DETAILED ACTION
Applicant filed a communication dated 8/29/2025 in which claims 1-30 are pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea of displaying angiographic images without significantly more.
Examiner has identified claim 1 as the claim that represents the claimed invention presented in independent claims 1, 16, and 21.
Claim 1 is directed to a method, which is one of the statutory categories of invention (Step 1: YES).
The claim 1 is directed to a method, comprising: obtaining, with the computer, a first angiographic image generated by a first machine learning model from angiographic data and a second angiographic image generated by a second machine learning model from the angiographic data, wherein the first machine learning model is configured to have greater sensitivity performance than the second machine learning model and wherein the second machine learning model is configured to have greater specificity performance than the first machine learning model; and displaying, with the computer via a display, a mixture of the first and second angiographic images generated by the first and second image learning models. These limitations (except for italicized limitations) describe the abstract idea of displaying angiographic images, which corresponds to a certain method of organizing human activity. The additional elements of a computer, a first machine learning model, a second machine learning model, and a display do not restrict the claim from reciting an abstract idea. Thus, claim 1 recites an abstract idea (Step 2A, Prong One: YES).
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the additional elements of a computer, a first machine learning model, a second machine learning model, and a display result in no more than simply applying the abstract idea using generic computer elements. The additional elements of a computer, a first machine learning model, a second machine learning model, and a display are recited at a high level of generality and under their broadest reasonable interpretation comprises a generic computer arrangement. The presence of a generic computer arrangement is nothing more than to implement the claimed invention by applying the exception using a generic computer element (MPEP 2106.05(f)). Therefore, the recitations of additional elements do not meaningfully apply the abstract idea and hence does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Thus, claim 1 is directed to an abstract idea (Step 2A-Prong 2: NO).
The claim 1 does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the claim recites the additional elements of a computer, a first machine learning model, a second machine learning model, and a display are recited at a high level of generality in that it results in no more than simply applying the abstract idea using generic computer elements. The additional elements when considered separately and as an ordered combination do not amount to add significantly more as these elements provide nothing more than to simply apply the exception in a generic computer environment (Step 2B: NO). Thus, claim 1 is not patent eligible.
Similar arguments can be presented for other independent claims 16 and 21 and hence claims 16 and 21 are rejected on similar grounds as claim 1.
Examiner has identified claim 26 as the claim that represents the claimed invention presented in independent claims 12 and 26.
Claim 26 is directed to a method, which is one of the statutory categories of invention (Step 1: YES).
The claim 26 is directed to a method, comprising: obtaining raw angiographic image data from an angiogram of a subject; storing, in a memory, a plurality of frames of the raw angiographic image data, the plurality of frames corresponding to a plurality of angiographic images; inputting a particular frame of a plurality of frames of the raw angiographic data into a first machine learning model and a second machine learning model, wherein the first machine learning model is configured to have greater sensitivity performance than the second machine learning model and the second machine learning model is configured to have greater specificity performance than the first machine learning model; outputting, from the first machine learning model, first processed image data corresponding to the particular angiographic image; outputting, from the second machine learning model, second processed image data corresponding to the particular angiographic image; adjusting, based on a model mixture setting set on the computer, the first processed image data and the second processed image data to generate first model display data and second model display data; overlaying the first model display data and the second model display data to generate a mixture of display data corresponding to the particular angiographic image; and outputting, for display, the output of the mixture of display data. These limitations (except for italicized limitations) describe the abstract idea of displaying angiographic images, which corresponds to a certain method of organizing human activity. The additional elements of a memory, a first machine learning model, a second machine learning model, the computer, and display do not restrict the claim from reciting an abstract idea. Thus, claim 26 recites an abstract idea (Step 2A, Prong One: YES).
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the additional elements of a memory, a first machine learning model, a second machine learning model, the computer, and display result in no more than simply applying the abstract idea using generic computer elements. The additional elements of a memory, a first machine learning model, a second machine learning model, the computer, and display are recited at a high level of generality and under their broadest reasonable interpretation comprises a generic computer arrangement. The presence of a generic computer arrangement is nothing more than to implement the claimed invention by applying the exception using a generic computer element (MPEP 2106.05(f)). Therefore, the recitations of additional elements do not meaningfully apply the abstract idea and hence does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Thus, claim 26 is directed to an abstract idea (Step 2A-Prong 2: NO).
