DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
This is the first office action regarding application number 19/315,315, filed on 29 August 2025.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Examiner recommends to amend "a chassis; a capture and containment system including: a scoop; pusher pads including a first pusher pad and a second pusher pad; pusher pad arms including a first pusher pad arm and a second pusher pad arm; a gripper arm; a lifting column configured to raise and lower the capture and containment system through extension and retraction of a lifting column linear actuator;" to state: "a chassis; a capture and containment system including: a scoop; pusher pads including a first pusher pad and a second pusher pad; pusher pad arms including a first pusher pad arm and a second pusher pad arm; and a gripper arm; and a lifting column configured to raise and lower the capture and containment system through extension and retraction of a lifting column linear actuator;" to provide clarification of which elements are included within the tidying robot.
Examiner further recommends to remove the “and” after the “retracting…” limitation because the “exerting…” limitation concludes with an “and”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-15 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claims 2-15
Claims 2, 5, 7 and 12 recite "…partially…", such as "partially pulling out the storage platform from the destination…" in claim 2. The term "partially" renders the claims indefinite because it is unclear what measurement threshold is consider as partially. For example, is pulling out one millimeter or one centimeter considered as "partially". As such, the metes and bounds of the claims are unclear. See MPEP § 2173.05(b). The remaining claims are rejected by virtue of dependency on claims 2, 5, 7 and 12. For the purpose of compact prosecution, "partially" will be read as if omitted.
In claims 2 and 10 the term "…close proximity…"/"…close to…", renders the claims indefinite because it is unclear what measurement threshold is consider as close, for at least the same reasons as discussed above. As such, the metes and bounds of the claims are unclear. See MPEP § 2173.05(b). For the purpose of compact prosecution, "close" will be read as if omitted.
In claims 5, 7, 9-12 the term "…near…", renders the claims indefinite because it is unclear what measurement threshold is consider as near, for at least the same reasons as discussed above. As such, the metes and bounds of the claims are unclear. See MPEP § 2173.05(b). For the purpose of compact prosecution, "near" will be read as "at".
In claims 7-11 the term "…substantially…", renders the claims indefinite because it is unclear what measurement threshold is consider as substantially, for at least the same reasons as discussed above. As such, the metes and bounds of the claims are unclear. See MPEP § 2173.05(b). For the purpose of compact prosecution, "substantially" will be read as if omitted.
In claim 8 the term "…immediately…", renders the claims indefinite because it is unclear what measurement threshold is consider as immediately, for at least the same reasons as discussed above. As such, the metes and bounds of the claim are unclear. See MPEP § 2173.05(b). For the purpose of compact prosecution, "immediately" will be read as if omitted.
In claims 9-11 and 13-14 the term "…slightly…", renders the claims indefinite because it is unclear what measurement threshold is consider as slightly, for at least the same reasons as discussed above. As such, the metes and bounds of the claims are unclear. See MPEP § 2173.05(b). For the purpose of compact prosecution, "slightly" will be read as if omitted.
In claim 13 the term "…sufficiently…", renders the claims indefinite because it is unclear what measurement threshold is consider as sufficiently, for at least the same reasons as discussed above. As such, the metes and bounds of the claim are unclear. See MPEP § 2173.05(b). For the purpose of compact prosecution, "sufficiently" will be read as if omitted.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 19/312,094 ('094 hereinafter) (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of '094 include each and every feature of the claims in the instant application, plus additional details. A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been more than capable of modifying the claim language of '094 to be the same as the claim language of the instant application.
