Par. 0003).
In regards to claim 4, Lal discloses the second area of the flexible circuit includes a folded section configured to couple one or more electrical connectors to the plurality of transducers (Fig. 4A, 410 ultrasonic transceiver sensors with 405 data communication line in second area).
In regards to claim 12, Lal discloses the second area of the flexible material includes a folded section configured to couple one or more electrical connectors to the plurality of transducers (Fig. 4A, 410 ultrasonic transceiver sensors with 405 data communication line in second area).
In regards to claim 7, Lal does not disclose expressly the first area is configured to couple the flexible circuit to an inner surface of the housing, different from an outer surface of the housing upon which touch is detected by the electronic device.
Pragada discloses the first area is configured to couple the flexible circuit to an inner surface of the housing, different from an outer surface of the housing upon which touch is detected by the electronic device (Fig. 11, 1102 annular transducer structure connects to inside of cover glass housing).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the transducers of Lal can be provided in an annular shape under a cover glass housing of an electronic device using PSA in the manner of Pragada. The motivation for doing so would have been to simplify the structural integration of the device (Pragada Par. 0003).
In regards to claim 15, Lal does not disclose expressly the first area is configured to couple the flexible circuit to an inner surface of the housing, different from an outer surface of the housing upon which touch is detected by the electronic device.
Pragada discloses the first area couples the flexible material to an inner surface of the housing, different from an outer surface of the housing upon which touch is detected by the electronic device (Fig. 11, 1102 annular transducer structure connects to inside of cover glass housing).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the transducers of Lal can be provided in an annular shape under a cover glass housing of an electronic device using PSA in the manner of Pragada. The motivation for doing so would have been to simplify the structural integration of the device (Pragada Par. 0003).
In regards to claim 8, Lal does not disclose expressly the received acoustic waves propagate through the housing and are received at the plurality of transducers.
Pragada discloses the received acoustic waves propagate through the housing and are received at the plurality of transducers (Par. 0075 “each of the linear and curved piezoelectric segments can have a pair of electrodes for applying ultrasonic energy into the cover glass/front crystal and receiving ultrasonic energy from the cover glass/front crystal”).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the transducers of Lal can be provided in an annular shape under a cover glass housing of an electronic device using PSA in the manner of Pragada. The motivation for doing so would have been to simplify the structural integration of the device (Pragada Par. 0003).
In regards to claim 16, Lal does not disclose expressly the received acoustic waves propagate through the housing and are received at the plurality of transducers.
Pragada discloses the received acoustic waves propagate through the housing and are received at the plurality of transducers (Par. 0075 “each of the linear and curved piezoelectric segments can have a pair of electrodes for applying ultrasonic energy into the cover glass/front crystal and receiving ultrasonic energy from the cover glass/front crystal”).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the transducers of Lal can be provided in an annular shape under a cover glass housing of an electronic device using PSA in the manner of Pragada. The motivation for doing so would have been to simplify the structural integration of the device (Pragada Par. 0003).
Conclusion
/CORY A ALMEIDA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2628 7/9/26