The claim 26 does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the claim recites the additional elements of a memory, a first machine learning model, a second machine learning model, the computer, and display are recited at a high level of generality in that it results in no more than simply applying the abstract idea using generic computer elements. The additional elements when considered separately and as an ordered combination do not amount to add significantly more as these elements provide nothing more than to simply apply the exception in a generic computer environment (Step 2B: NO). Thus, claim 26 is not patent eligible.
Similar arguments can be presented for other independent claim 12 and hence the claim 12 is rejected on similar grounds as claim 26.
Dependent claims 2-11, 13-15, 17-20, 22-25, and 27-30 further define the abstract idea that is present in their respective independent claims 1, 12, 16, 21, and 26 thus correspond to a certain method of organizing human activity and hence are abstract in nature for the reason presented above. Dependent claims do not include any additional elements that integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception when considered both individually and as an ordered combination. Therefore, the claims 1-30 are not patent-eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mao et al., US Patent Application No. 2021/0407088 in view of Etwaru, US Patent Application No. 2024/0094891.
Regarding claim 1, Mao discloses a method for displaying angiographic images on a display connected to a computer, the method comprising:
obtaining, with the computer, a first angiographic image generated by a first machine learning model from angiographic data and a second angiographic image generated by a second machine learning model from the angiographic data, wherein the first machine learning model is configured to have greater sensitivity performance than the second machine learning model and wherein the second machine learning model is configured to have greater specificity performance than the first machine learning model ([0006]-[0009], [0022]-[0032], [0037]-[0048], Table 1) ; and
displaying, with the computer via a display, a mixture of the first and second angiographic images generated by the first and second machine learning models.
Mao does not specifically disclose
displaying, with the computer via a display, a mixture of the first and second angiographic images generated by the first and second machine learning models.
However, Etwaru discloses
displaying, with the computer via a display, a mixture of the first and second angiographic images generated by the first and second machine learning models (abstract, [0002]-[0006], [0027]-[0037], [0070]-[0080], [0100]-[0108], [0111]-[0120]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the above-noted disclosure of Mao to include the above-noted disclosure of Etwaru. The motivation for combining these references would have been to view content simultaneously via a multi-layer display.
Regarding claim 2, Mao discloses wherein the first angiographic image comprises a first set of pixels and the second angiographic image comprises a second set of pixels, and wherein displaying the mixture of the first and second angiographic images comprises superposing the first and second sets of pixels (Fig. 3, [0027]-[0046]).
Regarding claim 3, Etwaru discloses adjusting, via the computer, the mixture of the first and second angiographic images by increasing or decreasing an opacity of one of the first and second sets of pixels relative to an opacity of the other of the first and second sets of pixels ([0002]-[0006], [0027]-[0037], [0070]-[0080], [0100]-[0108], [0111]-[0120]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the above-noted disclosure of Mao to include the above-noted disclosure of Etwaru. The motivation for combining these references would have been to view content simultaneously via a multi-layer display.
Regarding claim 4, Etwaru discloses receiving, with the computer, an input from a user, and adjusting the mixture of the first and second angiographic images based on the input from the user ([0002]-[0006], [0027]-[0037], [0070]-[0080], [0100]-[0108], [0111]-[0120]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the above-noted disclosure of Mao to include the above-noted disclosure of Etwaru. The motivation for combining these references would have been to view content simultaneously via a multi-layer display.
Regarding claim 5, Etwaru discloses the input from the user is received from a user-adjustable control element connected to the computer ([0002]-[0006], [0027]-[0037], [0070]-[0080], [0100]-[0108], [0111]-[0120]);
the control element has a range of adjustment ([0002]-[0006], [0027]-[0037], [0070]-[0080], [0100]-[0108], [0111]-[0120]); and
at one end of the range, an opacity of the first set of pixels is greater than an opacity of the second set of pixels, and at another end of the range, the opacity of the second set of pixels is greater than the opacity of the first set of pixels ([0002]-[0006], [0027]-[0037], [0070]-[0080], [0100]-[0108], [0111]-[0120]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the above-noted disclosure of Mao to include the above-noted disclosure of Etwaru. The motivation for combining these references would have been to view content simultaneously via a multi-layer display.