Regarding Claim 1
'094 recites a method (see claim 1) comprising:
approaching a target object with a tidying robot (see claim 1),
wherein the tidying robot (see claim 1) is configured with:
a chassis (see claim 1);
a capture and containment system (see claim 1) including:
a scoop (see claim 1);
pusher pads including a first pusher pad and a second pusher pad (see claim 1);
pusher pad arms including a first pusher pad arm and a second pusher pad arm (see claim 1);
a gripper arm (see claim 1);
a lifting column configured to raise and lower the capture and containment system through extension and retraction of a lifting column linear actuator (see claim 1);
raising the capture and containment system, using the lifting column linear actuator to a grabbing height of the target object (see claim 1);
extending the pusher pads out and forward with respect to the pusher pad arms (see claim 1);
rotating the first pusher pad inward toward a front edge of the scoop (see claim 1);
approaching the target object and coming to a stop when the target object is positioned between the pusher pads and contacts the inward rotated first pusher pad (see claim 1);
rotating the second pusher pad until the second pusher pad contacts the target object (see claim 1);
retracting the pusher pad arms to move the target object into a containment area (see claim 1); and
exerting pressure on the target object with the pusher pads to hold the target object stationary in the containment area (see claim 1); and
raising at least one of the scoop, the pusher pads, and the lifting column linear actuator, holding the target object, to a carrying position (see claim 1).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hamilton et al. (US 20230116896 A1 and Hamilton hereinafter), in view of Gilbertson et al. (US 9827677 B1 and Gilbertson hereinafter) and Swiercz (US 9975256 B1 and Swiercz hereinafter).
Regarding Claim 1
Hamilton teaches a method (see all Figs.; [0005]) comprising:
approaching a target object with a tidying robot (see step '02 in Figs. 27A-B, 28A-B, 29A-B and 30A-B; [0005 "The method also includes determining a pickup strategy, including an approach path for the robot to the target object ... approaching the target object via the approach path..."], [0291], [0303 "As illustrated in FIG. 27A and FIG. 27B, the robot may first drive to the stackable object 2722 located at a starting location 2724, as shown at step 2702. The robot may drive to the stackable object 2722 following an approach path 2726."], [0307], [0311] and [0315]),
wherein the tidying robot is configured with:
a chassis (see chassis 102 in most Figs., especially Figs. 1B, 27A-B, 28A-B, 29A-B and 30A-B; [0005] and [0070]-[0071 "The chassis 102 may support and contain the other components of the robot 100."]);
a capture and containment system (see containment system/area 108 in most Figs., especially Figs. 1B, 27A-B, 28A-B, 29A-B and 30A-B; [0005 "...the shovel that secures the target object in a containment area on the robot for transport, the containment area including at least two of the grabber pad arms, the grabber pads, and the shovel."] and [0070 "The capture and containment system 108 may further comprise a shovel 110, a shovel arm 112, a shovel arm pivot point 114, two grabber pads 116, two grabber pad arms 118, and two pad arm pivot points 122."]) including:
a scoop (see shovel 110 in most Figs., especially Figs. 1B, 27A-B, 28A-B, 29A-B and 30A-B; [0005] and [0070 "The capture and containment system 108 may further comprise a shovel 110, a shovel arm 112, a shovel arm pivot point 114, two grabber pads 116, two grabber pad arms 118, and two pad arm pivot points 122."]-[0076]);
pusher pads including a first pusher pad and a second pusher pad (see grabber pads 116 in most Figs., especially Figs. 1B, 27A-B, 28A-B, 29A-B and 30A-B; [0005] and [0070 "The capture and containment system 108 may further comprise a shovel 110, a shovel arm 112, a shovel arm pivot point 114, two grabber pads 116, two grabber pad arms 118, and two pad arm pivot points 122."]-[0076]);
pusher pad arms including a first pusher pad arm and a second pusher pad arm (see grabber pad arms 118 in most Figs., especially Figs. 1B, 27A-B, 28A-B, 29A-B and 30A-B; [0005] and [0070 "The capture and containment system 108 may further comprise a shovel 110, a shovel arm 112, a shovel arm pivot point 114, two grabber pads 116, two grabber pad arms 118, and two pad arm pivot points 122."]-[0073]);
a gripper arm (see [0062 "An actuated gripper that grabs objects and moves them onto the shovel"]);
a lifting column configured to raise and lower the capture and containment system (see Figs. 2A-C, all; [0059 "In some embodiments the system may include a robotic arm to reach and grasp elevated objects and move them down to the shovel. A companion “portable elevator” robot may also be utilized in some embodiments to lift the main robot up onto countertops, tables, or other elevated surfaces, and then lower it back down onto the floor. Some embodiments may utilize an up/down vertical lift (e.g., a scissor lift) to change the height of the shovel when dropping items into a container, shelf, or other tall or elevated location."], [0064 "One servo or other actuator to lift the front shovel up into the air and another separate actuator that tilts the shovel forward and down to drop objects into a container. A variation on a scissor lift that lifts the shovel up and gradually tilts it backwards as it gains height"]-[0065 "A variation on a scissor lift that lifts the shovel up and gradually tilts it backwards as it gains height"], [0074 "Servos, direct current (DC) motors, or other actuators at the shovel arm pivot point 114, pad pivot points 120, and pad arm pivot points 122 may be used to adjust the disposition of the shovel 110, grabber pads 116, and grabber pad arms 118 between fully lowered shovel and grabber positions and raised shovel and grabber positions, as illustrated with respect to FIG. 2A through FIG. 2C."] and [0095 "The elevated back shovel arm pivot point 602 may connect to a split shovel arm 604 in order to raise and lower the shovel 110. "]);
raising the capture and containment system, using the lifting column to a grabbing height of the target object (see 'step '04 in Figs. 27A-B, 28A-B, 29A-B and 30A-B; [0005 "The method also includes determining a pickup strategy, including an approach path for the robot to the target object, a grabbing height for initial contact with the target object...The method also includes executing the pickup strategy, including extending the grabber pads out and forward with respect to the grabber pad arms and raising the grabber pads to the grabbing height..."], [0074 "Servos, direct current (DC) motors, or other actuators at the shovel arm pivot point 114, pad pivot points 120, and pad arm pivot points 122 may be used to adjust the disposition of the shovel 110, grabber pads 116, and grabber pad arms 118 between fully lowered shovel and grabber positions and raised shovel and grabber positions, as illustrated with respect to FIG. 2A through FIG. 2C."], [0293], [0303 "As shown at step 2704 and step 2712, the robot may adjust its grabber pad arms to a grabbing height 2728 based on the type of object. For a stackable object like a book, this may just above the top of the book."], [0307], [0311] and [0315]);
extending the pusher pads out and forward with respect to the pusher pad arms (see 'steps '02-04 in Figs. 27A-B, 28A-B, 29A-B and 30A-B; [0005 "The method also includes executing the pickup strategy, including extending the grabber pads out and forward with respect to the grabber pad arms"], [0086], [0303], [0307], [0311] and [0315]);
rotating the first pusher pad inward toward a front edge of the scoop (see step '08 in Figs. 27A-B, 28A-B, 29A-B and 30A-B; [0005 "...executing the grabbing pattern to allow capture of the target object within the containment area, and confirming the target object is within the containment area. On condition that the target object is within the containment area, the method includes exerting pressure on the target object with the grabber pads to hold the target object stationary in the containment area..."], [0294 "The object or object group may be in contact with the shovel or scoop, and may lie within the area inside the two grabber pad arms.'], [0303 "The robot may employ a grabbing pattern 2732 at step 2708 and step 2708, using its arms to push the book onto the shovel or scoop. Using the grabber pad arms at step 2710 and step 2710, the robot may apply a light pressure 2734 to the top of the book to hold it securely within or atop the shovel."], [0307], [0311] and [0315]);