Regarding claim 6, Etwaru discloses wherein the control element is a mechanical control element or a graphical control element ([0002]-[0006], [0027]-[0037], [0070]-[0080], [0100]-[0108], [0111]-[0120]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the above-noted disclosure of Mao to include the above-noted disclosure of Etwaru. The motivation for combining these references would have been to view content simultaneously via a multi-layer display.
Regarding claim 7, Etwaru discloses wherein the control element is a graphical control element, and further comprising displaying, with the computer via the display, a graphical user interface comprising the graphical control element ([0002]-[0006], [0027]-[0037], [0070]-[0080], [0100]-[0108], [0111]-[0120]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the above-noted disclosure of Mao to include the above-noted disclosure of Etwaru. The motivation for combining these references would have been to view content simultaneously via a multi-layer display.
Regarding claim 8, Etwaru discloses wherein the graphical control element is adjustable with a pointing device connected to the computer ([0002]-[0006], [0027]-[0037], [0070]-[0080], [0100]-[0108], [0111]-[0120]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the above-noted disclosure of Mao to include the above-noted disclosure of Etwaru. The motivation for combining these references would have been to view content simultaneously via a multi-layer display.
Regarding claim 9, Mao discloses wherein the first and second machine learning models are neural network models, the first machine learning model is trained with a first loss function, and the second machine learning model is trained with a second loss function that is different than the first loss function in terms of sensitivity and specificity performance ([0027]-[0046]).
Regarding claim 10, Mao discloses wherein displaying further comprises mixing the angiographic data with the first and second angiographic images generated by the first and second machine learning models ([0027]-[0046]).
Regarding claim 12, Mao discloses a method for displaying angiography images from machine learning models, the method comprising:
obtaining angiographic image data generated by utilizing two machine learning models with differing sensitivity and specificity performance ([0006]-[0009], [0022]-[0032], [0037]-[0048], Table 1);
providing a graphical user interface comprising a first graphical control element for controlling a mixture of the two machine learning models;
displaying an angiogram image based on a setting of the first graphical control element; and
adjusting the displayed image in response to a change in the setting of the first graphical control element.
Mao does not specifically disclose
providing a graphical user interface comprising a first graphical control element for controlling a mixture of the two machine learning models;
displaying an angiogram image based on a setting of the first graphical control element; and
adjusting the displayed image in response to a change in the setting of the first graphical control element.
However, Etwaru discloses
providing a graphical user interface comprising a first graphical control element for controlling a mixture of the two machine learning models (abstract, [0002]-[0006], [0027]-[0037], [0070]-[0080], [0100]-[0108], [0111]-[0120]);
displaying an angiogram image based on a setting of the first graphical control element (abstract, [0002]-[0006], [0027]-[0037], [0070]-[0080], [0100]-[0108], [0111]-[0120]); and
adjusting the displayed image in response to a change in the setting of the first graphical control element (abstract, [0002]-[0006], [0027]-[0037], [0070]-[0080], [0100]-[0108], [0111]-[0120]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the above-noted disclosure of Mao to include the above-noted disclosure of Etwaru. The motivation for combining these references would have been to view content simultaneously via a multi-layer display.
Regarding claim 13, Etwaru discloses wherein the graphical user interface further comprises a second graphical control element that offers user adjustment of a mixture between the two machine learning models and raw angiographic image data displayed in the displayed image ([0002]-[0006], [0027]-[0037], [0070]-[0080], [0100]-[0108], [0111]-[0120]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the above-noted disclosure of Mao to include the above-noted disclosure of Etwaru. The motivation for combining these references would have been to view content simultaneously via a multi-layer display.
Regarding claim 14, Etwaru discloses wherein the graphical user interface further comprises a third graphical control element that offers user adjustment of a zoom setting, wherein adjusting the zoom setting simultaneously increases a magnification of the displayed image and a proportional mixture of a high sensitivity machine learning model in the displayed image ([0002]-[0006], [0027]-[0037], [0070]-[0080], [0100]-[0108], [0111]-[0120], [0124]-[0134]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the above-noted disclosure of Mao to include the above-noted disclosure of Etwaru. The motivation for combining these references would have been to view content simultaneously via a multi-layer display.