approaching the target object and coming to a stop when the target object is positioned between the pusher pads and contacts the inward rotated first pusher pad (see step '06 in Figs. 27A-B, 28A-B, 29A-B and 30A-B; [0005 "...approaching the target object via the approach path, coming to a stop when the target object is positioned between the grabber pads,..."], [0294 "At step 2608, the robot may drive such that arms are aligned past the object or object group. The object or object group may be in contact with the shovel or scoop, and may lie within the area inside the two grabber pad arms."], [0303 "The robot, at step 2706 and step 2706, may drive so that its arms align past the object 2730."], [0307], [0311] and [0315]);
rotating the second pusher pad until the second pusher pad contacts the target object (see step '08 in Figs. 27A-B, 28A-B, 29A-B and 30A-B; [0005 "...executing the grabbing pattern to allow capture of the target object within the containment area, and confirming the target object is within the containment area. On condition that the target object is within the containment area, the method includes exerting pressure on the target object with the grabber pads to hold the target object stationary in the containment area..."], [0294 "The object or object group may be in contact with the shovel or scoop, and may lie within the area inside the two grabber pad arms.'], [0303 "The robot may employ a grabbing pattern 2732 at step 2708 and step 2708, using its arms to push the book onto the shovel or scoop. Using the grabber pad arms at step 2710 and step 2710, the robot may apply a light pressure 2734 to the top of the book to hold it securely within or atop the shovel."], [0307], [0311] and [0315]);
retracting the pusher pad arms to move the target object into a containment area (see step '08 in Figs. 27A-B, 28A-B, 29A-B and 30A-B; [0005 "...executing the grabbing pattern to allow capture of the target object within the containment area..."], [0295 "At step 2610, the robot may use its arms to push the object or object group onto the shovel or scoop. The arms may be used intelligently, per a grabbing pattern as described previously. In some instances, both arms may push gradually together, but adjustments may be made as objects tumble and move."]-[0296], [0303 "The robot may employ a grabbing pattern 2732 at step 2708 and step 2708, using its arms to push the book onto the shovel or scoop. "], [0307], [0311] and [0315]); and
exerting pressure on the target object with the pusher pads to hold the target object stationary in the containment area (see step '10 in Figs. 27A-B, 28A-B, 29A-B and 30A-B; [0005 "On condition that the target object is within the containment area, the method includes exerting pressure on the target object with the grabber pads to hold the target object stationary in the containment area..."], [0297 "In step 2616, the robot may apply light pressure on top of the object or against the shovel or scoop. Based on the object type, the robot may thereby apply pressure to the object in order to hold the object or object group within the shovel or scoop. For example, the robot may hold the top of a basketball firmly, squeeze a stuffed animal, push down on a book, or push against the shovel or scoop to retain a group of small objects such as marbles or plastic construction blocks."], [0303 "Using the grabber pad arms at step 2710 and step 2710, the robot may apply a light pressure 2734 to the top of the book to hold it securely within or atop the shovel."], [0307], [0311] and [0315]); and
raising at least one of the scoop, the pusher pads, and the lifting column linear actuator, holding the target object, to a carrying position (see Figs. 27C-D, 28C-D, 29C-D and 30C-D, all; [0005 "...and raising the shovel and the grabber pads, holding the target object, to the carrying position."], [0298 "At step 2618, the robot may lift the object or object group while continuing to hold with the grabber pad arms. The shovel or scoop and the arms may be lifted together to an intended angle, such as forty-five degrees, in order to carry the object or the object group without them rolling out of or being dislodged from the shovel or scoop. With the shovel and arms raised to the desired angle, the arms may continue to apply pressure to keep the object secure in the shovel."] and [0308 "As shown in FIG. 28C and FIG. 28D, the robot may lift the basketball at step 2812 while continuing to hold it with its grabber pad arms, maintaining the ball within the shovel in a carrying position 2836."]).
Hamilton is silent regarding raise and lower the capture and containment system through extension and retraction of a lifting column linear actuator; and
raising the capture and containment system, using the lifting column linear actuator to a grabbing height of the target object;
Gilbertson teaches a method (see all Figs.; Col. 1, lines 22-37) comprising:
approaching a target object with a tidying robot (see Figs. 7A-7B and 9, all; Col. 1, lines 22-37; Col. 30, lines 46-57; "In response to locating the one or more objects of interest 700, the robotic device may use mobile base 202 to move the robotic device closer to the object(s) of interest 700."),
wherein the tidying robot is configured with:
a chassis (see Figs. 2A-2B, mobile base 202; Col, 1, lines 22-25, "An example robotic device includes a base linkage, having a first end and a second end, that may be connected to a support base at the first end. The support base may be a mobile base."; Col. 14, lines 21-67);
a capture and containment system including:
a scoop (see Figs. 2A-2B, shovel tool 218; Col, 1, lines 30-33, "The first end effector may be a shovel tool and the second end effector may be a sweeping tool configured to engage with the shovel tool."; Col. 15, lines 8-38);
pusher pads including a first pusher pad and a second pusher pad (see Figs. 2A-2B, sweeping tool 228; Col, 1, lines 30-33, "The first end effector may be a shovel tool and the second end effector may be a sweeping tool configured to engage with the shovel tool."; Col. 16, lines 1-30, "FIG. 2 illustrates second end effector 230 comprising a sweeping tool 228 and a gripper 232. Within examples, a sweeping tool may be an implement including at least one flexible member that may be used for sweeping, moving, pushing, or otherwise actuating materials and/or objects...");
pusher pad arms including a first pusher pad arm and a second pusher pad arm (see Figs. 2A-2B, sweeping tool 228 and/or frame 228a; Col, 1, lines 30-33; Col. 16, lines 1-30, "FIG. 2 illustrates second end effector 230 comprising a sweeping tool 228 and a gripper 232. Within examples, a sweeping tool may be an implement including at least one flexible member that may be used for sweeping, moving, pushing, or otherwise actuating materials and/or objects ... The sweeping tool 228 may be mounted to the actuated rotational joint 226 at a first point on the joint 226 ... The bristles may be held in place by (the bristles may projected from) a rigid (e.g., metallic) frame 228 a. The rigid frame may serve to attach the bristles to the rotational joint 226.");
a gripper arm (see Figs. 2A-2B, gripper 232; Col, 1, lines 33-34, "The second end effector may additionally comprise a gripper."; Col. 16, lines 1-50);
a lifting column configured to raise and lower the capture and containment system through extension and retraction of a lifting column linear actuator (see Figs. 2A-2B, base linkage 210; Col, 1, lines 38-41, "In one example, a robotic arm is provided that includes a base linkage having a first end and a second end. The robotic arm also includes a first end effector connected to the second end of the base linkage through a first rotational joint."; Col. 17, lines 49-57, "In some embodiments, the base linkage 210, as shown in FIGS. 2A and 2B, may be a telescopic linkage configured to increase a length of the base linkage 210 by extending the telescopic linkage. The telescopic linkage may be actuated hydraulically, pneumatically, or by a motor. The telescopic linkage may increase the reach of the robotic device 200, allowing the robotic device 200 to, for example, reach objects located in higher places than would normally be possible without a telescopic linkage.");