Regarding claim 15, Etwaru discloses wherein the second graphical control element controls a mixture of raw image data and a combined output of the machine learning models, in the displayed image ([0002]-[0006], [0027]-[0037], [0070]-[0080], [0100]-[0108], [0111]-[0120], [0124]-[0134]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the above-noted disclosure of Mao to include the above-noted disclosure of Etwaru. The motivation for combining these references would have been to view content simultaneously via a multi-layer display.
Regarding claim 26, Mao discloses a computer-implemented method for generating an angiographic image for use on a display connected to a computer, the method comprising:
obtaining raw angiographic image data from an angiogram of a subject (abstract, [0006]-[0009], [0022]-[0032], [0037]-[0046]);
storing, in a memory, a plurality of frames of the raw angiographic image data, the plurality of frames corresponding to a plurality of angiographic images ([0006]-[0009], [0022]-[0032], [0037]-[0046]);
inputting a particular frame of a plurality of frames of the raw angiographic data into a first machine learning model and a second machine learning model, wherein the first machine learning model is configured to have greater sensitivity performance than the second machine learning model and the second machine learning model is configured to have greater specificity performance than the first machine learning model ([0006]-[0009], [0022]-[0032], [0037]-[0048], Table 1);
outputting, from the first machine learning model, first processed image data corresponding to the particular angiographic image ([0037]-[0048], Table 1);
outputting, from the second machine learning model, second processed image data corresponding to the particular angiographic image ([0037]-[0048], Table 1);
adjusting, based on a model mixture setting set on the computer, the first processed image data and the second processed image data to generate first model display data and second model display data;
overlaying the first model display data and the second model display data to generate a mixture of display data corresponding to the particular angiographic image; and
outputting, for display, the output of the mixture of display data.
Mao does not specifically disclose
adjusting, based on a model mixture setting set on the computer, the first processed image data and the second processed image data to generate first model display data and second model display data;
overlaying the first model display data and the second model display data to generate a mixture of display data corresponding to the particular angiographic image; and
outputting, for display, the output of the mixture of display data.
However, Etwaru discloses
adjusting, based on a model mixture setting set on the computer, the first processed image data and the second processed image data to generate first model display data and second model display data ([0002]-[0006], [0027]-[0037], [0070]-[0080], [0100]-[0108], [0111]-[0120]);
overlaying the first model display data and the second model display data to generate a mixture of display data corresponding to the particular angiographic image ([0002]-[0006], [0027]-[0037], [0070]-[0080], [0100]-[0108], [0111]-[0120]); and
outputting, for display, the output of the mixture of display data ([0002]-[0006], [0027]-[0037], [0070]-[0080], [0100]-[0108], [0111]-[0120]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the above-noted disclosure of Mao to include the above-noted disclosure of Etwaru. The motivation for combining these references would have been to view content simultaneously via a multi-layer display.
Regarding claim 28, Etwaru discloses adjusting the model mixture setting, based on an input from a user, by increasing or decreasing an opacity of at least one set of pixels corresponding to the first processed image data and/or the second processed image data ([0002]-[0006], [0027]-[0037], [0070]-[0080], [0100]-[0108], [0111]-[0120]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the above-noted disclosure of Mao to include the above-noted disclosure of Etwaru. The motivation for combining these references would have been to view content simultaneously via a multi-layer display.
Regarding clam 29, Etwaru discloses wherein the input from the user is received from a user-adjustable control element connected to the computer ([0002]-[0006], [0027]-[0037], [0070]-[0080], [0100]-[0108], [0111]-[0120]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the above-noted disclosure of Mao to include the above-noted disclosure of Etwaru. The motivation for combining these references would have been to view content simultaneously via a multi-layer display.
Claims 11, 16-20, 21-25, 27, and 30 are substantially similar to claims 1-5 and hence rejected on similar grounds.
Conclusion
RAJESH KHATTAR
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3684
/RAJESH KHATTAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3684