raising the capture and containment system, using the lifting column linear actuator to a grabbing height of the target object (see Figs. 7A-7B and 9, all; Col, 1, lines 38-41; Col. 17, lines 49-57, "In some embodiments, the base linkage 210, as shown in FIGS. 2A and 2B, may be a telescopic linkage configured to increase a length of the base linkage 210 by extending the telescopic linkage. The telescopic linkage may be actuated hydraulically, pneumatically, or by a motor. The telescopic linkage may increase the reach of the robotic device 200, allowing the robotic device 200 to, for example, reach objects located in higher places than would normally be possible without a telescopic linkage."; Col. 32, lines 54-61 "For example, FIG. 9 illustrates robotic device 200, as illustrated in FIGS. 2A and 2B, lifting chair 900. Robotic device 200 may place shovel tool 218 (second portion 218 b of the shovel tool) underneath the seat of the chair 900 in order to support the weight of the chair 900."]);
extending the pusher pads out and forward with respect to the pusher pad arms (see Figs. 7A-7B and 9, all; Col. 20, lines 17-21 "Once the sweeping tool 228 has been used to operate on the object, the actuated rotational joint 226 may rotate, causing the sweeping tool 228 to move out of the operational position and the gripper 232 to move into the operational position, as illustrated in FIGS. 11A and 11B."; Col. 30, lines 58-67 "The control arm (linkages 220 and 224) and the rotational joint 226 may move the sweeping tool 228 into a pre-sweep position (operational position as shown in FIG. 7A). The pre-sweep position may be such that the object(s) of interest 700 are located between the sweeping tool 228 and shovel tool 218, as shown in FIG. 7A (e.g., between a long edge of the sweeping tool 228 and the leading edge 218 c of the shovel tool 218).");
rotating the first pusher pad inward toward a front edge of the scoop (see Figs. 7A-7B and 9, all; Col. 30, lines 58-67 "The control arm may be caused to move the sweeping tool 228 from the pre-sweep position (operational position/orientation shown in FIG. 7A) towards the shovel tool 218, causing the sweeping tool to engage at least one of object(s) 700 and push the at least one of object(s) onto shovel tool 218 (e.g., onto second portion 218 b of shovel tool 218), as shown in FIG. 7B. In general, object(s) 700 may vary in size.");
retracting the pusher pad arms to move the target object into a containment area (see Figs. 7A-7B; Col. 30, lines 58-67 "The control arm may be caused to move the sweeping tool 228 from the pre-sweep position (operational position/orientation shown in FIG. 7A) towards the shovel tool 218, causing the sweeping tool to engage at least one of object(s) 700 and push the at least one of object(s) onto shovel tool 218 (e.g., onto second portion 218 b of shovel tool 218), as shown in FIG. 7B. In general, object(s) 700 may vary in size."); and
raising at least one of the scoop, the pusher pads, and the lifting column linear actuator, holding the target object, to a carrying position (see Col. 4, lines 1-16 "The method also includes causing the base linkage to raise the actuated control arm and the shovel tool while the object is disposed on the shovel tool by causing an actuated rotational joint to rotate the base linkage with respect to a mobile base of the robotic device.").
Hamilton inherently teaches rotating the first pusher pad inward toward a front edge of the scoop;
coming to a stop when the target object contacts the inward rotated first pusher pad; and
rotating the second pusher pad until the second pusher pad contacts the target object, as discussed above. For the sake of compact prosecution and for the possible argument that Hamilton is silent regarding the above limitations, Swiercz teaches the claim limitations.
That is, Swiercz teaches a method (see all Figs, especially Figs. 5-8; Col. 2, lines 26-51) comprising:
approaching a target object with a tidying robot (see Figs. 5-8, all),
wherein the tidying robot is configured with:
a capture and containment system including:
a scoop (see Fig. 1, hub 106; Col. 3, lines 1-10, "The robotic manipulator 102 includes an arm 104, a hub 106, and fingers 108 (individually identified as 108A-108C in FIG. 1). Although the description herein primarily refers to a robotic arm, any other mechatronic or robotic device may be used in lieu of or in addition to an arm. The hub 106 can include any suitable structure for supporting the fingers 108. The 108 fingers are movable relative to the hub 106, such as by being pivotally attached to the hub 106.");
pusher pads including a first pusher pad and a second pusher pad (see Fig. 1, fingers 108a and 108b; Figs. 2-8, fingers 208a and 208b; Col. 6, lines 64-65, "The robotic manipulator 202 is shown with fingers 208 (individually identified in FIG. 2 as 208A and 208B)"; Col. 7, lines 50-68);
pusher pad arms including a first pusher pad arm and a second pusher pad arm (see Fig. 1, closing actuators 116a and 116b; Figs. 2-8, closing actuators 216a and 216; Col. 6, lines 64-66, "The robotic manipulator 202 is shown with fingers 208 (individually identified in FIG. 2 as 208A and 208B), closing actuators 216 (individually identified in FIG. 2 as 216A and 216B)"; Col. 7, lines 50-68);
extending the pusher pads out and forward with respect to the pusher pad arms (see Fig. 5, all; Col. 7, lines 50-53, "FIGS. 5-8 show an illustrative example of the robotic manipulator 202 grasping an item 278. As the piston 220 moves from the position in FIG. 5...");
rotating the first pusher pad inward toward a front edge of the scoop (see Fig. 6, all; Col. 7, lines 50-58, "FIGS. 5-8 show an illustrative example of the robotic manipulator 202 grasping an item 278. As the piston 220 moves from the position in FIG. 5 toward the position in FIG. 6 (e.g., as illustrated by arrow 280 in FIG. 6), the bladders 264 can be extended (e.g., by movement of the pistons 266 illustrated by the arrows 282) to cause the fingers 208 to close toward the item 278. In FIG. 6, the first finger 208A is shown contacting the item 278, while the second finger 208B has not yet reached the item 278.");
approaching the target object and coming to a stop when the target object is positioned between the pusher pads and contacts the inward rotated first pusher pad (see Fig. 6, all; Col. 7, lines 50-67, "FIGS. 5-8 show an illustrative example of the robotic manipulator 202 grasping an item 278. As the piston 220 moves from the position in FIG. 5 toward the position in FIG. 6 (e.g., as illustrated by arrow 280 in FIG. 6), the bladders 264 can be extended (e.g., by movement of the pistons 266 illustrated by the arrows 282) to cause the fingers 208 to close toward the item 278. In FIG. 6, the first finger 208A is shown contacting the item 278, while the second finger 208B has not yet reached the item 278. The contact of the first finger 208A with the item 278 may block additional closing movement of the first finger 208A.");
rotating the second pusher pad until the second pusher pad contacts the target object (see Fig. 7, all; Col. 7, line 61 - Col. 8, line 6, "Accordingly, referring to FIG. 7, additional movement of the piston 220 (e.g., illustrated by arrow 284) may cause pressure in the closing conduit 230 that is expended in further expanding the second bladder 264B (e.g., as illustrated by the arrow 286 moving the second sub piston 266B). This further expansion of the second bladder 264B may occur without a corresponding expansion of the first bladder 264A (e.g., as a result of the first finger 208A being constrained by contact with the item 278 while the second finger 208B is not so constrained). Eventually, this further expansion of the second bladder 264B may bring the second finger 208B into contact with the item 278 (e.g., moving the second finger 208B from the position in FIG. 6 to the position FIG. 7)."); and
exerting pressure on the target object with the pusher pads to hold the target object stationary in the containment area (see Fig. 8, all; Col. 8, lines 7-28, "Referring to FIG. 8, when all of the fingers 208 are blocked from continuing to move, increasing pressure in the closing conduit 230 can increase a pressure with which the fingers 208 grip the item 278…").
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the lifting column of the tidying robot of the process of Hamilton to further be configured to raise and lower the capture and containment system through extension and retraction of a lifting column linear actuator, as taught by Gilbertson, in order to enable the tidying robot to reach objects located in higher places than would normally be possible without a lifting column linear actuator.
It additionally would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify the process of Hamilton to rotate the first pusher pad inward toward a front edge of the scoop, come to a stop when the target object contacts the inward rotated first pusher pad and rotate the second pusher pad until the second pusher pad contacts the target object, as taught by Swiercz, in order to facilitate grasping target objects of different shapes, sizes, and orientations.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-15 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/TANNER L CULLEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3656 /KHOI H TRAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3656